Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. It could easily be my pick for the best DS game this year because it seems to have all the right ingredients: A great story, unique gameplay, killer visuals, and a fantastic score. All of these elements combine to create the best gaming experience on the DS this year, and it's no wonder that this precious gem came from the folks at Square-Enix. It's an absolute joy to play, and I can't overstate my satisfaction with this game.
  2. Revenant Wings offers some fresh gameplay for the mammoth RPG series and while the dominant RTS element may not be for everyone, it’s certainly been simplified a lot to offer a good 30 entertaining hours or so.
  3. The disappointing lack of multiplayer modes aside, this is almost the perfect strategy package. [Feb 2008, p.62]
  4. The RTS gameplay may be different to the standard RPG found in the most Japanese entry in the series, but the light-hearted nature of the game and the fact that it is so different to the original, while still retaining many key elements, makes them feel identical.
  5. This is well worth a DS owner’s time, and easily one of the best things Square-Enix has published for the system.
  6. The usual audience will be captivated by its story, that’s complemented with some great real time strategy mechanics. Just trying to unlock all of the elemental Espers will make you addicted. [Apr 2008]
  7. 90
    It's an interesting addition to the Final Fantasy franchise and proof that Square Enix can deliver a good title that doesn't fall back on RPG conventions. [Dec 2007, p.132]
  8. Witty story, great characters and a bite-size battle system that's ideal for DS. You can't fail to be impressed by this, regardless of whether or not you're a fan of Final Fantasy. [Mar 2008, p.50]
  9. A very good fantasy-RTS slash -RPG with heavy emphasis on the RTS-side of things. The difficulty level seems to be all over the place and the story is quite dull, though. [Apr 2008]
  10. Doesn't knock "Advance Wars" from the strategy throne, but a must for FF nuts. [Mar 2008, p.74]
  11. 87
    It has as much depth as we can ask for a true real-time RTS based in Ivalice, with some of the best production values this side of a first-party Nintendo release.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Oct 17, 2011
    1
    my friend decided to buy this game for the Nintendo DS was horrible to watch how the square enix were made game. final Fantasy XII was a horrible game, but this is still worse. battle system is pretty **** up, the main types are even more onerous, the enemies are dumb and final boss was sucks.the best thing the game is that it can be thrown into the garbage Full Review »
  2. Sep 14, 2011
    5
    Sadly, the state of Square-Enix's game quality outside of the still quite traditional Dragon Quest franchise has never been all that good, and Square itself was on a downslope prior to the merger anyway. Emphasis on graphics, bland, generic looking and generic playing characters, and a slow decline in the stories have been the norm. This game is a Starcraft clone, and not even that good of one. The story, which limps around the already rather bland world of an existing game whose medieval future is more interesting than it's technologically advanced present, is actually halfway decent. The characters, however, aren't even memorable, much less emotionally investing, and what's worse, there's a few points where they do things that won't necessarily surprise you, but will kinda leave you scratching your head. Game-play is a duh, and zergrushing wins almost every time. Unless you deliberately handicap yourself, operating under that strategy alone is more than enough to carry you through. It takes a game that almost had moments of frustration and desperation become a brainless mess once battle began. The classic 'rock paper scissors' common to tactical and real-time RPGs rears it's ugly, misshapen head here too. If I want to play ro-sham-bo, I have a young niece I actually enjoy playing that with. It's been used in so many games for so long now that it really just needs to be put to bed already. Sure, the game's been out three years and I'm late to the party. But this is definitely one I'll be taking to Gamestop to make my next game a touch cheaper, and I doubt I'll want to play it again in the future. Full Review »