User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 259 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 259

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    This is perhaps the best Nintendo DS games ever made. Rockstar made an amazing transition from the console to a handle held. Even if this is simplified from it's larger console buddies, do not think your going to get a watered down version of the game. Grand Theft Auto Chinatown Wars proves the gaming industry that it's not graphics that makes it's games amazing- but the game play.This is perhaps the best Nintendo DS games ever made. Rockstar made an amazing transition from the console to a handle held. Even if this is simplified from it's larger console buddies, do not think your going to get a watered down version of the game. Grand Theft Auto Chinatown Wars proves the gaming industry that it's not graphics that makes it's games amazing- but the game play. Rockstar managed to grab such a massive game and squeeze it down into the palm of your hand- with lengthily missions, absurdly simple yet satisfying touch screen mini-games, and a massive world to explore. Easily the best game the DS has to offer and is not an experience to miss. Expand
  2. AndrewE
    Dec 18, 2009
    10
    Simply, one of the best games on DS. Unique gameplay, stunning visuals and good old gta-like style - you gotta have it.
  3. JamesD
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    I could critisize Chinatown Wars for an awful lot of inconsistant things but at its core GTA CW is a fantastic GTA experience. Although there are no cutscenes, no DJ or vocals on radio stations, the music has the GTA style which complements the brilliant art style. For a DS game this is a top heavy hitter.
  4. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = The best handheld GTA experi . . . never mind, this IS one of the best GTA experiences on any system.
  5. May 13, 2011
    10
    GTA at it's best. A full-feature game on a handheld with amazing graphics and sound effects. I lacked the voice acting from the storyline but there is some when you meet people on the street. You can't go into buildings, but you have a bunch of mini-games instead. The GPS works really well, the vehicles are varied. There is a constant FPS, and the controls use all buttons of the consoleGTA at it's best. A full-feature game on a handheld with amazing graphics and sound effects. I lacked the voice acting from the storyline but there is some when you meet people on the street. You can't go into buildings, but you have a bunch of mini-games instead. The GPS works really well, the vehicles are varied. There is a constant FPS, and the controls use all buttons of the console and even the touch screen, which is amazing! 11 points of 10 for this one! Collapse
  6. OdinAesir
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    Brasil

    Este jogo vazou Sexta-Feira 13 de Março de 2009 às 14h00 na NET. Rodava apenas nos seguintes Flash Cards: SuperCard One, Akecard RPG, G6. No dia 14 de Março de 2009 as 20h00 ele rodou no R4. No dia seguinte já tinha fix para todos os flash cards. Este jogo tem gráficos utilizando a máxima potência do NDS, possui
    Brasil

    Este jogo vazou Sexta-Feira 13 de Março de 2009 às 14h00 na NET.

    Rodava apenas nos seguintes Flash Cards: SuperCard One, Akecard RPG, G6.

    No dia 14 de Março de 2009 as 20h00 ele rodou no R4.

    No dia seguinte já tinha fix para todos os flash cards.

    Este jogo tem gráficos utilizando a máxima potência do NDS, possui interatividade excelente, ótimas missões e side-quests.
    Expand
  7. HUGHgonzales
    Mar 18, 2009
    10
    excelente y brillante a mas no poder , buenas graficas , el sonido es espectacular, el humor, los mini juegos , completamente extenso !! tal vez el segundo mejor juego para ds en mi gusto
    supero mis espectativas ,incluso es mejor que algunas entregas de los nuevos gta
  8. AC
    Mar 18, 2009
    9
    Good timing for Nintendo to have a GTA game come out at the same time its new DSi is released. The Wii has a huge fan base so hopefully this game sells well on the DS and prompts Rockstar to make a GTA Wii game. As far as the game its a blast. It has all the GTA attitude and style they could cram into the DS. If your a GTA fan and own a DS this purchase is a no brainer.
  9. JoelCats
    Mar 19, 2009
    10
    This is the best handheld game money can buy. I would buy a DS for it. Tons of fun, I enjoy it as much as GTAI IV, and that says a lot. I'm really happy with music also surprisingly! Someone mentioned it isn't LICENSED, when it fact some of it is. I love driving in a fast car in the game, and having a dedicated DEADMAU5 station!!! Hes one of the most popular electronic musicThis is the best handheld game money can buy. I would buy a DS for it. Tons of fun, I enjoy it as much as GTAI IV, and that says a lot. I'm really happy with music also surprisingly! Someone mentioned it isn't LICENSED, when it fact some of it is. I love driving in a fast car in the game, and having a dedicated DEADMAU5 station!!! Hes one of the most popular electronic music right now, the music is pretty good. You better bet you need a license for his own station in GTA CTW. Expand
  10. BillyJ.
    Mar 21, 2009
    10
    John C. - you're an idiot. Chinatown Wars is by far the great, deepest most addictive game on the DS (by a long shot) and one of the best GTA games to date, if not the best. The game is totally varied, bags to do, all of it is really fun and astonishingly detailed. No gimmicks, just great use of the touchscreen that isn't overkill. God knows how Rockstar Leeds managed to squeezeJohn C. - you're an idiot. Chinatown Wars is by far the great, deepest most addictive game on the DS (by a long shot) and one of the best GTA games to date, if not the best. The game is totally varied, bags to do, all of it is really fun and astonishingly detailed. No gimmicks, just great use of the touchscreen that isn't overkill. God knows how Rockstar Leeds managed to squeeze this much out of the DS with no slowdown, and pack so much onto the pathetic 128MB cartridge. Hats off to them, they've completely put to shame every other portable developer and raised the bar by absolutely miles. Expand
  11. DavidS
    Mar 23, 2009
    10
    I absolutely love this game. Far more addictive than the console version, the drug-dealer sections may sound offensive but are full of surprises and actually take quite an intellect to work out. The touch-screen is utilised to the full. This is the best DS game ever and the replay value is incredible.
  12. JuanF.
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    El mejor GTA que se podía hacer para DS lo han logrado. Adictivo y con muy buenos minijuegos.
  13. DanaW.
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    Amazing game! This game is worth anyone's money. Who hasn't wanted to be playing GTA while riding a bus, or while in class? This game delivers on all fronts and is a perfect iteration of what GTA could be on the DS. Endless hours of fun and exciting times. Multiplayer is in line with the experience you would expect. Also ties in with the Rockstar Social Club. Near perfect game! Amazing game! This game is worth anyone's money. Who hasn't wanted to be playing GTA while riding a bus, or while in class? This game delivers on all fronts and is a perfect iteration of what GTA could be on the DS. Endless hours of fun and exciting times. Multiplayer is in line with the experience you would expect. Also ties in with the Rockstar Social Club. Near perfect game! A must buy for all DS owners. Expand
  14. HugoY.
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    A great city, good graphics, nice control, very long, good missions,much innovation one of the best of 2009, undoubtedly
  15. CaleT.
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    Possibly the greatest game on DS, the world has been beautifully crafted to create an realistic environment to explore (unlike may other DS games). Rockstar Leeds have created a great game, that lasts for over 20 hours. The touch screen 'mini-games' do not feel tacky are are work well in the game. Many features found in other GTA games are welcome here. I encourage anyone with a Possibly the greatest game on DS, the world has been beautifully crafted to create an realistic environment to explore (unlike may other DS games). Rockstar Leeds have created a great game, that lasts for over 20 hours. The touch screen 'mini-games' do not feel tacky are are work well in the game. Many features found in other GTA games are welcome here. I encourage anyone with a DS to buy this game. Expand
  16. MattW.
    Mar 17, 2009
    9
    If you ever wondered what a GTA on handheld should feel like, this is it! Never mind does awful PSP games, this is the 2nd best GTA game ever (Sorry it just isn't as good as GTAIV)!
  17. ChristerP.
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    Enjoying this more than GTA IV to be honest.
  18. Jerm
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    Great for older gamers (myself) who have had there gaming gear stolen by the spouse and kids to watch 'Scooby Doo meets Batman' I cannot imagine this franchise adapted better to the DS. Love it!
  19. Michael
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    Not a watered down experience at all! A very refreshing take on The GTA experience, and quite honestly, the most fun i had with any GTA game played . Ever.
  20. KaiRuleA.
    Mar 18, 2009
    10
    The best game on the DS so far. Graphics are amazing, the gameplay is solid, the sounds is top notch (just wish they had licensed music) and it's FUN. The drug dealing mini-game seems more like its a game itself and not a mini-game. I've spent hours and hours just doing this part.
  21. DaveS.
    Mar 22, 2009
    10
    This is one of the best GTA experiences. Whether you look at it from a technical perspective as getting that much performance from a DS, to the styling of the game or the superb mix of old-school-GTA-meets-new, this game is a triumph. If anything, I've enjoyed this GTA more than any other, with the exception of Vice City. Gone are the silly phone calls, "Hay carzen, let'z gor This is one of the best GTA experiences. Whether you look at it from a technical perspective as getting that much performance from a DS, to the styling of the game or the superb mix of old-school-GTA-meets-new, this game is a triumph. If anything, I've enjoyed this GTA more than any other, with the exception of Vice City. Gone are the silly phone calls, "Hay carzen, let'z gor borlink!" and back is the ability to just have lots of fun cruising the city, dealing drugs and taking the police cars down with Burnout-style takedowns - a feature which I think is a great addition. Hot-wiring cars, making molotovs and mashing up cars has never been so fun. One thing I'd also like to mention is the feel of the game; it's high-quality. It's not just the presentation. When you play it, you get can tell it's been tested, played and given love and attention during development. It's not just been thrown together to cash in on the franshise and make a bit of cash. GTA: Chinatown Wars is a must-buy/console seller, raising the bar above Pokémon and even Zelda -- high praise indeed. Expand
  22. JeffA
    Mar 30, 2009
    9
    While the game has been tailored to the system it has not been
  23. Ob.
    Mar 30, 2009
    10
    Forget the silly thought that this game is only good for a handheld GTA, this game is perhaps one of the finest GTA games ever made. Combining old school GTA and new with fresh additions, great graphics, and tight controls, if you're looking for more GTA then look no further.
  24. CanonY
    Apr 1, 2009
    10
    I can't remember the last time I was this hooked on a game and wanting to play it through to completion. I'm a 26 year old doctor who has fond memories of GTA 1 & 2. I've also recently played GTA IV. Chinatown wars constantly made me wonder how on earth the developers managed to do it on this system - but they did and the Rockstar Leeds team deserves a standing ovation for I can't remember the last time I was this hooked on a game and wanting to play it through to completion. I'm a 26 year old doctor who has fond memories of GTA 1 & 2. I've also recently played GTA IV. Chinatown wars constantly made me wonder how on earth the developers managed to do it on this system - but they did and the Rockstar Leeds team deserves a standing ovation for this masterpiece. Expand
  25. MatH
    Apr 1, 2009
    9
    The best action game for the DS. Excellent game mechanics all round, from shooting to driving, to the view angle, with great touch support. Touch controls are intuitive and useful, and their inclusion in action sequences is minimal and forgiving. The only niggle I have is the story line, while interesting, is told with a script that tries too hard to be funny, with characters that are The best action game for the DS. Excellent game mechanics all round, from shooting to driving, to the view angle, with great touch support. Touch controls are intuitive and useful, and their inclusion in action sequences is minimal and forgiving. The only niggle I have is the story line, while interesting, is told with a script that tries too hard to be funny, with characters that are predictable stereotypes. That however is a small niggle and is mostly harmless to the overall experience. In short, this game is a fantastic action-romp. Expand
  26. DavidS
    Apr 1, 2009
    9
    The best game on the DS in it's genre, GTA Chinatown Wars takes the DS's functionality to a whole new level, introducing innovative mini-games, map and trade functionality, robust multiplayer options, and an incredible 10-15 hour single player experience. This game never has you constantly switching between the touchscreen and just regular gameplay, but there's a mini-game The best game on the DS in it's genre, GTA Chinatown Wars takes the DS's functionality to a whole new level, introducing innovative mini-games, map and trade functionality, robust multiplayer options, and an incredible 10-15 hour single player experience. This game never has you constantly switching between the touchscreen and just regular gameplay, but there's a mini-game for everything, even kicking out the windshield of a car to escape when underwater. The only gripe I have is with the overly generic characters - they just try too hard to be either funny or serious, and the player can't really tell the difference at a point with the constant change of pace. However, the resolution in the story is quite nice, and this aspect of the game does little to ruin the overall experience. In all, an engaging experience that will hold you for at least 20 hours. The level of immersion is unlike almost any game on the platform, and is a must buy for those looking for a breath of fresh air on the DS. Expand
  27. DaveS
    Apr 1, 2009
    9
    A lengthy and fairly innovative trip that will have you doing anything and everything differently than you would have in any other GTA game, or any other game on the platform. A nice blend of old and new, this game offers a surprisingly good single player and some good multiplayer over wi-fi. You'll be doing all of the mini-games on the touch screen, from defusing bombs to making A lengthy and fairly innovative trip that will have you doing anything and everything differently than you would have in any other GTA game, or any other game on the platform. A nice blend of old and new, this game offers a surprisingly good single player and some good multiplayer over wi-fi. You'll be doing all of the mini-games on the touch screen, from defusing bombs to making molotov cocktails, and the game never has you on the touchscreen for too long. Don't listen to Carl B - the game does have flaws due to the technical limitations of the system, but all of those are too insignificant to be counted as major problems. Over-all, a well executed concept that can stand it's ground when compared to the generic space-marine FPS's of today's day and age. A must buy for DS owners, and if you don't have a DS, go get one and with it a copy of this game. Right now. Expand
  28. AndewC
    Apr 3, 2009
    10
    okay-okay A 10 might be a little much but - this is the BEST DS GAME TO DATE. I was VERY leary when this was announced at E3 and did not like the screenshots but after reading the reviews here I thought I should give i a whirl. This game is incredible from the start. It takes some adjustment to get use to the controls/cameras. I must admit I have put a good solid 10 hours on this okay-okay A 10 might be a little much but - this is the BEST DS GAME TO DATE. I was VERY leary when this was announced at E3 and did not like the screenshots but after reading the reviews here I thought I should give i a whirl. This game is incredible from the start. It takes some adjustment to get use to the controls/cameras. I must admit I have put a good solid 10 hours on this cartridge but probably only 5 of them were spent doing missions. This game just has alot and has revived my faith in the DS and the GTA series....(No offense at the GTA part but recently it has become a new thing)....I have loved exploring this game, dealing drugs, buying lottery tickets, digging through dumpsters (is this Rockstar's nod to No More Heroes?) This game is very fullfilling and easily worth the money. Expand
  29. BertH.
    Apr 3, 2009
    9
    One of the best game for the DS. For those skeptics who've only played the 3d GTA so far, this game continues to follow the GTA tradition as well while mixing the 2d and 3d gen together. The missions are intensely fun, added with the option to replay them, as well as the side missions. Rampages are brought back as well as a variety of weapons to deal havoc with. The game boasts a One of the best game for the DS. For those skeptics who've only played the 3d GTA so far, this game continues to follow the GTA tradition as well while mixing the 2d and 3d gen together. The missions are intensely fun, added with the option to replay them, as well as the side missions. Rampages are brought back as well as a variety of weapons to deal havoc with. The game boasts a wide variety of vehicles, which I was surprised with, in addition to them being actual 3d cars, not 2d ones. They will flip 180 degrees, wear and tear, catch fire and more. The mini games are also absolutely fun, and are usually not too intrusive in the overall gameplay. Also, if you've played GTA 4, you will really notice the entire GTA 4 Liberty City (with the exception of one island) in the game with immense detail. Also, this game will make you want to go back to GTA 4 just to check the police records and see the main characters profile. The only qualms I have with this game is the length of the story, as well as the inclusion of some characters. But this is one of the highest quality DS games ever, and a great start into the GTA series. Expand
  30. EugeneA.
    Apr 8, 2009
    9
    I've been pretty tired of GTA since...I dunno - Vice City? Having GTA be mobile and incredibly well-implemented for the DS has brought me back. Yay! Excellent for 60 seconds - hours of play, depending on what you've got available. Peeling off stars by wrecking pursuing cop cars is terribly, terribly addictive. Thanks goodness for safehouse stash boxes!
  31. TJF.
    Jun 24, 2009
    9
    It is a really good game, it's bascially like taking Grand Theft Auto 1 and combining it with all the other grand theft autos. There are a few new things like Drug dealing and some other mini games. It uses the touch screen amazingly. The only complaint i have is Ling. I mean she's one of the people on the front of the case. And she dies within the first 5 minutes of the game. It is a really good game, it's bascially like taking Grand Theft Auto 1 and combining it with all the other grand theft autos. There are a few new things like Drug dealing and some other mini games. It uses the touch screen amazingly. The only complaint i have is Ling. I mean she's one of the people on the front of the case. And she dies within the first 5 minutes of the game. But its a good game overall. Expand
  32. joeb
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    i haven't played this game but i have seen the game play for it and i do recamend this game to any one thats wants to buy it but not sure of it. other then the top story line u can just drive around and enjoy the city, u can also do drugs dealing and buy drugs which can get very addicting so if your not sure on buying this game just go get it and u wont be disapointed
  33. SorinA
    Nov 2, 2009
    10
    Now I agree with all these reviews as GTA Chinatown Wars is a fantastic game. It takes everything about GTA and puts it on a handheld. The only DS game that is better than this, is Chrono Trigger, which is a port from another console. Therefore China Town Wars is the BEST original game on DS
  34. AutumnF
    Nov 28, 2009
    10
    This is a really great game! My favorite part is hiding from cops!
  35. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    Not only the best game on the DS, it may just be one of the best games for any handheld device. The story, while lacking in the serious vibe GTA IV had, is well written and hilarious. There's a plethora of extras and secrets, and the car physics is an amazing milestone for a DS game. The greatest triumph of Chinatown Wars, however, is the drug-dealing. Missions give a VERY limited amountNot only the best game on the DS, it may just be one of the best games for any handheld device. The story, while lacking in the serious vibe GTA IV had, is well written and hilarious. There's a plethora of extras and secrets, and the car physics is an amazing milestone for a DS game. The greatest triumph of Chinatown Wars, however, is the drug-dealing. Missions give a VERY limited amount of money, so if you want to buy extra weapons and armor, drug dealing is a necessity. Finding drug dealers, finding the lowest seller and the highest bidder, getting emails from dealers giving you great deals, the entire system is much more than a gimmick. It's what sets Chinatown Wars apart, and maybe even better, than GTA IV. Missions are varied, characters are colorful and funny, shootouts are intense, and the cars are fast. This is the best way to play GTA, and it's on a handheld, no less. Expand
  36. May 29, 2012
    10
    This is simply the best game on DS and you will be troubled to find anything that comes close to Chinatown wars's unique and excellent gameplay. Running around the streets dealing drugs and turning an excellent profit whilst desperately avoiding the police and sending there cars smashing into buildings proves to be an fun past time and doing lengthy unique missions that use the touchThis is simply the best game on DS and you will be troubled to find anything that comes close to Chinatown wars's unique and excellent gameplay. Running around the streets dealing drugs and turning an excellent profit whilst desperately avoiding the police and sending there cars smashing into buildings proves to be an fun past time and doing lengthy unique missions that use the touch screen controls effectively is also very enjoyable. Expand
  37. Sep 19, 2013
    9
    A great blast from the past this game is just like the older GTA games like 1&2 of what is my childhood btw its just fantastic its just its story that can be a little lackluster
  38. Dec 16, 2014
    10
    I started playing the game with my same reaction as GTA Advanced "It's cool that it's on a handheld, but it can't keep my attention for long. After the first mission and 50+ hours later this stands as my third favourite GTA. I'm dead serious, this is the most fun I've ever had on a handheld, I mean it has everything good story, good characters, good gameplay and good controls it's justI started playing the game with my same reaction as GTA Advanced "It's cool that it's on a handheld, but it can't keep my attention for long. After the first mission and 50+ hours later this stands as my third favourite GTA. I'm dead serious, this is the most fun I've ever had on a handheld, I mean it has everything good story, good characters, good gameplay and good controls it's just plain fun. If your looking in your bargain bin in your Walmart, or Gamestop pick it up I highly recommend it. Expand
  39. May 13, 2011
    0
    GTA at it's best. A full-feature game on a handheld with amazing graphics and sound effects. I lacked the voice acting from the storyline but there is some when you meet people on the street. You can't go into buildings, but you have a bunch of mini-games instead. The GPS works really well, the vehicles are varied. There is a constant FPS, and the controls use all buttons of the consoleGTA at it's best. A full-feature game on a handheld with amazing graphics and sound effects. I lacked the voice acting from the storyline but there is some when you meet people on the street. You can't go into buildings, but you have a bunch of mini-games instead. The GPS works really well, the vehicles are varied. There is a constant FPS, and the controls use all buttons of the console and even the touch screen, which is amazing! 11 points of 10 for this one! Collapse
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 85 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 85
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 85
  3. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. The game does suffer from too many touch screen mini-games and a slightly outdated look, but those problems are easy to overlook when the product turns out to be this good!
  2. 100
    Whether you get end up drug dealing, causing mayhem, taxiing city passengers around or simply completing the missions, it's likely that your only moment of disappointment will come when you realize how dangerously close you are to finishing the game -- at which point you should note that there are an additional set of missions to be unlocked by tracking down two (very well) hidden Golden Lions after the main storyline ends.
  3. Despite the minor flaws, Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars is an excellent experience.