Inchworm Animation DS

Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Apr 27, 2011
    90
    The wealth of powerful animation tools and functions make it even more potent than Flipnote Studio, but with that added functionality comes a slightly higher learning curve if you want to get the most out of the package.
  2. You couldn't call this a game, but it's brilliant for budding artists. [July 2012, p.97]
  3. Games Master UK
    Jun 25, 2012
    80
    A great place for budding Disneys to begin. [Aug 2012, p.80]
  4. Nintendo Gamer
    Jun 20, 2012
    80
    Works really well within the sometimes frustrating limitations of the DSi, providing reasonably user-friendly access to a set of fun, creative, flexible animation tools. [July 2012, p.106]
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Feb 28, 2016
    0
    Literal Garbage. This application only lets you use one fps speed, a very slow one at that, and is confusing and hard to get around. I haveLiteral Garbage. This application only lets you use one fps speed, a very slow one at that, and is confusing and hard to get around. I have experience making animations on actual animation software, and I'd rather go through the pain of that- or even Flipnote where you have to listen to the same audio much too many times to get things in place. Yes, Inchworm does have many, many, many more colors, but everything is crowded onto your screen. Even the simple bouncing ball tutorial you have to sit through is garbage- you can't even make a simple red circle moving up and down look decent.
    Sadly, nintendo Eshop won't let me write a review on this (as they probably know they wont sucker people out of money). I can't even request a refund, like you can on most other games.
    Overall, this wasn't even worth the $5 i paid for it- I feel like I am owed money for even trying to use the software.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    All I can say is WOW. Forget the built in notepad of the 3DS, forget the simplistic Flipnote Studio of the DSI, Inchworm Animation is the mostAll I can say is WOW. Forget the built in notepad of the 3DS, forget the simplistic Flipnote Studio of the DSI, Inchworm Animation is the most feature complete art and animation program on the DSI/3DS. If you ever wanted an art program on your DS, this is it. Inchworm not only has a rather robust tool library for drawing, including things like custom colors, layers, custom repeatable patterns, and brush opacity, but it also has an amazingly robust animation system, boasting just about anything you would want or need to do some animations on the go. If you want to do art on your DS, pick this up. Full Review »