Izuna: Legend of the Unemployed Ninja DS

  • Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Feb 20, 2007
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PatrickR
    May 2, 2009
    8
    I see alot of reviews complaining about mortality and the loss of all items as being the deal breaker. I'll admit that at a time I was often getting killed and loosing it all, but once I got into the flow of the game, dying is a very avoidable scenario. I also find the system for powering up weapons rewards skilled players alot more then people claim. I find working towards being I see alot of reviews complaining about mortality and the loss of all items as being the deal breaker. I'll admit that at a time I was often getting killed and loosing it all, but once I got into the flow of the game, dying is a very avoidable scenario. I also find the system for powering up weapons rewards skilled players alot more then people claim. I find working towards being able to power up my weapons with various talismans and tricks to be very rewarding. Collapse
  2. M
    Dec 2, 2008
    6
    What's the point in having randomly generated dungeons when you have such shallow combat and have the levels looking all the same? It hardly affects the experience, I think it would have been better if they just made a single design for every dungeon that actually looked good. Putting talismans on your weapons was pretty cool but I think it would've been a lot better if the game What's the point in having randomly generated dungeons when you have such shallow combat and have the levels looking all the same? It hardly affects the experience, I think it would have been better if they just made a single design for every dungeon that actually looked good. Putting talismans on your weapons was pretty cool but I think it would've been a lot better if the game was more lenient with them letting you easily put a couple on your sword without grinding, reminds me WoW. The game is only good for it's characters and simple story but the game isn't really big on that either. Expand
  3. DaveO.
    May 31, 2008
    9
    Izuna requires a little bit of time and patience to figure out how the mechanics work, but once you do, it's really an excellent game. Many reviewers have called it "unforgiving", but in fact that's not true at all. In Izuna, dying is really not a big deal, as you get to keep all your experience points, and you can just jump back in and start playing again. Over all, it's a Izuna requires a little bit of time and patience to figure out how the mechanics work, but once you do, it's really an excellent game. Many reviewers have called it "unforgiving", but in fact that's not true at all. In Izuna, dying is really not a big deal, as you get to keep all your experience points, and you can just jump back in and start playing again. Over all, it's a well-designed game with addictive gameplay and nice visuals and music. Expand
  4. DJT
    Dec 15, 2007
    9
    Back before most of the DS players were around. There was a little ASCII based computer game called Rogue. You can still find it around on the web. It was fun because there was TONS of replay value since the dungeons and items changed every time you played! In a world dominated by story driven games like Final Fantasy. Simple adventure games like this are forgotten. It's simple, Back before most of the DS players were around. There was a little ASCII based computer game called Rogue. You can still find it around on the web. It was fun because there was TONS of replay value since the dungeons and items changed every time you played! In a world dominated by story driven games like Final Fantasy. Simple adventure games like this are forgotten. It's simple, different every time, and worth the few bucks you'll spend on it. It can be frustrating, but so can sitting through hours of NPC conversation in the latest Final Fantasy 300 or whatever they are up to now. Expand
  5. GrantS.
    Sep 12, 2007
    3
    Izuna and Shino are irresistibly cute and sexy, and the game at it's heart is a descendant of Rogue, being a Mysterious Dungeon game. As a NetHack fan who adored the concept of something like Shiren with a character as cute as Izuna as the lead role, I really wanted to like this game. However, there is no nice way to say it, the gameplay sucks. I stuck it out to the end and unlocked Izuna and Shino are irresistibly cute and sexy, and the game at it's heart is a descendant of Rogue, being a Mysterious Dungeon game. As a NetHack fan who adored the concept of something like Shiren with a character as cute as Izuna as the lead role, I really wanted to like this game. However, there is no nice way to say it, the gameplay sucks. I stuck it out to the end and unlocked the EX Dungeon, the 100-floor dungeon that starts you out at base stats and no items, offering the ultimate challenge and permadeath. However, it is at this point that the game boldly shows you that not only is it totally lacking in the necessary depth, but it's also cheap and broken. The random level generator isn't the best on the planet, and traps will often do 200 out of 300 damage on the first level, and you'll be swarmed by enemies that you can't run from or fight, leaving you dead without a chance. Just download the wallpaper, fantasize about Izuna and Shino, and go play NetHack. You'll be glad you didn't waste your money on such a poor game. I really wanted to like this game. :( Expand
  6. ScottH.
    Sep 12, 2007
    8
    The game can be frustrating at times but at the same time its fun. You just have to remember that everything you pick up is disposable and if your bag is full then you aren't using the items fast enough. The character are funny, translations are good and the action is tense. PS: I don't think the Game Informer guy was in the right mindset while playing this game.
  7. BusterS.
    Feb 27, 2007
    8
    I'm loving this game, i can keep going into the same dungeon, and itll be different every time.

Awards & Rankings

#43 Most Discussed DS Game of 2007
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Play Magazine
    65
    Izuna, like all Rogue style dungeon crawlers, takes patience, dedication, and the type of gamer who is a glutton for punishment. [Jan. 2007, p.83]
  2. Nintendo Power
    65
    You'll be thrown into the deep end right at the start, and will probably have to play each dungeon over and over again to master it. [Mar. 2007, p.88]
  3. Izuna is one rough quest, and the old-school gameplay and unforgiving difficulty are a stark contrast to the story’s lighthearted tone. However, if you’re looking for a good story and one tough cookie, then this one is for you.