Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days DS

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 161 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 161
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 16, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As someone who loves the franchise and thinks Roxas is a good character this is on the underwhelming side. The plot is fairly lacklustre. the structure of the main game is different to your average kingdom hearts because instead of playing through the adventure in one go you do it in missions instead. Missions suit a handheld game well as they offer short bursts of gameplay on a bus ride or on the way to school. Notice how I didn't say THIS game well. Missions in this game fluctuate in length which can be very annoying since you cannot time your playthroughs to suit your journey length, sure this is not a problem if your playing at home but can be annoying when your not even half way through a mission and you have to stop because your journey ended. Another big issue is the structure you will usually have a completion bar. This means you can beat the mission but there is still stuff to do. This is fine in the first 3 hours but as you go on you stop 100% missions and then start skipping optional missions. The game has more padding then the first season of Dragon ball z which really sucks because I expected some decent gameplay that a Kingdom hearts title, portable or not offers. The incentive for completing all the missions or doing everything is very subjective. If you have friends who have this game it makes sense because beating all missions unlocks Mickey mouse in multiplayer and then 100% the missions unlocks Sora but if you know no one who plays the game why would you bother?The multiplayer is half and half for me. Its kind of lazy on the level design because they just repeat a handful not all a handful of missions meaning your favourite mission might not be there. The other half is that you can play as some of the major Kingdom hearts characters all with their own animations and special moves. Im not going to comment on the ability system because there is nothing to say. This game can be fun if your in the mood and looking for a game to pass the time Kingdom hearts fan or not. If there is one piece of advice I will give you if your going to 100% this game do it on your first time round because even as the biggest KH fan one play through is more then enough and I don't want to replay this. Expand
  2. Sep 16, 2014
    10
    The best game ever I've ever seen, for Nintendo DS. Actually, story is extremely sad, but I still enjoyed the game. Graphics do not basically matter. The story, gameplay and combat is great. This game is fascinating, fantastic, it beats any Nintendo DS game. We all thank Square Enix for making such a wonderful game.
  3. Aug 2, 2014
    1
    I did not like this game. I LOVE Kingdom Hearts 1, I even really like Kingdom Hearts II quite a bit but I did not care enough about Roxas to have an entire game about him. Of course, when I figured out this game WAS about him I was thoroughly disappointed and very much annoyed. I honestly didn't care about Roxas... at all much less enough to make a whole game about him. The controls wereI did not like this game. I LOVE Kingdom Hearts 1, I even really like Kingdom Hearts II quite a bit but I did not care enough about Roxas to have an entire game about him. Of course, when I figured out this game WAS about him I was thoroughly disappointed and very much annoyed. I honestly didn't care about Roxas... at all much less enough to make a whole game about him. The controls were awkward and I just.... didn't care AT ALL about the story nor did I get a reason to throughout the game. It's just bleh. The graphics are up to par and so is the music but neither of those saving graces are good enough to make the game worthwhile... Expand
  4. Jul 15, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I absolutely adore Kingdom Hearts, but to be honest, I didn't expect much from this title. The only portable follow up to a full scale game I'd played before this was FFXII: Revenant Wings which was, in a word, terrible. Therefore, I was very happy when my preconceptions where proved wrong in what turned out to be a very enjoyable little game.
    Yes, it can get a bit repetitive at times, and the missions can be tedious if you're not in the mood, but you have to look beyond that. At the end of the day, the game tells the story of Roxas's origins, and as an avid KH fan I found that that in itself enough to maintain interest. The cutscenes, though few and far between, are nicely done.
    Despite what I said, a lot of the missions are quite fun to do and I really appreciated how the battle system is almost identical to the other KH titles. The new Heartless that are introduced are also a nice change. The Panel System is the only new addition to how you fight and level up, and it's fun to mess around with when you're upgrading keyblades/abilities.
    The basic outline of the story, if you've played Kingdom Hearts II, won't come as much of a surprise to you. However, it's the smaller details that you learn about the characters you thought you knew; as you play as Roxas and spend time in Organisation XIII, and meet the doomed Xion, you'll be glued to your DS - despite knowing the slightly dismal outcome. Whilst obviously it isn't going to contain heaps of character development, that which it does contain (especially I found with Axel), makes it an interesting game.
    Overall, a nicely done game, and a very enjoyable addition to the Kingdom Hearts series.
    Expand
  5. May 9, 2013
    10
    Probably kingdom hearts 358/2 days is one of the best games made ​​for the Nintendo DS. The plot is well done and moving, solid gameplay and really fun and great to be technically done for DS. The only flaw is that there is a wide variety of worlds but for the rest is done really well. Fans of the series will appreciate it very much.
  6. Mar 1, 2013
    7
    If you know the KH story or have played other titles in the franchise, you will want to play or at least watch a play through of it. The story for 358/2 Days explains the events that occur between the first game and part 2. I gave it 2 of it;s points just for that. However, I did not give it many more because of the presentation of the story. It felt chopped up and crude. It wasIf you know the KH story or have played other titles in the franchise, you will want to play or at least watch a play through of it. The story for 358/2 Days explains the events that occur between the first game and part 2. I gave it 2 of it;s points just for that. However, I did not give it many more because of the presentation of the story. It felt chopped up and crude. It was frustrating how you had your Kingdom Hearts story line, then the distracting Disney story lines that chopped it all up. The conversations were a little crude at times as well. It is a great game though for, really, anyone. Roxas' story is a sad, heart breaking, and also very romantic. All you need to get into this games story is to know a little about the first game. The controls were descent for a DS game, but I felt they where over stretching the limits a little. So to sum all that up, good for Disney fans, KH fans, and somewhat hard core gamers. Expand
  7. Feb 9, 2013
    6
    A technically impressive game but not the most fun. The game focuses on events before kingdom hearts 2 with you playing as Roxas. The story has some good points particularly near the end but overall it just didn't interest me that much. It was nice to develop the characters of organization XIII more but it just felt unnecessary and uninteresting. The combat is all well and good except theA technically impressive game but not the most fun. The game focuses on events before kingdom hearts 2 with you playing as Roxas. The story has some good points particularly near the end but overall it just didn't interest me that much. It was nice to develop the characters of organization XIII more but it just felt unnecessary and uninteresting. The combat is all well and good except the DS's lack of buttons means we get the terrible camera controls from KH 1. Also the difficulty spikes return as well and come literally out of nowhere. Also the game adds nothing new with the same locations as in kingdom hearts 2 and no new characters except Xion who confuses the plot even more than it already was. Expand
  8. Feb 2, 2013
    7
    The saddest part of the kh's story. Of course it's not even near the level of the ps2 titles and I expected a bit more from the graphics, but I still enjoyed it 'cause it's freaking kh.
  9. Jan 17, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the most disappointing and unnecessary Kingdom Hearts title I've ever played. It was the DS's first attempt at a KH title. Boy, does it show. Some of the controls are awkward and gameplay lacks variation. It's a mission-based game and a poorly made one at that. Almost all the missions are exactly the same: Beat up a certain number of Heartless and get out. The only good thing I can say about this game is the somewhat interesting story involving Axel, Roxas, and a newbie named Xion. Roxas is partnered with her at some point in the story and, as the tale goes on, Roxas begins to lose some of his powers due to Xion's unusual power-draining ability, which is something she's unaware of until nearing the end of the game. Also learning that she holds some of Roxas' memories, she tells Roxas that they must clash in order to restore him back to normal. I'm sure you can guess what happens next. Other than that, the game was a repetitive chore just to see that stuff. My opinion? Stay away from this game and just watch the cutscenes on Youtube. Expand
  10. Oct 3, 2012
    7
    Flaws: it's heavily combat-focused, and it gets really repetitive over the course of the 30 hour campaign; the story-telling isn't too stellar (poor pacing and not much feeling of the player advancing the plot); and the camera is really annoying, as you'd expect in most 3D DS games. The worst example of the last flaw came with one giant flying boss fight where the target continually moved,Flaws: it's heavily combat-focused, and it gets really repetitive over the course of the 30 hour campaign; the story-telling isn't too stellar (poor pacing and not much feeling of the player advancing the plot); and the camera is really annoying, as you'd expect in most 3D DS games. The worst example of the last flaw came with one giant flying boss fight where the target continually moved, had lots of health, and really powerful attacks, which was all the more frustrating in that most magic attacks need perfect aiming, and when you attack with your Keyblade you stay in one spot, so the target's moved after the first hit.
    Good points: I actually got really into the story and these characters, even if they weren't the deepest or most complex out there. The only reason I persevered through the aforementioned annoying boss-fight was because I wanted to see how the story ended, and I'm glad I did. Also, while repetitive and frequently frustrating, the combat still had just enough satisfaction and fun to it to keep going. I also quite liked the panel system they implemented for switching between different weapons, magic attacks, items, and perks. The extra modes were quite interesting too, in which you can play through previous levels with one of over a dozen different characters, including other Organisation members, Donald, and Goofy. Overall, I found it good, but not great. It was interesting enough for me to see it through to the end, but you'll likely find it incredibly repetitive and more than a bit frustrating.
    Expand
  11. Jun 23, 2012
    6
    This installment of Kingdom Hearts was a unique experience. Granted, I've seen better, but this isn't that bad of a game. Unique multiplayer characters, each with their own unique weapons and fighting styles, somewhat make-up for a rather slow story. The dialogue frequently makes you want to skip, but at the same time you will miss the story if you do.
  12. Jun 18, 2012
    7
    This is a decent game. The gameplay is the same as kingdom hearts(More or less). The story is good. The voice acting, of whats there, is pretty good. Also, the boss fights offer a decent challenge some of the time. Graphically, this game is one of the best on the D.S. The slot system is interesting but can be a real pain. The multiplayer is somewhat fun but some of the characters youThis is a decent game. The gameplay is the same as kingdom hearts(More or less). The story is good. The voice acting, of whats there, is pretty good. Also, the boss fights offer a decent challenge some of the time. Graphically, this game is one of the best on the D.S. The slot system is interesting but can be a real pain. The multiplayer is somewhat fun but some of the characters you unlock are downright terrible. Still, 358/2 is a decent game. Expand
  13. Apr 8, 2012
    9
    Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days is a remarkable experience you don't want to miss out on. If is very emotional and all the characters pull you in. The 3D worlds are an incredible feat for the DS to handle. It is quite impressive how Square Enix managed to scale down the PS2 worlds onto the DS.

    The gameplay is just like how it was. Real time fighting with an RPG menu on your side. Through out
    Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days is a remarkable experience you don't want to miss out on. If is very emotional and all the characters pull you in. The 3D worlds are an incredible feat for the DS to handle. It is quite impressive how Square Enix managed to scale down the PS2 worlds onto the DS.

    The gameplay is just like how it was. Real time fighting with an RPG menu on your side. Through out the game, you take out on missions to do certain tasks. The tasks range from defeating an enemy to investigating a world.

    You should get this masterpiece for your DS, it is really fun and it has an excellent story to back it up.
    Expand
  14. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    In my opinion KH 358/2 has the best story ever seen in Kingdom Hearts' Saga. Some problem with control but is one of the best game played in my life. The explanation of Roxas' story makes this character probably one of my favourite hero (after Goku).
  15. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    Even though this game is technically a side-story, I really enjoyed it for its story and gameplay. The action-oriented combat helped this game felt more like a traditional Kingdom Hearts title than Chain of Memories. I had fun strategizing with the panel system once I started unlocking panels. For the first 8 or so missions you feel like you donâ
  16. Nov 18, 2011
    8
    Squareenix creates another installation of the popular Kingdom Hearts series. This game takes place after Kingdom Hearts I , during Chain of Memories and before Part II. The game's storyline explains the events before part 2 and to the origin of Roxas who now plays the protagonist role. The game includes familiar worlds with a different set of routes from the previous games. The gameplaySquareenix creates another installation of the popular Kingdom Hearts series. This game takes place after Kingdom Hearts I , during Chain of Memories and before Part II. The game's storyline explains the events before part 2 and to the origin of Roxas who now plays the protagonist role. The game includes familiar worlds with a different set of routes from the previous games. The gameplay is similar but includes a complex structure compared to previous games. This is by far the most difficult Kingdom Hearts game and can be the most annoying at the same time. Not recommended for beginners of the series as you wont like the gameplay as much nor would you understand the storyline. Expand
  17. Sep 10, 2011
    6
    While I enjoyed the two main Kingdom Hearts games, the portable releases have been rather weak. The developers deserve credit for adapting the gameplay of the console games on the DS but it's not without flaws. It's extremely difficult to control the camera to keep up with all the enemies, turning simple fights into frustrating ones. The repetitive and dull missions, which feel like aWhile I enjoyed the two main Kingdom Hearts games, the portable releases have been rather weak. The developers deserve credit for adapting the gameplay of the console games on the DS but it's not without flaws. It's extremely difficult to control the camera to keep up with all the enemies, turning simple fights into frustrating ones. The repetitive and dull missions, which feel like a tutorial for most of the game, really slow things down. The music and visuals are both very good, containing familiar areas, faces and tunes from the series. What really hurt the game is the weak story... for nearly the entire game, you're only given minor details and snippets of the story but I will say that the final few hours are absolutely fantastic and will put Kingdom Hearts II into a much more powerful perspective. This game is flawed but fans of the series will find some enjoyment in it. Expand
  18. May 22, 2011
    10
    great game with a good story and gameplay and everyone should buy it it's not as good as the ps2 ones but it's still a fun game for any kingdom hearts fan will love it!!!
  19. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    I absolutely loved this game! My favorite Kingdom Hearts side game (not including Birth by Sleep, which isn't really a side game, but more like the console games). Great gameplay, and a beautiful story that has a very tearful ending (in fact, it was the first time I ever cried from a work of fiction!).
  20. [anonymous]
    Jan 24, 2010
    7
    It's okay. The pannel system isn't as great as the card or skill set battle systems from other games. The graphics are okay, but not the best. Like all the other games, the beginning and end cutscenes are incredibly good looking, though. The new mini-mission style of play also ruins the pacing. The enemies, locals, and music are all really interesting, but it's all recicled It's okay. The pannel system isn't as great as the card or skill set battle systems from other games. The graphics are okay, but not the best. Like all the other games, the beginning and end cutscenes are incredibly good looking, though. The new mini-mission style of play also ruins the pacing. The enemies, locals, and music are all really interesting, but it's all recicled from Kingdom Hearts 2. There are very few new things. The story is pretty much the only good part, but not as good as as any of the other except the first one. Unfortunatly the gameplay gets old fast. Oh yeah, if you beat the game and complete all the missions, you unlock some extra characters, which is pretty cool. In conclusion, this is the weakest one in the series other than the PS2 port of Chain of Memories. Expand
  21. DarrenZ.
    Dec 10, 2009
    7
    The premise of this game is to tell you what happened between Kingdom Hearts and Kingdom Hearts 2. As it turns out, the answer is "not much". Despite the topnotch presentation, the story here is threadbare and largely uninteresting. But we all know that it's gameplay that matters and, well, 358/2 falls a little short there as well. While the RPG character development is handled quite The premise of this game is to tell you what happened between Kingdom Hearts and Kingdom Hearts 2. As it turns out, the answer is "not much". Despite the topnotch presentation, the story here is threadbare and largely uninteresting. But we all know that it's gameplay that matters and, well, 358/2 falls a little short there as well. While the RPG character development is handled quite well, the actual combat is repetitive and you'll find yourself just mashing the attack button over and over again with little variation. It's reasonably entertaining, all things considered, but there are better games out there. Expand
  22. LJH
    Oct 22, 2009
    8
    This game isn't perfect, but it's bloody close. For fans of the series then it's interesting to see the character development, especially between Roxas and Axel, and it's cool to see what was going on during that big gap between COM and KH2. Then there's the gameplay, which is fantastically done, despite the fact that you might have to take a break to rest your This game isn't perfect, but it's bloody close. For fans of the series then it's interesting to see the character development, especially between Roxas and Axel, and it's cool to see what was going on during that big gap between COM and KH2. Then there's the gameplay, which is fantastically done, despite the fact that you might have to take a break to rest your thumb every now and then. The story is a little loose, but very engaging and gives a deeper insight into the relationships between the characters. My biggest complaint about this game is that there are no new levels. All of the maps are lifted from the other games which is a bit of a rip off. Other than that there are no big holes in this game. Veteran fans will enjoy the story line, newcomers will be equally pleased with the gameplay and everyone will be pleased with how visually impressive it is for a handheld. Basic point you should take away from this review: BUY THIS GAME! Expand
  23. Tomd
    Oct 13, 2009
    2
    I really wanted to like this game due to the reviews. But the slow dialogue I ended up skipping in anger. The odd controls. The squint inducing scaled out graphics. Where the hell is mickey by the way. Fail. Go play bowsers inside story.
  24. EoinD
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    I have to agree with the reviewers who say this is for Kingdom Hearts fans, but as a Kingdom Hearts fan, I can safely say that this is a fantastic addition to the series and is essentially a PS2 game squeezed into the DS, which is an amazing feat
  25. Fozzy
    Oct 8, 2009
    8
    They did well transforming Kingdom Hearts into the DS. KH offers very mobile friendly play styles. In story mode, you get a series of quests you can go on. Each one feels like a reasonable amount of time. This format works well on the DS can you can pick-up-and-play and do one quest and put it back down or if you have more time, you can keep playing for a more common feeling, but one They did well transforming Kingdom Hearts into the DS. KH offers very mobile friendly play styles. In story mode, you get a series of quests you can go on. Each one feels like a reasonable amount of time. This format works well on the DS can you can pick-up-and-play and do one quest and put it back down or if you have more time, you can keep playing for a more common feeling, but one that's constantly broken up by returning to the castle (RTC). Playing the game like that will lessen the game, thankfully, that's not how DS games are typically played. The one big issue would be camera angles and zoning. There's a fair amount of problems with the camera not following the charters direction, requiring constant pressing of the "R" key to re-place the camera. Also, some angles feel awkward and hard to navigate and you might miss some jumps as you thought the way was clear, but wasn't due to the camera angle. Expand
  26. BryanH.
    Sep 30, 2009
    7
    A fun game that gets hampered by a mess of repetition. Moving from room to room can feel tedious, and for longtime fans, the use of many worlds they've already seen in previous KH titles is a disappointment. That doesn't mean there's a lack of quality, far from it. The story begins with Roxas, introduced in Kingdom Hearts 2 as the Nobody of Sora (please don't make me A fun game that gets hampered by a mess of repetition. Moving from room to room can feel tedious, and for longtime fans, the use of many worlds they've already seen in previous KH titles is a disappointment. That doesn't mean there's a lack of quality, far from it. The story begins with Roxas, introduced in Kingdom Hearts 2 as the Nobody of Sora (please don't make me explain that) as he joins Organization XIII (or that). The battle system, while somewhat simplistic, is still a blast. One of the best new features is the level-up system, which applies to more than just Roxas (spells, weapons, etc), gives you a great deal of control over how you prefer to play (spellcasting, melee, defense, and others). There's also a multiplayer mode, a first for the series, but sadly have yet to try it with friends (one of the DS titles where everyone must have the game to play multiplayer). Called Mission Mode, these extra missions can be unlocked as you progress through the main story mode, allowing you to earn items and XP. These can still be played single player. Kingdom Hearts: 358/2 Days might have one of the worst titles ever, but its a good game with one major flaw that takes down its quality as a whole. Lapsed fans of the series won't find anything new to bring them back, while the hardcore faithful will definitely be overjoyed by it. Newcomers, I'd suggest giving it a spin if possible before making a decision. (PS: If you were curious, the name is pronounced 'Kingdom Hearts Three Five Eight Days Over Two.' How that's possible is a question I too still ponder.) Expand
  27. May 22, 2011
    0
    great game with a good story and gameplay and everyone should buy it it's not as good as the ps2 ones but it's still a fun game for any kingdom hearts fan will love it!!!

Awards & Rankings

#8 Most Discussed DS Game of 2009
#12 Most Shared DS Game of 2009
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 53
  2. Negative: 1 out of 53
  1. Feb 6, 2011
    70
    While it doesn't really add a great deal to the overall story of the series and recycles a lot of content from the previous games, what you'll find is a very enjoyable experience, chocked full of content that will keep you glued to your DS for a long while.
  2. 81
    If you've never liked Kingdom Hearts before, 358/2 Days will not sway your opinion, as it's basically the same action RPG seen on the Playstation 2 with a different (and one may argue, more interesting) customization system. However, if you like Kingdom Hearts or even action RPGs in general, 358/2 Days is a worthy game for you to spend time on.
  3. Nintendo Gamer
    75
    It's worth putting up with the nonsense as this is a satisfying action RPG. [Dec 2009, p.68]