Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 58
  2. Negative: 4 out of 58
  1. Feb 1, 2011
    91
    But if you're looking for a game that's filled with breezy fun, excellent graphics, solid characters, and all the worlds of Disney in the palm of your hand with a lot of The Matrix thrown in for good measure, then Kingdom Hearts: ReCoded should absolutely be in your collection.
  2. May 9, 2011
    90
    Thanks to its familiar settings, independent storyline, and range of gameplay styles, Kingdom Hearts Re:Coded works well not only as an introduction to the series, but also as a continuation of what is most likely the zaniest storyline in gaming today.
  3. Jan 17, 2011
    83
    The dense, self-serious plot will mystify new players, but they'd be hard-pressed to say they didn't have a good time while getting lost.
  4. Jan 7, 2011
    83
    While Re:coded never does anything that's particularly groundbreaking, it does what it sets out to do very well and adds some fun and interesting twists on the standard formula.
  5. Feb 25, 2011
    80
    A good example of what a remake should be: an enhanced version of a previously non-released game incorporating the best elements from past games in the series.
  6. Jan 13, 2011
    80
    With just over a dozen hours of clever and varied gameplay, Kingdom Hearts Re:coded will appeal to many an RPG fan, including those who are yet to experience the Kingdom Hearts world.
  7. Jan 10, 2011
    80
    The game feels like classic Kingdom Hearts, and it stars all the characters that made me like the first game. I had fun the entire time because the game kept giving me something new to do.
  8. Dec 19, 2010
    80
    But when it comes to action, variety, and the sheer fun of obliterating Heartless with a Keyblade, Re:coded is a more-than-worthwhile entry in the beloved Kingdom Hearts saga. [Jan 2011, p.82]
  9. Plagued with camera problems, but it's still a decent adventure for Kingdom Hearts fans.
  10. Jan 17, 2011
    78
    Once again, Kingdom Hearts offers a slew of interesting changes to its gameplay system, providing a solid entertainment value. That said, it contains roughly a third of the content of previous titles.
  11. Jan 13, 2011
    77
    Re:Coded is an entertaining adventure for the Nintendo DS, which retains the best values from one of the most celebrated sagas of Square-Enix.
  12. 75
    Kingdom Hearts: Re: Coded is an odd beast. On one hand, it tells a story that will be confusing to newcomers and too familiar to series experts, with some frustrating gameplay elements. On the other hand, the battle system remains as fun as always, the stat matrix is a fun way to develop your character, and the story does have its endearing moments.
  13. Jan 25, 2011
    75
    At no point in the adventure do you ever suspect you're playing a cellphone game, nor do you feel like the experience is ever less than it can or should be. It's fun to play with a cool (if formulaic and linear) tale to tie the various levels together. If you're at all interested in Kingdom Hearts and have a DS, there's no reason to leave this one on the shelf - just make sure you've played through Birth by Sleep before you do!
  14. Jan 21, 2011
    75
    The combat system is fun, the gameplay is varied and the growth system works. Better than 358/2 Days, but recommended almost exclusively for diehard fans.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 4 out of 18
  1. Jan 14, 2011
    7
    The story does need some work, and it is by far the weakest in the entire series. Not to mention that the game is terribly short and it has aThe story does need some work, and it is by far the weakest in the entire series. Not to mention that the game is terribly short and it has a tendency of dragging on. But good graphics especially for the DS, fun gameplay, and a good amount of replay value despite the convoluted story makes up for it. Full Review »
  2. Feb 14, 2013
    6
    This has to be the KH title I enjoyed the least. The gameplay is good (even if backdoors sometimes frustrate me and are a little repetitive),This has to be the KH title I enjoyed the least. The gameplay is good (even if backdoors sometimes frustrate me and are a little repetitive), it's the story I didn't like much. Seems to me it was just an excuse to visit for the bazillionth time the worlds from KH1. I like avatars though, and some things of the gameplay that are innovative, such as 2D battles or the different endings in castle oblivion. Full Review »
  3. sLm
    Oct 19, 2012
    3
    Worst of the series, no doubt.