Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Nov 19, 2011
    100
    HAL Laboratory have developed an adventure with amazing puzzles, exporations, unlockables and bonuses. Everyone with a Nintendo DS ought to own this game.
  2. Sep 17, 2011
    100
    A sublime adventure no fan should be without.
  3. Sep 16, 2011
    95
    Cleverly designed, overwhelmingly cute, and devoted to fun, Kirby Mass Attack is a game that should become part of your handheld library without question.
  4. Sep 19, 2011
    92
    Mass Attack sports loads of innovative mechanics, masterful level design, and a breed of quality and polish that stands alongside Nintendo's best.
  5. Oct 7, 2011
    91
    Between the medals, the tasks, the mini-games and the levels themselves, there's more than ten Kirby's worth of content here, all wrapped up in the charming and creative wrapper that the Kirby franchise become known for. Kirby may never reach the same level of gaming fame as some of Nintendo's other properties, but if the pink puffball's status as a second tier character allows him to show up in such innovative, out there titles, I'm all for him staying out of the spotlight.
  6. Sep 25, 2011
    91
    This is delicious game design, and a fitting sendoff for a device that forced game-makers to think in unusual ways.
  7. Sep 20, 2011
    91
    An exceptional game despite that one controversial decision, and is still an experience that guarantees hours of fun and enjoyment.
  8. Nov 11, 2011
    90
    Kirby Mass Attack is ingenious, overflowing with creativity and content, and able to hold the attention of hardcores and casuals alike. Consistant and surprising at every corner, this last Kirby DS adventure goes out with a bang.
  9. Nov 10, 2011
    90
    Kirby: Mass Attack has all the features of an excellent DS game - innovative controls, delightful gameplay and eye-popping visual style. This may be one the of the last DS games, but without a doubt, it is one of the greatest.
  10. Oct 3, 2011
    90
    If Kirby Mass Attack is really going to be the last Kirby title on the Nintendo DS, then it's ended its run on a very high note. The mechanic of controlling 10 Kirbys at once works like a charm thanks to great level design and good controls.
  11. Sep 19, 2011
    90
    Kirby Mass Attack rewards you for replaying it many times over, with several impressively polished mini-games (my favorites being the RPG and pinball ones), big fruit bonuses, and very frequent references to past Kirby titles.
  12. Sep 19, 2011
    90
    There will inevitably be Kirby purists who will baulk at the rather unorthodox gameplay concept behind Kirby Mass Attack, but if they do they'll be missing out on one of Kirby's most unique adventures to date.
  13. Nov 9, 2011
    89
    A game for everyone, for those who like quick game sessions and also for those who are looking for challenges. Easy to play but very deep and challenging, this experiment of turning Kirby into a Pikmin army is great.
  14. Nov 16, 2011
    87
    The new Kirby installment on Nintendo DS is brilliant. Visuals and sound effects might be a pain to endure but the game is consistently fun and extremely well designed. Fans of the pink mascotte won't be disappointed.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    The reason I give this game a 10 is because I have never really liked any Kirby game until this gem came along. The game is a blast to play, and it's especially rewarding to unlock all the music, and mini games. If you enjoy platformers with a touch of cuteness then you need to own this game. I also give it a 10 because well it is an amazing game. :) Full Review »
  2. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    Personally, I thought Kirby's Canvas curse was a curse on the franchise. I really disliked it because in my eyes, it wasn't so much a Kirby game as it was a Kirby-themed pinball game with the twist that you draw your own ramps. Kirby's Mass Attack is nothing like it, thank God, and funny enough has a pinball mini-game that I find a lot more fun than Canvas Curse. The ability to move similarly has been retained, but works more like a rainbow tractor beam than a rainbow ramp. I must admit I was a bit irritated when I only had that first, singular Kirby, wanting nothing more than to just be able to use the control pad for a new Kirby game made in this century. The moment I got the second one, that vanished entirely, and it became obvious to me that I was in for one fun game. There's something particularly satisfying about starting a stage with a full horde of them, beating the snot out of various enemies. It's like controlling a vicious cloud of fluffy pink piranha. The levels are very world-appropriate, and have really cute touches, such as the skeletons of various enemies in the walls in a cave stage. The difficulty is just right, harder than Superstar but easier than curse, with a list of achievement-like goals for those that like to completely beat a game. The mini-games are a load of fun by themselves. Most notable to me is the most insane shoot-em-up ever (sadly a touch too easy). My nitpick is that the camera is sometimes a bit reluctant to go the direction you want to, even if your whole team is together. This is especially bad in the haunted house in area 4, making it a little harder than it was already. But, I definitely agree this is a must-have for most DS owners, and an easy near-perfect for Nintendo. Bravo, Nintendo, encore! Full Review »
  3. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    this game is kirby mass effectivly good.....ten kirbys theres nothing wrong with that fact to began with......i like this game a lot the mini games are also a thrill to........for some odd reason i still like this game even though my friend cramed my game down my throat...not litteraly figurativly...either ways this game has plenty to offer...sadly though this game is not perfect....this game has no wi fi or download play.......also this game ends way to quickly.....i mean litteraly i knocked every single level and got every single rainbow medal in no more then a week and a half.....the only reason this game doesnt have an eight is because of these problem is because the game is really awesome.........overall i find this game great.... Full Review »