Kirby: Mass Attack DS


Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
Buy On
  1. Sep 20, 2011
    An exceptional game despite that one controversial decision, and is still an experience that guarantees hours of fun and enjoyment.
  2. Oct 31, 2011
    Kirby: Mass Attack is an excellent game that guarantees hours of fun and enjoyment.
  3. Sep 16, 2011
    Kirby Mass Attack may cause you some grief if you're aching for a perfect score of gold medals, but the span of the campaign far exceeds most platformers, and the few sparkling minigames are almost worth the purchase by themselves.
  4. Dec 5, 2011
    Just like Power Paintbrush, Kirby Mass Attack is in the upper echelons of DS' library, proving that you can always teach an old pink puffball new tricks.
  5. Sep 19, 2011
    With some great visuals, typical sound, and some addictive gameplay, "Nintendo-holics" can't go wrong here.
  6. Sep 16, 2011
    Cleverly designed, overwhelmingly cute, and devoted to fun, Kirby Mass Attack is a game that should become part of your handheld library without question.
  7. Sep 19, 2011
    Mass Attack sports loads of innovative mechanics, masterful level design, and a breed of quality and polish that stands alongside Nintendo's best.
  8. Dec 22, 2011
    The selection is definitely more hit than miss, although there are a few stinkers.
  9. Jan 17, 2012
    Nintendo gives you a very clever mixture of classic 2D-jump´n´run and Pikmin. Who could say no to such a combination?
  10. Nov 22, 2011
    Thanks to its fresh and engaging gameplay mechanics, Kirby: Mass Attack proves to be a well crafted platform that will surely appeal to the majority of Nintendo DS owners.
  11. Nov 29, 2011
    Simplicity, fun and tenderness is much of what Kirby Mass Attack has to offer.
  12. Nov 19, 2011
    HAL Laboratory have developed an adventure with amazing puzzles, exporations, unlockables and bonuses. Everyone with a Nintendo DS ought to own this game.
  13. Sep 19, 2011
    Even if your attention is turned to the new generation of portable systems, it's worth taking a step back to play Kirby Mass Attack. With solid touch-based control mechanics, a wealth of unlockables, and the classic Kirby charm, it's another great first-party experience on a system full of them.
  14. Oct 28, 2011
    Quotation forthcoming.
  15. Dec 16, 2011
    Its over-the-top cuteness can sometimes be out of place, but Kirby Mass Attack is surely a fun, addictive and immensely enjoyable game.
  16. Sep 19, 2011
    Kirby Mass Attack rewards you for replaying it many times over, with several impressively polished mini-games (my favorites being the RPG and pinball ones), big fruit bonuses, and very frequent references to past Kirby titles.
  17. 80
    This will possibly be the last big release for the DS, and in that way it's a fitting end of a console era. It shows the handheld at its best with gorgeous pixel graphics, well made stylus controls and plenty of original ideas.
  18. Games Master UK
    Oct 23, 2011
    Lacks Nintendo's usual grace, but the sheer amount of ideas easily makes up for it. [Dec 2011, p.79]
  19. games(TM)
    Dec 1, 2011
    Its stylus control is one of the tightest on the system. [Christmas 2011, p.117]
  20. Oct 7, 2011
    Between the medals, the tasks, the mini-games and the levels themselves, there's more than ten Kirby's worth of content here, all wrapped up in the charming and creative wrapper that the Kirby franchise become known for. Kirby may never reach the same level of gaming fame as some of Nintendo's other properties, but if the pink puffball's status as a second tier character allows him to show up in such innovative, out there titles, I'm all for him staying out of the spotlight.
  21. Sep 19, 2011
    Creativity and innovation make this touch-centric Kirby adventure a must-play.
  22. Sep 17, 2011
    Kirby's newest and likely final DS outing is one of his best in years. It might not reach the heights of adorability that Epic Yarn did, but it's definitely a stronger game when it comes to gameplay and longevity. There's a ton of replayability, numerous unlockables, and more than enough content to justify a purchase.
  23. Sep 24, 2011
    As much a swansong for the DS as Kirby Super Star was for the SNES before it, Mass Attack delivers a sweet final tune for those who still haven't traded up to Nintendo's latest portable.
  24. Dec 6, 2011
    It looks beautiful, offers an vast amount of content and uses the touchscreen very well. Likely one of the last really good DS games from Nintendo.
  25. Sep 16, 2011
    With precise controls, clever use of the touch screen, a funny storyline and plenty of content, this game should not be ignored, despite being developed for a last generation system. Though it can be repetitive at times, the fun just never stops.
  26. Sep 19, 2011
    The highs handily outweigh the lows, thanks to a near-schizophrenic level of variety and metric tons of charm HAL Laboratory has included. Mathematically speaking, the sheer volume of Kirbys doesn't make Mass Attack ten times as good as any other DS title, but I'll be entirely damned if it doesn't make it ten times as endearing.
  27. Sep 30, 2011
    A fun game that does a great job showing off the DS. Unique controls, a fun new concept for the series, and the same fun and imagination that made the Kirby series popular combine to make Kirby Mass Attack is fitting end to the popular handheld.
  28. Oct 26, 2011
    Kirby: Mass Attack has very good and innovative ideas. With a full touch control and a lot of levels, the gameplay is very satisfying although many parts fail because they are slow. Colour, fun and extra mini-games in the last great work of the pink character for Nintendo DS.
  29. 80
    A surprisingly fitting end to Nintendo's legacy on the DS, with one of the best ever uses of the touchscreen and the best Kirby game since Epic Yarn.
  30. Sep 17, 2011
    A sublime adventure no fan should be without.
  31. Nov 16, 2011
    The new Kirby installment on Nintendo DS is brilliant. Visuals and sound effects might be a pain to endure but the game is consistently fun and extremely well designed. Fans of the pink mascotte won't be disappointed.
  32. Sep 19, 2011
    There will inevitably be Kirby purists who will baulk at the rather unorthodox gameplay concept behind Kirby Mass Attack, but if they do they'll be missing out on one of Kirby's most unique adventures to date.
  33. Nintendo Power
    Sep 1, 2011
    Ultimately, I feel that 10 Kirbys are not better than a normal-size, ability-copying one, but Kirby Mass Attack is a nice addition to the series nonetheless. [Sept 2011, p.76]
  34. 85
    While I have my issues with the controls, Kirby Mass Attack is still a joy from start to finish. It might be frustrating, but it's worth the minor control annoyances to work through one of the last great games on the DS.
  35. Bold, broad and occasionally brilliant - but doesn't quite top Power Paintbrush.
  36. Nov 10, 2011
    Kirby: Mass Attack has all the features of an excellent DS game - innovative controls, delightful gameplay and eye-popping visual style. This may be one the of the last DS games, but without a doubt, it is one of the greatest.
  37. Sep 26, 2011
    Kirby Mass Attack is one of the most innovative and varied platformers in Kirby's long, diverse repertoire, making it a fitting swan song for the aging DS.
  38. Nov 24, 2011
    If you don't mind the lack of polish in the touch screen controls, this is a very fun platformer.
  39. Nov 9, 2011
    Mass Attack is a game of invention, wit, and leftfield surprises, in other words, and it all adds up to a near-perfect send off for Nintendo's aging DS. Kirby may not be getting any cuter, but if he continues to star in adventures like this, he can be sure of his place alongside the likes of Mario and Zelda for years to come.
  40. Sep 25, 2011
    This is delicious game design, and a fitting sendoff for a device that forced game-makers to think in unusual ways.
  41. Nov 9, 2011
    A game for everyone, for those who like quick game sessions and also for those who are looking for challenges. Easy to play but very deep and challenging, this experiment of turning Kirby into a Pikmin army is great.
  42. Nov 11, 2011
    Kirby Mass Attack is ingenious, overflowing with creativity and content, and able to hold the attention of hardcores and casuals alike. Consistant and surprising at every corner, this last Kirby DS adventure goes out with a bang.
  43. Oct 3, 2011
    If Kirby Mass Attack is really going to be the last Kirby title on the Nintendo DS, then it's ended its run on a very high note. The mechanic of controlling 10 Kirbys at once works like a charm thanks to great level design and good controls.

Awards & Rankings

#6 Most Discussed DS Game of 2011
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 12, 2011
    The reason I give this game a 10 is because I have never really liked any Kirby game until this gem came along. The game is a blast to play,The reason I give this game a 10 is because I have never really liked any Kirby game until this gem came along. The game is a blast to play, and it's especially rewarding to unlock all the music, and mini games. If you enjoy platformers with a touch of cuteness then you need to own this game. I also give it a 10 because well it is an amazing game. :) Full Review »
  2. Oct 4, 2011
    Personally, I thought Kirby's Canvas curse was a curse on the franchise. I really disliked it because in my eyes, it wasn't so much a KirbyPersonally, I thought Kirby's Canvas curse was a curse on the franchise. I really disliked it because in my eyes, it wasn't so much a Kirby game as it was a Kirby-themed pinball game with the twist that you draw your own ramps. Kirby's Mass Attack is nothing like it, thank God, and funny enough has a pinball mini-game that I find a lot more fun than Canvas Curse. The ability to move similarly has been retained, but works more like a rainbow tractor beam than a rainbow ramp. I must admit I was a bit irritated when I only had that first, singular Kirby, wanting nothing more than to just be able to use the control pad for a new Kirby game made in this century. The moment I got the second one, that vanished entirely, and it became obvious to me that I was in for one fun game. There's something particularly satisfying about starting a stage with a full horde of them, beating the snot out of various enemies. It's like controlling a vicious cloud of fluffy pink piranha. The levels are very world-appropriate, and have really cute touches, such as the skeletons of various enemies in the walls in a cave stage. The difficulty is just right, harder than Superstar but easier than curse, with a list of achievement-like goals for those that like to completely beat a game. The mini-games are a load of fun by themselves. Most notable to me is the most insane shoot-em-up ever (sadly a touch too easy). My nitpick is that the camera is sometimes a bit reluctant to go the direction you want to, even if your whole team is together. This is especially bad in the haunted house in area 4, making it a little harder than it was already. But, I definitely agree this is a must-have for most DS owners, and an easy near-perfect for Nintendo. Bravo, Nintendo, encore! Full Review »
  3. Mar 21, 2012
    this game is kirby mass effectivly good.....ten kirbys theres nothing wrong with that fact to began with......i like this game a lot the minithis game is kirby mass effectivly good.....ten kirbys theres nothing wrong with that fact to began with......i like this game a lot the mini games are also a thrill to........for some odd reason i still like this game even though my friend cramed my game down my throat...not litteraly figurativly...either ways this game has plenty to offer...sadly though this game is not perfect....this game has no wi fi or download play.......also this game ends way to quickly.....i mean litteraly i knocked every single level and got every single rainbow medal in no more then a week and a half.....the only reason this game doesnt have an eight is because of these problem is because the game is really awesome.........overall i find this game great.... Full Review »