User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 47
  2. Negative: 3 out of 47
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 4, 2017
    2
    - A game made with recycled sprites and music of Amazing Mirror.
    - Some stages were lazy and not challenging.
    - The plot was pointless
    - The final boss is extra easy in comparison of the other entries.

    Conclusion: If you want to experience a good DS Kirby game, I recommend to play Super Star Ultra.
  2. Jul 17, 2017
    6
    Squeak Squad is what you would expect of a standard Kirby platformer. Colorful levels, easy to approach and of course, several different copy abilities. The difficulty curve of this game gradually increases, which is why people that may not have played platformers before would still be able to play the game. However, this means the game is simple, and hard to set apart from other 2D KirbySqueak Squad is what you would expect of a standard Kirby platformer. Colorful levels, easy to approach and of course, several different copy abilities. The difficulty curve of this game gradually increases, which is why people that may not have played platformers before would still be able to play the game. However, this means the game is simple, and hard to set apart from other 2D Kirby platformers, also leading the game to feel fairly short. The level design is fairly uninspired, with standard enemy locations, standard obstacles and such. Expand
  3. Jul 19, 2016
    8
    This game should not get mixed reviews this game is amazing. Sure it is flawed still and this game is one of the first kirby ds game so it can't be perfect but this game is great.
  4. May 26, 2016
    7
    Masahiro Sakurai be defending his Kirby because by then, we should be getting more great Kirby games. Kirby: Squeak Squad doesn't make it up, but it works.
  5. Mar 9, 2016
    10
    kirby: squeak squad is, in my opinion, the best of the kirby games. the way that you can actually choose kirby's colour and upgrade your powers with scrolls and store powers to use anytime
  6. Nov 18, 2015
    10
    By far one of the most Kirby Games. It is a perfect mix between difficulty and fun. This game is perfect for a car ride or any situation. Creativity, level design, and overall mechanics at its finest..
  7. Oct 18, 2015
    8
    Another kirby game i like a lot, Its what kirby should be in everyway with a stupid plot line, Colourful graphics, Minimal Difficulty and of course a decent array of copy abilities yet this would probably be one of the smallest ammount of copy abilities for all i know. Somethings i think that ruined it slightly is that the game is incredibly short with only 8 areas and 5 stages (there areAnother kirby game i like a lot, Its what kirby should be in everyway with a stupid plot line, Colourful graphics, Minimal Difficulty and of course a decent array of copy abilities yet this would probably be one of the smallest ammount of copy abilities for all i know. Somethings i think that ruined it slightly is that the game is incredibly short with only 8 areas and 5 stages (there are EX stages but they arent very hard)with easy to get unlockables and they gave kirby an infinite float which isnt even needed unless your fighting kracko. Overall i think its a great kirby game but with the least content of them all with no The arena or True arena which is dissapointing so i'd recommend it for a cheap price, but I'd say go with Superstar ultra if you want a full kirby game on DS Expand
  8. May 2, 2015
    9
    Game: Kirby Squeak Squad
    Genre: Adventure Platformer
    Developer: Nintendo/HAL System: Nintendo DS (NDS) Total Score: 90/100 Value Score: 9.0/10 • Story: 8/10 • Characters: 9/10 • GamePlay: 9/10 • Graphics: 10/10 • Sound: 10/10 • Music: 10/10 • Length: 7/10 • Replay Value: 7/10 • Player Value: 10/10 Pros +Dual Screen capability allows the ability to combine
    Game: Kirby Squeak Squad
    Genre: Adventure Platformer
    Developer: Nintendo/HAL
    System: Nintendo DS (NDS)
    Total Score: 90/100
    Value Score: 9.0/10

    • Story: 8/10
    • Characters: 9/10
    • GamePlay: 9/10
    • Graphics: 10/10
    • Sound: 10/10
    • Music: 10/10
    • Length: 7/10
    • Replay Value: 7/10
    • Player Value: 10/10

    Pros
    +Dual Screen capability allows the ability to combine abilities and items and hold items/abilities for later which brings a new fresh experience to the series
    +The goal of collecting treasures is both challenging and rewarding due to the fact the contents consist of different rewards such as music test tracks, color changes, special enhancements to abilities, artwork puzzle pieces and even methods of increasing health or unlocking stages
    +Music tracks from previous games are remixed alongside new tracks exclusive to the game
    +Extra mode and Boss Endurance mode are included upon completion thus increasing the replay value of the game
    +Fighting a mini boss at the end of each level is a fresh new feature not seen in previous games
    +A few new abilities do show up alongside some of the most memorable abilities that have not had an appearance in a while

    Cons
    -Stages are easy and short
    -Mini games not as exciting as previous Kirby games
    Expand
  9. Jun 24, 2012
    8
    I quite enjoyed this one, along with Amazing Mirror. This game brought back nostalgia even though it was a new release. It went back to the old style while introducing a new fresh story and some new abilities.
  10. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    "Kirby Squeak Squad" is very satisfying and enjoyable. The campaign and cutscenes are just terrible, but the gameplay is one of the most original concepts i've seen. A good DS game that will entertain you till the heart.
  11. GrantD.
    Apr 1, 2007
    8
    This game is a lot like the games for gameboy advance, it seems like the only difference is the power mixing. It is not the best game I have ever played but it is enjoyable.
  12. ZakB.
    Mar 24, 2007
    10
    This game is so awesome! It has tons of new powers and a funny story. You must master the new powers!
  13. SYC
    Feb 27, 2007
    7
    Highly polished Kirby platformer in the classic sense. Fairly straight forward and easy to beat but it's loaded with secrets and it's just so beautifully done that it's hard not to be won over, at least for a while, by the almost disgustingly cute little pink ball that is Kirby.
  14. CalvinDanielson
    Feb 22, 2007
    3
    Only 5 ability combinations, little creativity, and a less than half a day completion (100%) left me sadly disappointed and short $30. You would have more fun with amazing mirror than with squeak squad, cause at least that uses creativity. I would recommend renting it, but not buying.
  15. Jun 24, 2012
    8
    I quite enjoyed this one, along with Amazing Mirror. This game brought back nostalgia even though it was a new release. It went back to the old style while introducing a new fresh story and some new abilities.

Awards & Rankings

25
18
#18 Most Discussed DS Game of 2006
29
#29 Most Shared DS Game of 2006
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 80
    The only thing we didn't like about Squeak Squad is that it's a tad on the easy side...But there is no denying the ineffable charm of this title.
  2. 70
    Stomach issues and assumption of Japanese linguistic ability aside, however, Squeak Squad is the most complete conventional Kirby side-scroller in some time. Yes, it may not be a "killer app" like Canvas Curse, but it's not trying to be.
  3. Though Kirby Squeak Squad rarely finds a way to challenge you, it's a clever and cute enough platformer to recommend to most DS owners.