Kirby Super Star Ultra DS

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 75
  2. Negative: 2 out of 75
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 4, 2011
    9
    An excellent upgrade to an already awesome classic Super Nintendo title. This time around, the compilation includes all the games and mini-games from the SNES release along with even more new games (Including one starring Meta Knight) and mini-games than before! The graphics and audio have been updated from the original release and new features have been added, there is also new musicAn excellent upgrade to an already awesome classic Super Nintendo title. This time around, the compilation includes all the games and mini-games from the SNES release along with even more new games (Including one starring Meta Knight) and mini-games than before! The graphics and audio have been updated from the original release and new features have been added, there is also new music tracks, bonus video clips and even more bosses that where not in the original version. You can play this game multiplayer by using two game cards and a download play demo with minigames and Spring Breeze but both players have to share one DS screen. With all the high quality content crammed into one cartridge along with multiplayer support, any fan of Kirby should not pass up this amazing compilation. Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    Another exelent title from nintendo,all af the stories and upgrades makes this game so awesome!
  3. AndrewSteeves
    Sep 24, 2008
    8
    SuperStar Deluxe on the SNES was the best Kirby game, and the DS remake is just as good, but that's a good and bad thing.

    Great game, but I would've loved to have seen some extra things packed in, like extra games.

    And where the hell is the punching mini-game from the SNES, that was awesome.
  4. RyanScura
    Sep 28, 2008
    9
    Having played the original SNES game, I was intrigued to find out this was coming to the DS. I bought it when it immediately came out, and started the grind to unlocking the 6 original games (Milky Way Wishes being my favorite). Imagine my surprise when they managed to sneak in a difficult version of Spring Breeze (Revenge of the King), a chance to play through 5 of the 6 original titlesHaving played the original SNES game, I was intrigued to find out this was coming to the DS. I bought it when it immediately came out, and started the grind to unlocking the 6 original games (Milky Way Wishes being my favorite). Imagine my surprise when they managed to sneak in a difficult version of Spring Breeze (Revenge of the King), a chance to play through 5 of the 6 original titles as Meta Knight, and 3 new Arenas. True Arena being a VERY difficult challenge.

    Solo play is recommended for difficult challenges in the game, Co-op recommended for some good fun or help getting past those much harder fights (True Arena).

    Co-op also works well, though, I can't help but wonder why they won't let you play with separate screens if both players do not have the cartridge. They can do it with Spring Breeze... perhaps as a marketing ploy.

    Either way, I recommend it as a buy. Or a rent then buy.
    Expand
  5. RyanSilverFox
    Apr 17, 2009
    9
    It's awesome to see this game again and what they did with it gave justice to an already fantastic game.

    I'm a bit suprised at how many of the "professional" reviewers rated and commented so badly on such a gem (though I can't be suprised... reviewers are full of themselves more often than not), especially with the talk about it just being a remake. Yes, it's a
    It's awesome to see this game again and what they did with it gave justice to an already fantastic game.

    I'm a bit suprised at how many of the "professional" reviewers rated and commented so badly on such a gem (though I can't be suprised... reviewers are full of themselves more often than not), especially with the talk about it just being a remake. Yes, it's a remake... but it's almost like they made a "hard mode" and doubled the length of the game. I personally laugh at the people who say it's too easy... especially since some of the final modes are actually pretty challenging.

    I only had two gripes about the game. First, it would have been awesome to make a "Helper's Adventure" mode, where you play as just the helper through the game. Second, the 2nd player mode is kinna tricky to navigate as the 2nd player. The camera centers around Kirby, even as the 2nd player... so you can get lost pretty quickly.

    All in all, it's a must buy for any DS owner.
    Collapse
  6. JeremySchlossman
    Aug 21, 2009
    8
    A solid remake of a SNES Cult Classic. Kirby Super Star Ultra is a fine platformer with quite a bit of depth. There's tons of abilities and moves, much more so than any other Kirby title ever made. The majority of the game modes can be played with a buddy who also owns the game (albeit player 2 doesn't always have control of what ability he/she can use). Co-op makes the packageA solid remake of a SNES Cult Classic. Kirby Super Star Ultra is a fine platformer with quite a bit of depth. There's tons of abilities and moves, much more so than any other Kirby title ever made. The majority of the game modes can be played with a buddy who also owns the game (albeit player 2 doesn't always have control of what ability he/she can use). Co-op makes the package really worthwhile, it's much better if you're playing with a friend. Graphics are standard fair for a Kirby game, not very flashy or pretty but always colorful and interesting. There are tons of baddies and bosses to take down, and the last few unlockable stages are actually quite challenging. You can get a good 20 hours out of the game if you 100%. It's still overall rather easy, and it really could have been done on the GBA (Many of the sprites used in Superstar are rehashed from NMiDL/Mirror). It's still a solid and fun game though. Recommended. Highly recommended if you can consistently play with a friend. Expand
  7. StevenTurner
    Sep 24, 2008
    9
    People really shouldn't set their expectations for this game too high. It's a remake, if you've played through Kirby Super Star before, you'll enjoy the graphical touch ups and awesome video sequences they've added in. Plus all the mini games have been tweaked. It's definitely worth the money if your a kirby fan and haven't played the original or want toPeople really shouldn't set their expectations for this game too high. It's a remake, if you've played through Kirby Super Star before, you'll enjoy the graphical touch ups and awesome video sequences they've added in. Plus all the mini games have been tweaked. It's definitely worth the money if your a kirby fan and haven't played the original or want to relive the awesome moments of the game that released on the SNES Expand
  8. May 26, 2011
    9
    So many games in one! I would've like more unlockable minigames, however. But that is a minor complaint. This game is a gem, and you should definitely own this.
  9. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    A truly amazing game, it's very challenging at some points! I love the fact that this game is a remake to Kirby super star from the 90's, a game I always wanted to play. I love the feature to play as meta-knight, my fav character from the kirby series! Overall, this game is a must have for any DS owner, and any kirby fan, I love this game so much! It's amazing!
  10. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    Kirby Super Star Ultra is an evolution of the original with new modes that are just as awesome as the old ones, while retaining its incredibly fun gameplay. The best Kirby game made better
  11. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    Being a huge Kirby fan, my expectations went through the roof, I mean, Kirby Super Star was awesome enough! But no...they gave the fans what they didn't even know they really wanted and amazed us with this FANTASTIC remake! Including all the old fun content from it's 1996 prequel and a TON of new content, this game NEVER gets boring. Tons of abilities and mini-games and even if you DO getBeing a huge Kirby fan, my expectations went through the roof, I mean, Kirby Super Star was awesome enough! But no...they gave the fans what they didn't even know they really wanted and amazed us with this FANTASTIC remake! Including all the old fun content from it's 1996 prequel and a TON of new content, this game NEVER gets boring. Tons of abilities and mini-games and even if you DO get bored playing this, you'll instantly have more fun with a different game on this wonderful cartridge. It satisfies the gamer as much as it can and putting those dumb critics who hate the game aside, I really loved this game. If you liked Kirby Super Star, have a DS, 2DS or 3DS, or are a Kirby fan looking for hours and even days of fun, this is the game for you! Expand
  12. Sep 28, 2014
    9
    awesome,Awesome...AWESOME. THe game is really awesome and easy to play like the others(but in the true arena you gotta dead 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10..............)the only bad i see is the graphics.Is not bad,i say was so good,but Nintendo can make better graphics in the DS,this graphics was in the GBA,not so surprising. That is my critic.I wait was helpful for you
  13. May 20, 2015
    10
    This wonderful remake of Kirby Super Star will always remain in my soul for what it is. An enhanced, expanded remake of the original with memorable gameplay and mechanics. Its soundtrack and its replayability in most of the game's sub games make it even better. The game plays very smoothly and has amazing graphics, and is definitely nothing to underestimate.

    If you need a new
    This wonderful remake of Kirby Super Star will always remain in my soul for what it is. An enhanced, expanded remake of the original with memorable gameplay and mechanics. Its soundtrack and its replayability in most of the game's sub games make it even better. The game plays very smoothly and has amazing graphics, and is definitely nothing to underestimate.

    If you need a new Nintendo DS game, definitely consider picking this one up. You don't be disappointed.
    Expand
  14. Nov 18, 2015
    10
    Endless fun. The game has a bunch of different fun modes that are always enjoyable to replay over and over. My personal favorite is when you can play as Metaknight!! I still haven't even beaten the true arena. Has game modes from easy to very hard. Great game!
  15. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    this game is the most **** awesome game ever on the ds and it is **** epic and the music is epic oh yea and so is the twist ending lolololololololol XD
  16. May 20, 2012
    10
    I love kirby superstar ultra!

    Aprilbutte, Multiplayer can be done with two game cards too, and both ds can see the screen (Awsome!) Kirby superstar ultra can have it's momments! There are 11 game modes. Here they are. ----------------------- -Spring breeze -Gorment race -Dyna blade -The great cave offensive -Meta knight's revenge -Milky way wishes -King dedede's revenge
    I love kirby superstar ultra!

    Aprilbutte, Multiplayer can be done with two game cards too, and both ds can see the screen (Awsome!)

    Kirby superstar ultra can have it's momments!

    There are 11 game modes.

    Here they are.
    -----------------------
    -Spring breeze
    -Gorment race
    -Dyna blade
    -The great cave offensive
    -Meta knight's revenge
    -Milky way wishes
    -King dedede's revenge
    -Metaknightmare ultra
    -The arena
    -Helper to hero
    -The TRUE arena
    ----------------------------------

    There are 5 minigames
    -----------------------------------
    -kirby on the draw
    -Kirby card swipe
    -snack tracks
    -Megaton punch
    -Samurai kirby
    ----------------

    The music is wonderful and the game is charming and wonderful!

    This for any nintendo fan!
    Expand
  17. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    Lot's of fun characters, fun gameplay, and fun worlds. Even if you complete everything in the game, the different games are so fun that it's easy to enjoy playing them over and over and over again. It might have been nice if there were more characters that weren't enemies, but to play as or interact with, but, it's a good game either way. Definitely recommended.
  18. Jul 22, 2014
    9
    Kirby Super Star Ultra. While the DS has never been my favorite device to play my games on as I much prefer consoles and PCs, I did have a few good games on the system. Heck, I still enjoy playing all of the Mario games that I have on the DS. They are very enjoyable and fun for all ages. As for this game, it is actually a remake of Kirby Super Star for the SNES. So, does this remakeKirby Super Star Ultra. While the DS has never been my favorite device to play my games on as I much prefer consoles and PCs, I did have a few good games on the system. Heck, I still enjoy playing all of the Mario games that I have on the DS. They are very enjoyable and fun for all ages. As for this game, it is actually a remake of Kirby Super Star for the SNES. So, does this remake recapture the magic of the SNES classic, or is it a disgrace to the memory of that wonderful game? Let's find out. This game is about as simple as an action platformer can get. You move from platform to platform fighting enemies and solving puzzles along the way. What makes this game more unique than other action platformers however, is Kirby himself, and the fact that it is several games in one. Kirby on his own can swallow enemies and eat them. When Kirby swallows certain enemies, he can copy their abilities. This is a very important difference from most platformers. Most characters in platformers only have a small amount of power-ups at their disposal. Kirby on the other hand, has dozens. This makes the game much more enjoyable to play. I had a lot of fun trying out Kirby's abilities when I got them. Every ability in the game is very different, and changes the gameplay quite a bit. This game is also several games in one. While the gameplay is overall the same in every game, each game adds a special twist to make it more unique from the last one. The only real problem I had with the gameplay overall is that it was way too easy. Kirby has a lot of health, and there is plenty of food available to refill it. Kirby is also like a balloon, because he can float over gaps, which other characters like Mario would have to make huge jumps over. This makes the game way too easy, and disappointing for those looking for a challenge. However, the difficulty really isn't a problem when the game is this fun to play. As for the graphics, they are beautiful and unique. They have definitely seen an upgrade from the original SNES game. Everything in this game looks cartoony and cute to look at. The backgrounds are also rich with detail. There is really no problem at all with this game when it comes to the graphics. As for the story, this really depends on which game you choose. Even so, all the game stories are really straightforward, and easy to follow. The first game is Spring Breeze, in which King Dedede steals all of the food in Dreamland, and it is up to Kirby to stop him. The second is Dyna Blade, in which a giant bird is attacking Dreamland, and Kirby has to discover why. Then there's Great Cave Offensive, in which Kirby finds himself lost in an underground cavern. He must escape and collect treasure along the way. Gourmet Race is a game in which King Dedede challenges Kirby to race to the finish while collecting the most food along the way. Meta Knight's Revenge is the story of how Meta Knight uses his ship Halberd in attempt to take over Dreamland, and Kirby has to stop him. Milky Way Wishes is about a time when the Sun and the Moon started fighting each other, and Kirby has to find a way to stop them from fighting. These were the stories of all of the original Kirby Super Star games. There are also a few new ones. The Revenge of the King is a remixed version of Spring Breeze that is much harder, and is about how Dedede wants revenge after being defeated in Spring Breeze. Meta Nightmare Ultra allows you to play all of the games mentioned above as Meta Knight (minus Revenge of the King). This adds a nice spin on Kirby Super Star. There are also three arena modes, which are just modes that pit you against all of the game's bosses in random order. While the stories of these games aren't very developed, they are relatively easy to follow, and that's all that really matters in a video game. Overall, this game is a nice throwback to a time when video games had very simple premises. I really enjoyed the time I had with this game. It is a blast to play, has beautiful graphics and stories that are very easy to follow, leaving everything else open to interpretation. This is a game that anyone who owns a DS should play. It is really fun, and more than worth the money.
    Gameplay: 9/10
    Graphics: 10/10
    Story: 9/10
    Overall: 9/10
    Expand
  19. Jun 1, 2015
    10
    kirby super star es una obra maestra, recuerdo cuando lo jugue por primera ves en mi snes, una joya atemporal, el mejor de la saga y lo amantes de kirby estaran de acuerdo con mi analisis, kirby super star ultra es excelente trae muchas mejoras con la batalla de meta caballero vs caballero galactico, que es epico, la venganza del rey dedede, la verdadera arena, la ayuda a los heroeskirby super star es una obra maestra, recuerdo cuando lo jugue por primera ves en mi snes, una joya atemporal, el mejor de la saga y lo amantes de kirby estaran de acuerdo con mi analisis, kirby super star ultra es excelente trae muchas mejoras con la batalla de meta caballero vs caballero galactico, que es epico, la venganza del rey dedede, la verdadera arena, la ayuda a los heroes hacen que este juego sea perfecto, kirby super estar ultra brilla, sus niveles y musica combinas perfectamente con las emociones del jugador, kirby super estar es el mejor de la saga, y uno de los mejores plataformas de toda la historia si eres amantes de la bola rosa tienes una sita con este juegazo.. Expand
  20. Nov 28, 2015
    8
    I might have a bit of a bias towards this game since it's my number one nostalgic game. sure it's nowhere near perfect (why do you need to look at player 1's screen in co-op instead of being able to look on your own screen Hall?) but the amount of fun I had (and still have) with this game is amazing. maybe it's just me being nostalgia blinded but I don't think I ever had the same amount ofI might have a bit of a bias towards this game since it's my number one nostalgic game. sure it's nowhere near perfect (why do you need to look at player 1's screen in co-op instead of being able to look on your own screen Hall?) but the amount of fun I had (and still have) with this game is amazing. maybe it's just me being nostalgia blinded but I don't think I ever had the same amount of fun in any form of media (even though it's nowhere near my favourite game). Expand
  21. Dec 8, 2015
    9
    This was an awesome game to play when I was a kid.
    But it gets boring when you get all profiles to 100%.
    I still can't beat helper to hero with all characters on them though...
  22. Oct 24, 2015
    10
    This is my all time favorite video game.Taking the timeless Kirby super star and expanding upon it.Thes expansions include all new levels,boss fights,And more overall gameplay.If I were to co with a minor flaw its that multiplayer is less accessable.
  23. Jul 19, 2016
    9
    I think that the snes one is better but doesn't mean the ds one is bad! This one is fun and it's one of my favorite games and now I can fit it in my pocket!
  24. Sep 2, 2016
    9
    This game is just like Super Star but WAY more content, with Revenge of the King, Meta Knightmare Ultra, Helper to Hero, and the True Arena. And if Super Star was good, Super Star Ultra is the best Kirby game, whatsoever!

Awards & Rankings

#6 Most Discussed DS Game of 2008
#12 Most Shared DS Game of 2008
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 79
    It's not as creative as "Kirby's Canvas Curse", but it's not as "by the numbers" formulaic as "Kirby's Squeak Squad."
  2. Copying enemy abilities and working alongside helper characters is cool, and we dig the imaginative environments, but there's not enough to keep us hooked.
  3. 91
    Kirby and company are just too damn cute and cheerful. If Smash Bros. piqued your interest, Ultra's your next step.