Kirby Super Star Ultra Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kirby Super Star Ultra re-imagines one of the most beloved Kirby games of all time. Kirby Super Star Ultra features new graphics and fully rendered animated cut scenes. With so many adventures waiting to be unlocked, there's never be a dull moment as Kirby runs, floats, copies enemies andKirby Super Star Ultra re-imagines one of the most beloved Kirby games of all time. Kirby Super Star Ultra features new graphics and fully rendered animated cut scenes. With so many adventures waiting to be unlocked, there's never be a dull moment as Kirby runs, floats, copies enemies and uses Helpers to fight King Dedede and Meta Knight. New modes like Revenge of the King and Meta Knight Ultra await, along with classics like The Great Cave Offensive and Milky Way Wishes. On top of the main modes, there are also three new touch-screen-controlled mini-games that can be played with up to three friends via DS Download Play. Not only that, but players can go on Kirby adventures with a friend via local wireless as well. [Nintendo] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. If you don't play Kirby Super Star Ultra, you're missing a great game. It looks great, it plays great, and there's lots of variety. What more could you want?
  2. It's rare for a title to achieve truly universal appeal, but it's hard to think of any gamer who wouldn't enjoy Kirby Super Star Ultra, and with 15 games in one, you'd be hard-pressed to find a better deal. [Nov 2008, p.100]
  3. 83
    I’d suggest opting to playing with a friend, although if you have a friend to play the game with, you might as well stick to the main collection as they are significantly more enjoyable.
  4. In spite of the minor issues, diehard Kirby fans shouldn’t stop themselves from inhaling Super Star Ultra.
  5. More than just a classic with a new coat of paint. No, it's a classic with over ten new games, new CG movies, a bit of touch screen bonuses, and a splash of paint that will leave you smiling (and possibly a little hungry) afterwards.
  6. What’s left is a game that is clearly a few ­generations behind the times.
  7. While this portable Ultra-version of Kirby Super Star adds some new content as well as updates certain aspects of the game, it is still in its core the SNES-classic we got to know in 1996. Fun, unique, extremely graphically vibrant and way too easy for it's own good.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    Another exelent title from nintendo,all af the stories and upgrades makes this game so awesome!
  2. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    this game is the most **** awesome game ever on the ds and it is **** epic and the music is epic oh yea and so is the twist endingthis game is the most **** awesome game ever on the ds and it is **** epic and the music is epic oh yea and so is the twist ending lolololololololol XD Expand
  3. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    A truly amazing game, it's very challenging at some points! I love the fact that this game is a remake to Kirby super star from the 90's, aA truly amazing game, it's very challenging at some points! I love the fact that this game is a remake to Kirby super star from the 90's, a game I always wanted to play. I love the feature to play as meta-knight, my fav character from the kirby series! Overall, this game is a must have for any DS owner, and any kirby fan, I love this game so much! It's amazing! Expand
  4. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    Lot's of fun characters, fun gameplay, and fun worlds. Even if you complete everything in the game, the different games are so fun that it'sLot's of fun characters, fun gameplay, and fun worlds. Even if you complete everything in the game, the different games are so fun that it's easy to enjoy playing them over and over and over again. It might have been nice if there were more characters that weren't enemies, but to play as or interact with, but, it's a good game either way. Definitely recommended. Expand
  5. StevenTurner
    Sep 24, 2008
    9
    People really shouldn't set their expectations for this game too high. It's a remake, if you've played through Kirby Super StarPeople really shouldn't set their expectations for this game too high. It's a remake, if you've played through Kirby Super Star before, you'll enjoy the graphical touch ups and awesome video sequences they've added in. Plus all the mini games have been tweaked. It's definitely worth the money if your a kirby fan and haven't played the original or want to relive the awesome moments of the game that released on the SNES Expand
  6. Jul 22, 2014
    9
    Kirby Super Star Ultra. While the DS has never been my favorite device to play my games on as I much prefer consoles and PCs, I did have aKirby Super Star Ultra. While the DS has never been my favorite device to play my games on as I much prefer consoles and PCs, I did have a few good games on the system. Heck, I still enjoy playing all of the Mario games that I have on the DS. They are very enjoyable and fun for all ages. As for this game, it is actually a remake of Kirby Super Star for the SNES. So, does this remake recapture the magic of the SNES classic, or is it a disgrace to the memory of that wonderful game? Let's find out. This game is about as simple as an action platformer can get. You move from platform to platform fighting enemies and solving puzzles along the way. What makes this game more unique than other action platformers however, is Kirby himself, and the fact that it is several games in one. Kirby on his own can swallow enemies and eat them. When Kirby swallows certain enemies, he can copy their abilities. This is a very important difference from most platformers. Most characters in platformers only have a small amount of power-ups at their disposal. Kirby on the other hand, has dozens. This makes the game much more enjoyable to play. I had a lot of fun trying out Kirby's abilities when I got them. Every ability in the game is very different, and changes the gameplay quite a bit. This game is also several games in one. While the gameplay is overall the same in every game, each game adds a special twist to make it more unique from the last one. The only real problem I had with the gameplay overall is that it was way too easy. Kirby has a lot of health, and there is plenty of food available to refill it. Kirby is also like a balloon, because he can float over gaps, which other characters like Mario would have to make huge jumps over. This makes the game way too easy, and disappointing for those looking for a challenge. However, the difficulty really isn't a problem when the game is this fun to play. As for the graphics, they are beautiful and unique. They have definitely seen an upgrade from the original SNES game. Everything in this game looks cartoony and cute to look at. The backgrounds are also rich with detail. There is really no problem at all with this game when it comes to the graphics. As for the story, this really depends on which game you choose. Even so, all the game stories are really straightforward, and easy to follow. The first game is Spring Breeze, in which King Dedede steals all of the food in Dreamland, and it is up to Kirby to stop him. The second is Dyna Blade, in which a giant bird is attacking Dreamland, and Kirby has to discover why. Then there's Great Cave Offensive, in which Kirby finds himself lost in an underground cavern. He must escape and collect treasure along the way. Gourmet Race is a game in which King Dedede challenges Kirby to race to the finish while collecting the most food along the way. Meta Knight's Revenge is the story of how Meta Knight uses his ship Halberd in attempt to take over Dreamland, and Kirby has to stop him. Milky Way Wishes is about a time when the Sun and the Moon started fighting each other, and Kirby has to find a way to stop them from fighting. These were the stories of all of the original Kirby Super Star games. There are also a few new ones. The Revenge of the King is a remixed version of Spring Breeze that is much harder, and is about how Dedede wants revenge after being defeated in Spring Breeze. Meta Nightmare Ultra allows you to play all of the games mentioned above as Meta Knight (minus Revenge of the King). This adds a nice spin on Kirby Super Star. There are also three arena modes, which are just modes that pit you against all of the game's bosses in random order. While the stories of these games aren't very developed, they are relatively easy to follow, and that's all that really matters in a video game. Overall, this game is a nice throwback to a time when video games had very simple premises. I really enjoyed the time I had with this game. It is a blast to play, has beautiful graphics and stories that are very easy to follow, leaving everything else open to interpretation. This is a game that anyone who owns a DS should play. It is really fun, and more than worth the money.
    Gameplay: 9/10
    Graphics: 10/10
    Story: 9/10
    Overall: 9/10
    Expand
  7. AprilButte
    Apr 21, 2009
    6
    The game is good,but it gets boring.The last level is very hard! you do the same thing in the whole game! my friend Meridith can't beatThe game is good,but it gets boring.The last level is very hard! you do the same thing in the whole game! my friend Meridith can't beat level two!!! I had a hard time trying to beat six.on two player mode with only one game card you have to look at the other player's screen and that is annoying! the game needs some upgrades. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews