• Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Jun 3, 2009
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JamesA.
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    An amazing game at the intersection of design and beauty. There probably won't be any other game released this year with as much care and love put into it. FPS suckups and industry vampires need not apply.
  2. BrynJ.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    A complex, difficult, innovative strategy game that maximizes the potential of the DS hardware. The visuals, audio, and gameplay are more polished than most games. Give it some time, maybe read a FAQ towards the beginning of the game to figure out what you need to do, and don't project your ideas of what a strategy game should be onto this game.
  3. JayS.
    Jun 10, 2009
    9
    I'll try not to include things in my review that have already been mentioned in some of the linked reviews... here goes: So far I've found this game to be different and enjoyable, but there is one major flaw, in my opinion: This is a portable strategy game, but you can't save mid-battle. I know i can close the lid, but what if I need to power down? I don't want to have I'll try not to include things in my review that have already been mentioned in some of the linked reviews... here goes: So far I've found this game to be different and enjoyable, but there is one major flaw, in my opinion: This is a portable strategy game, but you can't save mid-battle. I know i can close the lid, but what if I need to power down? I don't want to have to replay these long levels over. Also, people keep calling this an SRPG-RTS-Shmup hybrid. It's not. It's definitely bullet hell, cuz you have a lot of top-down 2D mayhem going on, but it's not a shmup- the wisp can't fire back. It's in real-time. but it's nothing like an RTS. At all. It might help if you didn't come into this game thinking that. I mean most of your units can't even move, so that RTS comparison is really strange. As far as turn-based strategy goes... well the "turns" a weird. They're very long and there are a LOT of them. I haven't been playing for long, so I've decided to just "go with the flow" and not disrupt the game's user rating (9 at the time i reviewed it), but I have a feeling that I'm not going to dig this game as much as the other reviewer. Definitely a game you want to try before you buy, no matter how much you like SRPGs. My last couple of games were FF Tactics A2, FFIV, Luminous Arc 2, Disgaea DS, and I'm currently playing Valkyrie Profile - Covenant of the Plume, but this game feels less strategic than any of those games. More confusing and probably more challenging, but less strategic (if that makes any sense). Collapse
  4. ReedW.
    Jun 20, 2009
    10
    Great music, great sprites, great art direction, amazing gameplay. The story isn't exactly top-notch, but it's enough to pull you along; not that this is really necessary with gameplay this great though. Game of the year for 2009 so far.
  5. BrandonA.
    Jun 6, 2009
    10
    Incredibly beautiful, action-packed, and unique RPG experience.
  6. TrevorG.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    So I picked up this game when it first came out because it looked absolutely amazing. And then I let it sit for months because I just didn't want to take the time for the tutorials(I heard it took an hour or so). I kept playing games I could just pick up and play. Then one day decided I would just start doing the tutorials.... they really fly by... not very long at all. And it was So I picked up this game when it first came out because it looked absolutely amazing. And then I let it sit for months because I just didn't want to take the time for the tutorials(I heard it took an hour or so). I kept playing games I could just pick up and play. Then one day decided I would just start doing the tutorials.... they really fly by... not very long at all. And it was totally worth it! The story is interesting and has a nice progression. It let's you know just a piece of the puzzle at a time. The settings are very immersive... especially for a hand-held game. And the battles are a lot of fun. If you like strategy games like Age of Empires on the DS and you like RPG's than this game should be up your alley. While it's true you don't get too attached to all your characters.... you do get pretty attached too the knights you've been fighting with for a while. Especially after upgrading them(and you get a little glimpse into what they were like when they were alive).... but the story isn't about your knights ... it's about the wisp and his connection to everything that is going on. It's really a intimate look into the kingdom of Aventheim... both it's past and present. The art style is really unique and very well done. There's just so many good things to say about this game. Probably my favorite game on the DS. Expand
  7. AM
    Jun 5, 2009
    9
    Don't be intimated by this genre defying masterpiece. The graphics are gorgeous and the sound amazing with typical Atlus/Sting high quality storyline and characters. The game looks confusing but is actually quite simple. The interactive "first steps" tutorial is a must and reading the other tutorial and tips sections are worth it. As for game play, A lot of the stuff on the screen is Don't be intimated by this genre defying masterpiece. The graphics are gorgeous and the sound amazing with typical Atlus/Sting high quality storyline and characters. The game looks confusing but is actually quite simple. The interactive "first steps" tutorial is a must and reading the other tutorial and tips sections are worth it. As for game play, A lot of the stuff on the screen is just info overload and you don't have to pay attention to it other than it looks real pretty. As a first time player the hardest thing to get used to is the pacing and that you really have a lot more time than it seems. Don't panic! The most important thing is to get used to looking at the top screen and not the bottom one so much. The bottom is there for reference, but the top is all the visual cues so you need to get comfortable syncing your hand movements on the bottom with the dodging and skill activation on the top. Skill activation also takes some getting used to as it won't happen if you do it too fast. You need to get the wisp cursor on the weapon, make sure it becomes floating, and then drag it over your character to activate the attack, then drag the wisp in the direction you want to attack. The last part is most important as the characters will rotate and you'll be able to hit more targets all at once. Collecting gems and medium material after attacks provides you the means to upgrade weapons. Weapons can also be fused together to make them more durable and powerful and clean up your inventory. You beat enemies to fill up a tic-tac-toe grid to progress to the next level. In between battles you have a slot machine reel that must be timed correctly to make sure you keep fighting the same enemy and kill them within a certain number of turns. This is a unique mechanic and makes you plan which row you want to fill based on the enemies and order of the grid and reels. It's a little complicated but you get used to it after a few tries. The ability to level up your characters by replaying a scenario is good as you don't necessarily have to try and advance the story if you characters are week and in need of grinding. I wish you could save more often as you can only do it between levels, but you can always put the system to sleep. I really like this game a lot and it's super deep with a lot of varied strategy. The tic-tac-toe reels are a quirky but cool addition to the strategy - bullet dodge mechanic. If you take the time to learn about the game you'll be well rewarded with awesome visuals, music, and an engaging storyline. This game may be tough to find, but it's going to be a rare instant classic! Expand
  8. CarmeM
    Jun 28, 2009
    10
    Knights in the Nightmare is an amazing game. I was iffy about buying it, and wondered if it was worth it in the first few hours of gameplay. It took a bit of time getting used to it, the games complexity is astonishing, but that hour spent in the tutorials is well worth it. The game is lacking in the plot category in the beginning of the game, but it intensifies as you go along. I'm Knights in the Nightmare is an amazing game. I was iffy about buying it, and wondered if it was worth it in the first few hours of gameplay. It took a bit of time getting used to it, the games complexity is astonishing, but that hour spent in the tutorials is well worth it. The game is lacking in the plot category in the beginning of the game, but it intensifies as you go along. I'm a plot FANATIC, I need a good plot in a game to make it good. Knights in the Nightmare gives you two views of the plot. It has a current plot before a battle, and a flashback after a battle. The flashback has more to do with character backrounds. Little bits of information that give each character soul. Knights in the Nightmare gives you many options as well. You could complete any level a MILLION ways, each play through can be different. The variety and quality of the game is great. The mixture of genres is smooth, almost creating a genre all by itself. The graphics are fantastic as well in my opinion. Many if not all the characters are hand drawn. This was not cut and paste. There are SO MANY CHARACTERS. I mean A LOT. I was surprised how many, and each is unique in it's own way. Knights in the Nightmare is by far my favorite DS title. It is a must buy for hardcore gamers. Lighter players may find it too confusing, or just plain old boring due to all the preparations needed to go into the battle. But I love it, LOVE it. A 10/10 in my books. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. An intriguing excursion into uncharted territory. [June 2009, p.93]
  2. 90
    Knights is something completely unique and as such has a learning curve. But, once the game is understood, it only gets better and better.
  3. 82
    If you're a series fan, there's no question that you need to play this game. For newcomers, I only offer this one warning: be ready for a challenge.