Lufia: Curse of the Sinistrals DS

  • Publisher: Natsume
  • Release Date: Oct 12, 2010
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
Buy On
  1. Dec 23, 2010
    85
    This is a great DS adventure -- don't miss it.
  2. Jan 16, 2011
    90
    Lufia: Curse of the Sinistrals might not be the straight remake many fans of the series were hoping for, but those who prematurely dismiss it will be missing out on a truly unique action-rpg adventure and a whole new take on the classic storyline.
  3. Oct 25, 2010
    70
    Lufia: Curse of the Sinistrals does have a lot of fun elements, but it's also full of aggravations of varying sizes.
  4. Dec 22, 2010
    86
    Lufia: Curse of the Sinistrals may fall short in a few areas, but it more than makes up for it in its dynamic gameplay.
  5. Dec 22, 2010
    40
    While Lufia II on the SNES might have been a rising star, this title is clearly cursed. The game's problems get in the way of enjoying almost everything.
  6. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    This is a charming, beautiful, and accessible title that dares to be different while paying homage to the original. It will make a fine addition to the collections of both its fans and action-RPG enthusiasts alike.
  7. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 11, 2011
    83
    While not as good as the original classic, Lufia: Curse of the Sinistrals does a good job retelling Maxim's adventure. Now can we please have an actual sequel? [Oct 2011]
  8. Nintendo Power
    Oct 20, 2010
    80
    Some of the puzzles are a little too trial-and-error, but otherwise the tight action and playful RPG vibe are a delight. [Nov 2010, p.90]

Awards & Rankings

#27 Most Discussed DS Game of 2010
#14 Most Shared DS Game of 2010
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    This is an excellent game. While it is not the longest, the storyline is rich and the gameplay is enjoyable, reminding one vaguely of SecretThis is an excellent game. While it is not the longest, the storyline is rich and the gameplay is enjoyable, reminding one vaguely of Secret of Mana. If you want an RPG with a deep and touching plot which tells a tale approaching near hierogamy (sorry Selan, but its obvious) with an all around deeper transcendental meanings then Curse of the Sinistrals will not disappoint. Full Review »
  2. May 18, 2012
    4
    Though Lufia Curse of the Sinistrals does a nice experiment in taking an old game and turning it in to a new direction. The shallow gameplay,Though Lufia Curse of the Sinistrals does a nice experiment in taking an old game and turning it in to a new direction. The shallow gameplay, blocky graphics, constant slowdowns, serious lack of exploration and other pacing issues with the story. Makes this a package that takes away all the charm of the old game and misses the opportunity to be a great reboot Full Review »
  3. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    The original game on the SNES was one of my favourites. When I ordered this, I thought it was just a simple re-release. How wrong I was. It'sThe original game on the SNES was one of my favourites. When I ordered this, I thought it was just a simple re-release. How wrong I was. It's like a totally new game, remade from the ground up. The battle system and the balancing isn't great, but they retained everything that made the original game great - music, story characters. I hope this game sell buckets and it gets a sequel! Full Review »