Mario Kart DS DS

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 460 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 460
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DesmondF.
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    best mariokart game ever
  2. JoshB.
    Dec 23, 2005
    10
    hey, i think nintendo wi fi on mario cart ds is awesome i love racing online its the best. If you don't have wi fi the game is still awesome you are just racing the computer. but when you race on wi fi people will try to cheat and mess you up!
  3. CraigB.
    Dec 24, 2005
    10
    wow this game is the best in the series i dont even like racing games, but ive been playing this one for hours.
  4. BlakeR.
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    Very fun game. Gives entertainment for hours even without the online play which i hear makes it even better. Top of the line mario ds game.
  5. JimmyG.
    Dec 6, 2005
    10
    Mario Kart DS is a great improvement to all the others. Sure the online needs work, but the single player and Wi-fi local is so great, you can't criticize it for the minor stuff. This is the greatest DS game out there.
  6. TylerM.
    Jan 22, 2006
    9
    Mario Kart is an excellent game even for people who dislike racing games. This game takes the best of every Mario Kart and makes it successful. The wi-fi is the main problem for me because you must have the friend code of another person to play against them but other than that the wi-fi is well executed, as well as the game.
  7. LydiaB.
    Dec 28, 2006
    10
    All parts of this game are entertaining and fun. Multiplayer is awesome, and the tracks are wonderful.
  8. Tom
    Oct 26, 2006
    9
    I love this game. There's loads for you to do in single player: 8 cups to win x 4 speed groups, time trials, missions and you can even have ballons battles/"shinerunner" battles with 7 other CPU karts. I'm also addicted to the online play, making my own emblem for people to see when I overtake them. You can play random people, or people who, by their stats, are similar in I love this game. There's loads for you to do in single player: 8 cups to win x 4 speed groups, time trials, missions and you can even have ballons battles/"shinerunner" battles with 7 other CPU karts. I'm also addicted to the online play, making my own emblem for people to see when I overtake them. You can play random people, or people who, by their stats, are similar in ability to you so it becomes more of a challenge. Buy this game, your DS NEEDS it. Expand
  9. CraigT.
    Jan 27, 2006
    10
    The Best DS Game I Have Ever Played... Ever.
  10. RobP.
    Jun 21, 2006
    10
    Mario Kart DS is an excellent game for racing fans. Not many racing games on the DS are acclaimed by users and reviewers alike. There are 32 courses, 16 new ones, and 16 "retro" courses (one from SNES, 64, GBA, and GCN). Sure it may seem repetitive to play (that's what some people complain about), but if you loved any of the MK's from the previous systems, you'll love this, Mario Kart DS is an excellent game for racing fans. Not many racing games on the DS are acclaimed by users and reviewers alike. There are 32 courses, 16 new ones, and 16 "retro" courses (one from SNES, 64, GBA, and GCN). Sure it may seem repetitive to play (that's what some people complain about), but if you loved any of the MK's from the previous systems, you'll love this, BECAUSE it has online play! Of course by the time you purchase this game and get online, you will get beat so bad it'll be awhile before you go back online again. The main complaint I have about this game is that my hand cramps when playing (maybe because I have a DS Lite and it's smaller, making it a little uncomfortable to be pushing down the gas button the whole time). Naturally I don't consider that in reviewing the game, because that's an ergonomic system flaw with the DS Lite itself. BUY THIS GAME, at least buy it when the price goes down for sure! Expand
  11. BeelseB.
    Sep 16, 2006
    10
    Its cool but be careful, while playing it headted and I dropped my brand new ds lite and it cracked the top screen.
  12. MatthewS.
    Jan 27, 2007
    9
    This game is one in a million! It's the greatest MK game by far, no doubt there. The only flaw I see is the fact that you can't play the other 16 courses on Wifi. (Well, I once played a guy who was somehow able to do pick Tick Tock Clock, Bowser Castle and some strange course called Shy Guy. So there must be some code or unlockable way to get it). Anyway, this game is the bomb This game is one in a million! It's the greatest MK game by far, no doubt there. The only flaw I see is the fact that you can't play the other 16 courses on Wifi. (Well, I once played a guy who was somehow able to do pick Tick Tock Clock, Bowser Castle and some strange course called Shy Guy. So there must be some code or unlockable way to get it). Anyway, this game is the bomb and you won't be disappointed! Expand
  13. ShanellG.
    Jul 17, 2007
    9
    Great game it has a great range of levels and characters in my opinion it's well spent money.
  14. AlexanderM.
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    Very fun game! This is a game that doesn't take a day's worth of playing to win. You get better as you go and conquer missions, and championships. I would really recommend this game.
  15. PatrickC.
    Jul 21, 2008
    9
    Brilliant game design! I bought this just as a change-of-pace game (I don't usually care for real-time games), taking a chance just because it was rated so high. I'm not disappointed. Lots of fun, very addictive. Plenty of variety, considering it's basically just racing around a track. Three speeds to choose from, so it's easy enough for beginners to get into, yet Brilliant game design! I bought this just as a change-of-pace game (I don't usually care for real-time games), taking a chance just because it was rated so high. I'm not disappointed. Lots of fun, very addictive. Plenty of variety, considering it's basically just racing around a track. Three speeds to choose from, so it's easy enough for beginners to get into, yet there's plenty of room for skill-building. Expand
  16. ValeryG
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    This is one of my favorites game´s. I am not fan of racing games, but this game is really great! Graphics are really fantastic, you can play as mario, luigi, peach, daisy, wario, waluigi, bowser, boones, donkey kong, that makes it more atractive, and that´s not all playing wi-fi connection with yours friends or people all over the world make it more fun and addictive. Reccomended 100%
  17. IchigoK
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    +3 Gameplay is just great, controls are solid and well done. +2 Time trials, Missions, Various multiplayer modes(or single player with bots) +1 Great Graphics +1 Good number of tracks, characters, cups etc... +1 Online Multiplayer +1 Great Music +1 Loved the option to use any character with any kart.
  18. StephH.
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    reason to own a DS.
  19. JohnD.
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    Don't have time to write a review, too buisy playing Maio Kart DS.
  20. TheH.
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    Best in the series.
  21. BetoY.
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    Very addictive, awesome features & gameplay!! its mario kart... what else to expect but greatness
  22. Golo
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    great game! the lower screen is very useful and perfect for gameplay... great graphics, great controls..... very impressed with it!
  23. AimHigh
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    This game is awesome, and the online play makes it twice as good.
  24. KyleM.
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    Amazing. I havent even tried online play yet and this game is seriously incredible. I'm not a huge Kart racing fan, but this one takes the cake in every area: gameplay, graphics, control, replayibility. This is so far one of the best games on the DS. I recommend it wholeheartedly.
  25. ChuwawaStomp
    Nov 25, 2005
    9
    It is a very good game with many options and with al long playdure,i played 50 cc in 3 hours and then i havent played 100 cc and 150 cc yet and then also the missions,it is a superior game,the best you can get for the nintendo ds
  26. HunterR.
    Dec 27, 2005
    7
    Mario Kart DS is more a tech demo than a full-fledged game. If you've played any other Mario Kart game, you won't find much here. The graphics are beautiful, the gameplay is fun, but there isn't much variation in gameplay. It isn't hard to play through the game in an hour, and the unlockable features really don't add much replay value. It's a fun ride, and a Mario Kart DS is more a tech demo than a full-fledged game. If you've played any other Mario Kart game, you won't find much here. The graphics are beautiful, the gameplay is fun, but there isn't much variation in gameplay. It isn't hard to play through the game in an hour, and the unlockable features really don't add much replay value. It's a fun ride, and a great gift for the new bundle pack, but it's still just another Mario Kart game. Expand
  27. DJT
    Dec 15, 2007
    10
    It's mario kart. Nuff said! You get a simple pickup and play game with great addictive multiplayer action on or off the Wifi. Nonstop action - an instant DS classic.
  28. Apr 2, 2015
    7
    It's easy to see some of the reasons why MKDS is regarded as the best Mario Kart. The gameplay is nearly perfect, the track collection is great (and the largest of its time), it has possibly the best battle mode in the game, the new mission mode is a great addition (that would've been great in later games), AND it's the first online MK. So... why a 7, instead of a 10? The reasons may seemIt's easy to see some of the reasons why MKDS is regarded as the best Mario Kart. The gameplay is nearly perfect, the track collection is great (and the largest of its time), it has possibly the best battle mode in the game, the new mission mode is a great addition (that would've been great in later games), AND it's the first online MK. So... why a 7, instead of a 10? The reasons may seem minor, but they really affect the enjoyableness of the game. First, the AI aren't too smart (or fast in most tracks), making the single player painfully easy. Secondly, getting drift boosts quickly can be very easy, allowing what's called "snaking" in multiplayer. It's possibly the most overpowered exploit I've ever seen. Being in single player and multiplayer races, these problems are very difficult to avoid, unless you only play battle mode or mission mode. Despite these issues, the game itself is still great, and you should be able to have a good time with friends playing this DS classic. Expand
  29. May 4, 2012
    8
    Mario Kart DS is not quite the worst Mario Kart I have played, but is definitely not the best. The graphics were pretty good. The online multiplayer is great, especially since the few of my friends that even have a Nintendo DS do not want to spend the time to get it all together. The unlockables were a fair challenge and were varied. I usually bring this title on a trip because of itsMario Kart DS is not quite the worst Mario Kart I have played, but is definitely not the best. The graphics were pretty good. The online multiplayer is great, especially since the few of my friends that even have a Nintendo DS do not want to spend the time to get it all together. The unlockables were a fair challenge and were varied. I usually bring this title on a trip because of its simplicity and replayability. There was one major flaw, though. It lacked any depth to be taken seriously. The races were more boring than the other titles mainly because the tracks did not have a lot of work put into them. Still, good game, especially for the Nintendo DS's flooded infantile, childish titles. Collapse
  30. May 3, 2012
    7
    Although limited by it's genre, Mario Kart DS is about as good as a karting game can be on the DS. It controls well and has a ton of content. The game also appeals nicely to nostalgia, featuring a 'greatest hits' package of past Mario Kart tracks alongside the brand new ones. Basically, if you're craving a descent cartoon racer for the DS then you need look no further.
  31. Mar 22, 2014
    8
    The DS iteration of Mario Kart remains my favourite in the series to this day and friends and I lost many, many hours on this game. The track design and gameplay are excellent as always but, for me at least, Mario Kart DS struck the best balance between rewarding skillful driving and needing luck on your side.
  32. Mar 18, 2016
    10
    Probably my favourite Mario Kart game.

    The most memorable tracks, and it plays and looks great on the DS. The graphics are a little blocky, such is the norm on the console, but that is part of the charm. When racing though, you'll find the controls to be very responsive and in no time at all you'll be power sliding and boosting around every bend. The sounds are fun and the music is
    Probably my favourite Mario Kart game.

    The most memorable tracks, and it plays and looks great on the DS. The graphics are a little blocky, such is the norm on the console, but that is part of the charm. When racing though, you'll find the controls to be very responsive and in no time at all you'll be power sliding and boosting around every bend. The sounds are fun and the music is great.

    It gets quite difficult on single player 150cc, where coming first requires immense skill, and no small amount of luck - especially once that damned blue shell comes into play!

    Well worth finding if you don't already have it, it's been out for 11 years and I still grab it to play (as I did today which led to this mini-review!) Later games widened the tracks and made things a lot easier. Mario Kart DS is, for me, the definitive version of the game.
    Expand
  33. Jan 10, 2013
    9
    Total shell tossing mayhem, crazy news itens.
  34. Oct 28, 2012
    9
    It was the first game that included Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection in Nintendo DS system. The graphics and 3D models are awesome for DS game. The gameplay is challenging and fun to play. Mario Kart DS is recommended who already haves Nintendo DS, then buy the New Super Mario Bros.
  35. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Great game. Almost flawless. It still has powerups that doom the drivers in first place but thats a given. Other than the fact the multiplayer is full of cheaters, its arguably one of the best nintendo ds games out there
  36. Jan 13, 2013
    9
    Mario Kart DS provides an amazing single and multiplayer experience. It has a huge array of game modes, such as Grand Prix, Battles, multiplayer modes, missions and much more. The game has a good amount of challenge to it, even though it can get a bit frustrating if you keep getting hit by items. The Grand Prix mode is fun as usual, and battles and missions can provide a good alternativeMario Kart DS provides an amazing single and multiplayer experience. It has a huge array of game modes, such as Grand Prix, Battles, multiplayer modes, missions and much more. The game has a good amount of challenge to it, even though it can get a bit frustrating if you keep getting hit by items. The Grand Prix mode is fun as usual, and battles and missions can provide a good alternative if competitive racing isn't your thing. Hours of fun can also be had on Wireless Connection and Wi-Fi Connection with friends and strangers. Not many characters are available and the graphics aren't amazing, but overall this has to be a contender for the best Mario Kart game of all time. Expand
  37. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    After all these years, this game can still be considered the best Mario Kart in the series. Graphics and sound are pleasing, and the controls and two screens work perfectly. The single player mode is still the deepest to date with a VS. mode and the very cool missions mode added on. The replay value here is really high and has kept me coming back. Multiplayer is also well-done with theAfter all these years, this game can still be considered the best Mario Kart in the series. Graphics and sound are pleasing, and the controls and two screens work perfectly. The single player mode is still the deepest to date with a VS. mode and the very cool missions mode added on. The replay value here is really high and has kept me coming back. Multiplayer is also well-done with the download-play (which is limited on purpose and is supposed to feel like a demo), local wireless, and a decent online. The characters choices are great (Dry Bones and R.O.B. were awesome additions), and the different karts to choose from was a plus. Creating a custom emblem was innovative, and the ability to use the mic in balloon battle was an interesting feature. Racing is very fun with the items being crazy, but no so much to the point of being cheap. The only two minor drawbacks to this game was that the online was limited, and the game is really easy. However, the online was still good overall and was a nice start in the series, also the easy difficulty allows the game to be highly accessible. I did have to round up the score because of the way it works on this site, but I'd give this a 9.5/10. One of the best racing games I've ever played. Expand
  38. Mar 25, 2013
    9
    This is definitely in the top 3 best MarioKarts ever! It was the first DS game I ever got and I still play it today! It doesn't matter how old you get or how depressed you are. This game along with other Mario games will put a smile on your face!
  39. May 2, 2013
    9
    One of the best racing games ever, no matter what console/handheld you compare it to. With an extremely solid campaign littered with brilliant missions, there is nothing wrong with it. The multiplayer may be a bit glitchy, but it was Nintendo's first go, and it worked pretty damn well! The single player VS mode and Battle mode are extremely addicting, already having me donated 200+ hoursOne of the best racing games ever, no matter what console/handheld you compare it to. With an extremely solid campaign littered with brilliant missions, there is nothing wrong with it. The multiplayer may be a bit glitchy, but it was Nintendo's first go, and it worked pretty damn well! The single player VS mode and Battle mode are extremely addicting, already having me donated 200+ hours just into those two modes, but the sheer amount of fun playing the game is just already satisfying. The music is also not bad, where tunes from different games before may invade your nostalgia!

    Gameplay: 10/10
    Story: N/A
    Music: 9/10
    Presentation: 9.5/10
    Length: 10/10
    Overall: 9.5/10
    Expand
  40. Oct 29, 2013
    7
    This is definitely not the best Mario Kart game out of all 7 it's in 4th, but it's not a bad game at all, but I can't stand some of the character voices ESPECIALLY Daisy.
  41. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    Like every other Mario Kart, this one is amazing as usual.

    Id say this might be the best one, maybe the second best after the Wii version. What makes it so good is, The tight controls and gameplay. The online which was introduced to the series along with this game. The multiplayer is amazing and where the game shines the most. The fact that its all on a handheld. Especially
    Like every other Mario Kart, this one is amazing as usual.

    Id say this might be the best one, maybe the second best after the Wii version.

    What makes it so good is,

    The tight controls and gameplay.
    The online which was introduced to the series along with this game.
    The multiplayer is amazing and where the game shines the most.
    The fact that its all on a handheld.

    Especially the simple customization within the multiplayer that gives you the option to decide how cups are structured is brilliant!

    The biggest downside is that they didn't balance the game mechanics well enough which has enabled something known as "snaking".

    That aside, its a perfect racer for the handheld.

    Easily a 10 out of 10 and recommended for everyone who likes good videogames.
    Expand
  42. Sep 19, 2013
    7
    Mario Kart DS was a good addition to the franchise. With 12 playable characters and a number of new tracks, it is definitely a fun game. Along with new tracks, updated versions of older tracks also make their way into this game, which i think is great. I would have liked to seen a little bit more characters though, and I am still waiting for the day Nintendo drops rubber banding of CPUMario Kart DS was a good addition to the franchise. With 12 playable characters and a number of new tracks, it is definitely a fun game. Along with new tracks, updated versions of older tracks also make their way into this game, which i think is great. I would have liked to seen a little bit more characters though, and I am still waiting for the day Nintendo drops rubber banding of CPU drivers. Expand
  43. Sep 28, 2013
    8
    Ultimately, it was a fun game, with high quality graphics for its time. It could be a little frustrating in some levels and tourneys if you didn't know the advanced tricks.
    Music: 8
    Art/ Graphics: 8
    Story: NA
    Gameplay: 8
  44. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    This game was a great game, a must buy for DS owners. Although its AI were insane on 150cc, it had great replay value, many characters to choose from, and a great map selection.
  45. Jul 9, 2014
    10
    Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob RobRob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Expand
  46. Oct 24, 2014
    8
    Definitely one of my favourite NDS games to date, the only thing that I have trouble with are the controls. It feels unconformable to play for long periods of time which is sort of a bummer, but one of the best games i have played ever!
  47. Jul 28, 2014
    9
    Some of my review may be slightly biased, due to this game blinding me with the most nostalgia, since it was one of my childhood games. Mario Kart DS is as close as you can get to the ultimate Mario Kart games. While this game doesn't look as good as Double Dash just did and it doesn't have as much strategy, there is a great simplicity about it that you enjoy.
    Sporting fantastic gameplay,
    Some of my review may be slightly biased, due to this game blinding me with the most nostalgia, since it was one of my childhood games. Mario Kart DS is as close as you can get to the ultimate Mario Kart games. While this game doesn't look as good as Double Dash just did and it doesn't have as much strategy, there is a great simplicity about it that you enjoy.
    Sporting fantastic gameplay, many of the best courses of Mario Kart history, some brilliant music and bright and colorful graphics. Only complaints are slightly cramped controls, but that may just be me because I have big hands, but hey. The items are well balanced and so are the Retro stage's consistency, although not all the courses were great, but hey. My favorite in the series, along with Double Dash and 8. I don't know why people say this game is one of the worst when it's not!
    Expand
  48. Aug 15, 2014
    10
    Oh gosh, this game is great! This was one of the biggest influences of my childhood! It was one of the video games that really got me into gaming. While the multi-player isn't too impressive, what really makes it stand out is the single-player mode. It's great! There's the Grand Prix Mode, Time Trials, VS Race (A.K.A Free Run), Battle Mode and Mission Mode! I really have enjoyed this gameOh gosh, this game is great! This was one of the biggest influences of my childhood! It was one of the video games that really got me into gaming. While the multi-player isn't too impressive, what really makes it stand out is the single-player mode. It's great! There's the Grand Prix Mode, Time Trials, VS Race (A.K.A Free Run), Battle Mode and Mission Mode! I really have enjoyed this game since I was eight and still love it to pieces to this day! Apart from the DS not being the most appropriate for larger hands like mine, the control is perfect. Drifting is easy to do and enjoyable, the item balance is right so you won't see the Blue Shell too often but not everyone will get you a Bullet Bill. This course also introduced online play and retro courses! Retro courses are one of my favorite parts of the Mario Kart franchise and I owe it all to Double Dash. Your kart steers very well, nothing like Double Dash's slightly slippery driving, which isn't very helpful on windy roads where you easily fall down. While Double Dash had two incredibly good battle modes (Shine Thief and Bob-Omb Blast) I can't owe it to all that Mario Kart DS to this day has the greatest Balloon Battle out of any entry in the series! You start with one balloon, then have five more in stock. If you choose to have less balloons, you get out faster but get better items! Plus it has some great Battle Mode stages! All of them, except for Tart Top which is alright but fine since Double Dash had Tilt-A-Kart which wasn't very good either. But I like this game so much that I would play it over Mario Kart: Double Dash!
    The music is upbeat and cheerful...most of the time. It did have the horrible Yoshi Falls track, but apart from that track all other tracks were memorable for me. Especially what could be my favorite track of all time: Airship Fortress. The retro track music isn't quite as good as the original games, but still pretty good to me!
    Snaking got me competitive as well, so those are great aspect of these games. While the retro tracks didn't have such a proud selection (could've had better GBA and N64 stages), I'm very happy with a lot of these tracks. My second favorite video game of all time! It deserves a ten for all it has done!
    Expand
  49. Oct 19, 2014
    5
    I think this is the worst game in the Mario Kart series.While it is´nt that horrible, it has some flaws that I don´t like, the first been ing, that, if do do not have a profile, you get to play as Shy Guy EVERY TIME!!!
  50. Dec 3, 2014
    8
    Uh.... Donkey Kong.... you okay there, buddy?

    The courses are fun, and I like playing as ROB. Its main problem is its graphics. However, it redeems itself with the mission mode. Nothing like this was ever seen in a Mario Kart game, and it never was again. I really liked that mode.
  51. May 30, 2015
    9
    I recently played this game on the Wii U Virtual Console and this was probably one of the best games Nintendo could have picked to launch the DS VC with.

    Though the game isn't as good as recent entries, I'll be reviewing based on how it was at the time (2005). MKDS consists of the traditional characters we all know and love (while still managing to have a better roster than MK7). R.O.B.
    I recently played this game on the Wii U Virtual Console and this was probably one of the best games Nintendo could have picked to launch the DS VC with.

    Though the game isn't as good as recent entries, I'll be reviewing based on how it was at the time (2005). MKDS consists of the traditional characters we all know and love (while still managing to have a better roster than MK7). R.O.B. is a bit of a questionable choice. E. Gadd, who was a bit more popular at the time, might have been a better pick but I can look past that.

    As always, the main focus is the racing. Though none of the courses are "bad," per se, I did find Yoshi Falls to be a bit of a bore as it's just a simple oval. My favorites though were the unique Waluigi Pinball, Tick-Tock Clock, and Airship Fortress. For some reason, I'm also fond of DK Pass. This is the first Mario Kart to feature retro courses so it's a bit surprising they went for some strange choices such as two Luigi Circuits (GCN and GBA). That doesn't, however, change the fact that the courses are still enjoyable such as Choco Mountain and Mushroom Bridge.

    Mission Mode, so far, has only appeared in this installment. I know many really enjoyed this mode and are begging for it to return in future games in the series but after playing it myself, I think I'd rather have either an improved battle mode or an entirely new mode. Not that Mission Mode is bad, I just didn't enjoy it as much as other people. The items are a pretty big highlight of the game. Unlike Mario Kart Wii, they're as balanced as they could possibly be. I do wish the Boo item (turns you invisible and steals an enemy's item) would make a comeback at some point.

    Overall, Mario Kart DS was great for its time. While its graphics don't hold up that well today, the game is still a fun experience with some of the most unique courses in the game as well as some more great ideas like Mission Mode, even if they aren't as fun as they could've been. I doubt you'd be picking this up on a DS so if you have a Wii U, get it on the Virtual Console.
    Expand
  52. Feb 12, 2015
    10
    I managed to beat the game and unlock everything. Despite the lack of voice over, it's still a fun game to play.
    Mario Kart games are what made people get those consoles like SNES, N64, GBA, Gamecube, etc. etc.
  53. Mar 16, 2015
    10
    Das war eines meiner ersten Spiele und es hatte ein großes Wirken auf meine Gamingerfahrung , denn nun wusste ich um ein weiteres Stück mehr , was ein episches Spiel ausmacht . Ich habe es immer genossen , allein oder mit meinen Freunden in nie langweiligen Wettkämpfen herumzufahren und die Atmosphäre , die dieses Spiel preisgibt , auf mich wirken zu lassen . Danke , Nintendo ! ^-^
  54. Jul 3, 2015
    8
    Although not quite as good as the Wii version, the control is better than a Wii Wheel, and the graphics are decent. The multiplayer DS Download Play is great, and the game is filled with extra missions and bosses. There are only a few problems. One, the "Throw Item" is mapped to L, and drifting can be done with only R. This really sucks if one of your buttons are broken, as is common onAlthough not quite as good as the Wii version, the control is better than a Wii Wheel, and the graphics are decent. The multiplayer DS Download Play is great, and the game is filled with extra missions and bosses. There are only a few problems. One, the "Throw Item" is mapped to L, and drifting can be done with only R. This really sucks if one of your buttons are broken, as is common on both the DS and DSi. There's no real touchscreen utilization for these, and all the front buttons are taken up for some reason. Secondly, there's no tricks, which makes the sense of speed rather dull. But these aren't necessarily deal breakers, especially if you're good at fixing the shoulder buttons. It definitely deserves a recommendation, though, but I think the Wii has it beat by a little bit. Expand
  55. May 20, 2016
    9
    My personal favourite Mario Kart game, MKDS will bring you back to a simpler time when Mario Kart games didn't always need dumb gimmicks. It has all that you'd expect, Grand Prix, Time Trial, Battle Mode, and it used to have online play, but that was shut down years ago. It has a fair amount of characters and good controls, especially compared to a Wii wheel or something similar. TheMy personal favourite Mario Kart game, MKDS will bring you back to a simpler time when Mario Kart games didn't always need dumb gimmicks. It has all that you'd expect, Grand Prix, Time Trial, Battle Mode, and it used to have online play, but that was shut down years ago. It has a fair amount of characters and good controls, especially compared to a Wii wheel or something similar. The tracks are great, bringing us new additions like Waluigi Pinball, and old favourites from the first 4 games. I'm not a huge fan of this game's Balloon Battle, though, forcing you to blow (or yell) into the microphone to inflate more balloons. i'd also like to add that the soundtrack is fantastic, one of my favourite game soundtracks ever. It may be 11 years old at this point, but this game hasn't lost it's undeniable charm. Expand
  56. Nov 18, 2015
    9
    To this day one of the best Mario Kart games ever made. Incredibly fun both on single player and on local Wi-Fi, it has very good graphics (considering it's an early title for the NDS). Offers a fun ride for the casual gamer and a decent challenge for the hardcore. Also has a fairly memorable soundtrack - especially considering it borrows some tunes from earlier Mario Kart games.

    The
    To this day one of the best Mario Kart games ever made. Incredibly fun both on single player and on local Wi-Fi, it has very good graphics (considering it's an early title for the NDS). Offers a fun ride for the casual gamer and a decent challenge for the hardcore. Also has a fairly memorable soundtrack - especially considering it borrows some tunes from earlier Mario Kart games.

    The only minor flaw is the internet multiplayer.
    Expand
  57. Dec 3, 2015
    7
    It's alright but one of my least favorite of the mario kart franchise, my least being the one for the gamecube.
    It just isn't that fun to me, well you can customize an emblem on your kart and there's new characters, also this challenge mode that;s a bit weird but it's still the same fun competitive game to play with your friends.
  58. Apr 6, 2016
    9
    Mario Kart DS continues to live up the chain of being the best Mario Kart game on a classical handheld. Race against your friends? Yes, please. Online style and then we'll race to see who'll win a special award.
  59. Jan 29, 2016
    10
    This game has to be one of the best Mario Karts! The awesome courses, like Waluigi Pinball, Delfino Square, Tick-Tock Clock, are very fun to play! Never forget this awesome DS Game!
  60. Jun 8, 2016
    9
    This is the best DS game I have ever played. The reason I give it a 9/10 is because Nintendo discontinued the Wi-Fi service, which really takes away from the experience. The tracks are well-designed and fun to race on, and the graphics are insanely good for a DS game. Once you start playing for a few hours, you'll realize that the AI is far too easy, and you can SEE the rubber banding.This is the best DS game I have ever played. The reason I give it a 9/10 is because Nintendo discontinued the Wi-Fi service, which really takes away from the experience. The tracks are well-designed and fun to race on, and the graphics are insanely good for a DS game. Once you start playing for a few hours, you'll realize that the AI is far too easy, and you can SEE the rubber banding. That's where online came in. There wasn't very much lag but since Nintendo took away the Wi-Fi functionality from all DS games, it doesn't work anymore. However, you can still play locally with friends and it is still as fun as ever. The battle mode is great as well. This is an essential for any owners of the DS. Expand
  61. Jul 25, 2016
    7
    Pretty good, but maybe not as much compared to the other mario karts, but it's great for the DS. Get it to add to a collection or to keep a kid busy. It's repetitive, nut fun.
  62. Sep 29, 2016
    9
    Mario Kart DS is a racing game developed by Nintendo EAD and published by Nintendo. The game designer is named Makoto Wada. It is appeared for the Nintendo DS in November 2005 in Europe. It is the fifth installment in the Mario Kart series and opposes the main characters of the Super Mario universe in karts racing on circuits. It can be played with one to eight players locally, but is noMario Kart DS is a racing game developed by Nintendo EAD and published by Nintendo. The game designer is named Makoto Wada. It is appeared for the Nintendo DS in November 2005 in Europe. It is the fifth installment in the Mario Kart series and opposes the main characters of the Super Mario universe in karts racing on circuits. It can be played with one to eight players locally, but is no longer available online.

    Mario Kart DS won the award for best handheld video game, the best racing game of the year 2005. It was the best-selling Nintendo DS game with 23.59 million copies sold in September 2015. the clipboard gave a score of 17/20 and the digital press about 18. The game is known for its good control, its good local multiplayer, with many characters, vehicles and game mode, at a good price and you do not get enough.

    The only negativepoint I found is that it is not necessary to re explain the basics if you already know its predecessors.

    I recommend this game to everyone because thanks to its local multiplayer, it allows to have fun with friends and for younger to because it is allowed for all ages.
    Expand
  63. May 4, 2012
    0
    Mario Kart DS is not quite the worst Mario Kart I have played, but is definitely not the best. The graphics were pretty good. The online multiplayer is great, especially since the few of my friends that even have a Nintendo DS do not want to spend the time to get it all together. The unlockables were a fair challenge and were varied. I usually bring this title on a trip because of itsMario Kart DS is not quite the worst Mario Kart I have played, but is definitely not the best. The graphics were pretty good. The online multiplayer is great, especially since the few of my friends that even have a Nintendo DS do not want to spend the time to get it all together. The unlockables were a fair challenge and were varied. I usually bring this title on a trip because of its simplicity and replayability. There was one major flaw, though. It lacked any depth to be taken seriously. The races were more boring than the other titles mainly because the tracks did not have a lot of work put into them. Still, good game, especially for the Nintendo DS's flooded infantile, childish titles. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed DS Game of 2005
#1 Most Shared DS Game of 2005
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. 90
    Everything about MKDS comes together into a surprisingly compelling package, a portable racing game on par with anything ever to appear on a console.
  2. Reason alone to own the DS platform. All of the fun that has been intrinsic to the series is intact, and the much-anticipated online component simply seals the deal. This is best game in the series by far, and perhaps the best kart-style racing game ever to come along.
  3. 95
    It's hard to imagine how Nintendo's going to improve on what they've done for this stunning portable rendition. There's so much gameplay and depth in this design, moreso than the series has ever had in the past.