User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 390 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 390

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 24, 2010
    10
    No question, one of the best video games I've ever played. I've played this game for nearly 5 years, and I'm still hooked on Mario Kart DS. I love it!
  2. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    One Of The Best Games Ever Made! Great Great Great! I Was So Shocked How Much I Loved It!
  3. Jul 20, 2011
    9
    Mario Kart DS offers all the polished gameplay and peerless multiplayer mode you'd expect from a Mario Kart Game. Ther's plenty of depth too with the excellent mission mode, battle mode, and tons of hidden karts and characters to unlock. Personally i would have liked a few more original tracks but you can't have everything eh?
  4. Apr 15, 2012
    5
    this game was fun but got tiring after wards and I am soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo gald they came out with the mario kart 7 game
  5. May 7, 2011
    3
    Every Mario Kart game is biased. I was playing multiplayer with my friend and I noticed whenever she was first there was absolutely no blue shells. When I was first I got absolutely annihilated. Plus it's all the same and little skill is needed.
  6. Apr 24, 2012
    0
    A really really boring and bad game.The game has no point to it at all.The mission are so so BORING!
  7. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    The story behind it
    Mario kart is a racing game that was first launched on the super Nintendo entertainment system in 1962 which was known as Mario kart 64 and is also available via Google play store as well, to date there has been four Mario karts games for home consoles (ds and wii), three for portable games and 2 Namco arcade games. The most recent edition to the Mario kart series is
    The story behind it
    Mario kart is a racing game that was first launched on the super Nintendo entertainment system in 1962 which was known as Mario kart 64 and is also available via Google play store as well, to date there has been four Mario karts games for home consoles (ds and wii), three for portable games and 2 Namco arcade games. The most recent edition to the Mario kart series is Mario kart 7 which was released onto 3DS sometime last year, there are two more games in the Mario kart series in development which ach are one for the new wii u system and another arcade edition which could hit the shops any time now. The Mario kart games have developed so much over time and the producer has bought in many new things and changed the content every time this has included new items, new characters and many more as well as new tracks different elements, this was to keep the game play fresh and so people who bought all of them weren’t getting the same thing every time so if u has all of them you are never getting the same game on each edition because new content is always added. The one on the ds was probably one of the best racing games ive ever played. Each series contained at least 16 original courses and plus different versions of current tracks E.G. Rainbow road was included in the 16 but then rainbow road 2 was a sequel and not included in the 16 because this was one of the tracks that was released at a later date.

    Suitability
    The game is suitable for all ages as there is absolutely no violence involved and everyone can play it as it’s a family game which everyone one can play, it is quite addictive because you never know what is going to happen as there is many different tracks which contain many different obstacles so this game isn’t something you can really practice as there is so much content and so many obstacles involved within it. It doesn’t affect your social impacts because it is actually good because you are getting exercise whether you are playing it on Wii or DS. Why it is a good game
    It was a very good game as there is so much game play and technical ability involved within and is never boring because you never know what is going to happen. The game also tests how quick you are at reacting for example when the obstacles such as rocks are rolling down the track you have to react quickly in order to dodge them as if you get hit if you have any items these will be lost and also any coins that were collected along the track a 1/3 of them will be lost (Mario kart 7 only)I love the technical ability of this game and has got better and better every time a new one is released because this game is no ordinary racing game and is never boring because of all the different items and the different effects that the game unleashes in the middle of the laps, my personal favourite track is rainbow road because I love the colours as is a quick reaction track because the track has a very tight specific area you have to stick too and the layout of the track is consistent so this is also hard where as the others there is side bits that you can use instead of the normal section of the track to try and get more items and to try and get a head start on everyone else but rainbow road doesn’t and is just straight track from start to finish and also contains loops to try and distract you to try and make you fall off, the other reason is it’s a good game is because it enables you to race against other people all over the world using the built in wireless connection system which adds alot of excitement and pressure into the game which is another reason why this is probably why this is one of the best racing games around and will probably only get better when the new editions have finished development and are launched, I personally cannot wait.
    Expand
  8. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    This is a brilliant racing game, the best on DS. With loads of characters and tracks, challenges, and battles it will really have you coming back for more. Very highly reccomended.
  9. Jan 16, 2011
    9
    Shame this game has gone missing somewhere. Oh yes AnonymousMC. A PSP is a portable PS2. No wait. The games on it suck and there's only a few games worth playing on it. The DS is original and not like the Wii most of the games are not shovelware. Just what I'd expect from a Sony Guy. Oh the game. Sorry. The graphics are really good for a DS game, the game is really fun to play, theShame this game has gone missing somewhere. Oh yes AnonymousMC. A PSP is a portable PS2. No wait. The games on it suck and there's only a few games worth playing on it. The DS is original and not like the Wii most of the games are not shovelware. Just what I'd expect from a Sony Guy. Oh the game. Sorry. The graphics are really good for a DS game, the game is really fun to play, the multiplayer is really good, the tracks are fun to play on and some Retro tracks are back and the music is back and has not been messed around with too much. The only two bones I have to pick with it though is that there's not much tracks to race on and Shine Runners is just a stupid idea. If you own a DS and don't have this, this game needs to be added to your collection. Expand
  10. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    People can nitpick about minor issues, but here's the truth. Mario Kart DS is a great racing game, and that's hard to deny. It's addictive and very fun to play. Great game!
  11. Nov 15, 2011
    7
    "Mario Kart" is a great multiplayer game with many characters and fun stuff to do...with friends!!!! Co-op rocks!!! BUT. It gets too repetitive due to the lack of single-player. If your fine with that, you'll live with the game.
  12. Jan 9, 2014
    8
    The best racer on the DS. Even though it's not my favorite Mario Kart game, this game is great for the DS. I had a lot of fun with this game, it's one of the best games on the DS.
  13. Aug 16, 2010
    8
    Mario Kart Ds is definitely the best portable racers if not the best portable game ever, it has good graphics fun gameplay, good local multiplayer and online, and great controls, but by no means is the game perfect. Mario Kart Ds is a new installment in the long running series of games from Nintendo. The Mario Kart games are racers with a twist, power ups. In the game there are many powerMario Kart Ds is definitely the best portable racers if not the best portable game ever, it has good graphics fun gameplay, good local multiplayer and online, and great controls, but by no means is the game perfect. Mario Kart Ds is a new installment in the long running series of games from Nintendo. The Mario Kart games are racers with a twist, power ups. In the game there are many power ups that will give you the edge on enemy racers. All the power ups in Mario kart are varied and strange, for example there are green shells that you use as projectiles, and red shells you use as heat seeking projectiles. Like I said Mario kart is not perfect but Its problems are few and small problems, but the problems are still there. One problem is that the game is very easy on any difficulty, so if your looking for a racer were your biting your nail hopping you will win you should look some were else because this isn't it. Mario kart's other problem is that while it is very easy it sometimes also feels cheep because the enemy racers will hit with multiple power ups (like shells) one after the other till you go from 1st to last. Overall Mario Kart ds is a great new installment to the series. Expand
  14. Aug 23, 2010
    9
    A near flawless Mario Kart experience, but could have beniffeted from being released later in the DS's timeline, so as to include more tracks and characters. Even saying that, MArio Kart DS is packed with content, featuring 32 tracks and a decent amount of characters. With sme smooth and solid grpahics for DS, this is a definitive racing experience, and has a lot more soul than the WiiA near flawless Mario Kart experience, but could have beniffeted from being released later in the DS's timeline, so as to include more tracks and characters. Even saying that, MArio Kart DS is packed with content, featuring 32 tracks and a decent amount of characters. With sme smooth and solid grpahics for DS, this is a definitive racing experience, and has a lot more soul than the Wii version. With another player, the rel fun begins, and the spirit of Mario Kar comes alive- pure multiplayer fun. Expand
  15. Jan 23, 2012
    10
    As the same with Mario Kart Double Dash, Mario Kart DS is the first DS game I have ever phad and in a broad perspective, the best Mario Kart game ever made. Everything is done right in this game. Its track selection is amazing, the gameplay is the most balanced out of all the Mario Karts, it has more contents than any other Mario Kart games and introduced the greatest thing to ever happenAs the same with Mario Kart Double Dash, Mario Kart DS is the first DS game I have ever phad and in a broad perspective, the best Mario Kart game ever made. Everything is done right in this game. Its track selection is amazing, the gameplay is the most balanced out of all the Mario Karts, it has more contents than any other Mario Kart games and introduced the greatest thing to ever happen to Mario Kart: multiplayer racing. This is the perfect Mario Kart game and one of the best games on the Nintendo DS. Expand
  16. Sep 16, 2010
    10
    Mario Kart is as enjoyable as ever- and with online / local network play and over thirty tracks to choose from, the DS title is a more than welcome addition to the series. The lack of DS graphical power is certainly not as issue here, with the gameplay being as tight and as intense as it always has been. It's very difficult to find someone who doesn't enjoy playing Mario Kart in some shapeMario Kart is as enjoyable as ever- and with online / local network play and over thirty tracks to choose from, the DS title is a more than welcome addition to the series. The lack of DS graphical power is certainly not as issue here, with the gameplay being as tight and as intense as it always has been. It's very difficult to find someone who doesn't enjoy playing Mario Kart in some shape or form, whatever the age, and the same can certainly be said for this latest hand-held release. Expand
  17. Oct 16, 2010
    9
    This game goes perfect in every way almost. The drifting mechanics feel pefect if you dont drift at all you fell perfect the courses provide so much variety. your oppenets drive perfectly and put up a fight. But this game strives th most with multypler. It has single card ds download, multycard ds download, and it even has online multyplayer. The online multyplayer isnt as fun as the dsThis game goes perfect in every way almost. The drifting mechanics feel pefect if you dont drift at all you fell perfect the courses provide so much variety. your oppenets drive perfectly and put up a fight. But this game strives th most with multypler. It has single card ds download, multycard ds download, and it even has online multyplayer. The online multyplayer isnt as fun as the ds download thogh. Mostly because your sitting next to your freinds so when there pulling up to the finish line at moo moo farm and you use three perfectly timed mushromms to take the lead and break his hopes of breaking your 7 game win streak you can rub it all in your face. The career mode is nice increasing in difficulty not because you oppenets are getting better but you getting slower making you have to use you powerups more wisley. There is also missions that your character takes place in but i never realy got into these because there not actually races there mor varied but not as fun. The cast af characters and karts is great although it had to be cut down so the game could fit into the hardrive that the ds offers. THe only reason I gave this game a nine is because im harsh and the online multyplayer is choppy. Expand
  18. Dec 25, 2010
    8
    Mario Kart DS is a racing game, in which the player races in a kart against other racers as one of 13 characters, each with three karts to choose from. While racing, the Nintendo DS's top screen offers a third-person perspective of the player's kart, while the bottom touchscreen shows the race's current standings, items carried by each racer, and a map of the course. The bottom screen canMario Kart DS is a racing game, in which the player races in a kart against other racers as one of 13 characters, each with three karts to choose from. While racing, the Nintendo DS's top screen offers a third-person perspective of the player's kart, while the bottom touchscreen shows the race's current standings, items carried by each racer, and a map of the course. The bottom screen can be toggled to show either an overview of the entire course, or a bird's-eye view of the player's kart and the immediate vicinity, including nearby racers, course hazards, item boxes, and incoming attacks. Each course features item boxes that the player can drive through to receive a randomly selected item, which the player can use to gain an advantage over other racers. Some items allow the player to attack other racers to slow them down, while other items can be used to speed up the player's own kart to pass other racers more easily. Thank you Wikipedia, this game is absoulete excellent. Expand
  19. Oct 28, 2011
    9
    Mario Kart DS, The fifth game in the Mario Kart series and the second game in the Mario kart Series for Nintendo's portable consoles is what would be expected to anyone who has played the previous or future titles in the series, it is a competitive racing game with a large variety of strange and wacky items, power ups and weapons to use with a large cast of Mario series characters whichMario Kart DS, The fifth game in the Mario Kart series and the second game in the Mario kart Series for Nintendo's portable consoles is what would be expected to anyone who has played the previous or future titles in the series, it is a competitive racing game with a large variety of strange and wacky items, power ups and weapons to use with a large cast of Mario series characters which include Mario, Luigi, Wario, Yoshi, Peach, Toad, Donkey Kong and King "Bowser" Koopa along with four unlockable extra characters. The game's main mode Gran Prix consists of eight Cups, four cups with original race tracks and 4 cups with random tracks from older Mario Kart releases. There is a Mission mode for challenges and boss battles, a single player Ballon Battle mode and Shine Runners mode with AI opponents, a Time Trail mode for you to practice for best times and race ghost data. There are also multiple multiplayer modes including a Download Play demo for friends to try out (your friend will play as a Shyguy of a random colour and you will only have access to two of the eight cups), wireless multiplayer which includes "Balloon Battle" "Shine Runners" and "Gran Prix Modes" and Wifi multiplayer modes which consists of a Gran Prix of 4 races on tracks voted by the players against different player types with include "Regional" players from your general area, "Worldwide" players from all over the world, "Rivals" with similar online records to you and "Friends" which you have added to your friends list via registering their friend code. The Wifi multiplayer game gives more than enough replayablility and excitement to encourage players to keep coming back for more and to ensure that buyers get value from their purchase. There are some annoying parts to Wifi multiplayer that needs to be addressed however, some racetrack environmental hazards are disabled to stop players online from desyncing or laging with other opponents, You can't drag items behind your kart to protect yourself from damage for similar lag reasons (this can be somewhat solved by skillfully dropping your item right before a weapon collides with you to block it), there is quite a bit of players online with vulgar usernames or avatars or with hacking tools in use in an attempt to ruin the fun of the game and there are frequent trends of players disconnecting if they feel they are going to lose or it they assume a player is hacking or cheating even if they are not. An amazing game that is well worth the price you pay for it but primitive Wifi multiplayer services (from 2005, one of the first Wifi games for DS) and frustrating behaviours of online players can be a tad bit annoying to get used to. Expand
  20. Apr 27, 2011
    8
    8.5/10 = Great = A fun portable racer that's accessable and innovative with it's online features. Got repetitive for me though.
  21. May 4, 2012
    8
    Mario Kart DS is not quite the worst Mario Kart I have played, but is definitely not the best. The graphics were pretty good. The online multiplayer is great, especially since the few of my friends that even have a Nintendo DS do not want to spend the time to get it all together. The unlockables were a fair challenge and were varied. I usually bring this title on a trip because of itsMario Kart DS is not quite the worst Mario Kart I have played, but is definitely not the best. The graphics were pretty good. The online multiplayer is great, especially since the few of my friends that even have a Nintendo DS do not want to spend the time to get it all together. The unlockables were a fair challenge and were varied. I usually bring this title on a trip because of its simplicity and replayability. There was one major flaw, though. It lacked any depth to be taken seriously. The races were more boring than the other titles mainly because the tracks did not have a lot of work put into them. Still, good game, especially for the Nintendo DS's flooded infantile, childish titles. Expand
  22. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    Four or so years on, I'm still playing it. That's how great and addictive this game is. It had geat depth and the Mission mode is a nice addition. The Vs mode will have you coming back for more like it has with me over and over again complete with some of the best tracks in the series. Online is solid, if slightly empty. The only dissapointment is the lack of characters. Although Yoshi wasFour or so years on, I'm still playing it. That's how great and addictive this game is. It had geat depth and the Mission mode is a nice addition. The Vs mode will have you coming back for more like it has with me over and over again complete with some of the best tracks in the series. Online is solid, if slightly empty. The only dissapointment is the lack of characters. Although Yoshi was there, so I'm not too bothered. Besides that, it's a solid racer that is a worthy entry into the Mario Kart series, despite it lacking the series staple of having you and three other mates huddled around a TV racing each other. Expand
  23. May 3, 2012
    7
    Although limited by it's genre, Mario Kart DS is about as good as a karting game can be on the DS. It controls well and has a ton of content. The game also appeals nicely to nostalgia, featuring a 'greatest hits' package of past Mario Kart tracks alongside the brand new ones. Basically, if you're craving a descent cartoon racer for the DS then you need look no further.
  24. Jan 9, 2011
    9
    This game is so addictive.
  25. Jan 8, 2011
    9
    If you are lloking for a great Mario adventure to pass the time, don't miss out on Mario Kart DS. Including all the great extras, it would be a great addition to any DS collection. There is no story line to go along with the game, but the simplicity and dynamics of the game will keep you playing for hours on end.
  26. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    This game is simply epic. There is so much to do, and so many different character/kart combinations to race. My particular favorite is Time Trials- an addition to the game that makes it never get old. This game is one of the many outstandingly enjoyable Mario games on DS.
  27. Mar 25, 2011
    9
    A great game for a pretty good price. It's a load of fun with friends but the multiplayer over wi-fi usually feels too buggy, laggy or even sometimes has cheaters. The tournaments are great and the game even has a mini-games area. It has a bunch of vehicles and characters that have different sets of cars. You can unlock more cars by playing through the tournaments. The cars can even haveA great game for a pretty good price. It's a load of fun with friends but the multiplayer over wi-fi usually feels too buggy, laggy or even sometimes has cheaters. The tournaments are great and the game even has a mini-games area. It has a bunch of vehicles and characters that have different sets of cars. You can unlock more cars by playing through the tournaments. The cars can even have customizable logos that you make!

    I say pick this game up if you like Cartoon like racing. Mario is generally always good.
    Expand
  28. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    Mario Kart has lots of tracks, they look great, and they are really fun. There are lots of characters, who also look great, and are a lot of fun. There are lots of vehicles, that, surprise surprise, look great, and are lots of fun. Basically, everything looks great, everything is a lot of fun, and there is a lot of everything. This is Mario Kart, with great controls, lots of gamemodes, andMario Kart has lots of tracks, they look great, and they are really fun. There are lots of characters, who also look great, and are a lot of fun. There are lots of vehicles, that, surprise surprise, look great, and are lots of fun. Basically, everything looks great, everything is a lot of fun, and there is a lot of everything. This is Mario Kart, with great controls, lots of gamemodes, and tons of replayability. This is the perfect mobile Mario Kart game, and one you shouldn't miss. Expand
  29. Mar 22, 2014
    8
    The DS iteration of Mario Kart remains my favourite in the series to this day and friends and I lost many, many hours on this game. The track design and gameplay are excellent as always but, for me at least, Mario Kart DS struck the best balance between rewarding skillful driving and needing luck on your side.
  30. May 25, 2011
    9
    Even though Mario Kart Wii supports 12 people in WiFi, 4 is enough for frantic action in WiFi on Mario Kart DS. The smooth controls, great graphics, and excellent soundtrack make this game a gem. What I DON'T like in this installment, however, is the abuse of the drifting in WiFi.
  31. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    I wouldn't call it the best in the series, but other than having its moments, it has fantastic gameplay that captures the feeling similarly to Mario Kart 64 and Super Mario Kart.
  32. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    For something made in 2005, this game is underrated. It may be one of the best video games ever produced that year. Nintendo has upped its game. Extremely recommended for 7+ kids and adults all alike.
  33. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    Although there has been some complaints, I thought this was one of the best ds games ever!! You start of with 4 or 5 people, with only a few karts, so it is quite boring, but then if you get better, you get even more karts, I am now on one of the last things you can get, he is called B.O.B and he is great. You can also go online and race against other people from other parts of the world!!Although there has been some complaints, I thought this was one of the best ds games ever!! You start of with 4 or 5 people, with only a few karts, so it is quite boring, but then if you get better, you get even more karts, I am now on one of the last things you can get, he is called B.O.B and he is great. You can also go online and race against other people from other parts of the world!! You can also "link up" with friends or family if they don't have the actual game and you can have a blast! There is soo much to this game, I have lots of things to do on it aswell still! I would recomend it to children over 3 yrs old :) Expand
  34. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    Purely the best racing game ever made. With online play (being a first for the series), missions, and tons of characters and stages to unlock, this game could keep you occupied forever. Must have for any racing fan.
  35. Jan 10, 2013
    9
    Total shell tossing mayhem, crazy news itens.
  36. Oct 28, 2012
    9
    It was the first game that included Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection in Nintendo DS system. The graphics and 3D models are awesome for DS game. The gameplay is challenging and fun to play. Mario Kart DS is recommended who already haves Nintendo DS, then buy the New Super Mario Bros.
  37. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Great game. Almost flawless. It still has powerups that doom the drivers in first place but thats a given. Other than the fact the multiplayer is full of cheaters, its arguably one of the best nintendo ds games out there
  38. Dec 7, 2012
    7
    I seriously don't get how people like this game. The one reason I take away three point three out of ten is because of its horrendous graphics, I know, I'm being cruel, but here's an idea, why don't you make it like the one for gameboy advanced or Super Nintendo, so the graphics would look half decent. One aspect that is a positive would be the variety of character (compared to the minimalI seriously don't get how people like this game. The one reason I take away three point three out of ten is because of its horrendous graphics, I know, I'm being cruel, but here's an idea, why don't you make it like the one for gameboy advanced or Super Nintendo, so the graphics would look half decent. One aspect that is a positive would be the variety of character (compared to the minimal selection in 7). Overall, 6.7/10 Expand
  39. Jan 13, 2013
    9
    Mario Kart DS provides an amazing single and multiplayer experience. It has a huge array of game modes, such as Grand Prix, Battles, multiplayer modes, missions and much more. The game has a good amount of challenge to it, even though it can get a bit frustrating if you keep getting hit by items. The Grand Prix mode is fun as usual, and battles and missions can provide a good alternativeMario Kart DS provides an amazing single and multiplayer experience. It has a huge array of game modes, such as Grand Prix, Battles, multiplayer modes, missions and much more. The game has a good amount of challenge to it, even though it can get a bit frustrating if you keep getting hit by items. The Grand Prix mode is fun as usual, and battles and missions can provide a good alternative if competitive racing isn't your thing. Hours of fun can also be had on Wireless Connection and Wi-Fi Connection with friends and strangers. Not many characters are available and the graphics aren't amazing, but overall this has to be a contender for the best Mario Kart game of all time. Expand
  40. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    After all these years, this game can still be considered the best Mario Kart in the series. Graphics and sound are pleasing, and the controls and two screens work perfectly. The single player mode is still the deepest to date with a VS. mode and the very cool missions mode added on. The replay value here is really high and has kept me coming back. Multiplayer is also well-done with theAfter all these years, this game can still be considered the best Mario Kart in the series. Graphics and sound are pleasing, and the controls and two screens work perfectly. The single player mode is still the deepest to date with a VS. mode and the very cool missions mode added on. The replay value here is really high and has kept me coming back. Multiplayer is also well-done with the download-play (which is limited on purpose and is supposed to feel like a demo), local wireless, and a decent online. The characters choices are great (Dry Bones and R.O.B. were awesome additions), and the different karts to choose from was a plus. Creating a custom emblem was innovative, and the ability to use the mic in balloon battle was an interesting feature. Racing is very fun with the items being crazy, but no so much to the point of being cheap. The only two minor drawbacks to this game was that the online was limited, and the game is really easy. However, the online was still good overall and was a nice start in the series, also the easy difficulty allows the game to be highly accessible. I did have to round up the score because of the way it works on this site, but I'd give this a 9.5/10. One of the best racing games I've ever played. Expand
  41. Mar 25, 2013
    9
    This is definitely in the top 3 best MarioKarts ever! It was the first DS game I ever got and I still play it today! It doesn't matter how old you get or how depressed you are. This game along with other Mario games will put a smile on your face!
  42. May 2, 2013
    10
    One of the best racing games ever, no matter what console/handheld you compare it to. With an extremely solid campaign littered with brilliant missions, there is nothing wrong with it. The multiplayer may be a bit glitchy, but it was Nintendo's first go, and it worked pretty damn well! The single player VS mode and Battle mode are extremely addicting, already having me donated 200+ hoursOne of the best racing games ever, no matter what console/handheld you compare it to. With an extremely solid campaign littered with brilliant missions, there is nothing wrong with it. The multiplayer may be a bit glitchy, but it was Nintendo's first go, and it worked pretty damn well! The single player VS mode and Battle mode are extremely addicting, already having me donated 200+ hours just into those two modes, but the sheer amount of fun playing the game is just already satisfying. The music is also not bad, where tunes from different games before may invade your nostalgia!

    Gameplay: 10/10
    Story: N/A
    Music: 9/10
    Presentation: 9.5/10
    Length: 10/10
    Overall: 9.5/10
    Expand
  43. Oct 29, 2013
    7
    This is definitely not the best Mario Kart game out of all 7 it's in 4th, but it's not a bad game at all, but I can't stand some of the character voices ESPECIALLY Daisy.
  44. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    Like every other Mario Kart, this one is amazing as usual.

    Id say this might be the best one, maybe the second best after the Wii version. What makes it so good is, The tight controls and gameplay. The online which was introduced to the series along with this game. The multiplayer is amazing and where the game shines the most. The fact that its all on a handheld. Especially
    Like every other Mario Kart, this one is amazing as usual.

    Id say this might be the best one, maybe the second best after the Wii version.

    What makes it so good is,

    The tight controls and gameplay.
    The online which was introduced to the series along with this game.
    The multiplayer is amazing and where the game shines the most.
    The fact that its all on a handheld.

    Especially the simple customization within the multiplayer that gives you the option to decide how cups are structured is brilliant!

    The biggest downside is that they didn't balance the game mechanics well enough which has enabled something known as "snaking".

    That aside, its a perfect racer for the handheld.

    Easily a 10 out of 10 and recommended for everyone who likes good videogames.
    Expand
  45. Sep 19, 2013
    7
    Mario Kart DS was a good addition to the franchise. With 12 playable characters and a number of new tracks, it is definitely a fun game. Along with new tracks, updated versions of older tracks also make their way into this game, which i think is great. I would have liked to seen a little bit more characters though, and I am still waiting for the day Nintendo drops rubber banding of CPUMario Kart DS was a good addition to the franchise. With 12 playable characters and a number of new tracks, it is definitely a fun game. Along with new tracks, updated versions of older tracks also make their way into this game, which i think is great. I would have liked to seen a little bit more characters though, and I am still waiting for the day Nintendo drops rubber banding of CPU drivers. Expand
  46. Sep 28, 2013
    8
    Ultimately, it was a fun game, with high quality graphics for its time. It could be a little frustrating in some levels and tourneys if you didn't know the advanced tricks.
    Music: 8
    Art/ Graphics: 8
    Story: NA
    Gameplay: 8
  47. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    This game was a great game, a must buy for DS owners. Although its AI were insane on 150cc, it had great replay value, many characters to choose from, and a great map selection.
  48. Jul 9, 2014
    10
    Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob RobRob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Rob Expand
  49. Oct 24, 2014
    8
    Definitely one of my favourite NDS games to date, the only thing that I have trouble with are the controls. It feels unconformable to play for long periods of time which is sort of a bummer, but one of the best games i have played ever!
  50. Jul 28, 2014
    9
    Some of my review may be slightly biased, due to this game blinding me with the most nostalgia, since it was one of my childhood games. Mario Kart DS is as close as you can get to the ultimate Mario Kart games. While this game doesn't look as good as Double Dash just did and it doesn't have as much strategy, there is a great simplicity about it that you enjoy.
    Sporting fantastic gameplay,
    Some of my review may be slightly biased, due to this game blinding me with the most nostalgia, since it was one of my childhood games. Mario Kart DS is as close as you can get to the ultimate Mario Kart games. While this game doesn't look as good as Double Dash just did and it doesn't have as much strategy, there is a great simplicity about it that you enjoy.
    Sporting fantastic gameplay, many of the best courses of Mario Kart history, some brilliant music and bright and colorful graphics. Only complaints are slightly cramped controls, but that may just be me because I have big hands, but hey. The items are well balanced and so are the Retro stage's consistency, although not all the courses were great, but hey. My favorite in the series, along with Double Dash and 8. I don't know why people say this game is one of the worst when it's not!
    Expand
  51. Aug 15, 2014
    10
    Oh gosh, this game is great! This was one of the biggest influences of my childhood! It was one of the video games that really got me into gaming. While the multi-player isn't too impressive, what really makes it stand out is the single-player mode. It's great! There's the Grand Prix Mode, Time Trials, VS Race (A.K.A Free Run), Battle Mode and Mission Mode! I really have enjoyed this gameOh gosh, this game is great! This was one of the biggest influences of my childhood! It was one of the video games that really got me into gaming. While the multi-player isn't too impressive, what really makes it stand out is the single-player mode. It's great! There's the Grand Prix Mode, Time Trials, VS Race (A.K.A Free Run), Battle Mode and Mission Mode! I really have enjoyed this game since I was eight and still love it to pieces to this day! Apart from the DS not being the most appropriate for larger hands like mine, the control is perfect. Drifting is easy to do and enjoyable, the item balance is right so you won't see the Blue Shell too often but not everyone will get you a Bullet Bill. This course also introduced online play and retro courses! Retro courses are one of my favorite parts of the Mario Kart franchise and I owe it all to Double Dash. Your kart steers very well, nothing like Double Dash's slightly slippery driving, which isn't very helpful on windy roads where you easily fall down. While Double Dash had two incredibly good battle modes (Shine Thief and Bob-Omb Blast) I can't owe it to all that Mario Kart DS to this day has the greatest Balloon Battle out of any entry in the series! You start with one balloon, then have five more in stock. If you choose to have less balloons, you get out faster but get better items! Plus it has some great Battle Mode stages! All of them, except for Tart Top which is alright but fine since Double Dash had Tilt-A-Kart which wasn't very good either. But I like this game so much that I would play it over Mario Kart: Double Dash!
    The music is upbeat and cheerful...most of the time. It did have the horrible Yoshi Falls track, but apart from that track all other tracks were memorable for me. Especially what could be my favorite track of all time: Airship Fortress. The retro track music isn't quite as good as the original games, but still pretty good to me!
    Snaking got me competitive as well, so those are great aspect of these games. While the retro tracks didn't have such a proud selection (could've had better GBA and N64 stages), I'm very happy with a lot of these tracks. My second favorite video game of all time! It deserves a ten for all it has done!
    Expand
  52. Oct 19, 2014
    5
    I think this is the worst game in the Mario Kart series.While it is´nt that horrible, it has some flaws that I don´t like, the first been ing, that, if do do not have a profile, you get to play as Shy Guy EVERY TIME!!!
  53. TvH
    Sep 28, 2014
    10
    Mario Kart DS is a perfectly enjoyable, straightforward, and complete racing game that contains just enough challenges and difficulty levels to satisfy.
  54. Dec 3, 2014
    8
    Uh.... Donkey Kong.... you okay there, buddy?

    The courses are fun, and I like playing as ROB. Its main problem is its graphics. However, it redeems itself with the mission mode. Nothing like this was ever seen in a Mario Kart game, and it never was again. I really liked that mode.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. 90
    Everything about MKDS comes together into a surprisingly compelling package, a portable racing game on par with anything ever to appear on a console.
  2. Reason alone to own the DS platform. All of the fun that has been intrinsic to the series is intact, and the much-anticipated online component simply seals the deal. This is best game in the series by far, and perhaps the best kart-style racing game ever to come along.
  3. 95
    It's hard to imagine how Nintendo's going to improve on what they've done for this stunning portable rendition. There's so much gameplay and depth in this design, moreso than the series has ever had in the past.