Mario vs. Donkey Kong: Mini-Land Mayhem Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: At the grand opening of Mario's third theme park, the first 100 guests receive a new Mini Pauline toy. Donkey Kong arrives as the 101st guest and finds himself out of luck. He grabs Pauline and heads into the park with Mario and his Mini Marios in hot pursuit. The fourth game in the series adds new challenges and new opportunities for users to share what they have created. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Dec 20, 2010
    96
    If you like puzzle games, Mario games, Donkey Kong games, games you can pick up any time on the go and jump into without missing a beat, adorable games, or even if you just like a good brain-teasing challenge, you will absolutely love it.
  2. Feb 27, 2011
    88
    Even better than the prequel, the new Mario vs. Donkey Kong is an addictive little gem with compelling gameplay, exceptional music and a Creator Mode which boosts the not-so-incredible longevity. One of the best games on the DS, period.
  3. Dec 20, 2010
    85
    Play for a little, get a hit of Mario nostalgia, challenge your brain, and continue with the rest of your day. Mario vs. Donkey Kong: Mini-Land Mayhem makes for a great gaming fix.
  4. Dec 19, 2010
    80
    Another great round of Mario-themed mini-puzzler fun awaits.
  5. Jan 26, 2011
    80
    It's one of those games that can quickly get stuck in your head if you let it.
  6. Dec 19, 2010
    75
    The more challenging aspects take a bit to get to, but when players do reach the Plus Mode and Special Levels, it's worth every second.
  7. Dec 20, 2010
    60
    If you're looking for casual puzzling that gives you plenty of game time for your buck, Mini-Land Mayhem is decent for fans and great for newcomers. Let's just hope that next time, Nintendo does a major overhaul instead of a tiny tune-up.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    It is a simple, yet fun puzzle game. I wouldn't call it addicting, but it has a lot of levels which makes it worth it to play if you want a slow paced game. Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2010
    8
    great game..alot of fun ...i own all mario vs donkey kong games and by far the gba version is the best...i wonder why they continued the minis rather than controlling mario this time? i would love to see one last version for the ds like the original controling mario type game, would be amazing. nintendo needs a mario collection vol 1 and 2 (super mario 1,2,3 lost levels,mario world, yoshi island, mario rpg, ect.) for the ds. it is long overdue..miniland mayhem is worth the investment... Expand
  3. Jan 7, 2011
    8
    Mario vs. Donkey Kong: Mini-Land Mayhem is an itensely fun game. The combination of alot of levels and the addition of Hard Mode make this game worth the while. Expand
  4. May 28, 2011
    7
    I got this game after playing mario vs donkey kong 2 (see my review) and i have to say, this is much better. Unlike the second, this newest game isn't stupidly complex, and while controlling multiple characters at once, getting them to separate doors, and doing it withing a certain time does get frustrating, you don't get the hopeless feeling that you get from MVDK2. The levels feel difficult, but beatable, and you'll want to replay them and get all the mario cards and trophies. There are also bonus levels, unlocked after earning a certain number of mario letters, and building your own levels, while not exciting for me, may be enjoyable for you. If you can wait a bit, you can even download levels built by others. The graphics are great, the controls are good, but the story isn't really a story. Then again, it would be worse with a story. There are tons of levels, so if you want to, get it. It's really a 7.5. Expand
  5. Dec 18, 2013
    7
    THE GOOD: The puzzle-solving gameplay is quite satisfying. Nice cartoony art style. Very clever puzzles and variety of ways to solve them. A lot of levels, including a challenge mode. There is a mode that allows you to make your own levels and share them with friends. Music is very catchy and fun to listen to. Great use of the DS touch screen controls.

    The BAD: It can get a bit repetitive. Somewhat light on story as well.

    I'd say it is worth a buy. Nothing groundbreaking, but enjoyable.
    Expand
  6. Nov 23, 2010
    6
    I loved Mario vs Donkey Kong on the GBA. I skipped MvsDK March of the Minis because I've had enough of playing Lemmings clones. I decided to give Mini-Land Mayhem a try because there hasn't been much that was worth playing lately on my DS. Mini-Land is a reasonably fun game, but some control issues and boring boss battles against Donkey Kong lessen the fun.
    Many of the items you select in the game require fairly precise control from the touch screen, something that the DS isn't great at. This is particularily a problem in the mini-games, which require a lot of quick selecting/drawing of items. The boss battles are a disappointment, to many random events make trying to obtain a high score frustrating. Overall the game is fun, but no where near as fun as the GBA Mario vs DK.
    Collapse

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.