Mario vs. Donkey Kong: Mini-Land Mayhem DS

Mario vs. Donkey Kong: Mini-Land Mayhem Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: At the grand opening of Mario's third theme park, the first 100 guests receive a new Mini Pauline toy. Donkey Kong arrives as the 101st guest and finds himself out of luck. He grabs Pauline and heads into the park with Mario and his Mini Marios in hot pursuit. The fourth game inAt the grand opening of Mario's third theme park, the first 100 guests receive a new Mini Pauline toy. Donkey Kong arrives as the 101st guest and finds himself out of luck. He grabs Pauline and heads into the park with Mario and his Mini Marios in hot pursuit. The fourth game in the series adds new challenges and new opportunities for users to share what they have created. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Dec 20, 2010
    96
    If you like puzzle games, Mario games, Donkey Kong games, games you can pick up any time on the go and jump into without missing a beat, adorable games, or even if you just like a good brain-teasing challenge, you will absolutely love it.
  2. Feb 27, 2011
    88
    Even better than the prequel, the new Mario vs. Donkey Kong is an addictive little gem with compelling gameplay, exceptional music and a Creator Mode which boosts the not-so-incredible longevity. One of the best games on the DS, period.
  3. Dec 20, 2010
    85
    Play for a little, get a hit of Mario nostalgia, challenge your brain, and continue with the rest of your day. Mario vs. Donkey Kong: Mini-Land Mayhem makes for a great gaming fix.
  4. Dec 19, 2010
    80
    Another great round of Mario-themed mini-puzzler fun awaits.
  5. Jan 26, 2011
    80
    It's one of those games that can quickly get stuck in your head if you let it.
  6. Dec 19, 2010
    75
    The more challenging aspects take a bit to get to, but when players do reach the Plus Mode and Special Levels, it's worth every second.
  7. Dec 20, 2010
    60
    If you're looking for casual puzzling that gives you plenty of game time for your buck, Mini-Land Mayhem is decent for fans and great for newcomers. Let's just hope that next time, Nintendo does a major overhaul instead of a tiny tune-up.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Aug 7, 2014
    10
    why the low score?
    well.. i never tried other mario vs DK games but this been a light hearted game to me, simply awesome and define what a
    why the low score?
    well.. i never tried other mario vs DK games but this been a light hearted game to me, simply awesome and define what a puzzler-on-the-go is.
    Expand
  2. Jan 7, 2011
    8
    Mario vs. Donkey Kong: Mini-Land Mayhem is an itensely fun game. The combination of alot of levels and the addition of Hard Mode make thisMario vs. Donkey Kong: Mini-Land Mayhem is an itensely fun game. The combination of alot of levels and the addition of Hard Mode make this game worth the while. Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    It is a simple, yet fun puzzle game. I wouldn't call it addicting, but it has a lot of levels which makes it worth it to play if you want aIt is a simple, yet fun puzzle game. I wouldn't call it addicting, but it has a lot of levels which makes it worth it to play if you want a slow paced game. Expand
  4. May 28, 2011
    7
    I got this game after playing mario vs donkey kong 2 (see my review) and i have to say, this is much better. Unlike the second, this newestI got this game after playing mario vs donkey kong 2 (see my review) and i have to say, this is much better. Unlike the second, this newest game isn't stupidly complex, and while controlling multiple characters at once, getting them to separate doors, and doing it withing a certain time does get frustrating, you don't get the hopeless feeling that you get from MVDK2. The levels feel difficult, but beatable, and you'll want to replay them and get all the mario cards and trophies. There are also bonus levels, unlocked after earning a certain number of mario letters, and building your own levels, while not exciting for me, may be enjoyable for you. If you can wait a bit, you can even download levels built by others. The graphics are great, the controls are good, but the story isn't really a story. Then again, it would be worse with a story. There are tons of levels, so if you want to, get it. It's really a 7.5. Expand
  5. Dec 18, 2013
    7
    THE GOOD: The puzzle-solving gameplay is quite satisfying. Nice cartoony art style. Very clever puzzles and variety of ways to solve them. ATHE GOOD: The puzzle-solving gameplay is quite satisfying. Nice cartoony art style. Very clever puzzles and variety of ways to solve them. A lot of levels, including a challenge mode. There is a mode that allows you to make your own levels and share them with friends. Music is very catchy and fun to listen to. Great use of the DS touch screen controls.

    The BAD: It can get a bit repetitive. Somewhat light on story as well.

    I'd say it is worth a buy. Nothing groundbreaking, but enjoyable.
    Expand
  6. Nov 23, 2010
    6
    I loved Mario vs Donkey Kong on the GBA. I skipped MvsDK March of the Minis because I've had enough of playing Lemmings clones. I decided toI loved Mario vs Donkey Kong on the GBA. I skipped MvsDK March of the Minis because I've had enough of playing Lemmings clones. I decided to give Mini-Land Mayhem a try because there hasn't been much that was worth playing lately on my DS. Mini-Land is a reasonably fun game, but some control issues and boring boss battles against Donkey Kong lessen the fun.
    Many of the items you select in the game require fairly precise control from the touch screen, something that the DS isn't great at. This is particularily a problem in the mini-games, which require a lot of quick selecting/drawing of items. The boss battles are a disappointment, to many random events make trying to obtain a high score frustrating. Overall the game is fun, but no where near as fun as the GBA Mario vs DK.
    Collapse
  7. Nov 15, 2016
    5
    This game is too easy.

    Relative to other games in the Mario vs. Donkey Kong series, the puzzles are simple. Having played through most of
    This game is too easy.

    Relative to other games in the Mario vs. Donkey Kong series, the puzzles are simple. Having played through most of the others previously, this offered basically no challenge.

    Of all the M vs. DK series (excluding Mario and Donkey Kong: Minis on the Move), this game - by far - introduced more unique game mechanics. And, most of the new ideas work. The girder system is better than the pink blocks from previous games and it adds depth to the puzzles being able to fire cannons and create your own ladders / conveyor belts. But, the problem lies beyond the mechanics.

    The level design is the worst of the entire series. The puzzles are small and the solutions are obvious. The first fifty or sixty levels didn't require any thought whatsoever. I got the gold trophy, almost every time, on my first attempt. I found the bulk of the main game pretty boring, but I persevered thinking that there would be better (more challenging) levels in the Plus mode.

    The Plus mode outright sucks... Every other game in the series offered new levels, after completing the game. In Mini-Land Mayhem, you're required to complete all of the same levels over again while adhering to an "exit order". While this made the levels a little more difficult, I couldn't find the motivation to complete them all again.

    Some of Attraction 7 / Attraction 8 and some of Special / Extra were the only really enjoyable levels, for me. But, they didn't make up for an otherwise disappointing experience.

    The game isn't all bad. There are some other positives, I should mention.

    I like the mini-games. They offer a much-welcome departure from atypical M vs DK gameplay, which gets very repetitive after you play through the bulk of the series. They (the mini-games) are fun and well-designed. And they offer a bit more of a challenge than most of the actual levels.

    The boss battles are (perhaps) the best of any entry in the series, so far. But, that's not really saying much since bosses in the M vs. DK series are almost always badly designed and frustrating... The bosses in Mini-Land Mayhem aren't frustrating, but they're too easy. And success or failure depends largely on randomized events. Also, the bosses in Plus Mode are exactly the same as in Normal Mode. So, inexplicably, you need to beat them all twice.

    And this game deserves some credit for taking a chance and introducing new gameplay mechanics, but the new tools aren't fully realized until they are revisited in the next Mario vs. Donkey Kong title (Tipping Stars).

    Tipping Stars is what Mini-Land Mayhem should have been: they took out all the crappy new mechanics (the Shy Guy blocks, the magnetic electrical circuits, etc.) and re-incorporated what was left over into one of the best entries in the series.

    Mini-Land Mayhem is the second-worst game in the series. It had enormous potential, but - unfortunately -
    ended up being only slightly better than the first Mario vs. Donkey Kong...

    I couldn't be bothered finishing it 100%.
    At times, I struggled to find the motivation to keep playing at all.
    Expand

See all 8 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.

Awards & Rankings

16
18
#18 Most Discussed DS Game of 2010
22
#22 Most Shared DS Game of 2010