User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 172 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 172

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 10, 2012
    8
    Poor single player, but the multiplayer is excellent and very polished. A blast to play with friends especially since you only need one card. Other stand outs include the graphics and decent soundtrack. Still, it definitely doesn't have the same atmosphere as the console series. It's more like a sampler, though without the innovation or creative level design that the console games are famous for.
  2. JasonL.
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    This is great! It's long and fun. Enjoyed it for about 60 hours! I give a 10.
  3. RichardF.
    Jun 19, 2007
    6
    A good multiplayer game ruined by a single player mode with (as people have rightly said) literally painful and frustratingly awkward controls, repetitive bosses, some head-explodingly confusing level design, respawning enemies, etc. If they were going to put so little effort into the single player mode they shouldn't really have bothered at all.
  4. Jagur
    Mar 31, 2006
    6
    the reason for the low vote is this... 1) story mode was less than 3 hours long, you could do it in 2 or less i bet. 2) OMG! i think i now have Carpul Tunnel Syndrome 3)why didnt this come with a Rumble Pak but Metroid Pinball does? HUH? 4)Linier game play, who needs a map when its all spelled out for you anyway. 5)Recycled Bosses...if i see or hear from that stupid tower or Slench again the reason for the low vote is this... 1) story mode was less than 3 hours long, you could do it in 2 or less i bet. 2) OMG! i think i now have Carpul Tunnel Syndrome 3)why didnt this come with a Rumble Pak but Metroid Pinball does? HUH? 4)Linier game play, who needs a map when its all spelled out for you anyway. 5)Recycled Bosses...if i see or hear from that stupid tower or Slench again it will be to soon. 6)EASY!!! this game wasnt hard at all..i had three E-tanks within 20 minutes of play. ....also, every boss gives loads of heath,all you have to do is shoot, soak up health, and shoot some more...dead boss.. 7)Timed escapes back to your ship after every boss level.....talk about redundant..way to take a classic piece of Metroid nostalgia to the level of over-dose.. 8)weapons of no use...the power beam and a charged missle are all you need so whats the point? sure you need the Alimbic cannon in the end but thats not my point besides opening colored doors. 9)story line...blah blah blah, another alien race wiped out by thier own weapons that somehow a hero (Samus) can use properly. 10)after waiting 15 months, this game just does not feel like Metroid to me or meet up with the hype machine leading to the re-lease....what a bummer. Expand
  5. HamishB.
    Sep 8, 2006
    5
    Metroid Prime Hunters
  6. Gamefreak
    Oct 4, 2006
    9
    Its real good a great ending and the best first person shooter I've seen in years but its probably cause I just looooove Metroid.
  7. Samusfreak
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    Unbelievable, no one thought a DS game could look like this. Graphics are on par with the PSP, just a bit pixelly when right up against a wall. using the touch screen like a mouse works great, and gives one a play experience that has never existed before. Great sound and music, truely a killer app for the DS.
  8. CharlieN.
    Jul 13, 2006
    5
    Ok... This game is completely overhyped... It's a great experience but the only reason I believe people are so hyped is because it's a handheld FPS. The story is very weak... The bosses are very repetitive and the game is way too easy. If you want to get everything completed, you have to literally scan everything (ANNOYING). The only part where this game excedes what other games Ok... This game is completely overhyped... It's a great experience but the only reason I believe people are so hyped is because it's a handheld FPS. The story is very weak... The bosses are very repetitive and the game is way too easy. If you want to get everything completed, you have to literally scan everything (ANNOYING). The only part where this game excedes what other games have, is the Wi-Fi Multiplayer. This game is more annoying than fun in my opinion. Buy if you need something to and are going on a quick hour-long road trip; I'd suggest this game. Rating 5 just because of the multiplayer. Expand
  9. JackD.
    Feb 15, 2007
    10
    A truly brilliant game my friend has the best hiding place on wifi for sniping. THE BEST!
  10. PaulH.
    Jun 1, 2006
    0
    Got it as a gift in March, played it for about a hour, then I've never played it again, no interest whatsoever to pick this one up again.
  11. JoshH.
    Oct 22, 2007
    0
    Grossly pales in comparison to Metroid Fusion and Metroid Zero Mission. I want my 2D metroids back! Unfortunately, Nintendo is more likely to hear the screaming, foaming-out-the-mouth prepubescents who want their FPS-lite because their parental bigots won't let them play the better, more mature FPSes out there. For shame.
  12. taxoelite
    Jul 6, 2006
    9
    it is a very good game with rely good grafics.
  13. CJjackson
    Aug 6, 2006
    9
    The game is good on game play controls and graphics.
  14. JerradH.
    Mar 26, 2006
    7
    An absolutely superb game, but you have to be a complete masochist to play this game any longer than an hour. My right hand and index finger hurt something fierce thanks to the awkward controls. It kills me (literally) to give the game a lower score than a 10, but no game is fun enough to be worth physical pain.
  15. J.G.
    Mar 28, 2006
    9
    Once I played the demo I had to play hunters. The game is amazing in all ways, adventure mode is good which is very long. The multiplayer is perfect. You still need friend codes but you have your own friend and rivals list. Highly recomended.
  16. Raya
    May 21, 2006
    9
    This is Metroid Prime on a portable and it lives up to it. It feels just like Prime on the Cube. Visuals and gameplay are excellent. Yes it is easier and less complicated but it's a portable game eg. made for short bursts now and then. If you play prime or echos on the cube and stop for a week it's hard to know where you are or where you went the last time you played. The This is Metroid Prime on a portable and it lives up to it. It feels just like Prime on the Cube. Visuals and gameplay are excellent. Yes it is easier and less complicated but it's a portable game eg. made for short bursts now and then. If you play prime or echos on the cube and stop for a week it's hard to know where you are or where you went the last time you played. The controls are good too. You have a choice of setup and you can use the thumbstrap (set to left hand mode for right handed people and right for left and just use the thumbstrap on the bottom screen like a mouse) I don't know why this mode is catered for in the setup or manual. Those of you that say about you hands cramping: the solution is simple - relax! The online multiplayer is BLISS. Just as fast and frantic as UT used to be, though your probably better off using the stylus because you can turn and control at mouse/keybaord speeds! Expand
  17. Bruce
    Jan 11, 2007
    7
    The levels, puzzles and bosses look great, but they are very repetitive. The input puts a lot of strain on your left hand and wrist as you try to shoot, move, and hold up the DS all with the one hand. I find I perch my DS on the left edge of a table so that the unit is supported while I move and shoot with the left hand. Overall, good but not great.
  18. AntonN.
    Jan 3, 2007
    8
    The single player game is poor but the multi player game is extremely good. The control are really great and you can choose between dual hand or stylus mode, left handed or right handed. Although the game is a lot glitchy, it's really good with two possible ending in single player mode. I give it 8/10 because of the multi player mode and the easy to use controls.
  19. Mike
    Aug 10, 2007
    8
    DOWNSIDES: well, on one hand as soon as I finished the game, I was a little disappointed to find that the game had repeated itself in so many ways (time limit to escape, only 2 main boss designs, me really wanting syluxs' ship, etc.) plus, there was the added fact that gameplay was still basically shoot anything you see cuz you're your only ally. UPSIDES: However, in all DOWNSIDES: well, on one hand as soon as I finished the game, I was a little disappointed to find that the game had repeated itself in so many ways (time limit to escape, only 2 main boss designs, me really wanting syluxs' ship, etc.) plus, there was the added fact that gameplay was still basically shoot anything you see cuz you're your only ally. UPSIDES: However, in all fairness this was still an awesome title, I mean, how many first person shooters for handhelds are there, much less those with the ability to free roam, not only that but (when used correctly and with some practice) the touch screen provides an intuitive and innovative conrol style (providing your not a jittery fighter or someone who constantly taps the screen making them jump the whole time you fight.) Also, this is one of the few handheld titles in 3D (and pretty good 3D for a handheld) and that had almost cinematic quality cutscenes, and the multiplayer works great, I have never dropped a connection due to a bad server or bad components in the DS itself. Expand
  20. AnonymousMC
    Jul 7, 2008
    2
    talk about boring nothing like the console metroid or even the classic ones this game was repetitive with the exact same rooms same enemys same path just try not to get confused to vsing the same boss then trying to flee the planet in probly around the same easy time it took to get there and then getting stopped at the end by the same boss you thought you killed when you first went intotalk about boring nothing like the console metroid or even the classic ones this game was repetitive with the exact same rooms same enemys same path just try not to get confused to vsing the same boss then trying to flee the planet in probly around the same easy time it took to get there and then getting stopped at the end by the same boss you thought you killed when you first went into the same room. then going to your ship and blasting off not even bring able to fly the god dam thing
    look i know you carnt fly the ship in corruption but at least it isnt as repetitive as this game was
    Collapse
  21. EBB
    Mar 23, 2006
    8
    I love the Metroid series, but let's all be honest here...the control on the GameCube is a LOT better than the control on the Nintendo DS! I will admit, the developers did everything they could to make this game the best that they could, but they couldn't help how painful my hands feel after playing this game for an hour. Am I supposed to enjoy the experience of a game, or feel I love the Metroid series, but let's all be honest here...the control on the GameCube is a LOT better than the control on the Nintendo DS! I will admit, the developers did everything they could to make this game the best that they could, but they couldn't help how painful my hands feel after playing this game for an hour. Am I supposed to enjoy the experience of a game, or feel frustrated by its controls? Everything else about this game is top notch--the game of the year so far for the Nintendo DS! Expand
  22. MarkS.
    Mar 28, 2006
    7
    I think Jerrad's review and score hit the nail on the head on this one. This game, perhaps more than any other exemplifies the shortcomings of 3-D based, first person games on a PORTABLE... And Metroid prime hunters might actually be key and pivotal and displaying the gimmicky nature of the touch screen, and why certain games are just simply meant for consoles. Sure the graphics are I think Jerrad's review and score hit the nail on the head on this one. This game, perhaps more than any other exemplifies the shortcomings of 3-D based, first person games on a PORTABLE... And Metroid prime hunters might actually be key and pivotal and displaying the gimmicky nature of the touch screen, and why certain games are just simply meant for consoles. Sure the graphics are outstanding, and this game is fun to play up to a certain point, but is this game really worth buying a DS over? This is the game that everyone has been waiting anxiously for, for like almost a year and so far the reviews appear disappointing. As Jerrad and EB hinted at, is this game really worth getting Carpal Tunnel syndome over? In my opinion if this game doesn't really catch on, especially with the failed application of the touchscreen, then the Nintendo DS is a failure. And I am not really holding my breath for a touch screen Zelda, I think I'll just stick with the easier (and more fun) Minish Cap and Metroid Fusion. I'm a Fanboy, but not so much that I am willing to get permanent cramps in my hands and fingers for a videogame. Expand
  23. KyleM.
    Mar 29, 2006
    10
    Best game on the DS so far. Seriously guys, the control is not THAT bad. In fact I would argue that it's better than the console experience. This genre is not "meant for consoles," unless you like inaccurate controls. This genre is meant for PCs, but the DS is the next best thing.
  24. HenryH.
    May 5, 2006
    7
    The game's controls are weak. WHY! WHY jump with the right and shoot with the left.
  25. [Anonymous]
    Jul 4, 2006
    8
    I was slightly dissappointed when I finished this game. It left out a lot of the true MP things that make an authentic MP game. Not all of the classic weapons or characters, the overall world (or worlds) is tiny for a MP game, and sometimes gameplay can be hard and tedious due to the touchscreen mode. But still, this is a good game, nontheless since it is Metorid. And, even if the game I was slightly dissappointed when I finished this game. It left out a lot of the true MP things that make an authentic MP game. Not all of the classic weapons or characters, the overall world (or worlds) is tiny for a MP game, and sometimes gameplay can be hard and tedious due to the touchscreen mode. But still, this is a good game, nontheless since it is Metorid. And, even if the game left out a lot of classic elements, it had a lot of new ones, like the 6 new hunters, wi-fi play, and multiplayer with bots. A good Metroid game, but not worthy of the MP games on gamecube. Those games can be finished after 35 hours of play. This game took me less than 8 hours. Expand
  26. MichaelA.
    Sep 1, 2006
    8
    A great Metroid game. The only downside is the story mode. Not saying that it sucks, but it can't compare to the Wi-Fi and local wireless multiplayer. One cool thing about having friends on Wi-Fi is the fact that you can literally talk to them through Wi-Fi by holding down the X button! I DO agree with Charlie N. with one thing. eye boss, tower boss, eye, tower, eye, tower. A great Metroid game. The only downside is the story mode. Not saying that it sucks, but it can't compare to the Wi-Fi and local wireless multiplayer. One cool thing about having friends on Wi-Fi is the fact that you can literally talk to them through Wi-Fi by holding down the X button! I DO agree with Charlie N. with one thing. eye boss, tower boss, eye, tower, eye, tower. Can't they think of something different? Last thing, weapons and charcters. Once again, Nintendo's innovation knows no bounds. The characters having their own matching weapons! In my opinion, Noxus is the best. I almost forgot something. Metroid Prime: Hunters tries so much to be like Halo 2 in multiplayer. Defender in MPH is King of the Hill in H2. Nodes in MPH is Territories in H2. I think I've said enough for now. All I'm saying is that this is a game definitely worthy buying and definitely worth getting Wi-Fi for! One of the NDS's best. Expand
  27. Rustyboo
    Sep 19, 2006
    10
    Best game evah
  28. JaredC.
    Nov 17, 2007
    7
    Metroid Prime Hunters is one of the best action games for Nintendo DS. Ya right. Some may wonder why is it rated T for Teen. Well the game is slightly difficult and hypnotysingly confusing. And I got lost half way point. By that time, you don't want to play the game anymore because it just gets plain old boring. The only fun part of the game is multiplayer. But nobody I knew wanted Metroid Prime Hunters is one of the best action games for Nintendo DS. Ya right. Some may wonder why is it rated T for Teen. Well the game is slightly difficult and hypnotysingly confusing. And I got lost half way point. By that time, you don't want to play the game anymore because it just gets plain old boring. The only fun part of the game is multiplayer. But nobody I knew wanted to play it. Well, first of all, I got stuck and was completely lost and there was no hints to get you out of the situation. Besides, I was dissapointed to that fact that there were no aliens or other species jumped out at you and have a huge invasion of bugs or whatever and try to defeat them all. But on the other hand, it started out that you parked your ship and jumped out. Walking around a bit traveling through doors. From my opinon, I think that the creator was loosing ideas for jabbing in quick action scenes in there. I bet ya' that he tried to make it suspenseful and, as the genre reads: Horror, he wanted you to be suspicious to what's going to happen next. He very well did that you very much but he did a poor job overall. The game is truly exciting and undeniably thrilling, which grabs your attention by the amazing 2 minute introductory video that swictched your stress to excitement. And multiplayer is very fun, but only for a couple of times and then it just gets boring after a while. My complaint to this whole video game here is that it was by far way to challenging and difficult to get used of. They lost ideas of action scenes once and a while. And all you did for most of the time is walk around scanning things 24/7 and shooting little plants that are blocking the way. That's all it is. Well, anyways, it still was a brilliant thrilling game. It's good but not great, just rent it from the store but don't waste your money on a 40 dollar game that you'll never play. Just for the heads up. Expand
  29. AndrésP.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    I'm so excited with this game because this game is a mix between awesome graphics and great multiplayer, If you have friends with the ds you'll have much fun.
  30. Thatguy
    Jan 7, 2007
    8
    Story mode was fun. It was short, and people complain about the gamecube ones bring longer but there is only so much story one can fit onto a DS game. multiplayer was brilliant. The only big problem is the the controls. They hurt. After an hour, my left hand wouldn't move for like 10 minutes and my pointer fingers and both my thumbs were sore. So I took two points off for that. I Story mode was fun. It was short, and people complain about the gamecube ones bring longer but there is only so much story one can fit onto a DS game. multiplayer was brilliant. The only big problem is the the controls. They hurt. After an hour, my left hand wouldn't move for like 10 minutes and my pointer fingers and both my thumbs were sore. So I took two points off for that. I just want to make one last point: sure the controls are painful, but there is only so much you can do with a game like this. I believe the makers did their best and, all in all, they did a good job. Expand
  31. ChadeW.
    Mar 15, 2007
    9
    Metroid Prime... oh, how I love thee. You've managed to take one of my favorite games of all time and successfully turn it into a First Person adventure while still making it seem like Metroid. Prime: Hunters, even with a totally new and sometimes confusing control scheme, still manages to create that feeling of traveling through a world and fighting tons of enemies and solving Metroid Prime... oh, how I love thee. You've managed to take one of my favorite games of all time and successfully turn it into a First Person adventure while still making it seem like Metroid. Prime: Hunters, even with a totally new and sometimes confusing control scheme, still manages to create that feeling of traveling through a world and fighting tons of enemies and solving puzzles. It's basically Halo for the handhelds, with some of the best online Multiplayer I've ever seen and fast-paced battles in single player with a decent story. If only people wouldn't always pick the over-powerful blue-lightning dude. I'll be playing this for a long time. Not quite as good as Prime or Prime 2, but with the addition of a very simple yet engaging Multiplayer, this is the best Metroid you'll get anytime soon. Expand
  32. ChrisW.
    Mar 26, 2007
    10
    People say the game hurts, but I don't feel pain! You've GOT to use the STYLUS mode to play properly. I found it very intuitive, and here's some advice, hold it with your non stylus hand, and gently press your stylus hand into the console with your little finger over the trigger for the imperialist. 10 for 1 player, perfectly placed for me, and I would have 13 for People say the game hurts, but I don't feel pain! You've GOT to use the STYLUS mode to play properly. I found it very intuitive, and here's some advice, hold it with your non stylus hand, and gently press your stylus hand into the console with your little finger over the trigger for the imperialist. 10 for 1 player, perfectly placed for me, and I would have 13 for multiplayer, but it only gos up to 10. Expand
  33. AJay
    Sep 2, 2007
    10
    Great graphics, fantastic controls, solid single player, and one of the best miltiplayer games ever leave nothing to be desiered!
  34. AnonymousMC
    Feb 15, 2008
    6
    It was ok, the multi is really the sole prozider. and there u cant get any good hunters till u kill the game first anyway.
    I was told if i wanted a fps get mp:Hunters, as i play fantasy.
    Boses were way to painful and repetative. I spent 2weeks killing the bose on the ice planet to get trace. I stoped there. All players should be multi avalible from start, its a cheap excuse to get u
    It was ok, the multi is really the sole prozider. and there u cant get any good hunters till u kill the game first anyway.
    I was told if i wanted a fps get mp:Hunters, as i play fantasy.
    Boses were way to painful and repetative.
    I spent 2weeks killing the bose on the ice planet to get trace.
    I stoped there.
    All players should be multi avalible from start, its a cheap excuse to get u play the game adventure.
    Alround good but not great.
    Coruption better be better.
    Expand
  35. Dylan
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    It's so addicting I should be in rehab!!
  36. DrewF.
    Apr 13, 2006
    8
    Yes, it's frustrating that the single player game is so easy and so short, but I think the folks complaining about that have to realize that this game was developed for one reason and one reason alone: online. If you don't have access to the online portion, then i really don't think it's worth buying. If you do, however, you'll be able to play the most addictive Yes, it's frustrating that the single player game is so easy and so short, but I think the folks complaining about that have to realize that this game was developed for one reason and one reason alone: online. If you don't have access to the online portion, then i really don't think it's worth buying. If you do, however, you'll be able to play the most addictive online FPS that I've encountered since Halo. Expand
  37. KyleS.
    Apr 23, 2006
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played. I bought this game at Wal-Mart and it was the last copy. I have had more fun with this game than with any other game. I play this game with my friends in Texas it is great.
  38. AnonymousMC
    Jun 27, 2006
    0
    Granted it doesn't deserve a straight out 0, but I want to bring down the score, it does in no way deserve that.
    It's boring, get to the end of the level shooting enemies, picking up keys and power ups, then running back to the begining of the level in a certain time.
    Wow
    Fun...
    Do not buy
  39. EthanR.
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    I was never interested in the metroid series, because i never really liked them. I kept on hearing features about this game like the new characters, the wi-fi and other stuff. After hearing all that i had to give this game a try. I started off in story mode and i was addictid. The graphics were spectacular and the controls were awesome because it was so precise with stylus. the levels I was never interested in the metroid series, because i never really liked them. I kept on hearing features about this game like the new characters, the wi-fi and other stuff. After hearing all that i had to give this game a try. I started off in story mode and i was addictid. The graphics were spectacular and the controls were awesome because it was so precise with stylus. the levels stumped me and I got through the game in about a month.the story mode was excellent. The multi player mode was where the game shines. I loved it . there were about 27 stages in all to play in and 7 characters. (sylux rules) So if you're either a metroid fan or ot you'll love this game! Expand
  40. WilliamT.
    Dec 15, 2007
    8
    Controls a little uncomfortable, the level design a bit confusing, the action repetitive, but still one of the best games you'll find on the DS.
  41. RecardoB.
    Feb 17, 2007
    8
    This is my favorite Metroid game. I love the game play, visuals and sound. The only down side is the controls. They are very hard on the hands when encountering major enemies. One can only play this game for shorter periods of time.
  42. DJT
    Dec 15, 2007
    7
    This is a great playing great looking game! A good game on the system and a perfect addition to the overal Metroid franchise. The casual gamer should stay away... it's an action adventure, and if you aren't playing it everyday until you are finished it, you may forget about where you left off and it becomes a little tedious. Otherwsie, it's a great adventure!
  43. Aug 12, 2010
    7
    Metroid Prime Hunters is very impressive. The DS isn't great with graphics, but Metroid Prime Hunters, really looks amazing. The Gameplay is good as well, although it is really very tricky. If your a new gamer you might want to gain some experience before playing. But it is good, there aren't very many FPS's on DS and so if your looking for a good shooter this is a great one.
  44. Sep 2, 2010
    9
    Metroid Prime Hunters is all about multiplayers. I never been able to play in single player mode for more then twenty minutes, I always switch to the multiplayers mode. The new hunters are original and very cool to play. Each one of them as it's unique morph form that can be used for different play style. The stages are great and can be used for some strategic advantage. Even the onlineMetroid Prime Hunters is all about multiplayers. I never been able to play in single player mode for more then twenty minutes, I always switch to the multiplayers mode. The new hunters are original and very cool to play. Each one of them as it's unique morph form that can be used for different play style. The stages are great and can be used for some strategic advantage. Even the online feels better than a lot of Wii games. The only down side of Metroid Prime Hunters is the technical limitation of the DS. This game could as been easily my best game of the year if it as been made for the Wii. A must have for all FPS and online multiplayers fans. Expand
  45. Sep 6, 2010
    9
    Provided you use the thumb-nub accessory for the touch screen instead of a stylus to avoid cramp you will have little difficulty with the controls, free to reap the benefits of a more accurate mouse-like aiming system sorely lacking on all other portable game consoles and analog-stick shooters. Multiplayer aside (complimented enough as it is) I fee I have to defend the single-playerProvided you use the thumb-nub accessory for the touch screen instead of a stylus to avoid cramp you will have little difficulty with the controls, free to reap the benefits of a more accurate mouse-like aiming system sorely lacking on all other portable game consoles and analog-stick shooters. Multiplayer aside (complimented enough as it is) I fee I have to defend the single-player campaign from the flak it has received. Metroid has always been about the isolation and lonely exploration of its universe, allowing its players to observe and interpret its rich background and nature in their own way. The scan visor and the innumerable scannable objects in the game provide this data in a way akin to genuine self-led discovery as opposed to that of a camera-led, cutscene rich journey, and that is part of the beauty and mystery of Metroid games (although admittedly different mixes in Fusion and Other M prove just as enjoyable). The primary issue of the single-player campaign is its repeating boss and odd climax-less countdowns. Otherwise this remains an excellent experience for those with the patience and imagination to take the game slowly, scan every creature, lore-piece and equipment. Those without the patience clearly do not appreciate what sort of game this was meant to be. [score: 8.5, rounded up] Expand
  46. Sep 28, 2010
    8
    8 This is actually very good to be a DS game, considering how all the other portable fps games have failed big time. The graphics are great, the story is thrilling as always. Also, the controls on this game are great, once you get used to controlling the screen and buttons at the same time.
  47. Aug 19, 2013
    0
    This game is worthless. I tried playing it because I'm a MASSIVE metroid fan, but it almost made me hate the series. It tries to focus on exploration, but they fail to make it fun EVERY STEP OF THE WAY. Enemies are boring to fight and deal too much damage, yet they give plenty of health pickups meaning that you will die often from not making any mistakes at all. The controls are shyte.This game is worthless. I tried playing it because I'm a MASSIVE metroid fan, but it almost made me hate the series. It tries to focus on exploration, but they fail to make it fun EVERY STEP OF THE WAY. Enemies are boring to fight and deal too much damage, yet they give plenty of health pickups meaning that you will die often from not making any mistakes at all. The controls are shyte. You NEVER get used to the controls. They are a constant burden. The level design is dull, ugly, and confusing as he11. The map is useless. It doesn't give clues as to how to access certain areas, which you're not even sure you're supposed to navigate to. At the end of every planet you have to run back to your ship. The time limit is well timed, so you always arrive with just under a minute or so to spare, but the level design is so horrid that you will probably get stuck backtracking several times due to camera confusion or repeated level patterns. The third boss I came across took 20 minutes to beat, repeating the same pattern the ENTIRE TIME. You shoot these small crystals that shoot slow moving green orbs at you, and you have to shoot all like 15 crystals when they turn blue so that the main crystal can emerge and you can shoot at it. You are FORCED to run around in circles this entire time, which requires an insane amount of ambidexterity. Then when the crystal finally pops out it only comes out for 5 seconds. Blasting it at full force with missles/charged shots or your best gun will always deal about 8 pixels worth of damage, resulting in it ducking back and all other 15 crystals regenerating, forcing you to repeat this process about 20 times before it dies. This fact, along with forced checkpoints that do not regive you max health, are proof that this game had zero playtesting at all. Imagine you have 1 health and stumble across an invisible forced checkpoint with a boss coming up. You'll have to delete your save file and start from the beginning! You rarely pick up any upgrades. It lets you start with charge shot, maru maru, bombs, and missles. Why? no other game does this! I'll tell you why. It's because this entire game wasn't developed for fun. It was developed in an attempt to show off the DS's capabilities compared to the Gamecube. They wanted people to buy the DS thinking it was going to be 'just like prime' but they didn't care about anything else. "Just make it look like Metroid Prime and ship it" How pathetic. I award this game ZERO points, and my god have mercy on their soul. Expand
  48. AnonymousMC
    Apr 8, 2006
    8
    I am a Big FanBoy Of Metroid and All of the Nintendo Games.....This Game I did Love to play
    ...But i do Agree To short......Some Weird Bosses.....Didnt Like the Fact that they Were Floating Balls And Big Brown Poles......Nintendo Could have do So much More to this game.....and The controls were Ok for me........Pretty Good for A Handheld and what do u expect Most the Games ive
    I am a Big FanBoy Of Metroid and All of the Nintendo Games.....This Game I did Love to play
    ...But i do Agree To short......Some Weird Bosses.....Didnt Like the Fact that they Were Floating Balls And Big Brown Poles......Nintendo Could have do So much More to this game.....and The controls were Ok for me........Pretty Good for A Handheld and what do u expect Most the Games ive played...after an HOur of playing Them my Hands Hurt.....
    Expand
  49. AnonymousMC
    Sep 20, 2008
    7
    Good game. The graphics and are amazing. Single player isn't that exciting though. Multiplayer can be fun but there's too many hackers and it's cheap in the sense that there's health things scattered around the maps and everyone just runs away and gets full health again so it feels like a drag. They shouldn't have included health as this would have made it moreGood game. The graphics and are amazing. Single player isn't that exciting though. Multiplayer can be fun but there's too many hackers and it's cheap in the sense that there's health things scattered around the maps and everyone just runs away and gets full health again so it feels like a drag. They shouldn't have included health as this would have made it more like deathmatch. Also everyone just uses their secondary morph mode which gets real boring and annoying. Expand
  50. Busternuck
    Mar 22, 2006
    9
    The Absolute Must-have game list for DS seems to be growing ever so steadily lately. Now add Metroid PH. This game is simply superlative in almost every department : control, graphics, atmosphere, action and squeezing the most out of the DS hardware. Fence sitters need not be apprehensive about the controls : it works superbly, very intuitive and is as good as having an analog control. I The Absolute Must-have game list for DS seems to be growing ever so steadily lately. Now add Metroid PH. This game is simply superlative in almost every department : control, graphics, atmosphere, action and squeezing the most out of the DS hardware. Fence sitters need not be apprehensive about the controls : it works superbly, very intuitive and is as good as having an analog control. I prefer using thumbstrap although toggling between visors is a bit of a pain if you have large a large thumb! But this can't take anything away from Nintendo : they blew me away with this one. Expand
  51. AnonymousMC
    Aug 15, 2009
    10
    A Hope For The Future.
    The Best games for the DS. A a worthy First Person Shooter. But there are some things that make it fall short of the Metriod standard. There was ship exploration, a Lava world, Ice World, and a short cave like world (Gorea's Lair). But there was no Underwater, no tropical, and no new world.
    Also There were no Suit Upgrades at all, which is a huge part of
    A Hope For The Future.
    The Best games for the DS. A a worthy First Person Shooter. But there are some things that make it fall short of the Metriod standard. There was ship exploration, a Lava world, Ice World, and a short cave like world (Gorea's Lair). But there was no Underwater, no tropical, and no new world.
    Also There were no Suit Upgrades at all, which is a huge part of the game series, and a small heartbreak about Prime Hunters.
    Judged without its ancestors it is a top notch game. Multiplayer is Great, stylus control is the best. Single Player is Good Too, offering a long time of Game play.

    This Game Shows how good the DS can make a game.
    And Makes me hope for a new Metriod Prime for the DS. Maybe with space pirates and Metriods next time. If the DS dies without another Metriod for it I will be extreamly mad a Nintendo.
    Expand
  52. Mar 17, 2011
    9
    This game is pretty damn awesome, and if you don't have it you should go and get it.
    As a FPS it works well, the stylus controls are easy to get used to, and they give you precise aiming (maybe too precise because in multiplayer with any amount of skill you can headshot everyone without having to scope with the sniper) They might break your hand if you play this game for a long time on
    This game is pretty damn awesome, and if you don't have it you should go and get it.
    As a FPS it works well, the stylus controls are easy to get used to, and they give you precise aiming (maybe too precise because in multiplayer with any amount of skill you can headshot everyone without having to scope with the sniper) They might break your hand if you play this game for a long time on multiplayer, on singleplayer there are enough breaks in the action for your hand to net get too worn out.
    Graphics are nice, everything has got pretty good textures, explosions are nice to look at, and the cutscene graphics are of almost ps2 quality (which is an achievement for a handheld such as this)
    Gameplay is fast paced and solid, the puzzle sections are never too tricky to figure out, and the only gripe I had with it was in some of the morphball puzzles.
    multiplayer GLITCHES, GLITCHES EVERYWHERE if you can get into a match where people are not just hiding inside walls then it's a lot of fun, this is the only reason i'm not giving this game a 10. The character selection is decent, with each hunter being unlocked as you play through the single player, and each of them having their own abilities.
    You can play against bots if you just fancy killing some time, the AI is decent enough on hardest to give you a run for your money, so even if you can't get online you can still use the hunters you unlock.
    Download play is pretty good as well, even if it means you stomp on your friends because they're all forced to play as Samus
    All in all this is a good DS title with probably the best controls for FPSs on it, the gameplay is fun, the single player is short but interesting, multiplayer is buggy but when it isn't then it's good fun, and the graphics are fantastic.
    Expand
  53. Jul 16, 2011
    8
    I know , i know , the gameplay is painful and hard, but is too damn addicting the multiplayer. Starting with the story, is rewarding, while it lacks with almost no enemies in the adventure, there's a good time in it. The cut scene are great and looks detailed even for this little screen. A good arsenal of varied special attacks mixture the experience and add diversity. As for theI know , i know , the gameplay is painful and hard, but is too damn addicting the multiplayer. Starting with the story, is rewarding, while it lacks with almost no enemies in the adventure, there's a good time in it. The cut scene are great and looks detailed even for this little screen. A good arsenal of varied special attacks mixture the experience and add diversity. As for the multiplayer, even if it is offline is what i said in the beginning of the review. If you don't know what i meant for painful, is what Jaglur said, Carpal Tunnel Syndrome is the flaw in here, ouch, i think my fingers are destroyed. Expand
  54. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    I can say this is a great game just cause I have barely played the single player and just went to multiplayer when it started to suck (immediately). Only downside is that you can only do battle mode in multiplayer there should be other modes like survival. Hey and for all you kids whining about your hands hurting, theres a simple and obvious solution. Didnt you know theres stylus left handI can say this is a great game just cause I have barely played the single player and just went to multiplayer when it started to suck (immediately). Only downside is that you can only do battle mode in multiplayer there should be other modes like survival. Hey and for all you kids whining about your hands hurting, theres a simple and obvious solution. Didnt you know theres stylus left hand and stylus right hand. So when your left hand starts cramping, switch it to right hand mode!!! Expand
  55. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    As a metroid fan I always loved the prime series, so lets start with the review.

    Story: The singeplayer was not what I usually would expect from a metroid serie, the mission were mostly the same (at least when fighting a boss) which could bother some people. Multiplayer: Very entertaining, you have as a player a lot of options to choose and it feel quite ballanced, sad enough no one plays
    As a metroid fan I always loved the prime series, so lets start with the review.

    Story: The singeplayer was not what I usually would expect from a metroid serie, the mission were mostly the same (at least when fighting a boss) which could bother some people. Multiplayer: Very entertaining, you have as a player a lot of options to choose and it feel quite ballanced, sad enough no one plays it anymore and its overpopulated with hackers.

    Soundtracks: Fits the game really well, like I usually expect from them.

    Conclusion: If you want to play this game just for the story, then the objectives that you have to do may bother you since it mostly the same. If you play this game for the multiplayer, the I suggest you play it with a friend and not online due to all the hackers.
    If you play this because you are a fan of Metroid, then it will be a fun experience.

    warriorjan
    Expand
  56. Nov 25, 2011
    8
    I rated this game 8 not because of it's story mode, but of it's multi-player.
    You can add bots if you have no people to battle!
    I do that all the time!
    Pretty much the only portable FPS I know besides MGS: portable ops (I don't have that game though)
  57. Mar 7, 2012
    8
    Wow. I instantly played this game and thought, 'Is this really a DS'?
    The graphics were so clean and polished, and all flowed quite well. The story, was average for the most part, and the level did seem a tad too repetitive, but honestly, the graphics in each level really impressed me, and the gameplay just added to this. Then we have the multi-player. Upon playing it, this game just
    Wow. I instantly played this game and thought, 'Is this really a DS'?
    The graphics were so clean and polished, and all flowed quite well. The story, was average for the most part, and the level did seem a tad too repetitive, but honestly, the graphics in each level really impressed me, and the gameplay just added to this. Then we have the multi-player. Upon playing it, this game just became a lot more fun. Each character have their own alt-form, as well as their weapon of choice. As such, it allows for each type of player to chose the hunter that best suits his/her strategy.
    So, this game is able to uphold the reputation of Metroid Prime, even on this minute console. And, apart from the rooms being a little similar, the graphics are gameplay are just amazing.
    Expand
  58. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    this game is great all around....pretty good story mode......and intense wi fi and download play....the download play could be the best thing that came to the ds....awesome game awesome graphics theres so much to like about this game nd theres nothing to insult about this game....buy this game while its still not crossing over the $50 mark
  59. Jun 22, 2013
    9
    Whilst the single player is very good it is multiplayer where this really shines. Grab some mates, sit down and let the carnage begin! This is the ONLY decent FPS for the DS and with a thumb tap and some decent local wireless friends makes a great afternoon!
  60. Aug 4, 2013
    5
    I have never been a big fan of Metroid 3D games. This one is OK for me as the other ones.

    Maybe its because Im not a big fan of first person shooters in general. The controls are good with the stylus, the visuals as well, but it feels like theres to much stuff going on at times, and sometimes its just way to much exploring that doesnt feel all to intriguing. An OK game in my mind.
    I have never been a big fan of Metroid 3D games. This one is OK for me as the other ones.

    Maybe its because Im not a big fan of first person shooters in general.

    The controls are good with the stylus, the visuals as well, but it feels like theres to much stuff going on at times, and sometimes its just way to much exploring that doesnt feel all to intriguing.

    An OK game in my mind. 5 out of 10.
    Expand
  61. Mar 15, 2014
    8
    Metroid Prime Hunters is the best FPS on the DS. The exploration and game world is great. The puzzles could have been better but are still good. The multiplayer is interesting with multiple characters to fit your playstyle..
  62. Mar 17, 2014
    10
    A must have if you enjoyed the prime series. The game is placed between Metroid prime and Metroid prime 2: Echoes. Prime hunters truly deserves to belong to this series, the controls are easy to learn and very intuitive and the level design is very similar to its predecessors.
  63. Apr 28, 2014
    8
    Pretty good game! This game is a bit old but well worth picking up if you like first person games. We had a lot of fun with it during the Easter holidays. It's not as good as on a TV console, but on the 3DS is plays fantastically well. If you like the series this is a must to have.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. 90
    Approximately as big as Metroid Prime on the GameCube, it's hard to imagine how Nintendo squeezed Hunters into a tiny DS cartridge. Metroid Prime: Hunters is a very polished game, suffering more from small quirks than actual flaws.
  2. The game's controls take a bit of time to get used to, but once you get the hang of it, you'll realize NST has done an extraordinary job in bringing Samus to the Nintendo DS...You'd be hard-pressed to find a better online title for the Nintendo DS.
  3. 90
    Metroid Prime Hunters is easily the best handheld first person shooter developed to date, even with its somewhat high learning curve and cramp-inducing control.