Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 39
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 39
  3. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. 95
    Capybara Games needs to be commended for taking a franchise that nobody cares about any more and turning it into something that deserves undivided attention by using an innovation, beautiful art and smart game design to keep the gameplay addicting.
  2. Challenging, addictive and excellent. It's our new favourite puzzler/RPG. [Nov 2009, p.67]
  3. For those who like a little strategy RPG with their puzzle games, there is no finer game than Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes.
  4. Might and Magic Clash of Heroes is one of the best DS games of 2009
  5. Even if the DNA of its forebears is barely apparent, such a bold, brilliant transformation certainly involves something a little like magic. [Dec 2009, p.100]
  6. A spin-off of the Might & Magic series, but it's such a refreshing departure from that tortuous franchise that we can't see it being a one-off. It's a stunning effort from a developer that's surely destined for great things.
  7. At last, another one of those unexpected fantastic games for the Nintendo DS. Each DS-owner should buy this game, just to let publishers know games like this are the games we want for the platform. The unique features of the Nintendo DS are well used in this colorful RPG.
  8. 90
    Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes is, despite its cutesy appearance, a surprisingly deep strategy-puzzle game.
  9. A great rpg with fast pacing, clever story and battles that are both engaging and tactically challenging. A little disappointing lack of freedom in the last couple of hours, but despite this Clash of Heroes is a must for all fans of the genre.
  10. The real beauty of Clash of Heroes is it manages to feel like a good RPG and a great puzzler simultaneously.
  11. RPG unites with puzzle game and results in Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes - a very good DS game.
  12. Skipping my usual witty remark or pun-laden ending line in closing, let me just say that Clash of Heroes is an absolute winner from start to finish. Any gamer worthy of the title needs to have a copy of this cart in their library. Buy it. Ra
  13. On the face of it, it’s a very simple turn-based affair but behind these easy to get to grips with game mechanics beats the heart of something much more complex but amazingly playable and enjoyable!
  14. Takes an old and tired strategy game series and works it into a glorious puzzle game with light RPG elements. The game concept is truly fresh and with graphics and UI to match, there's absolutely nothing to complain about here. [Feb 2010]
  15. A life-consuming wonder-gem. [Winter 2009, p.65]
  16. The strategy game we never knew we needed, but now we don't know what we'd do without. [Feb 2010, p.78]
  17. It's a great game, toppling Puzzle Quest and Gyromancer for king of the genre.
  18. This is your typical sleeper hit: a fantastic game that comes without much hype, but it will rule your free time in the next months.
  19. 89
    Clash of Heroes is an all-new experience built exclusively for the DS, and it's hands-down one of the deepest and most rewarding games on the system.
  20. The five campaigns make for a huge journey that melds together seamlessly. There's tons of variety, and the challenges are truly refreshing. Single and multi-card multiplayer round out the package nicely, but there's no online component.
  21. 88
    Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes comes highly recommended, whether or not you've played any other games in the M&M franchise. This is not a bastardization of the series. If anything, Clash of Heroes may become the catalyst to resurrect a franchise that was once on its last legs.
  22. A great mix of genres: puzzle, strategy and RPG results in one of the first awesome videogames for Nintendo DS of the year. If you like to think before acting, this title is definitely for you.
  23. Might and Magic is an excellent proposal within the growingly good RPG portfolio of Nintendo DS.
  24. 87
    Might and Magic: Clash of Heroes offers a totally new battle concept for turn-based rpg’s. The puzzle-styled confrontations require patience and tactical guile, but despite the ingenuity, it remains accessible, challenging and varied. Recommended for rpg-fans and puzzle-lovers.
  25. The puzzles aren't perfect, but Clash of Heroes offers intriguing hybrid gameplay, engaging role-playing elements, and a great presentation.
  26. The clever puzzle battles and fast-moving story makes Clash of Heroes easy to pick up and tough to put down. [Nov 2009, p.90]
  27. Clash of Heroes, on the outside, looks like a crazy smorgasbord of genres and gameplay types. But what lies beneath this is an intricate game that is filled with strategy and involving puzzle gameplay.
  28. Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes is possibly the best kept secret of 2010. The game offers fantastic strategic battles, combined with interesting puzzle elements. Because the battles are easy to learn, but quite difficult to master, strategy fans will love this game.
  29. Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes was a welcome surprise. By managing to assemble together various elements from multiple game genres and placing them in a non-original yet vibrant fantasy environment, its creators have tailored what we think is one of the best 2010 DS titles so far.
  30. During the course of writing this, Eurogamer MMO editor Oli Welsh popped up on my MSN to ask me if I thought it was a puzzle, RPG or strategy game. It has enough elements of each that I honestly couldn't say. What I did do was recommend it to him wholeheartedly, because, whatever it is, Clash of Heroes is a very good game indeed.
  31. Occasionally unbalanced but always entertaining, Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes is a worthy new entry in the venerable series' multitude of titles.
  32. This Balanced and entertaining mixture of RPG, puzzle solving and strategy game comes exclusively to Nintendo DS to be envied to all other platforms. [Feb 2010]
  33. Superb mix of role-playing, puzzle and strategy action, wrapped up in a very palatable fantasy package.
  34. Some really deep and satisfying puzzling combined with a great multiplayer mode make Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes a great game and a perfect hybrid between puzzling and RPG. The longevity deserves some extra praise.
  35. 80
    Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes is no RPG epic, but it certainly offers hours of addictive and entertaining gameplay.
  36. 80
    Capybara Games has done a phenomenal job creating a very unique RPG/puzzle hybrid that will keep gamers happy.
  37. 80
    It's becoming increasingly rare for companies to release new and unproven titles that buck convention and focus on changing the current landscape but Clash of Heroes does so remarkably well, making for a unique and satisfying title that feels totally fresh. I recommend it to any RPG gamer looking for a unique take on the established genre; puzzle fans should take a look as well.
  38. I came in expecting nothing, and ended up having a pretty good time exploring the battle system's many nuances. [Nov 2009, p.115]
  39. It's not Might and Magic the JRPG, but it is both a solid entry into the Might and Magic universe, and the Puzzle-RPG genre.
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. YvesD
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    Love it! Awesome game, inventive battle system.
  2. KitB
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    One of the best games yet for the DS! Anyone who enjoyed Puzzle Quest will like this, because ultimately it's better. The campaign One of the best games yet for the DS! Anyone who enjoyed Puzzle Quest will like this, because ultimately it's better. The campaign isn't quite as long, but it's less repetitive, and the battle mode provides worthy extra replayability. The graphics are full of oldschool charm, and the music is great. A few tiny glitches have no noticeable effect on gameplay. I hope to see at least one sequel, if not more. Full Review »
  3. OswaldY
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    One of the top 3 DS games I've played. Being a long time fan of the M&M series, this holds the name high. Much respect to Capy and One of the top 3 DS games I've played. Being a long time fan of the M&M series, this holds the name high. Much respect to Capy and PLEASE bring us a CoH2!!! Full Review »