Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Mar 21, 2011
    91
    Despite some minor platforming quibbles, DreamRift's crafted a wonderful number that defies any generic description, and platformer/role-playing/adventure enthusiasts (hah) should definitely check it out.
  2. Apr 20, 2011
    90
    Monster Tale is a must-have for anyone who loves either the 2D Mega Man, Metroid, and "MetroidVania" games.
  3. Apr 15, 2011
    90
    Unless your game library must be free of anything resembling a kids' title, you must have Monster Tale in your DS collection.
  4. Mar 22, 2011
    90
    It's a simple, cartoony design that pulls together the fantasy world the developers have created, and it works really well. All in all, this is not a game to be missed if you're not ready to abandon your well-worn DS for the shiny new 3D version.
  5. Apr 18, 2011
    85
    Monster Tale introduces a deep, satisfying facet of gameplay into one of the most tried and true formulas in gaming history. There are parts where it feels like it's a slave to the ancient ways of backtracking and suspiciously-placed save points, but none of the sore spots are pronounced enough to cause any serious problems.
  6. Apr 7, 2011
    85
    This is a game that has clearly been crafted with love and respect for what video gaming is.
  7. Mar 31, 2011
    83
    Assuming you know what you're getting into -- namely, a meaty and occasionally tough action platformer in the 16-bit vein -- there's a lot to love about Monster Tale. It's brimming with detail; the monster evolution mechanics offer plenty of customization and variety; and all in all it's a wonderful homage to the classic games that clearly inspired it.
  8. May 13, 2011
    80
    A solid mix of platforming and virtual-pet raising, but with a bit too much step-retracing. [May 2011, p.57]
  9. Apr 5, 2011
    80
    Monster Tale is a whimsical, colorful 2D adventure that's sure to please with its engaging combination of exploration, pet raising, and action.
  10. Mar 23, 2011
    80
    One thing I did not like about Monster Tale was the backtracking. You'll revisit each area at least once, and Ellie's not exactly a speed demon. That's okay, though, because the fun of the game's partner mechanic and ease of play far outweigh the annoyance of having to retrace your steps a few times.
  11. Feb 26, 2011
    80
    Sure, you may grow a little tired of the backtracking after a few hours, but by focusing on upgrading Ellie and Chomp's powers, you'll still have a blast. [March 2011, p.90]
  12. 80
    Monster Tale is a fantastic action game stinted by pedestrian exploration. Fortunately, consistently engaging combat and pet evolution systems temper the game's overreliance on backtracking, and its pleasant visuals and soundtrack suit the game well.
  13. May 30, 2011
    70
    A colourful and breezily enjoyable adventure that's impossible to dislike.
  14. Apr 2, 2011
    70
    Clocking in at roughly eight hours, it's a pretty short ride – padding and all. The constant backtracking became quickly annoying, but the solid mechanics and attention to detail won me over in the end.
  15. May 8, 2011
    60
    With your monster ally at your side, it offers glimpses of something more intriguing, but its most interesting idea is the one that feels frustratingly underexplored. [June 2011, p.101]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    The more i play it, the more i find this game to be like a mix of ALL the BEST elements from Mega Man to Pokemon to Wonder Boy to Metroid toThe more i play it, the more i find this game to be like a mix of ALL the BEST elements from Mega Man to Pokemon to Wonder Boy to Metroid to Castlevania GBA-DS to Adventure Island 4 to Super Adventure Island II to beat'em up games like Dragon Ball Advanced Adventure. All fun i got from these games are combined in ONE. :D Makes me want to try Henry Hatsworth though i absolutely prefer RPG elements to puzzle elements. To me, this game is the PERFECT type of game to suit my gaming needs, visuals, gameplay, music, action, rpg elements. Very addicting!! Full Review »
  2. May 7, 2011
    8
    A simplified version of Metroid, Castlevania and Monster raising games. This game does manage to combine them well. The only flaw in the gameA simplified version of Metroid, Castlevania and Monster raising games. This game does manage to combine them well. The only flaw in the game is the lack of a quick way of travel. If you enjoy the action/adventure genre, give this one a try. Full Review »
  3. Mar 25, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. A really nice story, almost a metroid for kids, the difficult isnt soo hard for kids but no so easy for old players, a lot of Chomp Forms (You pet) just make any time you play be unique, i really love the upgrades and 30 is a really low number, but the mode Story can be done with 8 or 9 hours (i took 10 because i wanted to make a 100%)
    Sad to say, some evolutions NEED to be unlocked or you never will make a 100% game, all Chomps Forms can grown up to lvl 30, if it unlock any form and you dont have unlocked yet, well, try reset game and evolve after to lvl up...

    Straight from Peter Ong, lead designer and co-founder of DreamRift "Some of the most secret Chomp forms can only be unlocked while Chomp is still growing. If Chomp reaches the max level without being given what one of his derivative forms likes, he might never evolve into that form. There are hints about what each form likes in the fo...rm descriptions. Try to give Chomp what his derivative form likes while he is still growing and you'll be able to unlock even the most special forms!"

    Sorry buddy, but i tried since lvl 1 to evolve chomp and nothing, the evolve bar stopped with almost 1cm and cannot evolve more, results? 10 hours of playing game for never see 100% ending, this isnt a feature and a yes, a bug, hope monster tale 2 this dont happens, 9 of 10.
    Full Review »