Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
Buy On
  1. Mar 21, 2011
    91
    Despite some minor platforming quibbles, DreamRift's crafted a wonderful number that defies any generic description, and platformer/role-playing/adventure enthusiasts (hah) should definitely check it out.
  2. Apr 20, 2011
    90
    Monster Tale is a must-have for anyone who loves either the 2D Mega Man, Metroid, and "MetroidVania" games.
  3. Apr 15, 2011
    90
    Unless your game library must be free of anything resembling a kids' title, you must have Monster Tale in your DS collection.
  4. Mar 22, 2011
    90
    It's a simple, cartoony design that pulls together the fantasy world the developers have created, and it works really well. All in all, this is not a game to be missed if you're not ready to abandon your well-worn DS for the shiny new 3D version.
  5. Apr 18, 2011
    85
    Monster Tale introduces a deep, satisfying facet of gameplay into one of the most tried and true formulas in gaming history. There are parts where it feels like it's a slave to the ancient ways of backtracking and suspiciously-placed save points, but none of the sore spots are pronounced enough to cause any serious problems.
  6. Apr 7, 2011
    85
    This is a game that has clearly been crafted with love and respect for what video gaming is.
  7. Mar 31, 2011
    83
    Assuming you know what you're getting into -- namely, a meaty and occasionally tough action platformer in the 16-bit vein -- there's a lot to love about Monster Tale. It's brimming with detail; the monster evolution mechanics offer plenty of customization and variety; and all in all it's a wonderful homage to the classic games that clearly inspired it.
  8. Nintendo Gamer
    May 13, 2011
    80
    A solid mix of platforming and virtual-pet raising, but with a bit too much step-retracing. [May 2011, p.57]
  9. Apr 5, 2011
    80
    Monster Tale is a whimsical, colorful 2D adventure that's sure to please with its engaging combination of exploration, pet raising, and action.
  10. Mar 23, 2011
    80
    One thing I did not like about Monster Tale was the backtracking. You'll revisit each area at least once, and Ellie's not exactly a speed demon. That's okay, though, because the fun of the game's partner mechanic and ease of play far outweigh the annoyance of having to retrace your steps a few times.
  11. Nintendo Power
    Feb 26, 2011
    80
    Sure, you may grow a little tired of the backtracking after a few hours, but by focusing on upgrading Ellie and Chomp's powers, you'll still have a blast. [March 2011, p.90]
  12. 80
    Monster Tale is a fantastic action game stinted by pedestrian exploration. Fortunately, consistently engaging combat and pet evolution systems temper the game's overreliance on backtracking, and its pleasant visuals and soundtrack suit the game well.

Awards & Rankings

11
18
#18 Most Discussed DS Game of 2011
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    The more i play it, the more i find this game to be like a mix of ALL the BEST elements from Mega Man to Pokemon to Wonder Boy to Metroid toThe more i play it, the more i find this game to be like a mix of ALL the BEST elements from Mega Man to Pokemon to Wonder Boy to Metroid to Castlevania GBA-DS to Adventure Island 4 to Super Adventure Island II to beat'em up games like Dragon Ball Advanced Adventure. All fun i got from these games are combined in ONE. :D Makes me want to try Henry Hatsworth though i absolutely prefer RPG elements to puzzle elements. To me, this game is the PERFECT type of game to suit my gaming needs, visuals, gameplay, music, action, rpg elements. Very addicting!! Full Review »
  2. May 7, 2011
    8
    A simplified version of Metroid, Castlevania and Monster raising games. This game does manage to combine them well. The only flaw in the gameA simplified version of Metroid, Castlevania and Monster raising games. This game does manage to combine them well. The only flaw in the game is the lack of a quick way of travel. If you enjoy the action/adventure genre, give this one a try. Full Review »
  3. May 10, 2017
    8
    Very cool and enjoyable game the whole way through. I love the concept of it too when you have a monster to take care of and evolve. Its likeVery cool and enjoyable game the whole way through. I love the concept of it too when you have a monster to take care of and evolve. Its like owning a pet but in a digital world. Cool gameplay and mechanics. Its odd that this game is not very known and did never get a sequel. Its a must play for every DS owner and an old school 2D platformer lover. Full Review »