User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    The more i play it, the more i find this game to be like a mix of ALL the BEST elements from Mega Man to Pokemon to Wonder Boy to Metroid to Castlevania GBA-DS to Adventure Island 4 to Super Adventure Island II to beat'em up games like Dragon Ball Advanced Adventure. All fun i got from these games are combined in ONE. :D Makes me want to try Henry Hatsworth though i absolutely prefer RPGThe more i play it, the more i find this game to be like a mix of ALL the BEST elements from Mega Man to Pokemon to Wonder Boy to Metroid to Castlevania GBA-DS to Adventure Island 4 to Super Adventure Island II to beat'em up games like Dragon Ball Advanced Adventure. All fun i got from these games are combined in ONE. :D Makes me want to try Henry Hatsworth though i absolutely prefer RPG elements to puzzle elements. To me, this game is the PERFECT type of game to suit my gaming needs, visuals, gameplay, music, action, rpg elements. Very addicting!! Expand
  2. May 7, 2011
    8
    A simplified version of Metroid, Castlevania and Monster raising games. This game does manage to combine them well. The only flaw in the game is the lack of a quick way of travel. If you enjoy the action/adventure genre, give this one a try.
  3. May 10, 2017
    8
    Very cool and enjoyable game the whole way through. I love the concept of it too when you have a monster to take care of and evolve. Its like owning a pet but in a digital world. Cool gameplay and mechanics. Its odd that this game is not very known and did never get a sequel. Its a must play for every DS owner and an old school 2D platformer lover.
  4. Jan 18, 2018
    8
    Monster Tale creates a fun unique combination of Pokemon, Tamagotchi, and the Metroidvania genre. The game has smooth platforming and fluid combat switching between a short range blaster and a close-up melee option that just makes the game feel like such a joy to play. The fun colorful graphics really help in providing an immersive atmosphere to gamers, and the way in which your pets comeMonster Tale creates a fun unique combination of Pokemon, Tamagotchi, and the Metroidvania genre. The game has smooth platforming and fluid combat switching between a short range blaster and a close-up melee option that just makes the game feel like such a joy to play. The fun colorful graphics really help in providing an immersive atmosphere to gamers, and the way in which your pets come out on the screen to help you is simple yet effective. The only problems of the game consist with its lack of fast travel and its mediocre soundtrack. Overall Monster Tale is a hidden gem in the DS library that any fan of platformers or Metroidvania style games you should definitely give it a try.

    Cons
    Lack of fast travel
    Mediocre soundtrack
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

11
17
#17 Most Discussed DS Game of 2011
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. May 30, 2011
    70
    A colourful and breezily enjoyable adventure that's impossible to dislike.
  2. Nintendo Gamer
    May 13, 2011
    80
    A solid mix of platforming and virtual-pet raising, but with a bit too much step-retracing. [May 2011, p.57]
  3. Edge Magazine
    May 8, 2011
    60
    With your monster ally at your side, it offers glimpses of something more intriguing, but its most interesting idea is the one that feels frustratingly underexplored. [June 2011, p.101]