Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. Nintendo has really captured the essence and features of what makes the series so popular and why it is one of the most revered and well recognized game series ever made.
  2. 100
    What you get here defines what Nintendo is all about - simple but brilliant gameplay that keeps you hooked from start to finish.
  3. It has everything you want from a platforming Mario Bros. game and then some.
  4. NSMB manages to blend elements from the past seamlessly with gameplay technologies of today. Familiar enemies, powerups and levels all mesh with new elements to form what is the best Mario game to date.
  5. The sounds are fantastic. It's like having an arcade in the palm of your hands. "Is that an arcade in your pocket or are you just happy to see me?"
  6. It's a finely-crafted slice of the Mario as you know and love it, with so many extra superb bells and whistles, it'd still scare the pants of the hard-of-hearing. If that's not recommendation enough, then we don't know what is.
  7. The first true 2D Mario game since Super Mario World maintains the high standard set by its legendary predecessors.
  8. What the game does right is take advantage of the updated graphical capabilities of the DS in order to help move the 2D Mario franchise further, and it does it well propelling this game to the status of one of the most fun of its types on the system.
  9. 90
    The graphics are simply stunning, as is the soundtrack (though not in a good way).
  10. You've gotta give it up to Nintendo for bundling a phenomenal suite of over 25 Wi-Fi multiplayer minigames with the single-player game. [July 2006, p.96]
  11. Classic. There really isn't any other word to describe New Super Mario Bros., Nintendo's latest, and dare I say greatest game for the Nintendo DS.
  12. And I've done this sort of thing before hundreds of times across thousands of days in what feels like a dozen Mario games. I still love it.
  13. The new moves, power-ups and graphics are just enough to make this game feel original while keeping its roots in the past. Even though New Super Mario Bros. isn't a revolution, it's still a great fun platforming game.
  14. It might not be the huge revolution some hoped it would be, but this is a highly enjoyable and well-crafted trip down memory lane. [July 2006, p.112]
  15. While it lasts, it’s some of the best platforming to date and features what I consider to be the best Nintendo DS graphics to date. While it’s a shame the new power-ups are frills and the length of the main game is ridiculously short, it’s hard not to recommend it.
  16. 90
    While I still hold "Super Mario World" as the best 2D Mario game, with "Super Mario Bros. 3" as the runner up, New Super Mario hits a close third. But it does have much more replay value than the other two, as you could easily play this one a few times though without the risk of it getting stale.
  17. It’s worth getting a DS, that’s for sure. But if you’re one of those junkies that doesn’t pay full price for a game because it hardly makes use of the system’s “capabilities”, then fine; be that junky.
  18. The kind of game that makes hardcore Nintendo fans get on their knees and weep in sheer joy over the eighty new levels of new 2D Mario action...The visuals come in scorching hot, with gorgeous 3D bringing the old school into a new school setting. Sprinkle in some minigames and multiplayer modes, and you have a system seller.
  19. Seriously, stop reading this dripping review and just go out and play this game.
  20. A modern classic, but one that is perhaps overly familiar at times. [Aug 2006, p.58]
  21. While experienced players might blow through the game quickly, New Super Mario Bros. is still completely awesome and absolutely necessary.
  22. 100
    The backgrounds and gameplay are purely 2D, and the 2D and 3D elements blend together perfectly.
  23. You're getting a completely solid solo game, a simple-but-exciting two-player, and then a collection of super-quick stylus games - that's real value.
  24. An excellent game and one that you should seriously consider purchasing if only for the sheer amount of fun.
  25. This is the hot game to get for the DS. It's loads of fun, has huge exploration potential and reinvents the 2D side-scrolling platform game. Nintendo has another notch on it's belt to go with all the other notches that the DS seems to have.
  26. New Super Mario Bros. is simply the cherry on top of an already scrumptious library of games.
  27. Never slowing down, never faltering: New Super Mario Bros. redoes the past with new action and some new surprises, once more in retro-materialized gold. Whether you're from the old school or a student of the new school, you're going to love New Super Mario Bros. no matter what.
  28. 95
    Before New Super Mario Bros. entered my life, "Yoshi's Island" was, to me, the greatest platformer ever created. That title may now have to go to New Super Mario Bros.
  29. The bottom line is you must own this. It’s your duty as a DS owner.
  30. While some may argue that it’s too short or lacks difficulty, I definitely have to disagree. I had my fair share of deaths and the replay value is heightened significantly if you collect the myriad of coins disseminated throughout the game.
  31. A welcome return to top form for the world's most exhausted videogame hero. [Aug 2006, p.52]
  32. But it, love it, and pray to the gods that we don't have to wait another 10 years for Mario's next side-scrolling masterpiece. [July 2006, p.93]
  33. New sets out to simply give gamers more of what they want--more enemies, more levels, more bosses, more high-quality Mario. One can almost hear the trumpets as the classic platformer makes its triumphant return.
  34. New Super Mario Bros. (NSMB) features the best wall jump yet—there is precious little more satisfying than saving oneself from a perilous pit with a knee-jerk wall-jump. Mario may not control as he did in any of the classic Mario games, but he still feels perfect.
  35. 90
    The ingenuity of design, the sheer level of fun, the warmth of nostalgia and the relief that 2D gaming is still alive and kicking, all combine to make NSMB an unmissable experience and show Nintendo are still masters of the platform game.
  36. 90
    Simply the best platformer to be released on any handheld.
  37. Old school 2D works just as well as it did 15 years ago. The difficulty level is set too low, but even if you rush through the game, there is still loads to explore afterwards. [Aug 2006, p.50]
  38. The game manages to recreate the awesomeness of past titles while making sure it feels like a new game.
  39. In the very opening, when Bowser surreptitously swipes the Princess, any Mario fan will smile in newfound satisfaction, ready to re-live, perhaps for the first time since that first time, what it's like to play a gem of a Nintendo game. [Jun 2006, p.52]
  40. One of the best platform outings in all of gaming, an instant classic when it first appeared, which even with some newness thrown in remains almost perfect today.
  41. As pure a game as you could ever wish to play. Adrenaline, frustration, addiction and the largest hunk of retro gaming pleasure that you could purchase. If you own a DS, and you don’t even give this a chance, you might as well get your consoles listed on eBay. Give up. Buy it. Now.
  42. Old-fashioned Mario fun. As pleasurable, challenging and addictive as two decades ago.
  43. It's still an unparalleled platformer that should make your eyes light up, then glaze over in obsessive concentration.
  44. With its bright colours, chirpy soundtrack and tricky but not wall-bashingly frustrating challenges, this is a game you will pick up once and never put down.
  45. New Super Mario Bros. treads the retro platformer line beautifully, adding just enough originality and imagination to the mix.
  46. The new additions -- in particular the power-ups -- struggle to justify their inclusion, but they also keep the game from feeling like too much of a retread. It's unlikely that anyone will put this at the top of his or her list of favorite Mario games.
  47. 90
    It proves that a simple style that we once loved and cherished can still be pulled off in today’s world of flashy visuals and 80-hour game time. The level design is fantastic, the music is nostalgic and the sheer joy I get while playing this game is indescribable.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 294 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 87
  2. Negative: 1 out of 87
  1. Jan 4, 2011
    10
    I love this game - especially the wireless multiplayer! My brother and I laugh so hard because it is so good - the BEST multiplayer I have ever played!

    Here's my Top 50 games of all time:

    The Legend of Zelda a Link to the Past
    Super Metroid
    The Legend of Zelda
    Metroid Prime (Trilogy)
    Banjo-Kazooie
    Resident Evil 4
    Tetris DS
    Words with Friends (Scrabble)
    Super Mario Galaxy
    Mike Tysonâ
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 2, 2013
    5
    This Mario game is so so good not as good as I thought it would be
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    "New Super Mario Bros" is the very first Mario game i've encountered and the very best i've played. Yes it's 2-D, but does it **** matter? Each unique level is differently designed with smooth running gameplay as Mario. The co-op is also a fun mode to play against or with your comrades. A good amount of extra stuff will also keep your DS busy for the while. A absolute blast and a must-play for DS players. Full Review »