New Super Mario Bros. Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 330 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first new 2D Mario platformer since Super Mario World has arrived. Boasting "incredible" 3D graphics to accompany classic 2D gameplay, this fast-paced adventure will have Mario fans cheering as they make their way over fields, under water, through castles and into the air. New andThe first new 2D Mario platformer since Super Mario World has arrived. Boasting "incredible" 3D graphics to accompany classic 2D gameplay, this fast-paced adventure will have Mario fans cheering as they make their way over fields, under water, through castles and into the air. New and familiar enemies are everywhere, not to mention "mind-blowing" challenges made possible by the dual screens of the Nintendo DS. Not only that, but players can link wirelessly with a friend to play as both Mario and Luigi in multiplayer mode. [Nintendo] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. As pure a game as you could ever wish to play. Adrenaline, frustration, addiction and the largest hunk of retro gaming pleasure that you could purchase. If you own a DS, and you don’t even give this a chance, you might as well get your consoles listed on eBay. Give up. Buy it. Now.
  2. 95
    Before New Super Mario Bros. entered my life, "Yoshi's Island" was, to me, the greatest platformer ever created. That title may now have to go to New Super Mario Bros.
  3. Never slowing down, never faltering: New Super Mario Bros. redoes the past with new action and some new surprises, once more in retro-materialized gold. Whether you're from the old school or a student of the new school, you're going to love New Super Mario Bros. no matter what.
  4. The new additions -- in particular the power-ups -- struggle to justify their inclusion, but they also keep the game from feeling like too much of a retread. It's unlikely that anyone will put this at the top of his or her list of favorite Mario games.
  5. 90
    The graphics are simply stunning, as is the soundtrack (though not in a good way).
  6. New Super Mario Bros. is a solid platformer and a nice homage to the Mario series, but it's not Mario's big return to 2D gameplay like everyone thought it would be.
  7. Nintendo sweetened the pot with what feel like dozens of mini-games, and you're liable to find two or three that can hold your attention. [Sept. 2006, p.81]

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 94
  2. Negative: 1 out of 94
  1. Jan 4, 2011
    10
    I love this game - especially the wireless multiplayer! My brother and I laugh so hard because it is so good - the BEST multiplayer I haveI love this game - especially the wireless multiplayer! My brother and I laugh so hard because it is so good - the BEST multiplayer I have ever played!

    Here's my Top 50 games of all time:

    The Legend of Zelda a Link to the Past
    Super Metroid
    The Legend of Zelda
    Metroid Prime (Trilogy)
    Banjo-Kazooie
    Resident Evil 4
    Tetris DS
    Words with Friends (Scrabble)
    Super Mario Galaxy
    Mike Tysonâ
    Expand
  2. TracyC.
    Mar 28, 2007
    10
    This is the best game on the DS. Advance Wars DS is great, Dragon Quest Rocket Slime is awesome as well but New Super Mario Bros. plays This is the best game on the DS. Advance Wars DS is great, Dragon Quest Rocket Slime is awesome as well but New Super Mario Bros. plays wonderfully, looks incredible, sounds incredible. The nailed it. Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2011
    10
    Great game, got it for Christmas after receiving the Wii version last year. Have to say that it is much easier to control than the WiiGreat game, got it for Christmas after receiving the Wii version last year. Have to say that it is much easier to control than the Wii version, but I have to say that I didn't find this much of a challenge as I have already completed it and collected all the power stars, on all three of my save files. Meanwhile I still fail to jump over Super Bowsers fireballs in the last level of Wii. Expand
  4. DJT
    Dec 15, 2007
    9
    Another great nintendo DS game! An instant classic for this system. Old school action. Great looking levels. Easy to pick up and play. Lots Another great nintendo DS game! An instant classic for this system. Old school action. Great looking levels. Easy to pick up and play. Lots of bonus stuff to keep you coming back to unlock. A lot here for every DS fan! Expand
  5. RJV
    Aug 13, 2011
    9
    The only problem with this game is it is rather easy. I myself beat the final boss the day I got the game, about 10 hours, and it would haveThe only problem with this game is it is rather easy. I myself beat the final boss the day I got the game, about 10 hours, and it would have been faster if i didn't have to share the cartridge with my brother. And as of now I have collected all the star coins, collectible large coins throughout every level, which was not as hard as you might think once you start collecting them. Enough of the cons already. The game is very fun, and rewarding. If you are an experienced Mario player you will recognize bosses and levels from previous games. For instance, one of the bosses is straight from Super Mario Sunshine, and one of the early levels has huge similarities to world 2-2 in Super Mario Bros 3. Also, if you have played Super Mario 64, then you will recognize the Sea Monster that you ride on in two of the levels. The graphics are good, but I constantly feel annoyed at the graphics for the"Starman" power-up, whitch looks like it came off a kids sketch-pad. Even though it might be easy, finding all those star-coins will take time, and there is a great amount of fun playing through the levels again. More 2-D Mario games like this one to come i hope! Expand
  6. Nov 11, 2014
    8
    This game is really easy to be honest but like it's really fun to speed run. A great return towards 2d platforming for Mario and the start toThis game is really easy to be honest but like it's really fun to speed run. A great return towards 2d platforming for Mario and the start to a very successful yet somewhat repetitive series. Expand
  7. JasonH
    Dec 18, 2008
    4
    So I'm giving it this rating based both on my enjoyment level, and the huge letdown this game turned out for me. I was expecting a game So I'm giving it this rating based both on my enjoyment level, and the huge letdown this game turned out for me. I was expecting a game along the lines of super mario world, with tons of secrets, powerups, yoshis, strange and odd worlds, and just a ton of fun. Instead, we got a game with 3D graphics (I thought it was worse, since a lot of the artistic magic seemed to dissapear (and little mario kind of looks like a bunch of polygons)), NO yoshis, power ups that weren't very diverse (in that 3 alter size, and the rest are mostly for increasing offenseive abilities. However, I think the WORST part of this game, was the lack of intersting worlds (you have forest, you have desert, you have ice, and I really can't remember the others, since they must have been a bore) and the very linear progression mario makes through the map (the only deviations are short, and usually lead back to the same path). Finnally, this game really has no replay value. The only thing you have to look forward to, are playing a couple of levels you most likely missed, and collecting three coins per stage, which is just tedious and irritating. So yeah, it's a boring, it's short, it doesn't take advantage of the DS capabilities (you can click on a power up... whoopdedo...) but isn't anywhere near as fun, or as deep as the original. Like a said, a huge letdown. Expand

See all 94 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.