New Super Mario Bros. DS

New Super Mario Bros. Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 423 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first new 2D Mario platformer since Super Mario World has arrived. Boasting "incredible" 3D graphics to accompany classic 2D gameplay, this fast-paced adventure will have Mario fans cheering as they make their way over fields, under water, through castles and into the air. New andThe first new 2D Mario platformer since Super Mario World has arrived. Boasting "incredible" 3D graphics to accompany classic 2D gameplay, this fast-paced adventure will have Mario fans cheering as they make their way over fields, under water, through castles and into the air. New and familiar enemies are everywhere, not to mention "mind-blowing" challenges made possible by the dual screens of the Nintendo DS. Not only that, but players can link wirelessly with a friend to play as both Mario and Luigi in multiplayer mode. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. As pure a game as you could ever wish to play. Adrenaline, frustration, addiction and the largest hunk of retro gaming pleasure that you could purchase. If you own a DS, and you don’t even give this a chance, you might as well get your consoles listed on eBay. Give up. Buy it. Now.
  2. 95
    Before New Super Mario Bros. entered my life, "Yoshi's Island" was, to me, the greatest platformer ever created. That title may now have to go to New Super Mario Bros.
  3. Never slowing down, never faltering: New Super Mario Bros. redoes the past with new action and some new surprises, once more in retro-materialized gold. Whether you're from the old school or a student of the new school, you're going to love New Super Mario Bros. no matter what.
  4. Pelit (Finland)
    90
    Old school 2D works just as well as it did 15 years ago. The difficulty level is set too low, but even if you rush through the game, there is still loads to explore afterwards. [Aug 2006, p.50]
  5. 90
    Simply the best platformer to be released on any handheld.
  6. New Super Mario Bros. is a solid platformer and a nice homage to the Mario series, but it's not Mario's big return to 2D gameplay like everyone thought it would be.
  7. Computer Games Magazine
    60
    Nintendo sweetened the pot with what feel like dozens of mini-games, and you're liable to find two or three that can hold your attention. [Sept. 2006, p.81]

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 116
  2. Negative: 1 out of 116
  1. Jan 4, 2011
    10
    I love this game - especially the wireless multiplayer! My brother and I laugh so hard because it is so good - the BEST multiplayer I haveI love this game - especially the wireless multiplayer! My brother and I laugh so hard because it is so good - the BEST multiplayer I have ever played!

    Here's my Top 50 games of all time:

    The Legend of Zelda a Link to the Past
    Super Metroid
    The Legend of Zelda
    Metroid Prime (Trilogy)
    Banjo-Kazooie
    Resident Evil 4
    Tetris DS
    Words with Friends (Scrabble)
    Super Mario Galaxy
    Mike Tysonâ
    Expand
  2. CameronT.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    This game inspires me because it gives me choices and really cool moves to defeat enemies.
  3. Jul 28, 2014
    10
    The best platformer on the DS, New Super Mario Bros., the predecessor to New. Super Mario Bros wii, is a delight to play, is more challenging,The best platformer on the DS, New Super Mario Bros., the predecessor to New. Super Mario Bros wii, is a delight to play, is more challenging, and has greater replay value. This is one of the few Mario titles I have started and not completed, world 8 is so tricky. There are many shortcuts and hidden paths to find that will aid you on your journey to rescue Princess "Peach" Toadstool. If you like platformers, get this game. Expand
  4. DJT
    Dec 15, 2007
    9
    Another great nintendo DS game! An instant classic for this system. Old school action. Great looking levels. Easy to pick up and play. Lots Another great nintendo DS game! An instant classic for this system. Old school action. Great looking levels. Easy to pick up and play. Lots of bonus stuff to keep you coming back to unlock. A lot here for every DS fan! Expand
  5. Sep 16, 2013
    9
    New Super Mario Bros is a fan game. it is my best game of all DS games.I have played this game 7 years ago.
    The Good.
    Wonderful originality.
    New Super Mario Bros is a fan game. it is my best game of all DS games.I have played this game 7 years ago.
    The Good.
    Wonderful originality.
    Unique stages.
    Perfect Control.
    Revival of 2D Mario.
    Mini Games are fantastic.
    The Bad.
    There is not a stage after the clear.
    The general comment.
    All things considered, it is an undeniable masterpiece.
    Game play 9.5/10.
    Graphics 7.5/10.
    Sound 8.5/10.
    Value 9.7/10.
    Over All 9/10.
    Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2015
    8
    Game: New Super Mario Bros.
    Genre: Adventure/Platformer
    Developer: Nintendo System: Nintendo DS (NDS) Total Score: 80/100 Value Score:
    Game: New Super Mario Bros.
    Genre: Adventure/Platformer
    Developer: Nintendo
    System: Nintendo DS (NDS)
    Total Score: 80/100
    Value Score: 8.0/10

    • Story: 3/10
    • Characters: 7/10
    • GamePlay: 8/10
    • Graphics: 10/10
    • Sound: 10/10
    • Music: 10/10
    • Length: 7/10
    • Replay Value: 7/10
    • Player Value: 8/10

    Pros
    +New Super Mario Bros revolutionizes the traditional 2D Mario experience with a new visual style with classic style gameplay.
    +8 Worlds consisted with more than 5 stages each and additional power up mushroom houses.
    +Finish stages by going through different routes and thus finding access to new hidden levels.
    +Power ups such as the Fire power return with new additions such as the shell power and tiny mushroom power ups.
    +Lots of cameos an easter eggs in terms of level design that often reminds players of old experiences with Super Mario Bros 1, 2, 3 and World.

    Cons
    -Many characters from the Mario series is missing such as Yoshi.
    -The gameplay feels more slower than traditional 2D Mario games so this may put some players off
    -Storyline is weaker than traditional 2D mario games
    Expand
  7. JasonH
    Dec 18, 2008
    4
    So I'm giving it this rating based both on my enjoyment level, and the huge letdown this game turned out for me. I was expecting a game So I'm giving it this rating based both on my enjoyment level, and the huge letdown this game turned out for me. I was expecting a game along the lines of super mario world, with tons of secrets, powerups, yoshis, strange and odd worlds, and just a ton of fun. Instead, we got a game with 3D graphics (I thought it was worse, since a lot of the artistic magic seemed to dissapear (and little mario kind of looks like a bunch of polygons)), NO yoshis, power ups that weren't very diverse (in that 3 alter size, and the rest are mostly for increasing offenseive abilities. However, I think the WORST part of this game, was the lack of intersting worlds (you have forest, you have desert, you have ice, and I really can't remember the others, since they must have been a bore) and the very linear progression mario makes through the map (the only deviations are short, and usually lead back to the same path). Finnally, this game really has no replay value. The only thing you have to look forward to, are playing a couple of levels you most likely missed, and collecting three coins per stage, which is just tedious and irritating. So yeah, it's a boring, it's short, it doesn't take advantage of the DS capabilities (you can click on a power up... whoopdedo...) but isn't anywhere near as fun, or as deep as the original. Like a said, a huge letdown. Collapse

See all 116 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed DS Game of 2006
#1 Most Shared DS Game of 2006