Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Nov 17, 2010
    100
    I don't know when was the last time I was so fascinated by a game, especially one as story-heavy as this.
  2. A fantastic experience from start to finish. It is a game that truly expands what narrative video games can be capable of, and does so with a engrossing story that draws players in until the very end, all six of them.
  3. Mar 11, 2011
    90
    Another masterpiece of the Nintendo DS, another title of undoubted quality and a welcome addition to the already excellent library of the platform.
  4. Jan 25, 2011
    90
    Nine Hours, Nine Persons, Nine Doors is a mature and rewarding visual novel experience with an unforgettable story that features some truly excellent writing.
  5. Jan 1, 2011
    90
    If you're the type of person who skips cutscenes or nods off during long bits of exposition between explosions then steer clear of 999. If you want to try something new, though, I would suggest giving the game a look. Aksys has taken a huge risk in bringing something like this to America, and it may just be the necessary ice-breaker to bring a whole new genre to our shores.
  6. Dec 16, 2010
    90
    My mind, I hope, is nearly finished unraveling. After three straight days, nights and early, early mornings spent playing through the entirety of 999 and accessing each and every alternate ending, the enrapturing spell this game has cast on me is finally beginning to let me think straight again.
  7. Dec 2, 2010
    90
    Despite its repetitive replay structure, 999 is a thrilling, thoughtful, and fascinating visual novel that represents some of the best the genre has to offer.
  8. 90
    This isn't a game for young kids. It's rated Mature for a reason. It's filled with adult situations and references. So grow up and grab a copy.
  9. Nov 27, 2010
    90
    While I didn't enjoy the repetition, I loved every new minute of 999's slick puzzles and riveting story. [Holiday 2010, p.89]
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 138 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 44
  2. Negative: 6 out of 44
  1. Dec 7, 2010
    10
    Very fun, very well done story, neat trick to the real ending. this is a game that should not be missed be fans of puzzle games, phoenix wright, or great story telling. Warning it is rated Mature for a reason Full Review »
  2. Dec 20, 2011
    8
    Do you like reading a good story? If so, there is a good chance you will love this game. 999 is a puzzle adventure game, but I think it can be better classified as a Japanese visual novel with some puzzles. The puzzles mostly take a backseat to the story, but are sometimes nicely weaved into the story itself. But like I said, this game is not about the puzzles. It is about the incredibly well-written story that will slowly reveal it's secrets. There are multiple endings, which means you will have to play the game several times. Luckily you can skip the text you have already read in a previous play-through. What puts this game high on my Top Games of All Time list, is the scene surrounding the final puzzle of the game. The puzzle itself is nothing really special, but the moments leading up to that screen left my hands shaking and I just stared at the screen for a few moments before continuing. Even as I write this review, I'm taken back to that moment and relive some of that glory. That all being said, I have to say that this will probably be very different for most people. I wrote this review to show my respects to this game. Also, the actual end scene still left a few plot holes. Let me close by saying that if you like a good book and don't shy away for a few competent puzzles, you will probably love this game as much as I do, though maybe not in the same way. Full Review »
  3. Jan 19, 2011
    3
    The game starts out well with interesting puzzles and a decent story but this quickly goes downhill. The puzzles are well thought out but are too few with the last being a disappointing sudoku. As well , while you're trying to solve the puzzles you are constantly being interrupted for another piece of story which can be very game breaking. The story along with the concept of being trapped in a Saw or Cube type of scenario is exciting at first but quickly becomes bland. This isn't helped by the fact you must repeat the game at least twice to get the true ending (which is highly unlikely if you truly want to play all the puzzles). Presenting the player with a large Titanic-sized ship setting, and then not allowing any exploration is frustrating to say the least. You are locked into a very linear storyline, only able to make a handful of actual player decisions. This all adds up to being a decent visual novel that you have to read at least twice and with little to no game play. Full Review »