Nine Hours, Nine Persons, Nine Doors Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 144 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this game, you must help Junpei reclaim his memories and play a game of life or death known as the Nonary Game.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Nov 17, 2010
    100
    I don't know when was the last time I was so fascinated by a game, especially one as story-heavy as this.
  2. Jan 1, 2011
    90
    If you're the type of person who skips cutscenes or nods off during long bits of exposition between explosions then steer clear of 999. If you want to try something new, though, I would suggest giving the game a look. Aksys has taken a huge risk in bringing something like this to America, and it may just be the necessary ice-breaker to bring a whole new genre to our shores.
  3. Mar 11, 2011
    90
    Another masterpiece of the Nintendo DS, another title of undoubted quality and a welcome addition to the already excellent library of the platform.
  4. Mar 15, 2011
    83
    Closer to a novel than to gaming itself, it's suited more to an eastern oriented public. Narration is superb, characters simply unforgettable. On the other hand, if you don't like text heavy experiences, this is not the game for you.
  5. Oct 21, 2011
    80
    999 is stunning. It sports a captivating plot driven by a fantastic cast of characters, a satisfying mix of puzzles and interesting mathematical, scientific and philosophical quandaries to ponder.
  6. Feb 10, 2011
    80
    If you're willing to forgive its foibles this is a fresh and exciting narrative driven experience like no other.
  7. Jan 6, 2011
    60
    999: Nine Hours, Nine Persons, Nine Doors is a good experience, and in parts it can be quite clever-I particularly enjoyed that the game made the existence of its multiple endings an explicit part of its plot. Unfortunately, the weak prose doesn't justify the time investment, and the puzzles don't hold up through the mandatory replays.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 43
  2. Negative: 6 out of 43
  1. Dec 7, 2010
    10
    Very fun, very well done story, neat trick to the real ending. this is a game that should not be missed be fans of puzzle games, phoenixVery fun, very well done story, neat trick to the real ending. this is a game that should not be missed be fans of puzzle games, phoenix wright, or great story telling. Warning it is rated Mature for a reason Expand
  2. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    Have you ever wished you could erase part of your memory just so you could experience something amazing for the first time again? 999 is theHave you ever wished you could erase part of your memory just so you could experience something amazing for the first time again? 999 is the epitome of that. It's a title anyone with a DS should pick up. Excellent music, great characters, the puzzles are all solid and keep you thinking, but the main selling point is the plot. Keep in mind, this is more of a visual novel than a game, but the plot pretty much makes the entire thing. 999 has the best plot out of any game I've played hands down. While playing it you might think the concept is too ambitious to have a decent ending, but prepare to have your mind shattered.
    My only complaints are that they should have added a timer for the last puzzle just to make things more intense, and the lack of voice acting but this IS a Nintendo DS title so expecting that is kind of unfair.

    Overall, if you have a DS and enjoy a good story DEFINITELY PICK THIS UP!
    Expand
  3. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    Excellent story, and makes it's way on my Top 10 DS games at position 1. Sublime narrative, great puzzles, likeable characters, has everythingExcellent story, and makes it's way on my Top 10 DS games at position 1. Sublime narrative, great puzzles, likeable characters, has everything to be what it is: a must have for the system. Looking forward to it's sequel on 3DS and Vita. Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2011
    9
    I was very impressed with Nine hours, nine persons, nine doors. The story was simply enthralling and the characters are some of the mostI was very impressed with Nine hours, nine persons, nine doors. The story was simply enthralling and the characters are some of the most interesting characters I've seen in a video game. First of all, if you don't like story driven games, or reading, then I wouldn't recommend this game, because you will be reading a lot. The art style works and the music goes well too. I kind of wish that they put in just a little voice acting at certain parts, or maybe a few cut scenes that were not push a button and read. Each playthrough probably last around 8 hours, but I guarantee you will want to play it for a different ending. I only played through twice before I got the "True" ending, but I'm sure it could push you past 30 hours if you went for all of them. I highly recommend doing this, because you will appreciate the story the more you know about the characters and the plot. The game, though lengthy, left me thinking and made me want more. I truly hope that Aksys Games decides to continue with the series and maybe make a game similar to this, or perhaps even a sequel. The puzzles in the game are fun and clever, and the story will have you glued to your DS to find out what happens next. Expand
  5. Oct 16, 2013
    9
    Both the narrative and soundtrack were very good, and the plot was captivating. My only beef with the game was the fact that you had to replayBoth the narrative and soundtrack were very good, and the plot was captivating. My only beef with the game was the fact that you had to replay the puzzles you already did to advance. Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The choices in this game are very limited and poorly structured. The game seems to assume that the player wants to be a "good guy". I think there should have been more options. For example, there is a part where the team finds a gun. They will say things like "it's obviously a trap" and "it's to get them to turn on one another". So the game forces you to leave the gun there. Well obviously now that people know it's there they can go back and pick it up (ultimately this does happen by the way and the gun is used against the player and the other good team mates), so it doesn't really make sense that the game absolutely FORCES the player to leave it behind against their will. If I were in that situation, I would have picked it up in fear that someone else may go back and get it. Of course, this is just one example but there are situations like this throughout almost the entire game. Another thing that I don't like is that there is no real line of logic that the player can apply to their choices in order to yield a good ending. In other words, if you get the good ending, you probably just got lucky. You have to choose between doors 4 and 5, then 3, 7, and 8, and finally 1, 2, or 6. After that point, your ending has already been determined through your course of action. In my first playthrough, I tried to play logically. I left people behind if necessary, and I did whatever I thought it would take to get the good ending. Obviously, that didn't work. So I figured, well maybe the game is trying to make me act selflessly, so I tried this. Still no luck. My next playthrough, I just picked some random ass combination of doors with no real logic as to which one I would choose. Still no luck. By this time, I had been playing the game for at least 15 hours. At least the game lets you skip what you've already done, but rather than just selecting "skip scene", you have to hold right on the d-pad to quickly scroll through text. Not a huge inconvenience, but it can still take a while, and it's a pain in a game like this that the player needs to go through multiple times in order to get everything. Anyway, back to my original point - So are you telling me that if I pick doors 4, 8, and 2 (this would yield a bad ending), that clearly I suck at the game and I should have to do the whole thing over? Yet if I pick doors 4, 7, and 1, clearly I'm awesome and I deserve a good ending? Each door is as much of a mystery as the others, and there is no real logic behind which one you should pick. In other words, the game doesn't reward players for thinking critically and carefully planning their course of action. You'll might as well just pick random combinations of doors until you happen to get lucky and get the good ending. Now I want to cover my hugest problem with the game's structure. In order to get the good ending, there is a very specific bad ending that you need to get, often referred to as the "safe ending". To get this ending, you need to go through doors 5, 8, and 6. But you also need to check a safe in room 5 before you leave the room, but AFTER unlocking the door. This is very cryptic. On one playthrough, I actually did this, because I was curious about the safe. However, I didn't know that after that I would have to go through door 8 and then 6. How was I supposed to know? Even if you DO check the safe after unlocking the door, you have to take two 1/3 chances consecutively after that by picking the correct doors. So once again, I would have to do the whole game over again. There is also a "coffin ending" (which I got). In the coffin ending, you have to make all of the choices that would normally yield the good ending, which is basically the same exact thing as the good ending but you don't know the password to the coffin in the coffin ending. So obviously, nobody wants or needs to see the coffin ending. However, if the player happened to get the safe ending, and then you got the good ending, it gives you credit for completing the coffin ending. This may confuse players and cause them to erase all of their save data in order to see what this ending was that they now couldn't get, not knowing that it was just a shortened version of the good ending. After all of this complaining, you might be wondering why I gave the game a 7 out of 10. It's simple - In spite of all of these problems, and the relatively easy puzzles throughout the game (By the way, the final puzzle in the game is an easy sodoku puzzle. That should put things in to perspective as far as the game's difficulty), the story still kept me entertained and wanting to see what would happen next. If the thought of a story involving curses, ESP, unsolved ancient mysteries, and a game of life and death appeals to you, then you should try this game out. But remember, don't bother taking the game seriously at all and trying to plan a detailed course of action, as the game's poor structure makes it too luck based. Perhaps it's better to view it as a story, not a game. Expand
  7. Aug 23, 2012
    0
    This game is awful. Let me preface that right off the bat. This is not a game.

    What this is, is a visual novel. For those unfamiliar with
    This game is awful. Let me preface that right off the bat. This is not a game.

    What this is, is a visual novel. For those unfamiliar with the term, visual novels are quite literally, novels with visual elements, which can include pictures, videos, and the occasional interactive element. They are a mainstay of Japanese "gaming" and hold a special place in the hearts of lonely individuals with poor person skills and social anxiety disorders. What visual novels aren't, are fun.

    The typical 'VN' as they are called, involves hours of text and left mouse clicks. You do not play a VN, merely slog through mind numbing monologues and so called character interaction. This proves to be a fatal flaw in gaming design, because games are supposed to be interactive and ENJOYABLE. There is nothing enjoyable about reading hours of text, staring and two dimensional cell shaded characters. The VN 'problem' stems from the Japanese culture itself. In Japanese gaming, the 'player' is relegated to the role of passive observer. You the player are never allowed to make real choices in a VN, and that same mix of culture and poor design crash head on in 999, rending it a bloody horrid, abortion of game design.

    At it's heart, 999 is supposed to be a puzzle-solving adventure game where nine individuals are thrown together by sinister circumstances and are forced to come face to face with their pasts and the deadly traps set before them by an unknown antagonist; promising to be an exciting and enthralling tale of treachery, intrigue, and murder. Unfortunately you're forced to wade through miles of feces before you can get to eat your cake, and no you don't get to shower before it either.

    Here's the problem. It's a point and click adventure game that locks you into limited, individual set piece rooms to explore. You will not get to explore anything but what have been chosen for you to enter. Nor will you get to even choose which rooms to enter. Sure, you might be presented with a choice of enter door number 1 or door number 2, but you will never be allowed to visit door number 2 should you choose door number 1. Sadly, this heavily restricts a game that could have had a great potential as you will never find multi-room puzzles, puzzles that span the length of the game, or be able to enjoy exploring the environment around you. You are locked in a linear rail ride from one predetermined set piece to another with no chance to affect any subtle changes to the plot or events that can transpire.

    The game uses the archaic programming method common in VNs where specific plot events trigger specific plot lines via the few text 'choices' you are given. This means that the only effect you will ever have on the game's progression, is picking one text option over another. Everything you do in solving the puzzles is instantly rendered meaningless, as the plot is always locked into one of 6 predetermined outcomes. For a game based on intrigue, treachery, survival, and psychological horror, this proves to be a great detriment for the game, as a single "bad choice" will result in outcomes you can see coming from a mile away, simply because you the player are not allowed the option of picking up an item. That's right. This is a terrible game, because it won't let you pick up a plot critical item. Forcing you replay the game over and over hunting down "right choices". In a genre where every good player knows to loot the very last insignificant nail off a wall, the game binds your hands and prevents you from ever being able to interact with items that simply picking them up would alter the course of the game because it does not allow you to explore, and that is why it is not a good game. Hell, it's not even a game.
    Collapse

See all 43 User Reviews