Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 127 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Known in Japan as "Gyakuten Saiban") Not everyone is innocent until proven guilty! Players star as a defense attorney, who must prove his seemingly guilty client’s innocence no matter how dire the circumstances may seem. The game presents twisting storylines and intriguing gameplay in a comical anime style. Players must collect evidence, weed through inconsistent testimonies, and overcome corrupt agendas to ensure that justice prevails. [Capcom] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Character reactions are exaggerated, heck, they’re waaaaay over-exaggerated, the main setting is a courtroom and it is - *gasp* - adventure. In fact, to label Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney as ‘kooky’ would be an understatement, but somehow it works.
  2. 90
    Whenever a game of such craftsmanship actually gets a release in Europe, you would be a fool not to grasp it tightly and treasure its unique and original interactivity.
  3. Though the game is heavily text-driven and there's little replayability, it's a bright, rich, and lengthy adventure that could hardly have been improved upon otherwise.
  4. Wackier than Ally McBeal, but in a good way. Addictive and amusing lawyerly hi-jinks. [Apr 2006, p.38]
  5. This game is different, has a great style, and will give your brain a workout. If you like mystery novels or courtroom dramas, you gotta take this case.
  6. Since the storyline is very linear, there's not a lot of replay value to Phoenix Wright, making it best served for a long trip. Even so, only the player most determined to resist Mr. Wright's charms will be able to object to the game's finer points.
  7. A great presentation and even better writing can’t compensate for the fact that the game practically plays itself. This is a good comic book, but a below average adventure.

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 38
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 38
  3. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    The series of Phoenix Wright, even if with few additions and almost no upgrades, always shows new cases and new ways to think out of the box for resolving the cases (not a lot, but still helps). Of course, the series ia also fun to play and great to follow, with a roster of unforgettable characters...and villains too. The game plays as a mix of an adventure game and...sort of quiz game...I think. I have no proper words but the point is that both parts mix very well and they are both fun to play, especially since the story (or stories) behind the game are well thought and will make you think of how to solve the cases. Honestly, my big complains is that out of 5 missions, 2 are rather short and very simple, almost kid-friendly (the first case is literally a tutorial case, while the second is almost impossible to lose). From case 3, the game ramps up in difficulty and become a lot more enjoyable, and the last 2 cases are probably THE single best cases of the entire series (Trial and Tribulation cases are close...but only these are remarkable at their best). Graphics are simple and clean (and oldish, since I heard it was from a Gameboy Advance game), but funcional, and...I really have nothing else to mention, because the flaws are almost non-existants. Maybe the game should have had more endings, and maybe the game should have been more open (you won't go forward until you trigger the right event, which is either the discover of an item, talking to a person, or showing items to a person). Except these, I have almost no complains at all, since it's also very long to play (I think it's gonna last you at least 10 hours, but there's no counter). One of the strongest adventure game on the DS, and possibly one of the best games of the console: must at least try once but if you love adventure game, it' s an instant purchase. Expand
  2. Dec 9, 2010
    10
    I'm going to be honest. This game is a masterpiece. I don't care if the game does half of the thinking for you, but the fact that with increasing difficulty and requirements to be able to think beyond a simple contradiction to shove some evidence up the prosecutor's throat makes the game beyond fun. This game just won't let me shut the DS off, of course until I get to a save point. Expand
  3. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    This game will be loved by people of all ages, if they have the patience and the intelligence of thinking of the possibility and putting pieces together or finding out that things do not fit, that's all i am going to get into on this amazing game its a must buy Expand
  4. BlueFalcon
    Dec 24, 2006
    9
    Great to see such an original fun title. It's one of the best on the ds.
  5. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An all-around amazingly fun and enjoyable adventure game.

    The quality of characters and plot is supported by very good writing and an overall immense love both for storytelling and for dramatisation.
    This game is just nothing short of awesome when it comes to its value as a story, and its gameplay is also far from shabby when it comes to playability and/or fun elements.

    Phoenix' comments and wit make it a constantly fun game, and the rest of the characters all add in a bit of themselves to make this just about one of the most high-quality games I've played. It's undying fun all the way till the end. It gets over the top often, but is almost never simplistic or dumb, so it stays enjoyable both as a "simply fun" game and as a thinking game.

    Despite that, I'm not giving it 10 because of a few things:
    -As with almost all complex plots, this game has a few plot twists/plot devices that just don't work, like the ending of Turnabout Samurai where the conclusion(minor spoiler) is that a 1m60 tall woman pushed a 1m80 highly muscled, highly trained martial artist, who carried a spear so heavy and strong a woman her size couldn't even use it, to his death. It has its share of irrational moments, but the most of the story is devoid of it so it's really minor.
    -The game is pretty much a story walkthrough. It's a very very gameplay-filled story, as in you have to find clues, make the connections, arguments, and follow up on your case till you've gotten to the end of the story, but essentially this is a game that's just about following a preset story with only one path to get there. Because the gameplay is so well integrated in the story it doesn't matter too much, but it still sort of sucks that you're going down the same linear story.
    -Because of my last point, the replayability is null and void. Unfortunatly AA:PW is a game you can only play once, after that it's just seeing the movie you've already seen again, and although there are a lot of moments and lines that makes this game something I want to see again, it doesn't really excuse the fact that it lacks a better replayability, like different pathways to explore for example.

    Despite these points, this is still an easy 92/100 for me, it's worth buying even at full price just for the great story and fun gameplay, I just wish this was replayable.
    Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    if you have a look see at the 2 negative reviews, youll see one by a guy called awbreeh, who says hes too smart for the game... which is a little selfish, dont ya think. no i LIKE the twists, i LIKE the story, and best of all the end trial... YEAH!!!

    93%
    Expand
  7. Dec 12, 2011
    0
    Pheonix Wrong is a terrible addition to the crime genre. In fact, it's a crime of the game developers to have even made this game. It starts by showing you who did the crime. What's the point in letting us investigate if you have already showed who did it? It's pointless! Not to mention how bad the actual gameplay itself is. All you do is say "Objection!" and a cutscene plays. Do that about eight times and you've pretty much completed the game. If I was in the office while this game was being made, I would have "Objected!" to this game's development being pushed forward. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews