Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
Buy On
  1. Picross DS has me captivated. Ever since I received it I can’t put it down. I’ve played it every night before bed.
  2. Like Sudoku or crossword puzzles, this is one of those endlessly replayable games. The solution is always there, right in front of you. It’s just a matter of using logic and careful planning to place the block correctly.
  3. Picross DS isn't really a traditional video game. Despite this, if you like puzzle games, Picross DS is one of the best non-games you can pick up.
  4. 90
    In Picross DS, you get a real sense of accomplishment, while still being just as enthralled as with the Tetrises and Meteoses of the world. It rewards intelligence over reflexes, broadening its target audience immensely. Play it for 10 minutes, or five hours; either way, you'll have a smile on your face the entire time.
  5. 90
    There's an awful lot to do in Picross DS, but given the addictive nature of the puzzles, don't be surprised if you plow though the puzzles in a couple of weeks. The downloadable puzzles and custom puzzles will keep you busy for a while longer, but the fact is, you'll want more.
  6. 90
    A brilliant, mature-focused Nintendo DS product that's incredibly addictive with near endless gameplay.
  7. Picross DS is quite literally you, a grid, some numbers, and the seemingly endless combinations of them. If you have $20 and a DS, Picross DS should be at the top of your shopping list. Games that sell for three times Picross DS's price don't have this much entertainment in them.
  8. This is Picross at its finest. If you are looking for something to keep you busy for those long bus rides or even while relaxing at home, Picross DS offers nearly endless, addictive gameplay, and with a $20 price tag you can’t go wrong.
  9. "Picross" is an elegant, alluring option that will keep you coming back for more.
  10. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    87
    Simply one of the best puzzlers on the handheld. [June 2007, p.94]
  11. With the fairly large number of puzzles that come with Picross DS, the game will keep you occupied for quite some time. But with the addition of Wi-Fi features, you could find yourself picking up the game very often even after completing all puzzles.
  12. 85
    Inevitable immaturity aside, Picross is an exceptional puzzle game with a no-nonsense presentation. It's especially great to see it in America at long last, a decade's worth of entries having been Japanese exclusives.
  13. 85
    Of the many puzzles games currently available, this is one of the most inventive and imaginative, offering up a tiny reward each and every time you solve a puzzle.
  14. Nintendo Gamer
    83
    You turn on the DS at 5pm. Next thing you know, it's 11:30pm and the stylus has worn a bloody groove into your finger. Forget The Matrix: it's Picross's grids that'll enslave us all. [JPN Import]
  15. “Easy to pick up but hard to put down” has become a trite phrase but it fits Picross DS perfectly. It’s hard to believe that such a fun and puzzle packed game only costs 20 bucks, especially when many “next gen” games clock in at three times the price with barely as much content.
  16. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    82
    Simplicity is bliss, and these puzzles are satisfying, but Picross requires patience of both the mental and physical variety. [Sept 2007, p.98]
  17. It is, simply, just about the best version of just about the best logic puzzle out there. [JPN Import]
  18. games(TM)
    80
    If you’re not remotely interested in logic brainteasers, then Picross DS is unlikely to change your mind. But Nintendo’s effort is the most complete version yet of this fearsomely addictive pastime. [June 2007, p.122]
  19. Picross DS isn't the most alluring game you'll ever clap eyes on, but it's startlingly addictive and will provide endless hours of utterly compulsive amusement.
  20. Edge Magazine
    80
    It’s impossible to ignore the fact that, with titles like this, Nintendo has perfected a genre. [July 2007, p.95]
  21. AceGamez
    80
    It makes a real change from many of the other puzzle games out there for the Nintendo DS and if this crowded genre is going to survive, we're going to need a lot more innovative games like Picross that try something different - and succeed. Simple and harmless fun, Picross is definitely worth a look.
  22. Picross DS is one of the best puzzle games for the system, and therefore, a must play.
  23. Picross DS is a high-quality collection of logic puzzles at a terrific bargain price.
  24. A good little package. Competitive play just doesn't work as well as it does for some other puzzle games, but it can still be fun in short spurts.
  25. Nintendo Power
    80
    Picross DS has several additional modes that extend its appeal. [Sep 2007, p.85]
  26. Games Master UK
    80
    Sounds dull, but like Sudoku, once it gets its claws in you'll be hooked. [Sept 2007, p.85]
  27. Picross DS is yet another fine example of what “Touch Generations” is all about, and is a great addition to the series.
  28. Hardcore Gamer
    80
    Best of all, Picross is a wonderfully pure test of logical puzzle solving, with a deep challenge that's as satisfying as it is addictive. [Oct 2007, p.61]
  29. Though most of its bells and whistles do not hold up to scrutiny very well, the simplicity and depth of the main modes will keep you occupied with more than two hundred unlockable puzzles.
  30. If you like your puzzle games like Puzzle League or Meteos, then you'll want to stay clear of Picross DS. However, if crosswords or brain-benders like Sudoku is more your style, then you will love this version. It has a lot to offer and the ability to create and share puzzles ensures a long-life span.
  31. It won't last forever, and it has its faults, but if you've ever got addicted to Minesweeper you'll likely enjoy this curious puzzle game.
  32. 70
    It's a good little title that's enjoyable but ultimately of limited appeal. [Sep 2007, p.80]
  33. 60
    While the touch-screen interface is a downer, the amount of play options in Picross DS is uplifting.

Awards & Rankings

6
31
#31 Most Discussed DS Game of 2007
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 38
  2. Negative: 3 out of 38
  1. Vijay
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    If you love logic, and games like Sudoku and Mineweeper, you absolutely must own this title. Unlike Sudoku, I find that this game is actually If you love logic, and games like Sudoku and Mineweeper, you absolutely must own this title. Unlike Sudoku, I find that this game is actually much more enjoyable than the pen and paper version. Extremely addictive. Full Review »
  2. RyanS.
    Aug 30, 2007
    10
    This is the most addictive game ive played on the DS... even more than mario kart. Im at the point in my life where video games cannot hold This is the most addictive game ive played on the DS... even more than mario kart. Im at the point in my life where video games cannot hold my interest like they used to. I keep buying games and play them for a few hours and then put them away never to be touched again but ive used up my battery on my ds at least 10 times in the last month only playing this game. In fact I went to my parents house with this and my mom picked it up and started becoming interested in it and she hasnt played anything since tetris for the first game boy. Full Review »
  3. Jul 29, 2012
    9
    I loved this game, to the point that playing it was part of my daily routine. I played it at night to help me fall asleep and I actually don'tI loved this game, to the point that playing it was part of my daily routine. I played it at night to help me fall asleep and I actually don't know what to do now that I've finished all the puzzles. Tycho says he measures the quality of a game by how many times he has to recharge his DS before he's tired of the game, and I lost count of number of times I had to recharge mine. It is obviously not for everyone, and you have to be patient with some of the more difficult puzzles, but it's always a good feeling when you finally figure out the one you couldn't get.

    I also loved the extra puzzles you get in the end. A little bit of Nintendo history.
    Full Review »