Ping Pals DS

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Dec 8, 2004
User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 26
  2. Negative: 16 out of 26
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 13, 2013
    10
    Seriously the greatest game of all time! I don't know what all these people giving Ping Pals a bad review are talking about; I think they are joking or trying to mislead you. If you are considering buying this game, DO IT! It is worth so much more than the prices I see it selling for. This game is better than Far Cry 3, Zelda Ocarina of Time, Pokemon, Halo, Metroid, and the entire Call ofSeriously the greatest game of all time! I don't know what all these people giving Ping Pals a bad review are talking about; I think they are joking or trying to mislead you. If you are considering buying this game, DO IT! It is worth so much more than the prices I see it selling for. This game is better than Far Cry 3, Zelda Ocarina of Time, Pokemon, Halo, Metroid, and the entire Call of Duty franchise combined. No joke! It's seriously so much fun. You can chat with your friends if they are in range for you, and that isn't even the best part! You can customize your avatar with dresses and similar articles of clothing! SOMETIMES THEY EVEN HAVE SPECIAL DRESSES IF YOU STAY UP UNTIL MIDNIGHT!!! How cool is that!! There is also many minigames that will make you scream for more if you have to put your DS down! I hope that everybody gets a chance to play this fantastic and godly game, that has been sent down from the very heavens above. I will never need to buy another video game again, because I have Ping Pals!!!!!! Woooo!!!! Expand
  2. Ace:)
    Sep 20, 2006
    0
    The FIRST game I got on DS, I got it for free when I bought the DS a long, long, time ago. As I played it.. It just felt sorta time-consuming.. endless hours playing mini-games that suck. A lot. I only played it for so long because it was the only game I got.. And I had already beaten the Metroid Prime demo 500000000 times. It MIGHT have been better if it had Wifi, so we can caht over The FIRST game I got on DS, I got it for free when I bought the DS a long, long, time ago. As I played it.. It just felt sorta time-consuming.. endless hours playing mini-games that suck. A lot. I only played it for so long because it was the only game I got.. And I had already beaten the Metroid Prime demo 500000000 times. It MIGHT have been better if it had Wifi, so we can caht over wifi.. That would be cool. But my phone is more entertaining. And I have aim on meh phone. yeah. awesomeness. Plus, more games with horrible graphics than this title. Hey, ive boguht more games on my phone than this game is WORTH! Collapse
  3. Vicky
    Aug 18, 2006
    4
    I have to say when i looked at the cover and read the dilogue my thoughts were this game looks and sounds cool . When i got home to play the game after ten minuites i thought to myself "what a pointless game.
  4. LeaH.
    Jul 25, 2006
    9
    i love the game beacause it has funny objects cool stuff an d fun games plus i never knew about the game till my mom asked me about it at Game Stop.
  5. Clay
    Jul 22, 2006
    2
    Anymore I see this game going for $15 at EB Games and GameStop and other specialty stores. How does this sound? I bought the game for $3 at K-Mart. That's about all it's worth, because the minigames that can be played with this you can play with a pen and paper. A few pens and a pack of paper costs about $3. It's also a chatting application, but who's gonna use that Anymore I see this game going for $15 at EB Games and GameStop and other specialty stores. How does this sound? I bought the game for $3 at K-Mart. That's about all it's worth, because the minigames that can be played with this you can play with a pen and paper. A few pens and a pack of paper costs about $3. It's also a chatting application, but who's gonna use that when there's a chat program built into the DS? Simply put, Ping Pals is one of the dumbest ideas for a game. Expand
  6. BobL.
    Jan 19, 2006
    0
    You are all right. This is the worst game of all time. I'm sorry it exists. We all deserve a refund.
  7. DamianS.
    Nov 19, 2005
    0
    Probably one of the most useless games ever created.
  8. AdamR.
    Sep 17, 2005
    5
    At least it is better then the stupid game Sprung.
  9. MaxM.
    Aug 25, 2005
    0
    Use Pictochat instead of this stupid software, it's not even a game.
  10. RyanM.
    Jul 3, 2005
    2
    So if your reading this review right now, your probably considering picking up this game. "It's one of the cheapest games for the DS" you say. "There's nothign else to play," you also state, while begging and asking why this game should even be considered. Don't pick it up. The mini-games are shallow and take no brains. The character customization is equally as shallow, So if your reading this review right now, your probably considering picking up this game. "It's one of the cheapest games for the DS" you say. "There's nothign else to play," you also state, while begging and asking why this game should even be considered. Don't pick it up. The mini-games are shallow and take no brains. The character customization is equally as shallow, delivering in no redeeming qualities. This game really doesn't even need to exist, and it existing is just more proof that the DS needs some good titles now, and luckily some are coming out soon. As for now, be patient, and resist the urge to buy a mess and a sad disgrace of a game. Expand
  11. Jadejayd_19
    Jun 2, 2005
    10
    ITS AMAZING you have your own little person 2 create ! You have your very own wardrobe which you co-ordiante yourself !!!!!!! it is outstanding !!!!! you even have special outfits for holidays and times of year and on your birthday they sell party hats !!!!!!! not only this you can chat 2 ur friends even if they dont have the game !!!!!!!!
  12. JosephG.
    Apr 3, 2005
    10
    I think this game is great and would be better if i could fig someone to chat and play the several mini games on it!
  13. BobG.
    Apr 3, 2005
    10
    This is the best game in the world.
  14. MartinM.
    Mar 14, 2005
    10
    I enjoy this "game" not so much for the chatting (it's nearly impossible to find someone to chat with) but for the Top Ten mini-game, which is actually quite challenging, and for the customizable Pals. If I could find someone to chat with, it would rock.
  15. AmilaL.
    Mar 9, 2005
    10
    Its great. I play all the time but im always in a chatroom by myself a)because no-one has the game b)because no-one likes me.
  16. NolanB.
    Jan 27, 2005
    10
    Its cool! Me and my brother play it a lot!
  17. MaharobaK.
    Jan 19, 2005
    0
    If you buy it, your probably going to end up shooting in your head later on. [Ed: Huh?]
  18. NintendoPSBox
    Jan 15, 2005
    0
    The worst title available on the console. It's just a completely disgusting game to play. Atrocius.
  19. BenG.
    Jan 14, 2005
    0
    This is easily the worst title ever conceived! It's more of a shame that Nintendo allowed for this crap to be sold! Avoid at all cost.
  20. JonD.
    Jan 12, 2005
    0
    This "game" is especially useless becuase it depends on connecting with others. Here's a news flash: if you own it, chances are that no one else for miles was dumb enough to buy this steaming pile of crap, let alone actually play it with you.
  21. AB
    Jan 3, 2005
    0
    I spent more time wondering why I bought it than actually playing it.

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed DS Game of 2004
#4 Most Shared DS Game of 2004
Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 17
  2. Negative: 14 out of 17
  1. In essence, Ping Pals is "PictoChat" with a lousy personality, and there's absolutely no reason why you should waste your time with it.
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    5
    An abysmal failure. [Jan 2005, p.143]
  3. 35
    Regardless of its "additional" content it offers over "PictoChat," Ping Pals is easily the most unnecessary product for the system.