User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 141 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 141

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 7, 2012
    9
    Pokemon black and white 2 hands down the best second installment the series has seen.This game has more then the traditonal Pokemon game , giving a refreshing feel from the new gym leaders to Pokemon world championship.This game packs charming visuals more then the original and the continuation of the story and seeing how unova grown is truly charming.
  2. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    Best Pokemon game ever. The story is very intriguing & will make you ask what would happen next. The best part is the contents of the game. You won't get bored with this.
  3. Oct 8, 2012
    9
    Pokemon BW2 is an excellent game. With new characters, new music, new locations, "new" pokemon (pokemon from previous generations, unlike the Unova-specific preE4 roster from BW) and a new plot, it's quite fun. All locations have changed in some way or another, whether it's adding new buildings/gyms, to revamping cities, to completely new cities, and it's nice to see how it had developed over the two years (in addition, the cities and towns are the largest yet). Another neat thing to notice are the gyms - what they lost in complexity (which was a bit disappointing), they gained in originality and character. Each gym has its own exclusive track (from Elesa's fabulous "Are you ready?" electronic theme, to Burgh's cool, creepy (and by far my favorite) one)), and have great setup. Gamefreak also added in tons of things to keep you busy, whether it's collecting the 200+ medals (the equivalent of achievements or trophies), to making movies in Pokestar studios, to playing Funfest Missions, challenging the towers in White Forest/Black City, and finally challenging the top trainers in the World Tournament. Of course, some of the features from BW return in this game, such as the Musical Contests and the Battle Subway. Along with the large features, Pokemon BW2 really shines in the details. Tiny things, like sunbeams shining whenever you come out of a building, to moving NPC sprites (finally!), to the "battle platforms" for your Pokemon (simple coloured circles, be gone! Depending on your location, you can get grass gently blowing in the wind, to rippling waves, etc.) all add a sense of pleasure and detail to your playthrough that had never been seen before (at least, it does for me - I love small details like that). New Hidden Hollows, areas where you can catch Pokemon with their hidden abilities, are also a joy to discover. There are a couple of downsides to BW2, however - first of all, because the selection of Pokemon at the beginning is so varied and, well, good, I found the playthrough to be a bit easy compared to previous games. I have not yet touched the Challenge Key, but that will hopefully solve the difficulty curve once I acquire it (still, the wide variety of Pokemon can offer you different gameplays, if you are one to plan your team ahead of time). Another thing that really bothered me was the dialogue and general plot progression. It's so incredibly clunky and badly written that I found myself wincing more than once (and even at one point believing that my game had miraculously become bootleg). As some people have mentioned, it isn't as 'fresh' as BW - but do you honestly expect it to be? Keep in mind, this is the equivalent of Platinum, or Emerald - it's leagues ahead of any Grey version we might have gotten, and all of the changes still ignite the feeling of exploration, albeit not as much (and please don't complain about there not being any new Pokemon - this is not a new generation!) Still, this game is another incredibly fun romp through the land of Unova. The upsides greatly outweigh the downsides of this game, which are minuscule (with exception of that dialogue! What happened to you, translation team?) I fully recommend that you get it. Why not? Expand
  4. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    I haven't played a Pokemon game since Emerald and I must say, I am impressed. Those people that say Pokemon uses the same formula bla bla bla are wrong. Black 2 (and i'm sure white 2) is a fun, fresh, exciting outing in the region of Unova and I haven't been disappointed yet. I would recommend this to anyone that hasn't played the previous Black/White versions as the story isn't hard to follow at all and I mean, IT'S POKEMON Expand
  5. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    In short, it improves upon everything that was introduced in B/W 1. With all new zones, a wider Pokemon roster, more attention to detail and generally so much more to do, once you go B/W 2, you'll never want to go back. Arguably the best game in my opinion since the original Gold/Silver. The only qualms I have with this particular entry is the plot, which went out with a whimper, unlike the original's fantastic climax. Which is a shame, considering they got everything else just right.

    It is rather sad, however, as this will be the last G5 game, seeing as Game Freak will probably head off to do a remake of Sapphire/Ruby for the DS, before finally moving to the 3DS. By then, maybe fans will finally get the definitive Pokemon game to rule them all.
    Expand
  6. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Pokemon Black and White 2 are one of the best entries in the series so far. There are a mixture of small and big changes, but all make the game feel fresh. The simple inclusion of pre-Unova Pokemon and new starting towns helps the starting zone feel new and exciting. While I generally preferred the story in Black and White, the journey to the Elite Four I found much more enjoyable in Black and White 2. Other additions include the Pokestar Studios (a film making "minigame", that is very enjoyable), Join Avenue (sort of like a customizable mall) and Pokemon World Tournament (which allows you to battle past Gym Leaders and Champions). The Memory Link was also a clever feature, allowing players who have completed Black and White to get new pieces of story in the two year gap. If you liked any of the Pokemon games at all, you'll like this one. Expand
  7. Dec 16, 2012
    10
    Flawless game!!!....there is so much inside this game that makes this game great like the amazing pwt tournaments....the many legendaries including the Regis.....sure the game is different compared to all the old pokemon games but this game is still a great game....this game has endless small details like the pokestar studios....it's hard to get board in this game because it's endless...
  8. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    Pokemon, The only thing I can really say bad about this entry in the Pokemon series is that......... Nothing to say really. I'm currently on my sixth badge and I must say its my first time choosing a water type starter for my journey (and all other Pokemon games that ever existed) and I regret it. It was so difficult to beat most of the gym leaders most notably the felt-hat-guy (cant remember name) I'm mainly a fire type user. Expand
  9. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    The recent release of Pocket Monsters Black Version 2 and Pocket Monsters White Version 2 in Japan was a pre-empted shock to those outside the world of Pokémon. Along with the summer arrival came the remorse (as its similarity to HeartGold and SoulSilver, themselves remakes, is striking) of the previous games. Pokémon Black Version 2 and Pokémon White Version 2 are set two years after the fall of N and Team Plasma, with characters, concepts, and Pokémon never before seen. The story takes place at the same region, Unova, but with a different rival. Also, one of the rivals from the previous game, Cheren, is now a Gym Leader.

    These games also have a new facility known as the Pokémon World Tournament. Not only does this feature allow players to battle every gym leader, as well as champion, from every region (with the exclusion of Koga), but it also changes the battle theme for each opponent they face, upgrading them from memories lost to memories regained, and transforms the game itself into a battle-field fit for all players of all genders and generations, making for a never-ending TRUE Pokémon battle between masters!
    Expand
  10. Oct 12, 2012
    9
    Black 2 is a sequel to Black and has some improvements. Pokemon World Tournament is addicting, fun, and challenging. Some little things that help like the new repel feature. Still missing the 'shoe button' that was in the HGSS games. Some new areas and gym leaders.
  11. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    I am so proud to play the newest Pokemon game. h h hh h h h h hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
  12. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    Hands down, the best game of the generation. It has really nice touches, like the Pokémon World Tournament. Improved story and map. However it could have been only 1 game (gray or grey version) instead of 2.
  13. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    This is the best pokemon game I've ever played! I didn't think the DS had all that much to offer anymore but this game surely proved me wrong! Yesss! Overall the visuals, music, adventures and characters mix together into a wonderful DS gaming experience!
  14. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    When this game was announced in March of 2012 with Black and White Kyurem also being announced, I thought to myself " Yes, a new Pokémon game, but still in Unova?" Yes, I knew about the third game thing Nintendo and Game Freak do with the franchise. As the game released in Japan and I watched many walkthroughs of it to see what I could expect, my excitement kept falling and falling. Until Christmas Day, when I got the game and I gave it a shot. I love Unova two years later because it is SOOOOO pretty and you will be seeing a lot of familiar faces. The amount of Pokémon in the game is very helpful than the first. While there was only 150 Pokémon in the first game's Unova Pokédex, the number has doubled in this game, bringing it up to 300. Some of these Pokémon include Riolu, Eevee and Trapinch. You can also get a Zorua in game without going to an event and that Zorua is a very special Zorua indeed. Also, the conflict between the Team Plasma of past and present is very interesting to watch at how N and Ghetsis rule each of their teams. And its the little things to that make this game brilliant. Asking to spray a Repel when your previous one has run out without going into your bag. The animations of Trainers. The amount of good training spots, which is something all Pokémon Trainers will appreciate. Tons of replay value. I was fighting a Clefable just a while ago, it used Metronome and it said " Wagging a finger let the foe's Clefable use..." These are the little things that make this game so great. But with great advantages comes some disadvantages. Some of the boss battles, like Gym Leaders, are too easy. Like Ghetsis in the last game WAY overpowered but in this game, his Pokémon are easy to take out and fighting his Hydreigon is just not as scary as it was in the first game. And at the beginning, there is a HUGE tutorial on the basics, which are not to be told to experienced Trainers but is useful for beginners. Like, I got asked how to open a bag, for God sake! But these are only little things. All in all, this is a great game and a huge improvement on the first game and the best Pokémon game I have played, mabye the best one yet! Expand
  15. Nov 7, 2012
    9
    Really like this game. It's the same world like it was in Black and White but they changed alot of towns and added some new places. You can catch old pokemon from previous generations or the new ones. I played over 40h to get all the badges. Only bad things are, they could add some more trainer on some of the routes or one the bridges, which are very empty.
  16. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    As the first real sequel to any Main-Series Pokemon game, Black 2 and White 2 are amazing. Any faults in the original Black and White were fixed, story that was left unclear was cleaned up, Move Tutors, more areas to the Unova Region and anything you were expecting from Black and White will most likely have it. Also, intermixing different region Pokemon is back. Awesome.
  17. Feb 27, 2013
    10
    When Pokemon Black and White came out, I was blown away at the sheer size of the game, overhauled battle scenes, and a completely new set of Pokemon to explore. Black 2 provides this epic experience and more. The story plot is similar to the other games, but small twists along the way make it a refreshing experience for veterans. The dynamic camera during battles is kept, giving a realistic edge to the gameplay. No new Pokemon are created, but new forms are a welcome addition to the mostly linear Unova Pokedex. When exploring, the camera will occasionally zoom out/in or pan left or right, giving a quality new to the series (handheld; ones for the GameCube do this too). The story plot is a direct sequel to the previous, making it the third Pokemon game so far to do that. Familiar faces from Black and White reappear, along with new people. Even after the main story arc is complete, many side quests are sure to keep you busy for a long while. This is hands down one of the best games, Pokemon or otherwise, that Nintendo has created. Collapse
  18. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    Fantastic continuation of the story from Black and White, this game wraps it up nicely. love the new forms of Kyurem. Always loved these games, always will.
  19. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is really enjoyable!!! The pokemon in this new region offer a new experience for everyone and the Gym leaders give out enjoyable battles. Finally, there are different levels of difficulty once you beat the game depending on which version you are playing! There is high replay value after the game, which you can go to Nimbasa City and go to the stadiums, battle Gym leaders at the PWT and record movies at Pokestar Studios! NOTHING GETS BETTER THAN THAT!!! Expand
  20. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    Pokemon Black 2 far surpasses all of it's predecessors. With what little holes that Black had, Black 2 fills those up nicely. Nintendo and Gamefreak continue to show why they're the best at what they do.
  21. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    I have played Gold, Ruby, Platinum, HeartGold and Black before, and to compare, this game got replay value. Lots of it. If you're ever going to play it, do it now while the Pokemon Global Link is supporting the game. Yes, the Pokemon Dream World is quite childish, but if you just ignore that, you have LOTS of available pokemon, without even trading. Probably the most of any game in the series. When you get through the game, Join Avenue is probably the best thing that has happened to the game. The grind to hatch eggs, happiness, EVs and levels are probably the reasons why most people won't bother trying to get the perfect pokemon. Getting money isn't difficult at all, as you can trade (easily with other players) and plant ultra rare berries in the Dream World, and earn about 600K per day when you get your first stack. Not even that, you can use Join Avenue to get lots of money with the treasure shop. But enough about that. When you get through the game, you can unlock different modes, which differs from Black 2 and White 2, Easy and Challenge mode in addition to the normal game. Black 2 got Challenge mode, which is probably the only thing you want, as most people would like the game to be a tiny bit more challenging. Yes, Black 2 is the easiest game in the series. Easily. But, it's better that it's too easy, than too difficult, as there are lots of rules you can set in your mind to make it challenging. So it's just good that the game becomes easy for the casual players, but can still be challenging for the veterans. And the 5th gen got the best legendaries since 2nd gen. To end, this is by far the best pokemon game in terms of gameplay. Though I hate those foongus... Expand
  22. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    With a different plot and new areas in the Unova Region, "Pokemon Black Version 2" is able to surprise with a new journey, a more variety of Pokemon, and a new feel. Unlike "Pokemon Platinum", players are able to experience its region in a different time period, thus, enabling new technology and the areas explored in the first game, being entirely redecorated. Although the Unova region may feel old and tedious at times, "Pokemon Black Version 2" has enough new and interesting qualities to make it feel enjoyable. Expand
  23. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    This is a much more enjoyable experience than the experience I had with the first one (besides the story).

    The post-game content is better than ever, the music is just as awesome (if not better), but it did feel more like Black and white 2.0 rather than Black and White 2 (if ya get what I am saying).

    But besides that this is still a great game (9 out of 10), and I recommend this game
    to almost everyone. Expand
  24. Aug 6, 2013
    9
    this game is a lot of fun. join avenue is fun... the battle subway is fun HECK even trading with other players is fun! i cant see a reason to not give this at least a 9 but i just cant bring myself to give it a 10.
  25. Sep 10, 2013
    9
    Pokemon Black 2 and White 2 are among the greatest games any Pokemon fan could play ((I have been playing since yellow)) With it's great graphics and sound that could only be matched by their prequels, Now with the actual game play, In the Original Black and White I lost a lot of interest after the 4th gym. In Black/White 2 there's enough in the games to keep you playing for hours on end ((and i have played 600+ hours on my Black 2)) The expanded pokedex makes a great addition. Now with a MUCH better plot than the original, team plasma looks more sinister than before, and their new outfits AND attitudes are a lot better than the original ((People in eskimo clothing screaming: PLASMAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!)) though some grunts appear in the original outfit. The only thing i would want from this, MORE OF A CHALLENGE Expand
  26. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    Ever since I first picked up Pokémon Pearl as my first Pokémon game ever, I'd fallen in love with the series. While I do admit Black and Whitete 1 were kind of a let down compared to the rest of the series, I simply cannot say the same for Black and White 2. Let's face it, the Unova region was a line in the first versions. However, in Black and White 2, the Unova region has more twists and turns and routes while still clinging to its hexagonal roots. Hidden Grottoes were a way more fun way to get hidden ability pokemon compared to the somewhat tedious act of having to transfer them from your computer. Join Avenue was a really cool addition seeing that you could customize your shops to your liking. The key system is awesome seeing that you could either up the challenge or lower it. The story is very interesting seeing that it's a direct sequel to Black and White 1 and while you don't need to have played the first ones to understand the story, you'd certainly get more out of it. The Unova region finally has obtainable pokemon from other generations before the Pokémon League, something its predecessors lacked. And while I could go on listing things I like about for a while, let's get to what they got wrong. Honestly there isn't much they got wrong this time around. Other than the still stupid AI even in Challenge mode, and the return of the infamous C-Gear, there isn't anything really I have to complain about; except Garbordor. You really messed up there. While it still clings to its roots and the title alone seems like it'll be a rip off, you'll find something in here that you love, whether you're returning from Black and White or just starting out. It isn't perfect, but it's sure a rerun worth more than what you'd paid for it. I give this game a 9.5/10 Expand
  27. Oct 5, 2013
    9
    This game is amazing! It's on of the best Pokemon games and you will surely enjoy it. It has a big world and the pixel art is amazing. There are so many different Pokemon you can catch. This game may have hours of game play, but when all that gameplay is over, you caught all 649 pokemon, then theres nothing to do and its becomes almost boring. Overall, awesome game and I really recommend it for RPG fans. Expand
  28. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Wow! Pokemon Black 2 is just AMAZING! It has unlike black and white, Pokemon from all regions from the get go! This leads to every player having unique teams. The story in this game is amazing. It is probably the first Pokemon game that had me go WOW in the story. It does make it more enjoyable if you have already played Pokemon Black or White as the events that happened there are referenced a lot. The Pokemon world tournament is a neat addition that allows you to fight gym leaders and champions from previous games. You can even fight Red! So if you like Pokemon or RPG's in general, or even just want a game that will actually hold your attention, Pokemon Black 2 is for you! Expand
  29. Aug 2, 2013
    9
    If you have to choose between Black and White or Black 2 and White 2, go with black and white. Not saying this game is bad, far from it, its just not as good as the prequels. Unlike most pokemon sequels to their main game series masterpieces, this one has a different storyline that I actually like more. It's more intense and intriguing in my opinion. Team Plasma is more intimidating this time, most likely due to them ditching the original ridiculous outfits for a more ninja appearance which looks great! The region is a lot different because you start on the opposite side of the region. You can trade right from the start which I liked, as you had to beat the game before you could trade in the first games, but it was a nice challenge not to trade. The music is even better than the first, it's mostly remixed, but it sounds amazing! It got hard very fast though, the enemies levels went up faster than I could level up. I suggest waiting until the game gets a little cheaper then go and buy it, still a great game though. Expand
  30. Feb 27, 2013
    0
    When Pokemon Black and White came out, I was blown away at the sheer size of the game, overhauled battle scenes, and a completely new set of Pokemon to explore. Black 2 provides this epic experience and more. The story plot is similar to the other games, but small twists along the way make it a refreshing experience for veterans. The dynamic camera during battles is kept, giving a realistic edge to the gameplay. No new Pokemon are created, but new forms are a welcome addition to the mostly linear Unova Pokedex. When exploring, the camera will occasionally zoom out/in or pan left or right, giving a quality new to the series (handheld; ones for the GameCube do this too). The story plot is a direct sequel to the previous, making it the third Pokemon game so far to do that. Familiar faces from Black and White reappear, along with new people. Even after the main story arc is complete, many side quests are sure to keep you busy for a long while. This is hands down one of the best games, Pokemon or otherwise, that Nintendo has created. Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Mar 20, 2013
    78
    They're still good games, but there's nothing overtly special about them that makes them stand out from the rest of the series or, more importantly, Black and White 1.
  2. Jan 10, 2013
    75
    Like the first game, Pokémon Black: Version 2 is a solid title that most fans will enjoy. The addictive qualities remain, and partaking in the quest to meet and capture every Pokémon is still as exciting as it was several handheld generations ago. While the base game is still great, longtime fans will be less enthused by the restrictions, despite the many improvements and included modes. For those looking for their next series fix, this entry will do nicely.
  3. 70
    Classic collect-them-all RPG offers challenging battles and quite-a-lot Pokémons to train. [Christmas 2012]