Pokemon Black Version 2 DS

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 211 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 211
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 6, 2013
    8
    Pokemon Black 2 far surpasses all of it's predecessors. With what little holes that Black had, Black 2 fills those up nicely. Nintendo and Gamefreak continue to show why they're the best at what they do.
  2. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    With a different plot and new areas in the Unova Region, "Pokemon Black Version 2" is able to surprise with a new journey, a more variety of Pokemon, and a new feel. Unlike "Pokemon Platinum", players are able to experience its region in a different time period, thus, enabling new technology and the areas explored in the first game, being entirely redecorated. Although the Unova region mayWith a different plot and new areas in the Unova Region, "Pokemon Black Version 2" is able to surprise with a new journey, a more variety of Pokemon, and a new feel. Unlike "Pokemon Platinum", players are able to experience its region in a different time period, thus, enabling new technology and the areas explored in the first game, being entirely redecorated. Although the Unova region may feel old and tedious at times, "Pokemon Black Version 2" has enough new and interesting qualities to make it feel enjoyable. Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2014
    8
    This game took what was wrong with the original B/W and brought us an expanded region and the best post-game in the series so far. Even though the main storyline is not that exciting and I still don't like most of the 5-gen Pokémon designs, this game is a solid title indeed.
  4. Apr 23, 2017
    8
    8.5 - Another well done Pokemon game, as usual. The locations in this were done very nicely, varying a lot. Gameplay is smooth and consistently fun. Not the best of a Gen but regardless still Pokemon.
  5. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    I haven't played a Pokemon game since Emerald and I must say, I am impressed. Those people that say Pokemon uses the same formula bla bla bla are wrong. Black 2 (and i'm sure white 2) is a fun, fresh, exciting outing in the region of Unova and I haven't been disappointed yet. I would recommend this to anyone that hasn't played the previous Black/White versions as the story isn't hard toI haven't played a Pokemon game since Emerald and I must say, I am impressed. Those people that say Pokemon uses the same formula bla bla bla are wrong. Black 2 (and i'm sure white 2) is a fun, fresh, exciting outing in the region of Unova and I haven't been disappointed yet. I would recommend this to anyone that hasn't played the previous Black/White versions as the story isn't hard to follow at all and I mean, IT'S POKEMON Expand
  6. May 12, 2013
    8
    At my age I thought Pokémon was a dying franchise, and was still cramming down as many games and T.V shows; I still think the shows should've stop. With the release of the newest generation of Pokémon I was not interested in buying this game, but I eventually succumbed to curiosity and purchased Pokémon white. I thought that was one of the best ones ever, the gameplay, the strategy, it wasAt my age I thought Pokémon was a dying franchise, and was still cramming down as many games and T.V shows; I still think the shows should've stop. With the release of the newest generation of Pokémon I was not interested in buying this game, but I eventually succumbed to curiosity and purchased Pokémon white. I thought that was one of the best ones ever, the gameplay, the strategy, it was a great experience. When I heard shortly after the release of the first one the was another one coming out: Black & White 2. I thought it was too soon for another one, but I ended up getting it anyways. So I thought it would be another version of the same game but with minor differences. In a way it kind of was, but in another way it improves in many other factors. Like the story has improved, and is more interesting, but like the previous games it just comes and goes. There's actually no giant significant difference from its previous instllment, it's actually the little things that makes this game a bit better. That's what I think of this game: It's a little bit better. Expand
  7. Aug 2, 2013
    9
    If you have to choose between Black and White or Black 2 and White 2, go with black and white. Not saying this game is bad, far from it, its just not as good as the prequels. Unlike most pokemon sequels to their main game series masterpieces, this one has a different storyline that I actually like more. It's more intense and intriguing in my opinion. Team Plasma is more intimidating thisIf you have to choose between Black and White or Black 2 and White 2, go with black and white. Not saying this game is bad, far from it, its just not as good as the prequels. Unlike most pokemon sequels to their main game series masterpieces, this one has a different storyline that I actually like more. It's more intense and intriguing in my opinion. Team Plasma is more intimidating this time, most likely due to them ditching the original ridiculous outfits for a more ninja appearance which looks great! The region is a lot different because you start on the opposite side of the region. You can trade right from the start which I liked, as you had to beat the game before you could trade in the first games, but it was a nice challenge not to trade. The music is even better than the first, it's mostly remixed, but it sounds amazing! It got hard very fast though, the enemies levels went up faster than I could level up. I suggest waiting until the game gets a little cheaper then go and buy it, still a great game though. Expand
  8. Dec 28, 2013
    8
    This game takes away some of the best parts about the first entry. It allows you to have Pokemon from other regions, which leaves the experience to be too predictable, and you'll go straight to your favorites. There is new content, but the way it's assembled into the previous entry feels awkward.

    Overall, it's still a great Pokemon game with probably the largest amount of content in
    This game takes away some of the best parts about the first entry. It allows you to have Pokemon from other regions, which leaves the experience to be too predictable, and you'll go straight to your favorites. There is new content, but the way it's assembled into the previous entry feels awkward.

    Overall, it's still a great Pokemon game with probably the largest amount of content in any game. For the first time in forever, I was happy to get my Pokemon to level 100
    Expand
  9. Oct 7, 2012
    8
    A game that packs more punch than it would appear on the surface. For the first time in franchise's history, the traditional "third version" feels like an actual new adventure instead of the same experience repackaged. For starters, the dex got massively expanded - a whopping 150 Pokemon (more than ever before) were added to the Unova Pokedex, including fan-favourites such as Growlithe andA game that packs more punch than it would appear on the surface. For the first time in franchise's history, the traditional "third version" feels like an actual new adventure instead of the same experience repackaged. For starters, the dex got massively expanded - a whopping 150 Pokemon (more than ever before) were added to the Unova Pokedex, including fan-favourites such as Growlithe and Eevee. Picking your final 6 of such a massive collection is nothing short of a challenge, and greatly contributes to the series already excellent replayability. The way you progress through the map is also very different - several new zones were added, and on top of that, each of the old zones got nicely redesigned, making them feel fresh. The game is also feels a bit less linear than BW - there are more caves, hidden secrets, more non-obligatory routes and places (like a haunted house). However, several problems, some of which were present in BW1, still remain unsolved. Musicals only "advantage" is that you're not forced to play them this time around. The hyped Pokemon World Tournament is frankly a poor man's Battle Frontier - no amount of fanservice is going to hide the fact that it's a compilation of easy, boring battles that any half-competent player will breeze through in 10 minutes tops. Online service is still mediocre at best - Dream World should only be played by total masochists, Random Match-ups are marred by disconnectors and cheaters, while Global trade station still allows for ridiculous things such as the famed lv.9 Reshiram (not legally obtainable by any means!). Despite this, Pokemon Black 2 and White 2 remain a great addition to the DS collection, and a game that hopefully all future "third versions" will follow suit. Expand
  10. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    When this game was announced in March of 2012 with Black and White Kyurem also being announced, I thought to myself " Yes, a new Pokémon game, but still in Unova?" Yes, I knew about the third game thing Nintendo and Game Freak do with the franchise. As the game released in Japan and I watched many walkthroughs of it to see what I could expect, my excitement kept falling and falling.When this game was announced in March of 2012 with Black and White Kyurem also being announced, I thought to myself " Yes, a new Pokémon game, but still in Unova?" Yes, I knew about the third game thing Nintendo and Game Freak do with the franchise. As the game released in Japan and I watched many walkthroughs of it to see what I could expect, my excitement kept falling and falling. Until Christmas Day, when I got the game and I gave it a shot. I love Unova two years later because it is SOOOOO pretty and you will be seeing a lot of familiar faces. The amount of Pokémon in the game is very helpful than the first. While there was only 150 Pokémon in the first game's Unova Pokédex, the number has doubled in this game, bringing it up to 300. Some of these Pokémon include Riolu, Eevee and Trapinch. You can also get a Zorua in game without going to an event and that Zorua is a very special Zorua indeed. Also, the conflict between the Team Plasma of past and present is very interesting to watch at how N and Ghetsis rule each of their teams. And its the little things to that make this game brilliant. Asking to spray a Repel when your previous one has run out without going into your bag. The animations of Trainers. The amount of good training spots, which is something all Pokémon Trainers will appreciate. Tons of replay value. I was fighting a Clefable just a while ago, it used Metronome and it said " Wagging a finger let the foe's Clefable use..." These are the little things that make this game so great. But with great advantages comes some disadvantages. Some of the boss battles, like Gym Leaders, are too easy. Like Ghetsis in the last game WAY overpowered but in this game, his Pokémon are easy to take out and fighting his Hydreigon is just not as scary as it was in the first game. And at the beginning, there is a HUGE tutorial on the basics, which are not to be told to experienced Trainers but is useful for beginners. Like, I got asked how to open a bag, for God sake! But these are only little things. All in all, this is a great game and a huge improvement on the first game and the best Pokémon game I have played, mabye the best one yet! Expand
  11. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    This is the best pokemon game I've ever played! I didn't think the DS had all that much to offer anymore but this game surely proved me wrong! Yesss! Overall the visuals, music, adventures and characters mix together into a wonderful DS gaming experience!
  12. Nov 2, 2012
    8
    In comparison with Pokemon Black and White, versions 2 give more than enough additional content and catchable Pokemon early in the game to make them feel brand new, yet it has enough references and similarities to make it at least a sequel. Pros: Pokemon from previous generations are made available throughout the game; Zorua is easily attainable; Wi-Fi connectivity offers a ton ofIn comparison with Pokemon Black and White, versions 2 give more than enough additional content and catchable Pokemon early in the game to make them feel brand new, yet it has enough references and similarities to make it at least a sequel. Pros: Pokemon from previous generations are made available throughout the game; Zorua is easily attainable; Wi-Fi connectivity offers a ton of multiplayer value; one of the most visually delightful Pokemon games to date. Cons: As with Black and White, lots of unnecessarily forced dialogue; formulaic for those who want refreshing gameplay. Expand
  13. Dec 16, 2012
    10
    Flawless game!!!....there is so much inside this game that makes this game great like the amazing pwt tournaments....the many legendaries including the Regis.....sure the game is different compared to all the old pokemon games but this game is still a great game....this game has endless small details like the pokestar studios....it's hard to get board in this game because it's endless...
  14. Mar 20, 2015
    9
    This game is a massive improvement from the original. The story is great, battles is fun, it has a large rooster to choose from, and its a good time for anyone. I recommend this game, Its my favorite in the entire franchise.
  15. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    Hands down, the best game of the generation. It has really nice touches, like the Pokémon World Tournament. Improved story and map. However it could have been only 1 game (gray or grey version) instead of 2.
  16. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    Best Pokemon game ever. The story is very intriguing & will make you ask what would happen next. The best part is the contents of the game. You won't get bored with this.
  17. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Pokemon Black and White 2 are one of the best entries in the series so far. There are a mixture of small and big changes, but all make the game feel fresh. The simple inclusion of pre-Unova Pokemon and new starting towns helps the starting zone feel new and exciting. While I generally preferred the story in Black and White, the journey to the Elite Four I found much more enjoyable in BlackPokemon Black and White 2 are one of the best entries in the series so far. There are a mixture of small and big changes, but all make the game feel fresh. The simple inclusion of pre-Unova Pokemon and new starting towns helps the starting zone feel new and exciting. While I generally preferred the story in Black and White, the journey to the Elite Four I found much more enjoyable in Black and White 2. Other additions include the Pokestar Studios (a film making "minigame", that is very enjoyable), Join Avenue (sort of like a customizable mall) and Pokemon World Tournament (which allows you to battle past Gym Leaders and Champions). The Memory Link was also a clever feature, allowing players who have completed Black and White to get new pieces of story in the two year gap. If you liked any of the Pokemon games at all, you'll like this one. Expand
  18. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is really enjoyable!!! The pokemon in this new region offer a new experience for everyone and the Gym leaders give out enjoyable battles. Finally, there are different levels of difficulty once you beat the game depending on which version you are playing! There is high replay value after the game, which you can go to Nimbasa City and go to the stadiums, battle Gym leaders at the PWT and record movies at Pokestar Studios! NOTHING GETS BETTER THAN THAT!!! Expand
  19. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    I have played Gold, Ruby, Platinum, HeartGold and Black before, and to compare, this game got replay value. Lots of it. If you're ever going to play it, do it now while the Pokemon Global Link is supporting the game. Yes, the Pokemon Dream World is quite childish, but if you just ignore that, you have LOTS of available pokemon, without even trading. Probably the most of any game in theI have played Gold, Ruby, Platinum, HeartGold and Black before, and to compare, this game got replay value. Lots of it. If you're ever going to play it, do it now while the Pokemon Global Link is supporting the game. Yes, the Pokemon Dream World is quite childish, but if you just ignore that, you have LOTS of available pokemon, without even trading. Probably the most of any game in the series. When you get through the game, Join Avenue is probably the best thing that has happened to the game. The grind to hatch eggs, happiness, EVs and levels are probably the reasons why most people won't bother trying to get the perfect pokemon. Getting money isn't difficult at all, as you can trade (easily with other players) and plant ultra rare berries in the Dream World, and earn about 600K per day when you get your first stack. Not even that, you can use Join Avenue to get lots of money with the treasure shop. But enough about that. When you get through the game, you can unlock different modes, which differs from Black 2 and White 2, Easy and Challenge mode in addition to the normal game. Black 2 got Challenge mode, which is probably the only thing you want, as most people would like the game to be a tiny bit more challenging. Yes, Black 2 is the easiest game in the series. Easily. But, it's better that it's too easy, than too difficult, as there are lots of rules you can set in your mind to make it challenging. So it's just good that the game becomes easy for the casual players, but can still be challenging for the veterans. And the 5th gen got the best legendaries since 2nd gen. To end, this is by far the best pokemon game in terms of gameplay. Though I hate those foongus... Expand
  20. Aug 15, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In my opinion, the best Pokemon game ever released. As the first true sequel to a Pokemon game, it sure doesn't disappoint. Pokemon Black 2 and White 2 is set two years after the games Pokemon Black and White and is very impressive. The last Pokemon Nintendo DS game released I think is the greatest. There is a lot more to do, Join Avenue, Pokestar Studios, Pokemon World Tournament, getting all of the medals and the Black Tower/White Treehollow. And it is a lot of fun to do all of that, Join Avenue is almost like the Pokemon equivalent of Streetpass. It's just that great. Oh, and the story is wonderful. Team Plasma pose a more serious threat and an outstanding Ghetsis battle. The music just kicks ass, while it continues to use some music from its predecessors it has some new music to go along with it very well! The graphics aren't all that great, but it's fine as it's a Pokemon game. I really like the camera work done and I'm happy with the little extra details, such as animated trainers. Kyurem gets two new forms, Black and White Kyurem. This opens more opportunity for teams and stretches billions more possible team combinations. Plus, all of your favourite Pokemon from the previous regions appear in Unova now! And not just outbreaks and areas with story needed to be done to see it. Normally, it would only get a nine, but if you played Pokemon Black or White before this, you will notice how much Unova really has changed and you are able to activate flashbacks. It's pretty neat.
    Trust me, don't buy X and Y just yet. This game is more worth getting. :)
    Expand
  21. May 1, 2016
    9
    A worthy sequel to the great games. Gen 5 kills the other gens in term of story and characters. All the characters are fleshed out and actually interesting. This game improves on what Pokemon Black/White had problems with. The Pokemon World Tournament is a great and fun, and you can now catch the previous gen Pokemons without having to complete the main storyline.
  22. Oct 7, 2012
    9
    Pokemon black and white 2 hands down the best second installment the series has seen.This game has more then the traditonal Pokemon game , giving a refreshing feel from the new gym leaders to Pokemon world championship.This game packs charming visuals more then the original and the continuation of the story and seeing how unova grown is truly charming.
  23. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    As the first real sequel to any Main-Series Pokemon game, Black 2 and White 2 are amazing. Any faults in the original Black and White were fixed, story that was left unclear was cleaned up, Move Tutors, more areas to the Unova Region and anything you were expecting from Black and White will most likely have it. Also, intermixing different region Pokemon is back. Awesome.
  24. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    This is a much more enjoyable experience than the experience I had with the first one (besides the story).

    The post-game content is better than ever, the music is just as awesome (if not better), but it did feel more like Black and white 2.0 rather than Black and White 2 (if ya get what I am saying). But besides that this is still a great game (9 out of 10), and I recommend this game
    This is a much more enjoyable experience than the experience I had with the first one (besides the story).

    The post-game content is better than ever, the music is just as awesome (if not better), but it did feel more like Black and white 2.0 rather than Black and White 2 (if ya get what I am saying).

    But besides that this is still a great game (9 out of 10), and I recommend this game to almost everyone.
    Expand
  25. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    The recent release of Pocket Monsters Black Version 2 and Pocket Monsters White Version 2 in Japan was a pre-empted shock to those outside the world of Pokémon. Along with the summer arrival came the remorse (as its similarity to HeartGold and SoulSilver, themselves remakes, is striking) of the previous games. Pokémon Black Version 2 and Pokémon White Version 2 are setThe recent release of Pocket Monsters Black Version 2 and Pocket Monsters White Version 2 in Japan was a pre-empted shock to those outside the world of Pokémon. Along with the summer arrival came the remorse (as its similarity to HeartGold and SoulSilver, themselves remakes, is striking) of the previous games. Pokémon Black Version 2 and Pokémon White Version 2 are set two years after the fall of N and Team Plasma, with characters, concepts, and Pokémon never before seen. The story takes place at the same region, Unova, but with a different rival. Also, one of the rivals from the previous game, Cheren, is now a Gym Leader.

    These games also have a new facility known as the Pokémon World Tournament. Not only does this feature allow players to battle every gym leader, as well as champion, from every region (with the exclusion of Koga), but it also changes the battle theme for each opponent they face, upgrading them from memories lost to memories regained, and transforms the game itself into a battle-field fit for all players of all genders and generations, making for a never-ending TRUE Pokémon battle between masters!
    Expand
  26. Oct 12, 2012
    9
    Black 2 is a sequel to Black and has some improvements. Pokemon World Tournament is addicting, fun, and challenging. Some little things that help like the new repel feature. Still missing the 'shoe button' that was in the HGSS games. Some new areas and gym leaders.
  27. Feb 27, 2013
    10
    When Pokemon Black and White came out, I was blown away at the sheer size of the game, overhauled battle scenes, and a completely new set of Pokemon to explore. Black 2 provides this epic experience and more. The story plot is similar to the other games, but small twists along the way make it a refreshing experience for veterans. The dynamic camera during battles is kept, giving aWhen Pokemon Black and White came out, I was blown away at the sheer size of the game, overhauled battle scenes, and a completely new set of Pokemon to explore. Black 2 provides this epic experience and more. The story plot is similar to the other games, but small twists along the way make it a refreshing experience for veterans. The dynamic camera during battles is kept, giving a realistic edge to the gameplay. No new Pokemon are created, but new forms are a welcome addition to the mostly linear Unova Pokedex. When exploring, the camera will occasionally zoom out/in or pan left or right, giving a quality new to the series (handheld; ones for the GameCube do this too). The story plot is a direct sequel to the previous, making it the third Pokemon game so far to do that. Familiar faces from Black and White reappear, along with new people. Even after the main story arc is complete, many side quests are sure to keep you busy for a long while. This is hands down one of the best games, Pokemon or otherwise, that Nintendo has created. Expand
  28. May 9, 2014
    9
    I think that is game is a solid improvement from its predecessor Pokemon Black. In the short two years, there have been lots of changes, and if you are looking for a new experience, you will not be disappointed. The story is remarkably different, yet just as interesting, if not more so than the story in Pokemon Black, with new Pokemon, cities and towns, routes, important characters, GymI think that is game is a solid improvement from its predecessor Pokemon Black. In the short two years, there have been lots of changes, and if you are looking for a new experience, you will not be disappointed. The story is remarkably different, yet just as interesting, if not more so than the story in Pokemon Black, with new Pokemon, cities and towns, routes, important characters, Gym Leaders, and more. Many of the music tracks from the previous installment have been changed and enhanced, and of course there are new tracks that complement the environment, scenery, and Pokemon battles. Honestly, Game Freak should be commended for actually significantly changing the game this time around in comparison to Pokemon games of the past where the final version merely has minor differences here and there.

    That said, however, perhaps too much has been added or changed from the previous installment. There seems to have been some sort of attempt to deviate from the linearity of Pokemon Black, which is understandable, but the game has become too 'non-linear'; there is content literally everywhere and it soon becomes a burden-of-knowledge scenario. Of course, this could be dismissed and the abundance of content would have been a huge plus if the story-line was less strict and more adventurous like an open world, but since the story-line and sequence of the game is so strict, as if to make the game easy for kids (ugh, this generation of kids is bad at video games), you find yourself in the paradox of overly-linear gameplay, and yet an open and plentiful region. Similarly, the Pokedex has expanded almost too much; by including Pokemon en masse from every other region, the Pokemon from the native region have become respectively less unique, making the Pokedex more generic, and its size contributes to the burden-of-knowledge as well - again, a more open world would have remedied this and easily turned it into a bonus, considering the nature of the region itself.

    All in all, I feel that much of the adventurous potential has gone to waste, but regardless, these problems are not nearly enough to avoid an enhanced, thoughtful, story-driven, and thus worthy edition to the franchise.
    Expand
  29. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    In short, it improves upon everything that was introduced in B/W 1. With all new zones, a wider Pokemon roster, more attention to detail and generally so much more to do, once you go B/W 2, you'll never want to go back. Arguably the best game in my opinion since the original Gold/Silver. The only qualms I have with this particular entry is the plot, which went out with a whimper, unlikeIn short, it improves upon everything that was introduced in B/W 1. With all new zones, a wider Pokemon roster, more attention to detail and generally so much more to do, once you go B/W 2, you'll never want to go back. Arguably the best game in my opinion since the original Gold/Silver. The only qualms I have with this particular entry is the plot, which went out with a whimper, unlike the original's fantastic climax. Which is a shame, considering they got everything else just right.

    It is rather sad, however, as this will be the last G5 game, seeing as Game Freak will probably head off to do a remake of Sapphire/Ruby for the DS, before finally moving to the 3DS. By then, maybe fans will finally get the definitive Pokemon game to rule them all.
    Expand
  30. Aug 6, 2013
    9
    this game is a lot of fun. join avenue is fun... the battle subway is fun HECK even trading with other players is fun! i cant see a reason to not give this at least a 9 but i just cant bring myself to give it a 10.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed DS Game of 2012
#1 Most Shared DS Game of 2012
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Mar 20, 2013
    78
    They're still good games, but there's nothing overtly special about them that makes them stand out from the rest of the series or, more importantly, Black and White 1.
  2. Jan 10, 2013
    75
    Like the first game, Pokémon Black: Version 2 is a solid title that most fans will enjoy. The addictive qualities remain, and partaking in the quest to meet and capture every Pokémon is still as exciting as it was several handheld generations ago. While the base game is still great, longtime fans will be less enthused by the restrictions, despite the many improvements and included modes. For those looking for their next series fix, this entry will do nicely.
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 21, 2012
    70
    Classic collect-them-all RPG offers challenging battles and quite-a-lot Pokémons to train. [Christmas 2012]