Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 152 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the Pokemon Black Version 2 game, players can explore new areas, discover gyms with new leaders and see how everything has changed in the last two years.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Oct 3, 2012
    96
    Pokémon Black Version 2 is far more than a traditional mid-generation release, with enough new and repurposed content to keep you occupied for months on end.
  2. Oct 15, 2012
    90
    Newcomers and hardcore fans who played the original titles will be served with the best Poké-game ever made and one of the best and deepest action-adventure-RPG titles on Nintendo DS.
  3. Oct 25, 2012
    85
    Are Pokémon Black and White 2 just as impressive as other Pokémon games? No. Can you enjoy the games just as much as any other Pokémon game? Yes! Pokémon Black and White 2 are refined versions of the first Pokémon Black and White games that offers enough new content to keep you entertained for forty, sixty or even a hundred hours of Pokéfun. Just don't expect any revolutionary changes.
  4. Oct 1, 2012
    80
    Pokémon is as complex as it's ever been but still extremely accessible to those who want to play for the first time. With Black 2 & White 2, Game Freak has actually created an entirely new story to accompany its usual 3rd (and 4th) installment to generation 5. Unfortunately, the story feels like a less enthralling narrative than the original installments.
  5. Oct 24, 2012
    80
    I want to find 'em all, catch 'em all and train 'em all. But on the other side I dread the level grind, the shallow role-playing and the rocky online connectivity. Then again you get solid and motivating entertainment over weeks, months, if not years. But I am not as euphoric as I thought I should be.
  6. Nov 7, 2012
    75
    Overall, I think creating an actual sequel to the existing dual releases seems to be a more interesting approach than simply crafting a third standalone game that offers up refinements but rehashes the general plot and setting, which is pretty much the way handheld Pokémon adventures have operated since the beginning.
  7. Oct 19, 2012
    60
    If you are an avid Pokémon fan, what you get with Black & White Version 2 is a true Pokémon experience.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 43
  2. Negative: 2 out of 43
  1. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    Best Pokemon game ever. The story is very intriguing & will make you ask what would happen next. The best part is the contents of the game. You won't get bored with this. Expand
  2. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    I have played Gold, Ruby, Platinum, HeartGold and Black before, and to compare, this game got replay value. Lots of it. If you're ever going to play it, do it now while the Pokemon Global Link is supporting the game. Yes, the Pokemon Dream World is quite childish, but if you just ignore that, you have LOTS of available pokemon, without even trading. Probably the most of any game in the series. When you get through the game, Join Avenue is probably the best thing that has happened to the game. The grind to hatch eggs, happiness, EVs and levels are probably the reasons why most people won't bother trying to get the perfect pokemon. Getting money isn't difficult at all, as you can trade (easily with other players) and plant ultra rare berries in the Dream World, and earn about 600K per day when you get your first stack. Not even that, you can use Join Avenue to get lots of money with the treasure shop. But enough about that. When you get through the game, you can unlock different modes, which differs from Black 2 and White 2, Easy and Challenge mode in addition to the normal game. Black 2 got Challenge mode, which is probably the only thing you want, as most people would like the game to be a tiny bit more challenging. Yes, Black 2 is the easiest game in the series. Easily. But, it's better that it's too easy, than too difficult, as there are lots of rules you can set in your mind to make it challenging. So it's just good that the game becomes easy for the casual players, but can still be challenging for the veterans. And the 5th gen got the best legendaries since 2nd gen. To end, this is by far the best pokemon game in terms of gameplay. Though I hate those foongus... Expand
  3. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Pokemon Black and White 2 are one of the best entries in the series so far. There are a mixture of small and big changes, but all make the game feel fresh. The simple inclusion of pre-Unova Pokemon and new starting towns helps the starting zone feel new and exciting. While I generally preferred the story in Black and White, the journey to the Elite Four I found much more enjoyable in Black and White 2. Other additions include the Pokestar Studios (a film making "minigame", that is very enjoyable), Join Avenue (sort of like a customizable mall) and Pokemon World Tournament (which allows you to battle past Gym Leaders and Champions). The Memory Link was also a clever feature, allowing players who have completed Black and White to get new pieces of story in the two year gap. If you liked any of the Pokemon games at all, you'll like this one. Collapse
  4. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    This is a much more enjoyable experience than the experience I had with the first one (besides the story).

    The post-game content is better
    than ever, the music is just as awesome (if not better), but it did feel more like Black and white 2.0 rather than Black and White 2 (if ya get what I am saying).

    But besides that this is still a great game (9 out of 10), and I recommend this game to almost everyone.
    Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    Hands down, the best game of the generation. It has really nice touches, like the Pokémon World Tournament. Improved story and map. However it could have been only 1 game (gray or grey version) instead of 2. Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2012
    8
    Pluses: It is still Pokemon, they have added may areas and storylines. Minuses: Not a completely New game- not a full set of new Pokemon, keeps many of the problems Black & White 1 Expand
  7. Dec 16, 2013
    3
    My review on Pokémon Black and White 2
    [Part 1] part one is about battle actions, glitches and bad looking Pokémon.

    If you like Pokémon
    B.W. you might not like Pokémon Black and White 2.This version isn’t a big improvement. While there are two new forms for Kyurem [Pokémon] it looks dangerous and ugly. In the game the images are the same as in Black and White.
    Some Pokémon battle actions [where they move or look stupid] look like they died. Charizard’s battle action is the worst. In the original games Charizard could never bend his neck but in Black and White 2 his neck is always bent. Why did they ruin it?
    There are a lot of glitches in Pokémon Black and White 2 like Dodrio [normal and flying type Pokémon]. The game allows you to teach it the H.M. [hidden move] Fly which allows you to fly to places you’ve been.
    Dodrio does not have wings and three heads I mean like how does it fly? It’s stupid! Another glitch is Ghost girl. I’m not sure if she’s a glitch, she is a question in the game. If she is not a glitch she is a question left unanswered. No one knows what she is supposed to be for.
    Overall, I would not recommend you to spend any money on this game.
    Expand

See all 43 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.