Pokemon Black Version 2 DS

Pokemon Black Version 2 Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 215 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the Pokemon Black Version 2 game, players can explore new areas, discover gyms with new leaders and see how everything has changed in the last two years.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Oct 3, 2012
    96
    Pokémon Black Version 2 is far more than a traditional mid-generation release, with enough new and repurposed content to keep you occupied for months on end.
  2. Oct 15, 2012
    90
    Newcomers and hardcore fans who played the original titles will be served with the best Poké-game ever made and one of the best and deepest action-adventure-RPG titles on Nintendo DS.
  3. Oct 25, 2012
    85
    Are Pokémon Black and White 2 just as impressive as other Pokémon games? No. Can you enjoy the games just as much as any other Pokémon game? Yes! Pokémon Black and White 2 are refined versions of the first Pokémon Black and White games that offers enough new content to keep you entertained for forty, sixty or even a hundred hours of Pokéfun. Just don't expect any revolutionary changes.
  4. Oct 1, 2012
    80
    Pokémon is as complex as it's ever been but still extremely accessible to those who want to play for the first time. With Black 2 & White 2, Game Freak has actually created an entirely new story to accompany its usual 3rd (and 4th) installment to generation 5. Unfortunately, the story feels like a less enthralling narrative than the original installments.
  5. Oct 24, 2012
    80
    I want to find 'em all, catch 'em all and train 'em all. But on the other side I dread the level grind, the shallow role-playing and the rocky online connectivity. Then again you get solid and motivating entertainment over weeks, months, if not years. But I am not as euphoric as I thought I should be.
  6. Nov 7, 2012
    75
    Overall, I think creating an actual sequel to the existing dual releases seems to be a more interesting approach than simply crafting a third standalone game that offers up refinements but rehashes the general plot and setting, which is pretty much the way handheld Pokémon adventures have operated since the beginning.
  7. Oct 19, 2012
    60
    If you are an avid Pokémon fan, what you get with Black & White Version 2 is a true Pokémon experience.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 50
  2. Negative: 3 out of 50
  1. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    Best Pokemon game ever. The story is very intriguing & will make you ask what would happen next. The best part is the contents of the game.Best Pokemon game ever. The story is very intriguing & will make you ask what would happen next. The best part is the contents of the game. You won't get bored with this. Expand
  2. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    As the first real sequel to any Main-Series Pokemon game, Black 2 and White 2 are amazing. Any faults in the original Black and White wereAs the first real sequel to any Main-Series Pokemon game, Black 2 and White 2 are amazing. Any faults in the original Black and White were fixed, story that was left unclear was cleaned up, Move Tutors, more areas to the Unova Region and anything you were expecting from Black and White will most likely have it. Also, intermixing different region Pokemon is back. Awesome. Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    Pokemon, The only thing I can really say bad about this entry in the Pokemon series is that......... Nothing to say really. I'm currently onPokemon, The only thing I can really say bad about this entry in the Pokemon series is that......... Nothing to say really. I'm currently on my sixth badge and I must say its my first time choosing a water type starter for my journey (and all other Pokemon games that ever existed) and I regret it. It was so difficult to beat most of the gym leaders most notably the felt-hat-guy (cant remember name) I'm mainly a fire type user. Expand
  4. May 9, 2014
    9
    I think that is game is a solid improvement from its predecessor Pokemon Black. In the short two years, there have been lots of changes, andI think that is game is a solid improvement from its predecessor Pokemon Black. In the short two years, there have been lots of changes, and if you are looking for a new experience, you will not be disappointed. The story is remarkably different, yet just as interesting, if not more so than the story in Pokemon Black, with new Pokemon, cities and towns, routes, important characters, Gym Leaders, and more. Many of the music tracks from the previous installment have been changed and enhanced, and of course there are new tracks that complement the environment, scenery, and Pokemon battles. Honestly, Game Freak should be commended for actually significantly changing the game this time around in comparison to Pokemon games of the past where the final version merely has minor differences here and there.

    That said, however, perhaps too much has been added or changed from the previous installment. There seems to have been some sort of attempt to deviate from the linearity of Pokemon Black, which is understandable, but the game has become too 'non-linear'; there is content literally everywhere and it soon becomes a burden-of-knowledge scenario. Of course, this could be dismissed and the abundance of content would have been a huge plus if the story-line was less strict and more adventurous like an open world, but since the story-line and sequence of the game is so strict, as if to make the game easy for kids (ugh, this generation of kids is bad at video games), you find yourself in the paradox of overly-linear gameplay, and yet an open and plentiful region. Similarly, the Pokedex has expanded almost too much; by including Pokemon en masse from every other region, the Pokemon from the native region have become respectively less unique, making the Pokedex more generic, and its size contributes to the burden-of-knowledge as well - again, a more open world would have remedied this and easily turned it into a bonus, considering the nature of the region itself.

    All in all, I feel that much of the adventurous potential has gone to waste, but regardless, these problems are not nearly enough to avoid an enhanced, thoughtful, story-driven, and thus worthy edition to the franchise.
    Expand
  5. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    This is a much more enjoyable experience than the experience I had with the first one (besides the story).

    The post-game content is better
    This is a much more enjoyable experience than the experience I had with the first one (besides the story).

    The post-game content is better than ever, the music is just as awesome (if not better), but it did feel more like Black and white 2.0 rather than Black and White 2 (if ya get what I am saying).

    But besides that this is still a great game (9 out of 10), and I recommend this game to almost everyone.
    Expand
  6. Dec 28, 2013
    8
    This game takes away some of the best parts about the first entry. It allows you to have Pokemon from other regions, which leaves theThis game takes away some of the best parts about the first entry. It allows you to have Pokemon from other regions, which leaves the experience to be too predictable, and you'll go straight to your favorites. There is new content, but the way it's assembled into the previous entry feels awkward.

    Overall, it's still a great Pokemon game with probably the largest amount of content in any game. For the first time in forever, I was happy to get my Pokemon to level 100
    Expand
  7. Nov 27, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is horrible. It is the complete polar opposite of its former games pokemon B/W (which were amazing) It's like they took pokemon Black, and flipped it upside down. I barley got through the game. This is the only game in the pokemon series since D/P that I have not gotten both versions. Expand

See all 50 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed DS Game of 2012
#1 Most Shared DS Game of 2012