Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Mar 16, 2011
    100
    The fact that Game Freak dared to remove all the old pokémons from the main story line and replace them with 156 new ones is only one of the reasons for the series feeling fresher than ever. Pokémon Black and White is the most entertaining game yet, and is a must-buy for all Nintendo DS owners.
  2. Mar 5, 2011
    100
    With slick and fast-paced battles, a more adult take on the traditional Pokémon concepts and an entirely new roster of characters, Pokémon Black & White is as close to a "reboot" as the franchise has ever seen, but it doesn't reinvent what doesn't need reinventing.
  3. Mar 4, 2011
    100
    This new Black & White pair of Pokémon games take the necessary and welcome step further in evolving the series. The gameplay's more dynamic thanks to the combat in threes, 3D integration is perfect, new animations for the little animals are welcomed. Communications and trading are easier than ever thanks to new online features. And since the dialogs are better written, and often funny... No doubt remains, Black & White are able to paint new, revived colors on the famous licence!
  4. Mar 14, 2011
    97
    Not much else can be said about Black and White that is any different from what I made clear in the first paragraph; these are the two best Pokemon games yet, and by extension, two of the very best Nintendo DS games ever released.
  5. Mar 8, 2011
    95
    Fifteen years has gone by and Pokemon has evolved much like many of its Pokemon counterparts, into the best Pokemon version to date. With a whole new region to explore and 150 new Pokemon to discover between the two versions and the ability to play with any other trainer in the whole world, this will be hard to beat in the future. This is by far the best Pokemon ever released.
  6. Mar 7, 2011
    95
    Pokémon Black/White is my favorite Pokémon game. That's my opinion. It's also the most robust, fully featured, polished Pokémon game on a technical level. That's an objective fact. Put those opinons and facts together, and you can only come up with one conclusion -- if you like Pokémon, you should go buy Pokémon Black/White. Like, right now.
  7. A beautiful refinement of a great series. Game Freak has surpassed itself - the best Pokemon ever. [Mar 2011, p.87]
  8. 93
    The new battle system and the big new Poké-world feel great. There are a lot of new Pokémon to collect and train. You've got to get used to some of them. Poké-Fans shouldn't miss the new Black and White editions.
  9. Jun 5, 2011
    92
    Learning from the past without ever taking his eyes off the present, this is the pinnacle of the series to date and proof that sometimes you don't need a revolution to give new life to a franchise.
  10. Mar 30, 2011
    91
    The mere fact that this game has the power to rekindle those early feelings of PokéBliss in even the most seasoned-Pokémaniacs is a testament to its freshness and originality.
  11. Mar 8, 2011
    91
    Pokémon Black and White is the pokémon experience you've been waiting for since Gold and Silver. Astonishing.
  12. Mar 4, 2011
    91
    Pokemon Black/White is, without doubt, the best Pokemon ever.
  13. Apr 30, 2011
    90
    Game Freak did it again. Pokemon Black Version is a masterpiece, delivering all the superb gameplay elements that fans of the series learned to love over the years. The only drawback is the dated technology it uses, something that will surely be addressed in the future versions for the 3DS.
  14. Apr 18, 2011
    90
    Actually a Pokémon game with some news. The online modes have been polished, there's new pokémons, quick, better animated battles and better graphics.
  15. Apr 7, 2011
    90
    One of the best generations of Pokemon titles to date, Black & White take almost all of the best elements from the series and then carefully craft it into something truly wonderful; recreating that same sense of adventure from the very first titles.
  16. Mar 31, 2011
    90
    Almost a franchise reboot, Pokémon Black & White is your ultimate Pokémon experience. Overall better than previous generations by any means, this new installment manages to inspire on veteran players a sense of wonder and awe gone missing years ago. The new adventure flows better and is much more intriguing and challenging but of course you are not going to change your mind if you hate Pikachu and friends.
  17. Mar 29, 2011
    90
    After playing Black and White only think about one thing: there's no turning back. From now on this is the way forward, but with even greater conviction.
  18. 90
    If you're into Pokémon, you likely already have the game. If you're not, then this game won't convert you. However, if you've been away from the series for a while, this might be the game to make a return to the series.
  19. Mar 14, 2011
    90
    Pokémon Black is what a sequel should be. While the underlying formula of the game remains enticing and addictive, the improvements to both the gameplay and the multiplayer components make this a strong entry in the series.
  20. Mar 8, 2011
    90
    Better graphics, more quests, more gadgets, more enemies and... more Pokémons! Black and White are, simply, the best Pokémon games of all time and two of the best RPGs available on Nintendo DS.
  21. Mar 8, 2011
    90
    Pokémon: Black Edition is one of the best Pokémon games ever. The mix of good old gameplay and new fresh features is really cool and in my point of view this game is the best looking game on the NDS I have ever seen.
  22. Mar 8, 2011
    90
    Pokémon Black & White are again the strongest additions to the series to date. Game Freak has succeeded once again in creating an even better Pokémon title than all previous iterations and has created another true Pokémon reboot.
  23. Mar 7, 2011
    90
    Nintendo proves once again why Pokemon is not a franchise just for kids. While not the most innovative sequel, Game Freak keeps adding new layers of depth to their formula, once again delivering something truly special to the fans.
  24. Mar 6, 2011
    90
    Game Freak has worked its socks off to ensure that Pokémon Black / White not only live up to the standards set by past entries in the mainline series, but have included a wealth of extra content to entice newcomers to the world of Pocket Monsters.
  25. 90
    With more than 600 Pokémon to catch, you won't be putting this game down any time soon.
  26. Mar 4, 2011
    90
    Black and White are certainly up there with the best of the series: unlike HeartGold and SoulSilver they don't have nostalgia as their main attraction, but they come closest to recreating the sense of discovery felt when embarking on that first journey with Pokémon.
  27. Mar 4, 2011
    90
    It may not break the Pokemon mold, but Black/White offers enough new content coupled with the series' classic, deep battle mechanics to make it endlessly playable. If you could only play one game for the rest of your life, this would be a wise choice.
  28. Mar 4, 2011
    90
    If you have never played Pokemon, get off your ass and get Pokemon Black/White. Aside from a weaker lineup of monsters (largely an aesthetic complaint), this is the best Pokemon has to offer on every level, renewing my waning interest in monster battling. It proves that the Pokemon series is still rock solid after a decade and a half.
  29. Mar 4, 2011
    90
    A great leap for the Pokémon series, but which comes when Nintendo DS is about to be "retired". A very complete and balanced Pokémon game, with more than 700 creatures to catch.
  30. Mar 4, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 242 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 70
  2. Negative: 7 out of 70
  1. Mar 6, 2011
    10
    I told myself a long time ago, I am done with Pokemon. I now find myself eating my words. There are 150 new Pokemon, and while they areI told myself a long time ago, I am done with Pokemon. I now find myself eating my words. There are 150 new Pokemon, and while they are well... odd to say the least, it sure is kind of cool to see nothing but new creatures every time I get into a random battle. I like the camera angle here, it is really well done, and does a good job of implementing the 2.5D capability of the DS. Multiplayer... oh wow, they really created something else. The entire multiplayer experience is overhauled, with a feature similar to the 3DS' street-pass, a Pokemon dream world, and no more freaking Pokemon Centers to connect wirelessly. C-Gear is outstanding. I once rated HG a 9, but Black (and I suppose I can speak for White too), is so much more streamlined, improved, and fresh. I would call this among the top 10 DS games of all time. Full Review »
  2. Mar 10, 2011
    2
    It's the same exact pokemon game you played years ago with a few graphic improvements. The new pokemon are new, true. But the gameplay isIt's the same exact pokemon game you played years ago with a few graphic improvements. The new pokemon are new, true. But the gameplay is still the same, story is still the same, puzzles are still the same, etc. etc. If you're a true pokemon fan, this game is for you and only you. Full Review »
  3. Mar 7, 2011
    10
    The best Pokemon yet! I put about 20 hours in Black/White so far and until the sixth generation, Pokemon fans have great games in Black/White.The best Pokemon yet! I put about 20 hours in Black/White so far and until the sixth generation, Pokemon fans have great games in Black/White. Everything is pretty great for new Pokemon trainers as well as longtime Pokemon fans. Addictive as ever. And as an adult, I recommend these games to everyone! Full Review »