Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Oct 24, 2012
    91
    One of the last "must-have" we'll see on Nintendo DS. It's simply one of the bests and most original SRPGs right now, with many hours of fun waiting for you and very interesting characters to lead us through the plot.
  2. Jul 3, 2012
    91
    Pokémon Conquest is definitely one of the best spin-off Pokémon titles I've ever played, and has enough meat to it, along with some standard Pokémon trappings, that fans of the traditional series will find a lot to like here. And if you're more of a strategy RPG fan than you are a Pokémon fan, you'll still get a lot of enjoyment out of this. It's not the most challenging experience out there, but the sheer amount of content available makes this worth checking out.
  3. Aug 9, 2012
    90
    Nintendo has teamed up with Tecmo Koei for yet another successful venture, this time bringing the world of strategic battling and Pocket Monsters together for what is without doubt the deepest and most impressive Pokémon spin-off so far.
  4. Aug 6, 2012
    90
    If you don't mind the slower tempo and if you really dedicate yourself to the game you will be rewarded with a fantastic experience. Pokémon Conquest is one of the most pleasant surprises of the year so far.
  5. Jun 25, 2012
    90
    In conclusion, Pokemon Conquest is an incredible game that is both easy to get into and incredibly deep at the same time. This game might not be for everyone, but those who are open minded enough to give this a shot (Pokemon fans and just RPG strategy fans alike) will find that this game is strange, charming, and just completely awesome.
  6. Jun 21, 2012
    90
    A breath of fresh air into the somewhat stale Pokemon series. Creating a strategy game that is both accessible for newcomers and deep for veterans is quite a feat, and this game has done just that.
  7. Jun 19, 2012
    90
    Pokémon Conquest comes out at just the right time, as it looks like the perfect summer vacation game. It's portable and breezy, yet has enough depth to keep gamers interested over the long run.
  8. 90
    For those with an interest in either strategy games or RPGs, but not sold on the other, Conquest is the perfect introduction to both.
  9. Jun 16, 2012
    90
    Pokémon Conquest represents a complete re-imagining of the Pokémon universe - a thoughtful, masterful take on what a Pokémon RPG can be.
  10. Jun 4, 2012
    90
    This may not be the Pokemon adventure you expect, but it's definitely one worth playing. [June 2012, p.82]
  11. Oct 8, 2012
    88
    Pokémon Conquest's replay value is through the roof. After the first campaign is completed many more stories that allow the player to control different warlords open up. These different stories have their own objectives that the player has to complete in order to win. After 33 of these stories are completed, a campaign similar to the first one becomes available. In addition to these, more stories can be downloaded from the Nintendo WFC. All of this, combined with online multiplayer, will leave one with hundreds of hours of Pokémon themed turn based strategy excitement to enjoy.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24
  1. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    Much to my surprise, this game was fantastic. The odd pairing of feudal japan and pokemon somehow gels well, and the strategy aspect is simpleMuch to my surprise, this game was fantastic. The odd pairing of feudal japan and pokemon somehow gels well, and the strategy aspect is simple yet fun. In a way this is a breath of fresh air Pokemon desperately needed. Full Review »
  2. Jun 27, 2012
    6
    This game. This game, this game, this game. When I played through the first campaign, I thought I had been ripped off. It looked like I wasThis game. This game, this game, this game. When I played through the first campaign, I thought I had been ripped off. It looked like I was going to finish it 6 hours through and nothing had really "wowed" me yet. I was relieved to find out that, after finishing the game, a number of other campaigns popped up. I played through several of them ... then realized that, aside from a few lines of text at the beginning of each campaign, I was playing the same game over and over again, on different combinations of maps.
    I'd say that I liked every aspect of the game, except for when you hit the point when you realize that the game isn't getting any better and you quit.
    Another major disappointment is a lack of peripheral functions, like trading and a large pool of Pokemon to ally with.
    Maybe I'm missing something here, but this game just doesn't shine like I expect it to.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 18, 2012
    9
    Pokemon Conquest is not a game that will appeal to everyone who will see its title, and even more so will have absolutely no idea about whatPokemon Conquest is not a game that will appeal to everyone who will see its title, and even more so will have absolutely no idea about what the game is actually about. It's a sad, but true, fact when you see the title is dominated by the word 'Pokemon'. But for the well informed, this cross-over entry to the Nobunaga's Ambition franchise really shines, and has represented the personality of Pokemon and Samurai Warriors alike. Even for those who can't tell if Hideyoshi is Japanese or Chinese (answer: Japanese), it's a light and enjoyable experience deep yet friendly enough to appeal to newcomers and fans alike. Full Review »