Pokemon Conquest DS

Pokemon Conquest Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 88 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Pokemon Conquest, players take on the role of a young Warlord who is linked with a Pokemon. Together, they must set out to recruit Warrior allies to strengthen their growing kingdom. Along their journey, players will encounter a variety of Pokemon, as well as Warriors and WarlordsIn Pokemon Conquest, players take on the role of a young Warlord who is linked with a Pokemon. Together, they must set out to recruit Warrior allies to strengthen their growing kingdom. Along their journey, players will encounter a variety of Pokemon, as well as Warriors and Warlords inspired by the Japanese feudal era. The game contains nearly 200 Pokemon, including many from the recent Pokemon Black Version and Pokemon White Version games, which have sold more than 4 million copies combined in the United States.

    As the battlefield unfolds in Pokemon Conquest, players must choose the correct Pokemon type to inflict maximum damage on their opponents. In the turn-based skirmishes, players choose different tactics for intense six-on-six battles, and battle conditions can change on every turn, keeping players on their toes in anticipation of what will happen next.
    Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Oct 24, 2012
    91
    One of the last "must-have" we'll see on Nintendo DS. It's simply one of the bests and most original SRPGs right now, with many hours of fun waiting for you and very interesting characters to lead us through the plot.
  2. Jun 21, 2012
    90
    A breath of fresh air into the somewhat stale Pokemon series. Creating a strategy game that is both accessible for newcomers and deep for veterans is quite a feat, and this game has done just that.
  3. Oct 8, 2012
    88
    Pokémon Conquest's replay value is through the roof. After the first campaign is completed many more stories that allow the player to control different warlords open up. These different stories have their own objectives that the player has to complete in order to win. After 33 of these stories are completed, a campaign similar to the first one becomes available. In addition to these, more stories can be downloaded from the Nintendo WFC. All of this, combined with online multiplayer, will leave one with hundreds of hours of Pokémon themed turn based strategy excitement to enjoy.
  4. Jun 11, 2012
    80
    As far as Pokemon spin-off games go, this is definitely one of the best offerings on the market, and is worth picking up by any fan of the series.
  5. Jul 29, 2012
    80
    Perhaps the greatest achievement of Pokémon Conquest, however, is that it made us want to go back and play one of Koei's earlier, duller and more convoluted Nobunaga games. And any game that can make us feel that way is worthy of high praise indeed.
  6. Jul 6, 2012
    80
    At the end of the day, despite some presentation and interface issues, Pokémon Conquest does a splendid job of combining two seemingly uncombinable franchises.
  7. Jun 28, 2012
    50
    It wants to be so many games, and for each of its inspirations, it delivers a different demand. As a logical and unfortunate result, Pokemon Conquest is just too damned demanding.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 25
  2. Negative: 4 out of 25
  1. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    Much to my surprise, this game was fantastic. The odd pairing of feudal japan and pokemon somehow gels well, and the strategy aspect is simpleMuch to my surprise, this game was fantastic. The odd pairing of feudal japan and pokemon somehow gels well, and the strategy aspect is simple yet fun. In a way this is a breath of fresh air Pokemon desperately needed. Expand
  2. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    This game is quite possibly the most addictive thing I've ever layed my hands on. Although it's a Pokemon game and the battle system playsThis game is quite possibly the most addictive thing I've ever layed my hands on. Although it's a Pokemon game and the battle system plays quite like Advance Wars, I would say the game plays more like Civilization. Where a single game can last quite a long time if you sit back and level up or it can be much shorter if you try and rush your opponents early. I agree with the people that say the other campaigns don't have any real story but neither does a game of Civilization or most other turn based strategy titles. The gameplay itself is good enough to keep you playing and the fact that you can try using different warriors or warlords and the pokemon you've caught with each person carry over to later games make it all feel like progression towards and end goal of evolving all warlords and collecting all the pokemon, of which there are about 200. I would seriously recommend this to anyone who's been considering getting it. I've been playing it for about 125 hours and still have loads to do!! Expand
  3. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    Great game so far. I was one of the skeptics thinking that this would never work, but I am pleasantly surprised! There is so much polish andGreat game so far. I was one of the skeptics thinking that this would never work, but I am pleasantly surprised! There is so much polish and depth to the gameplay, while being simple and accessible from the beginning. Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    When I first heard about this game I honestly thought it was a joke, but, after seeing that it was getting good reviews I picked it up, andWhen I first heard about this game I honestly thought it was a joke, but, after seeing that it was getting good reviews I picked it up, and much to my surprise the game is really enjoyable. Don't get me wrong, just because your a fan of Pokemon doesn't mean you should get this game. You must also enjoy strategy games, like Fire Emblem, Advance Wars or Final Fantasy Tactics. But if your a fan of the strategy genre and you like Pokemon, get this game now, you won't regret it. Expand
  5. Jun 20, 2012
    9
    I have always thought that pokemon needed a change of venue, and this was a good idea for one. Taking pokemon and puting them on a grid theyI have always thought that pokemon needed a change of venue, and this was a good idea for one. Taking pokemon and puting them on a grid they could move around on and make more in-depth strategies with was perfect, especially for my tastes. I gave it a 9 rather than a 10 because i don't really like how pokemon only have 1 more, rather than 4. I would have been more happy with 2, but i understand how 3+ would make it too complicated. Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2012
    8
    This intriguing videogame mash up provides enough change to breathe new life into the Pokemon franchise and a memorable experience for gamersThis intriguing videogame mash up provides enough change to breathe new life into the Pokemon franchise and a memorable experience for gamers of all ages. That being said, the game isn't without a few minor flaws, including a lack of Pokemon (200/649, really?), and a lack of mission variety. Expand
  7. Jul 5, 2012
    0
    The AI is horrible and they consistently camp at banners and the AI pretty much cheats, the game is generally pretty bad when the AI isThe AI is horrible and they consistently camp at banners and the AI pretty much cheats, the game is generally pretty bad when the AI is cheating. I would not recommend this game to anyone I know and this game has ruined the pokemon franchise. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Pokemon Games of the 21st Century

    The Best Pokemon Games of the 21st Century Image
    Published: August 4, 2016
    Find out where Pokemon Go fits into our ranking of the best Pokemon games released since the turn of the century.

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed DS Game of 2012
#3 Most Shared DS Game of 2012