Pokemon Diamond Version DS

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 250 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 250
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. linlu
    Aug 19, 2009
    0
    It really isn't that great, one of the weakest for the DS and one of the weakest in the series too.
  2. DaveH
    Jan 4, 2010
    0
    People who liked this game have probably never player another Pokemon game before. This game may have the most content but it is very poor in spirit the producers put in it, and the pokemon from this generation are by far the worst ones, seriously, adding a Pokemon that can shapeshift to a Washing Machine? Lame
  3. AshK
    Feb 1, 2010
    4
    They just added more levels and Pokemon, but there's very little to note. The new Pokemon look like they were really running out of ideas. They were going for quantity over quality. The way you're allowed to transport Pokemon from your GBA games is pretty cool (although it wouldn't work with the DSi because it has no GBA slot), however, a lot of Pokemon can only be obtained They just added more levels and Pokemon, but there's very little to note. The new Pokemon look like they were really running out of ideas. They were going for quantity over quality. The way you're allowed to transport Pokemon from your GBA games is pretty cool (although it wouldn't work with the DSi because it has no GBA slot), however, a lot of Pokemon can only be obtained this way, so if you don't have those games, then forget it! There are also some Pokemon other than Mew you can't get at all like Lugia and Hoho, which are the ones in the Gold and Silver. I'm sure you would be allowed to get the missing ones in the Gold and Silver remakes, but if those were never made then you'd be stuck with an incomplete Pokedex. What ever happened to "Gotta catch 'em all?!" WHAT were they thinking? One nice thing I've got to say is that the Pokegear items are pretty cool. Puzzles are rare and feel uninspired. Sure there are a lot of Pokemon to collect, but it feels redundant because of how uninspired they are. There is no sense of discovery. The way you're allowed to trade online may seem like a brilliant idea, but everyone wants something insane like Regigigas while all you want is a Munchlax. A so-so game, but probably the worst in the series. Go play the ones for the Gameboy Color. Expand
  4. Peepkirby
    May 1, 2009
    3
    I worked very hard, but then i tried to do the leage part(when you have to beat 4 people)and i could not beat the fire guy's rapidash wish my level 72 piplup,and level 51 dialga!!! hard game.
  5. someonedoe
    Jul 13, 2007
    0
    The last games like red version and blue were good but all pokemon has ever done is just change a few things like new pokemon and new region but still its all ways the same thing beat the gym leaders then beat the eliet four and you beat the game always the same thing kinda sick and tired of the same stuff do not buy anymore pokemon games if youve beat one of the pokemon games.
  6. Aug 8, 2012
    4
    I liked this game, as I've liked other Pokemon games, nothing new was really brought to it, but it was fun to play through some new cities and interact with different characters, however I really hated the fact that you had to completely fill your pokedex before you can progress onto the next region, hated that a LOT.

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed DS Game of 2007
#6 Most Shared DS Game of 2007
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Games Master UK
    89
    Familiar collecting and battling, but immaculately designdd and with online play. [June 2007, p.62]
  2. Nintendo Gamer
    81
    With Wi-Fi battles and Global Trade, D/P is essential. [Sept 2007, p.81]
  3. There’s a lot to do in Pokemon Diamond and Pokemon Pearl, which looks as good as a top-down Pokemon game is going to get for some time. It also benefits more than any other sequel in the series from a predecessor due to online capabilities. [JPN Import]