User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 44
  2. Negative: 4 out of 44

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 9, 2011
    8
    You can't dislike this game, but it is pretty much the same as Explorers of Darkness and Time, with the welcome added addition of an added surprise now and then. The stroy line thickens, wnd whilst the actual exploring dosen't create that much of a thrill, it's worth buying.
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For the Pokemon fans who don't like the RPGs this is definitely the game for them. Its emotional and its just... fun. Its not the best game ever but if I could I would make this game be the number 2 or 3 game ever. Although it gets annoying and frustrating after playing one dungeon then dieing its fun fighting those big bosses like primal dialga or darkrai because it sends a burst of adrenalin through your blood. And to top it off it has epic boss music and a totally great soundtrack. Its also fun recruiting people and evolving them once you unlock luminous springs. So I just recommend this to anyone. Expand
  3. Jan 20, 2012
    8
    Pokemon Myster Dungeon Explorers of Sky is a good game,but they didn`t use the potential of DS System,and its like a GBA Game instead,and everything about this game was repetitive.But the story makes the game great,i enjoy over and over till i realize i like the game it should be.Recommended for all of those who like Pokemon games,try it out and you will see that this game was fun.
  4. Jan 1, 2012
    9
    I came into this game as my introduction to the Mystery Dungeon games so I did not know what to expect.
    The game combines elements of Pokemon into the old school concepts of Mystery dungeon quite well and makes for a truly amazing experience. The amount of freedom you get with tackling missions, especially later in the game is absolutely amazing. The randomly generated missions and
    dungeons give this game near infinite relay value and difficulty can range from simplicity to near impossible to appeal to all skill levels of players beautifully. Wifi rescue missions, mission passwords and unlockable side-scenarios add even further replayablility to the game. The music and graphics can differ from beautiful to bland in different areas of the game. If you are a fan of Pokemon and/or Mystery Dungeon games or just strategy RPG games in general try it out, if these things don't appeal to you. it might be best to avoid this one. Expand
  5. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A very good game, liked it a lot, graphics were decent, story was awesome and it had a decent replay ability, because every time you start with a different pokemon Expand
  6. May 12, 2013
    10
    Everybody says Pokemon is a bitterly average series nowadays, but this title is a far cry from the main series, and I can recommend it to anybody, even those who hate the main series line of games. People moan about the appearance of the game, but in this case, the graphics don't really eat away at the experience, in fact the art style accompanies the gameplay, story, music, and overall feel of the game. It utilizes the capabilities of the DS much better than the main games and it definitely stands far above most, if not all DS games I've played. It's a 10 overall, and I don't care how much controversy this stirs up, the decision was mine here. Expand
  7. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    What kind of child didn't want to be right next to their favorite video game character? Here, Game Freak gives you a chance to. You start off answering some questions, by the way I got Eevee, to determine what pokémon you are. If you answered truthfully, you might find the game describing who you were. Then, you were thrown into the game. You are started with some startling text. It is a conversation between two people, or pokémon, and someone couldn't hold on.

    You are introduced to your partner, mine was Vulpix, who is pacing around and gets scared by the voice in the grate.

    Only with you, does your partner muster up the courage to become an explorer. I grew to love my partner as a friend. But the ending. There is no future for you, so you end up getting wiped from the face of the Earth. You knew it was coming. But when your partner finds out, she he breaks down in tears and begs you not to leave. After you disappear, your partner forces themselves to move on, to tell your story, the story of the sacrifice you made. Dialga feels your partner's pain and suffering from the Imperial Tower. "I have felt your pain and suffering from here... If Rylee (the name you entered) wishes to come back as well. He she will come back..."

    This game made me cry. Any game, in my book, that makes me cry is beyond amazing. Game Freak, you deserve a medal for this amazing game.
    Expand
  8. Mar 23, 2014
    10
    This game is a beautiful game, pokemon or not. The soundtrack is amazing and touching, the storyline is deep and great. The game-play can be challenging at times, but with the right tactics you should progress through the story just fine. This game is a definite 10 of 10 for me and i must recommend buying it.
  9. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    This is the most UNDERRATED game in modern gaming history.
    This is the most UNDERRATED game in modern gaming history.
    This is the most UNDERRATED game in modern gaming history.
    This is the most UNDERRATED game in modern gaming history.
    This is the most UNDERRATED game in modern gaming history.
  10. Jan 27, 2014
    9
    Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of sky is one of my favorite Pokemon games, as well as the game that got me into the Mystery dungeon series. A definite must for anyone who enjoys Pokemon games. Mind you, no game is without flaws, and this game is no exception, the only two flaws i can see are the game becoming somewhat dull after the post story and the fact that some battles and dungeons can be almost unbearably difficult at times to those who are unprepared. other than that, PMD: Explorers of sky is a near-flawless game, if you like Pokemon, you will enjoy this game! Expand
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 26
  2. Negative: 9 out of 26
  1. I just can't recommend Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Sky to anyone that has played the previous games in the series. It looks like a GBA game, and is chock full of lazy and somewhat dated gameplay.
  2. While Explorers of Sky would be a decent game if it were judged in a vacuum, when viewed alongside Explorers of Time / Darkness, there simply isn't enough unique, quality content to make it relevant. This is perhaps one of the worst values in gaming I've ever seen.
  3. The story isn't interesting enough to keep you involved, and the gameplay doesn't elevate past mashing attacks for combat. All together, it's a disappointing title, and not one that I suggest checking out.