Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Time DS

Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Time Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this pair of action-packed adventures, players journey as actual Pokemon through a fantastic land untouched by humans. Before the game starts, players take a test to help them figure out which of 16 Pokemon best represents their personalities. Players then experience their adventureIn this pair of action-packed adventures, players journey as actual Pokemon through a fantastic land untouched by humans. Before the game starts, players take a test to help them figure out which of 16 Pokemon best represents their personalities. Players then experience their adventure through the eyes of a Pokemon as they explore the land and embark on an epic journey through time and darkness. They talk and team up with other Pokemon to set out on an epic voyage while navigating an endless array of randomly generated dungeons. More than 490 Pokemon populate these new games, guaranteeing strategic, intense battles and infinite possibilities, no matter which Pokemon players become. To widen their circle of Pokemon friends, Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection lets users engage in wireless rescue operations and send alerts to their friends via e-mail or mobile text message. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 29
  2. Negative: 5 out of 29
  1. 80
    If you've wanted to play Rogue-like games in the past, but found them to be a bit too unforgiving, this is an exceedingly good alternative to look into.
  2. Nintendo Power
    75
    The strength of the first "Pokemon Mystery Dungeon" was its in-depth story, and that's true of the second pair of titles as well. [June 2008, p.86]
  3. 70
    If you played Shiren, however, you may find Pokemon to be too forgiving for your dungeon-hacking skills.
  4. 60
    Younger players might get a kick out seeing their favourite Pokemon in a new light, but others should probably stick to 'purer' roguelikes like Shiren, or more standard RPGs like the core Pokemon titles.
  5. Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers is more of the same, and that won't disturb those who appreciate the franchise.
  6. 50
    If you're a Pokemon superfan, you'll undoubtedly enjoy chilling with the very creatures you've spent so much time trying to catch.
  7. Edge Magazine
    30
    This recurrent rehash is branding to serve the genre, and of little benefit to Poke-fans. [Sept 2008, p.96]

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    This is possibly the most underrated game in modern history, it's the freaking genre of mystery dungeon and they did it DAMN WELL.

    I mean
    This is possibly the most underrated game in modern history, it's the freaking genre of mystery dungeon and they did it DAMN WELL.

    I mean pinball games get rated on pinball games and get a good score if done right, right? Yes

    FPS get a good score if they're done right, right? Yes

    Pokemon mystery dungeon 2 is the best mystery dungeon game but nope, sorry it deserves a bad score because BITTER critics.
    Expand
  2. Nov 4, 2015
    10
    This is an amazing game, but people think it's bad and it gets underrated.
    This is the best game I have ever played and I have played HEAPS
    This is an amazing game, but people think it's bad and it gets underrated.
    This is the best game I have ever played and I have played HEAPS of games.
    The combat is balanced so well and the storyline has made lots of people I know cry.
    The point of repeating dungeons makes you better and better at playing!
    Why do people rate this so low?
    Expand
  3. Mar 24, 2015
    10
    This game is not only my favourite DS game but also my favourite pokemon game ever. There is a suprising amount of content and feutures in theThis game is not only my favourite DS game but also my favourite pokemon game ever. There is a suprising amount of content and feutures in the game. for example there are sidequests where you rescue pokemon, defeat bandits and find certain items. sometimes enemies will want to join your team when you defeat them and this includes DIALGIA! And do not stop playing when the credits roll because there is still 40% of the game left.

    But the greatest thing is the story. I never thought a pokemon game could be this emotional and just so...beutiful and so is the music.

    Overall Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Time is the most gripping game I have ever played
    Expand
  4. Jun 17, 2016
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow man, this game is awesome. While being a pokemon game, and we all know that means aThis review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow man, this game is awesome. While being a pokemon game, and we all know that means a very poor story and dialogues, it surprise me when i first play through it all, 'cause it has one of the saddest and best develop stories that've seen so far. It actually delivers an incredible complex story, while also developing it characters pretty well. It has also an incredible plot twist, god dammit it even has a betreyal within your allies. This game is just AWESOME, please, play it, create your friendship, hate all the unfairness of it world, love the characters, understand their motivations, cry while watching them fall, develop yourself not as a pokemon, but as a living being that is part of the soceity, and most important of all, enjoy what it is in my humble opinion, the best DS title ever made. Expand
  5. Apr 27, 2014
    9
    This game is more underrated than any game I've seen in a long time- at least by critics. The story holds great emotional weight withoutThis game is more underrated than any game I've seen in a long time- at least by critics. The story holds great emotional weight without detracting from the game; the ending will make you cry, I promise you that. Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    *sigh* All right. How do I compare this with the sequel, Gates to Infinity? You might know I wrote an earlier review on it, saying it was*sigh* All right. How do I compare this with the sequel, Gates to Infinity? You might know I wrote an earlier review on it, saying it was my favorite game ever? I might have been hyping it a bit there, but it still ranks VERY high. Anyway back to Darkness/Time. Essentially, I see them as the same game. And a very good game, at that. But let's start with the negatives.

    First off, the graphics. Really, Nintendo? Three shades of brown for a dungeon floor? Yeah, the graphics could have been a bit more varied. Also, post-story, you have to face FIVE 99-floor dungeons! FIVE! I mean, this is optional, but I tried one, just for the heck of it, and I only got to Floor 57. Keep in mind that I was Level 100, with eight Reviver Seeds. Yeah. The game trolls you with them. And the addition of hunger does not help with the game's already high difficulty.

    Now, the positives. Some of the visuals are stunning (I said some, not all), like the beach and Fogbound Lake. The music is stunning as well, such as Temporal Tower/Spire. And the ending is WAY more of a tear-jerker than the first one, yet heavily outclassed by the third. Also, the scenario is very nice, with you trying to deter the PLANET'S PARALYSIS! Jeez! That is a heavy load on your shoulders!
    The game play is also very similar to the first game, but nowhere near repetitive yet.

    Overall, this game is very fun and entertaining. If you're a Pokemon fan, like dungeon-crawlers, or both, I highly recommend picking this up. Rating: 9.25/10
    Expand
  7. JoeS.
    May 11, 2008
    4
    This is a very poor game with the Pokemon name slapped on it to sell it. The game play is very repetitive, the environments consist of boxes This is a very poor game with the Pokemon name slapped on it to sell it. The game play is very repetitive, the environments consist of boxes that come in three different shades of brown, and there are only a handful of animations for the moves/attacks. The moves are completely unbalanced, the items do virtually nothing, and all too often you will lose everything anyway. Avoid this Pokemon game, because its not Pokemon. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#11 Most Discussed DS Game of 2008
#71 Most Shared DS Game of 2008