User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 162 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 162
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TaliesinC
    May 10, 2009
    10
    Absolutely the best Pokemon game that I have ever played. Even better than Emerald. NEw Textures and graphics look new, great and refreshing while the battle animations have been tweaked. Battle Frontier was slightly disappointing offering only the tower.
  2. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    A Super Game With An Intense plot. You See, in this game, you are a trainer who goes on a journey over a region. there is a new villain group called team galactic who want to wake up either dialga or palkia with the use of uxie mesprit and azelf. So go on this great journey and find yourself in it.
  3. MarioA.
    Feb 26, 2007
    10
    Great game, battles, contest, poke'tech are all fun. Its the same pokemon style, but using the DS and touch control makes the flow seem new.
  4. [Anonymous]
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    What can anyone say? If you hate pocket monsters, then this gets a 1. But if you are a fan, then it gets 10. It's definitely an improvement over the previous games, with extra connectivity, more monsters, and a longer gameplay time.
  5. BobR.
    Apr 23, 2007
    9
    I have diamond and pearl and have only played diamond but if pearl is basically the same than this is one hell of a game.
  6. MattW.
    Apr 25, 2007
    9
    This game may be like the others, but some of the new features are awesome. This game is one of the Pokemon greats.
  7. DaleH
    May 5, 2007
    10
    Ok so i love the pokemon games.I didnt even have a ds till pokemon pearl came out.I bought the ds and pearl the first day it came out and its way awsome.The new gameplay modes excell it past all other pokemon games. Its deffinatly a smart buy.You might need to invest in the book tho u might need it.
  8. KyleM.
    May 28, 2007
    9
    I haven't played a Pokemon game since I got Blue for Christmas many many years ago: now I'm in college and was given Pearl as a gift. This game is awesome. The touch screen functionality is superb and injects a great deal of ease into the UI. I have logged 40 hours thus far and have very few gripes with the gameplay. The only thing I have to complain about is a sidequest: the I haven't played a Pokemon game since I got Blue for Christmas many many years ago: now I'm in college and was given Pearl as a gift. This game is awesome. The touch screen functionality is superb and injects a great deal of ease into the UI. I have logged 40 hours thus far and have very few gripes with the gameplay. The only thing I have to complain about is a sidequest: the Pokemon Contests. These comprise perhaps the most retarded feature ever to appear in a video game, ever. Unless you're six years old and like dressing up your Pichu. Expand
  9. MarcoD.L.C.
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    Just a perfect game. Good gameplay, too much hours of game, and so many pkmns. Outstanding.
  10. JakeK.
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    It's much nicer than the other pokemon games. Most of all the graphics. the new pokemon are awesome and i don't know if they can make a better pokemon game.
  11. TorA.
    Sep 22, 2007
    10
    It was a very good game cool sounds and cool movements and cool looks it"s not a wast of money.
  12. SolomonR.
    Oct 4, 2007
    10
    This game is the furthest one yet with every pokemon that you can try and get. i have this game and it really was a new experience cause i like pokemon. i even watched the video's in japanese, (Didn't care if i didn't understand the language) i perferably chose pearl over diamond and it was a good choice the music and moves are really great and separating physical from This game is the furthest one yet with every pokemon that you can try and get. i have this game and it really was a new experience cause i like pokemon. i even watched the video's in japanese, (Didn't care if i didn't understand the language) i perferably chose pearl over diamond and it was a good choice the music and moves are really great and separating physical from special attacks for all types was a smart idea, using nintendo wi-fi was a special bounus indeed especially if it can all cover the Globe(worldwide) i'll be waitng for PBR so i can use this game even further. Expand
  13. AlexG
    Jan 14, 2008
    10
    Absolutely brilliant game. Extremely addictive as always, trying to get all four hundred something pokemon is one hell of a task and thankfully its actually possible this time since the game has pretty much all of them in one cart and the rest can be traded for on Wi-Fi
  14. ManoelQ
    Jun 11, 2008
    8
    It's a great game. The Fourth Generation comes with two great games, but those also show that the series is becoming obsolete. The goal is always the same: start as a rookie, win Gym Badges, find some bad guys, defeat those bad guys, go to the League, win the League and then what?... Train your Pokémon until Lv. 100? Nobody has pacience to train at least one without stopping It's a great game. The Fourth Generation comes with two great games, but those also show that the series is becoming obsolete. The goal is always the same: start as a rookie, win Gym Badges, find some bad guys, defeat those bad guys, go to the League, win the League and then what?... Train your Pokémon until Lv. 100? Nobody has pacience to train at least one without stopping from a day from a week, or even months... The Pokémon Company needs new ideas for the series, or create new series... Expand
  15. DivineStorm
    Jul 10, 2008
    9
    A very good game it has 493 pokemon in it and new starters and badges and stuff. There is a new group of criminals called team galactic in the game and try to make a new world depending on what version you're playing they either awake palkia or dialga with the use of uxie,mesprit and azelf. There are new legendary pokemon in the game and there is much you can do after you finished A very good game it has 493 pokemon in it and new starters and badges and stuff. There is a new group of criminals called team galactic in the game and try to make a new world depending on what version you're playing they either awake palkia or dialga with the use of uxie,mesprit and azelf. There are new legendary pokemon in the game and there is much you can do after you finished the game. You can also migrate pokemon from gba cartridges into the game by simply going to pal park after you completed the game that is. Expand
  16. JoeR
    Jan 13, 2009
    10
    Simply brilliant. I've spent over 450 hours on this game and still only have 4/5 stars. Online is also very competitive and popular.
  17. JR
    Mar 8, 2009
    10
    Since picking it up in Japan this past summer, I've already put about 175 hours of pretty solid gameplay into this cartridge. After you finish the main in-game element with the gym leaders, your rival, Team Galaxy, and the Elite Four, there's still a ton more to do, and the online competitive play is addicting, difficult, and extremely rewarding. Nothing feels more awesome than Since picking it up in Japan this past summer, I've already put about 175 hours of pretty solid gameplay into this cartridge. After you finish the main in-game element with the gym leaders, your rival, Team Galaxy, and the Elite Four, there's still a ton more to do, and the online competitive play is addicting, difficult, and extremely rewarding. Nothing feels more awesome than tearing up an opponent with a team of carefully picked, bred, and trained Pokemon exactly as you planned. This was the first Pokemon game I'd picked up since Gold and Silver back on the Game Boy Color, and it feels just as amazingly fresh and innovative to me as Blue version did back on my old Game Boy back years ago. Expand
  18. [anonymous]
    Oct 3, 2009
    9
    Being a loyal fan of Pokemon, I have very much enjoyed playing this. The mini-game additions are entertaining, but sometimes I feel they should just cool it with the amount of Pokemon in existence. I shall always remain a true fan to the original Red and Blue.
  19. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    the first game i ever got for the ds was pokemon diamond and i enjoyed it.......i have chieved so much in that game though.....it was then that i got this game stolen a few years later from a 25 year old person named jeff.....well to be exact he said he lost it......months later he finally decides to pay me back woth a yu gi oh game that sucks compared to pearl....the game itself was sothe first game i ever got for the ds was pokemon diamond and i enjoyed it.......i have chieved so much in that game though.....it was then that i got this game stolen a few years later from a 25 year old person named jeff.....well to be exact he said he lost it......months later he finally decides to pay me back woth a yu gi oh game that sucks compared to pearl....the game itself was so bad it probably couldnt make it to the black market......i mean seriously i lost all that hard work for nothing......it was then that one of mybfriends was generous enough to trade me that horrid game for his pearl....and i enjoy that game and find it rather pleasing......and i cant be beat in download play except maybe now and then....if only you didn have to cheat to get some of the exclusive stuff in the gam..... Expand
  20. May 25, 2012
    9
    Pokemon has continued to dominate handheld gaming since its debut and this is no exception.
  21. May 23, 2015
    8
    Sensational, fun game with a story until good, but the main point goes to the fun, but I felt a certain imbalance in the wild Pokemon level, he found it very weak, but the game in general is good.
  22. Jan 18, 2017
    9
    This game has some pretty good designs. (Lucario, Floatzel, Garchomp, etc.) The story was very good, the characters were too. The graphics were mediocre for a DS game, but still were tolerable. This game was a little repetitive at times, but was still a good game. Even after the champion there was still stuff to do. New animations were added, which made the game more aesthetically good.This game has some pretty good designs. (Lucario, Floatzel, Garchomp, etc.) The story was very good, the characters were too. The graphics were mediocre for a DS game, but still were tolerable. This game was a little repetitive at times, but was still a good game. Even after the champion there was still stuff to do. New animations were added, which made the game more aesthetically good. Overall, the game was really good. Expand
  23. Apr 1, 2017
    9
    9.2 - A huge step from the GBA pokemon titles, especially finally putting in physical and special moves. Gen IV is great as well, Sinnoh region is diverse and well-designed, and legendaries are very memorable.
  24. Oct 30, 2017
    8
    Un gran juego y una gran generación. La cuarta generación es la más difícil de todas, tenes que subir mucho de nivel para poder pelear contra líderes y el Alto mando.

Awards & Rankings

3
7
#7 Most Discussed DS Game of 2007
30
#30 Most Shared DS Game of 2007
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 39
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 39
  3. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Games Master UK
    89
    Familiar collecting and battling, but immaculately designdd and with online play. [June 2007, p.62]
  2. Nintendo Gamer
    81
    With Wi-Fi battles and Global Trade, D/P is essential. [Sept 2007, p.81]
  3. There’s a lot to do in Pokemon Diamond and Pokemon Pearl, which looks as good as a top-down Pokemon game is going to get for some time. It also benefits more than any other sequel in the series from a predecessor due to online capabilities. [JPN Import]