Pokemon Platinum Version DS

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 232 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 232
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BenRethus
    Dec 25, 2009
    6
    A good game, I must say, but if you all ready have diamond or pearl, and you're not a pokemon nut, there is really no point in getting it. I must say though, if your a newbie, this game is exellent, but I reckon they should of made it as a downloadable exspantion pack for diamond and pearl on DSi ware.
  2. Apr 18, 2011
    6
    Reviewing Platinum, Diamond, and Pearl overall, they're simply unimpressive and formulaic, recycling far too familiar material from the previous games. Pros: Polished graphics and visuals; new Pokemon and features; Nintendo WFC make battling and trading funner than ever. Cons: Formulaic; generic; too many recycled elements from its predecessors make this trio feel far from original.
  3. Mar 18, 2012
    5
    Disappointing. The only reason why this game received such generous scores is because of its never changing formula. The storyline is still the same as Diamond and Pearl, however, with an extra 'chapter.' It gets boring that you don't bother paying attention. Sound is good, but not magnificent. The graphics only shines during one section of the game and really adds new innovation to theDisappointing. The only reason why this game received such generous scores is because of its never changing formula. The storyline is still the same as Diamond and Pearl, however, with an extra 'chapter.' It gets boring that you don't bother paying attention. Sound is good, but not magnificent. The graphics only shines during one section of the game and really adds new innovation to the Pokemon series. Lastly, gameplay has not changed one bit. Use the control pad to move and hold B to run. Press a few buttons or tap the screen to order your Pokemon around simply becomes boring after 10 Pokemon games, with the same gameplay. Pokemon Platinum may well worth your time if you decided not to pick up Diamond or Pearl, however, it is surely a waste of time and money if you did. Expand
  4. Nov 26, 2011
    7
    A good solid role playing game, but it's the exactly the same formula as all previous Pokémon games. The battle scenes work okay, but they're just the same as on the old monochrome GameBoy, only in colour and with better sound. It's lazy of Nintendo to keep this the same. Also the dialog goes on and on sometimes, repeating the same thing over and over, or just prattling onA good solid role playing game, but it's the exactly the same formula as all previous Pokémon games. The battle scenes work okay, but they're just the same as on the old monochrome GameBoy, only in colour and with better sound. It's lazy of Nintendo to keep this the same. Also the dialog goes on and on sometimes, repeating the same thing over and over, or just prattling on about unimportant boring stuff like "Be careful in the long grass" for the fifth time! Good points are that it has a many many Pokémon to catch and can be very engrossing. Expand
  5. May 17, 2013
    5
    this is my least favorite pokemon game. Now, before you kill me, I would like to explain. It is not as much the games fault then the sinnoh pokemon designs. they all seem VERY uninspired. Most of them are pokemon from other regions, and when they are not, they are very bland. my favorite example is buizel (Yipee! ANOTHER seal pokemon!). Also, this game has a crap TON of roamingthis is my least favorite pokemon game. Now, before you kill me, I would like to explain. It is not as much the games fault then the sinnoh pokemon designs. they all seem VERY uninspired. Most of them are pokemon from other regions, and when they are not, they are very bland. my favorite example is buizel (Yipee! ANOTHER seal pokemon!). Also, this game has a crap TON of roaming legendaries, which is a pain in the butt to catch. And don't think I am putting on nostalgia glasses for this one: this is the first Poekmon game I played, and i first played it at age seven. I loved it then, but recognized it was worse than pokemon leaf green, which i palyed aftrewards. I have recently replayed it, and I realized it was the worst one. Please note that this is still a decent game but only because pokemon is freakin' awesome! Expand
  6. Jul 23, 2013
    6
    "Pokemon Platinum Version" is a bit of a disappointment, similar to "Pokemon Emerald", as it has few to little game changes and a similar plot from the original games. Despite this, the Pokemon world is still enjoyable to venture through and it is still wonderful to play.
  7. Nov 19, 2013
    6
    Single Player/Multi Player (1/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (1/2) Visuals/Story (1/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is
    Single Player/Multi Player (1/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player)

    Gameplay (1/2)

    Visuals/Story (1/2)

    (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (2/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (1/2)

    Wildcard (0)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

14
6
#6 Most Discussed DS Game of 2009
8
#8 Most Shared DS Game of 2009
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. 88
    Even though it's not a huge advancement over Diamond and Pearl, it does have a larger list of features. The single player adventure has a bit more to explore, and more importantly the online component is fleshed out a bit more compared to the 2007 releases.
  2. If you haven't played Diamond/Pearl and are looking for a good RPG, Platinum is absolutely the way to go. [Apr 2009, p.90]
  3. Sure Pokémon Platinum may not exactly seem like the manliest game, but with a sound battle system, a lengthy main quest, and a variety of multiplayer options, it may just be the best hand held RPG available right now.