Pokemon Ranger DS

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 49
  2. Negative: 6 out of 49
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 2, 2013
    7
    It's interesting because it's different and it's indeed fun! I like the fact that you actually see pokemons running around the field rather than hiding in the grass and that they interact with nature.
  2. Jan 9, 2011
    4
    Pokemon Ranger fails within the pokemon franchises history. The entire concept of the game does not work, drawing circles around pokemon, instead of catching and battling trainers. Would be good as an added edition to another pokemon game but not as it's own game. The gaame is tiring and becomes extremely frustrating throughout, with many pokemon seemingly impossible to catch. The storyPokemon Ranger fails within the pokemon franchises history. The entire concept of the game does not work, drawing circles around pokemon, instead of catching and battling trainers. Would be good as an added edition to another pokemon game but not as it's own game. The gaame is tiring and becomes extremely frustrating throughout, with many pokemon seemingly impossible to catch. The story line works well but apart from that Pokemon Ranger is just another game to throw onto the pile. Collapse
  3. JessicaK
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    I really do like this game. The only thing is that the partner pokemon you can choose from are sort of lame. Besides that, the game has a very, very dramatic storyline. The thing I really enjoyed about this game was the whole "target clear" idea. Its kind of like the hms in the other pokemon games, but you use it on basically any target in your way. I just really like the idea of this game.
  4. LaurenW.
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    Wonderful! A MUST HAVE for Pokemon fans. It is a little short, but totally worth buying.
  5. SamM.
    Jun 2, 2007
    10
    Top game! I'm half way through it. it has a top story line. you can unlock a manaphy egg for diamond and pearl. the game play is fun and easy to pick up, but hard to master. all these things will keep me playing it for quite a while. i may even try to catch every single pokemon you can possibly catch.
  6. JerryT.
    Apr 9, 2007
    1
    This game is terrible. its just incredibly frustrating. you just circle these pokemon over and over and some of them move around all retardedly or there will be 3 of them that will move around retardedly. the only reason i played this game all the way through was to get the manaphy egg for the diamond/pearl. so to sum it all up dont buy this unless youre gunna get diamond/pearl.
  7. BrianL.
    Nov 9, 2006
    1
    I really dont like the way that you get to ask your pokemon for help. i perfer just sticking to the same idea as all the other games, where you have to rely on your own skilsl to solve obstacles that get in your way.
  8. Jan 9, 2011
    0
    Pokemon Ranger fails within the pokemon franchises history. The entire concept of the game does not work, drawing circles around pokemon, instead of catching and battling trainers. Would be good as an added edition to another pokemon game but not as it's own game. The gaame is tiring and becomes extremely frustrating throughout, with many pokemon seemingly impossible to catch. The storyPokemon Ranger fails within the pokemon franchises history. The entire concept of the game does not work, drawing circles around pokemon, instead of catching and battling trainers. Would be good as an added edition to another pokemon game but not as it's own game. The gaame is tiring and becomes extremely frustrating throughout, with many pokemon seemingly impossible to catch. The story line works well but apart from that Pokemon Ranger is just another game to throw onto the pile. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#29 Most Discussed DS Game of 2006
#24 Most Shared DS Game of 2006
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. With next generation touch screen gameplay that works perfectly, an incredibly well created main quest, and a lot of extra Pokemon to catch this is a must for fans of the series and fans of Action RPGs. The use of the DS’ touch screen is unprecedented and has really captured a new form of gameplay. [JPN Import]
  2. Nintendo Power
    70
    Pokemon veterans will also breeze through the comparatively light challenge Ranger provides, but newcomers to the franchise will enjoy the challenge. [Dec. 2006, p.112]
  3. The dull, simplistic puzzle-solving relies on a gimmicky control scheme to distract you from the fact that it’s barely a game in any sense of the word.