Pokemon Ranger Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known as "Pokemon Ranger: The Road to Diamond and Pearl") With the help of Pokemon, set out on a fun-filled adventure! You play as a Pokemon Ranger in the Fiore Region, where you work to preserve nature and protect Pokemon. Circle Pokemon using the Capture Styler with Nintendo DS(Also known as "Pokemon Ranger: The Road to Diamond and Pearl") With the help of Pokemon, set out on a fun-filled adventure! You play as a Pokemon Ranger in the Fiore Region, where you work to preserve nature and protect Pokemon. Circle Pokemon using the Capture Styler with Nintendo DS stylus control. Use each Pokemon's special abilities to clear obstacles and to help capture other Pokemon. Capture and interact with more than 200 of your favorite Pokemon. Work your way up the Pokémon Ranger ranks by succeeding at official missions throughout the Fiore region. Pokemon Ranger is unlike any Pokemon game you've played before. You control your character using the stylus, and all Pokemon are captured using a Capture Styler instead of a Poke Ball. Since you're a Pokemon Ranger and not a trainer, you must release each captured Pokemon back into the wild after they help you. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. It’s simple without being easy, and it’s fun without being frustrating.
  2. This game is the best Pokemon spinoff I have ever played, and I dare tread into volatile territory and say this is the best Pokemon game I have ever played. It was fun every step of the way, even if I lost at times. I was always motivated to have “just one more crack" at catching the tricky ones, especially the ones at the Jungle Relic dungeon.
  3. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    80
    Pokemon Ranger isn't as deep and involving as the main Pokemon adventures, but as far as spin-offs go this is one of the best. A simple but fun adventure. [Apr 2007, p.85]
  4. Nintendo Gamer
    70
    Narrow-minded and frustrating, but Pokemon Ranger demands genuine skill. It gets so many things right that the RPGs get wrong. Give it a whirl. [May 2007, p.67]
  5. 70
    As was the case in Mystery Dungeon, it's nice to take another trip though this monster-infested world in a game that doesn't play like, well, 90% of the other Pokémon titles. I just wish that Ranger's gameplay didn't grow old so quickly.
  6. Pokemon Ranger is an enjoyable marketing sidequest, despite lacking depth or challenge. Pokemon fans will find it a satisfactory appetizer to tide them over until the main course arrives next year.
  7. netjak
    32
    Pokémon Ranger is one of the big misses in this franchise’s history. It can be entertaining for a short time, but uninteresting game mechanics and utter lack of difficulty will result in most players putting this game aside for good even before the relatively short story is completed.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Jan 17, 2018
    10
    This began what I consider my favorite offshoot pokemon series. I loved playing this game so much and enjoyed the challenge of circling aThis began what I consider my favorite offshoot pokemon series. I loved playing this game so much and enjoyed the challenge of circling a pokemon and catching it. Some of my best memories was playing this with my sister! Expand
  2. SamM.
    Jun 2, 2007
    10
    Top game! I'm half way through it. it has a top story line. you can unlock a manaphy egg for diamond and pearl. the game play is fun and Top game! I'm half way through it. it has a top story line. you can unlock a manaphy egg for diamond and pearl. the game play is fun and easy to pick up, but hard to master. all these things will keep me playing it for quite a while. i may even try to catch every single pokemon you can possibly catch. Expand
  3. LaurenW.
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    Wonderful! A MUST HAVE for Pokemon fans. It is a little short, but totally worth buying.
  4. Aug 25, 2017
    8
    I bought Pokemon Ranger because I always loved Pokemon and when I asked my father to buy it for my Nintendo DS he always said NO.

    Some
    I bought Pokemon Ranger because I always loved Pokemon and when I asked my father to buy it for my Nintendo DS he always said NO.

    Some months ago I decided that I wanted to try out Pokemon on my Nintendo DSi (I lost my Nintendo DS in holidays when I was a kid) because I always played it in my school laptop with a emulator.

    I bought it in a marketplace and after some days I was already playing it .

    The game isn´t like the classic ones. However , it´s still pretty enjoyable and fun to play. As a PC gamer , I don´t play it at home , but it´s pretty useful when you go on holidays.

    The game is set in the Fiore region and your objective is to preserve the nature and protect Pokemon with your Capture Styler. It´s a short game in terms of story but it can be pretty exciting and fun.

    I got mad sometimes because there are some pretty difficult captures , but if it was Easy it wouldn´t be fun , innit?

    The game is 11 years old but I still recommend it to the Pokemon and "Old" game lovers.
    Expand
  5. Feb 2, 2013
    7
    It's interesting because it's different and it's indeed fun! I like the fact that you actually see pokemons running around the field ratherIt's interesting because it's different and it's indeed fun! I like the fact that you actually see pokemons running around the field rather than hiding in the grass and that they interact with nature. Expand
  6. Jan 9, 2011
    4
    Pokemon Ranger fails within the pokemon franchises history. The entire concept of the game does not work, drawing circles around pokemon,Pokemon Ranger fails within the pokemon franchises history. The entire concept of the game does not work, drawing circles around pokemon, instead of catching and battling trainers. Would be good as an added edition to another pokemon game but not as it's own game. The gaame is tiring and becomes extremely frustrating throughout, with many pokemon seemingly impossible to catch. The story line works well but apart from that Pokemon Ranger is just another game to throw onto the pile. Collapse
  7. BrianL.
    Nov 9, 2006
    1
    I really dont like the way that you get to ask your pokemon for help. i perfer just sticking to the same idea as all the other games, whereI really dont like the way that you get to ask your pokemon for help. i perfer just sticking to the same idea as all the other games, where you have to rely on your own skilsl to solve obstacles that get in your way. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Pokemon Games of the 21st Century

    The Best Pokemon Games of the 21st Century Image
    Published: August 4, 2016
    Find out where Pokemon Go fits into our ranking of the best Pokemon games released since the turn of the century.

Awards & Rankings

33
26
#26 Most Discussed DS Game of 2006
15
#15 Most Shared DS Game of 2006