Pokemon White Version 2 DS


Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
Buy On
  1. Oct 1, 2012
    It manages to deliver everything you'd expect out of a Pokémon game, and it's still a decent RPG, but it fails to take any chances or offer real innovation.
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    Actually a good game with a lot of content and many Pokémons to catch. But at the same time it feels as this has been done before, as the layout and many Pokémons are reused from earlier games.
  3. Oct 16, 2012
    It's fun, but grounded in the fond repetition of nostalgia.
  4. Hyper Magazine
    Oct 8, 2012
    You have been here before, and you'll be back again. [Nov 2012, p.74]
  5. Oct 4, 2012
    Ultimately, what I took away from Pokemon White Version 2 was this: that the series, much like the monsters that call it home, desperately needs to evolve.
  6. Oct 2, 2012
    There are times when Pokemon Black and White Version 2 feel a little too familiar, especially when you're exploring the same towns, roads, and caves from the previous game.
  7. 70
    If you've never played a Pokémon game this is an excellent place to jump aboard, and you can add at least one extra point to the score as a result. But for anyone else this is an easy to ignore stopgap.
  8. Oct 1, 2012
    In fact, Black and White 2 takes a major step back from the bravest thing about its predecessor: Its story.
  9. Oct 8, 2012
    For the Poke-Maniacs out there, these two games are easily the definitive versions of this generation, but only because they offer a few added side missions and graphical enhancements. For anyone that played and enjoyed the two games before, Black 2 and White 2 can be skipped without question.
  10. Oct 3, 2012
    The story takes a step backward, and the new game modes aren't that impressive. Mostly, it's just the same ol' Jigglypuff song and dance from Pokemon Black/White 2.
  11. Sep 30, 2012
    Despite being plenty of fun and sporting a few new tweaks, Pokemon White 2 fails to outshine its predecessors.
  12. Oct 19, 2012
    If you are an avid Pokémon fan, what you get with Black & White Version 2 is a true Pokémon experience.

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed DS Game of 2012
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 131 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30
  1. Oct 25, 2012
    I am shocked. The series has really gone downhill since the 3rd generation, and I expected this to be as bad as black and white. I took theI am shocked. The series has really gone downhill since the 3rd generation, and I expected this to be as bad as black and white. I took the risk anyway and got this game and after beating it I have realized that this may very well be the best Pokemon game of the entire series. It had so many improvements and key features removed from previous games. The story was far better than expected, the Elite Four was a huge improvement from the last game, the gyms were far more interesting to go through, the rival is far more likable, and most of all the regions are all mixed together in this game. From the very beginning generation 1 Pokemon are able to be caught as well as 2-5. I have to say, I've played since Blue version and I never expected something this good. Full Review »
  2. Nov 4, 2012
    Pokemon White 2

    Yes, yes. We get it. Read any review of any Pokemon game ever and you will hear much of the same thing. It's just the same
    Pokemon White 2

    Yes, yes. We get it. Read any review of any Pokemon game ever and you will hear much of the same thing. It's just the same game. The same old formula, re-skinned and re-released to try and make more money. They're not just milking the cow dry but beating it with a stick. And to that I have to agree. In the newest installment, you won't find anything that re-invents the series. This game feels and plays just like all of the other Pokemon games. that being said it should be easy to decide if this game is something worth your time or money on. if you've liked Pokemon in the past, chances are you will like this game. If you've never enjoyed them, this isn't going to change your mind. What it does have, is enough new content and challenges for someone who has never missed an installment to enjoy, as well as give newcomers a fresh perspective of the series.

    Right off the bat this game feels a little different. It's not the exact cut and paste adventure that most of the games have become. You start off in a larger city. A professor doesn't give you a Pokemon, her assistant does. I realize that these are minor differences that wouldn't even be worth mentioning as a change in most game series, but it does make the game feel fresh. The first big change comes fast, however. The Pokemon you will find inhabiting the first few areas are not what you would expect. Instead of a bird and some other rat or beaver from the current generation, you are confronted by all sorts of Pokemon spanning multiple generations. I found myself feeling anxious every time I entered a battle, wondering what the next monster will be. This is a feeling that, in my opinion, has not been felt by gamers since the first installment of the series. Whenever you can capture a feeling like that for the first time in years, you have to give the developer props. After that the game continues on like you would expect it to. Catching new companions, fighting gym leaders, being the good guy. You've done this all before and the game does feel a little easy at times. The story isn't going to grab you're interest either. A new feature that seems to really make the game more enjoyable is the medal system. Aka- achievements. There are around 200 in game medals that as a player, gave me a reason to want to get to the end game faster. As in most Pokemon games, a good deal of the game occurs after you become champion and defeat the elite four. The battle subway makes a return, as does the Black City/White Forest from the last game. These give players who want a challenge just that. Only the most carefully bred and raised Pokemon will be able to beat the later levels of the subway. Mix that with the ability to change the difficulty, a first ever for the series, and you won't be cruising through these parts.
    Now I've saved the best for last, in my opinion. The Pokemon World Tournament, or PWT, is a new feature of the game and one of the best ever introduced into the series. You are able to enter a single elimination tournament with virtually every gym leader, elite four, and champion spanning all five generations. Remember how great it felt to beat Giovanni back in the day? Want a chance to go up against Brock or Misty again? Their all here and man are they ready for a fight. If you thought the battle subway was hard, you haven't seen anything. The amount of strategies and thought required here trumps even the most in depth and complicated RPGs to date. If you want a challenge, they given it to you. Wrapping it up now, this is a good game. It's slow at times and is, for the most part, the same game that you have played ten times before. But if you're a fan of the series and want a challenge, there may not be a better Pokemon game for you. 9 out of 10
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 26, 2012
    I'll admit that I dislike most pokemon that appeared after Silver and Gold but I still bought all of the games and I did enjoy playing them,I'll admit that I dislike most pokemon that appeared after Silver and Gold but I still bought all of the games and I did enjoy playing them, even if my pokemon looked like a lab experiment gone wrong! I managed to get through White but couldn't bring myself to go another lap around the Pokemon White track. Now I've faced my biggest challenge of all, Pokemon White Version 2... I had my doubts when I bought the game and to be honest I shouldn't have tried it but I made that mistake and I can honestly say that this was Terrible. Pokemon is about being able to like your pokemon and be happy and a little proud at how well you're little guys are doing, this game made me want to drown each and every one of the ugly critters. What happened to pokemon that looked cool or cute? Now we have pokemon that are just blobs stuck together and make pained gargling sounds.
    The new Rival system that seems to have come about is tedious as I don't feel the need to beat them like I once did, Oaks grandson thought he was the sun and we all revolved around him, I played that game not to be the best trainer but to knock him from his high horse. When I played Silver my rival was a crook who I was determined to show the error of his ways, even Ruby, which had your rival as a friend was great as it felt fresh and like a new direction. Now we receive the same back story almost like the developers are scared of inter human violence! The game is about animal beating the stuffing out of each other for crying out loud! There are many issues that I have with this game but the bottom line is that I find it unplayable. I am not interested in the pokemon or the characters and I couldn't care less if the Unova region sank into the sea. The thing I realised from this game is that 'Just because you have millions of ideas, doesn't mean you need to show them all off as sometime it destroys what you already had'
    Of course this is just my view on the game. I will always think that the Kento and Johto pokemon are the best.
    Full Review »