Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Oct 15, 2012
    80
    Refining most of the series' hallmarks make Black and White 2 top of their class, but they highlight as many ageing qualities as they do endearing ones.
  2. Oct 15, 2012
    80
    If Pokemon Black & White 2 are only sequels, it would be a shame not to play two of the most complete titles of the IP. With a good production, yet recycled, and gameplay mechanics that remain addictive, Pokemon Black & White 2 will held players spellbound for hours, offering an exotic adventure thanks to a well-balanced progression. But maybe it's time for Game Freak to move on and to develop the next episode on 3DS.
  3. Oct 15, 2012
    80
    Pokemon White Version 2 is unlikely to convert anyone who was previously unconvinced by the installments of old, or ensnare many newcomers from the older demographic, but the series has always had a Marmite quality to it.
  4. Oct 3, 2012
    80
    These are superior versions of already great games, but they don't offer a different enough experience to justify the "2" in their titles. [Oct 2012, p.80]
  5. Oct 2, 2012
    80
    Pokémon White Version 2 is a perfectly fine expansion for people who want more of the original.
  6. Oct 2, 2012
    80
    It's a good-looking DS game as well, slick new presentation and more emphasis on cut-scenes and 3D visuals making this an obvious transitional title on the series' inevitable march towards the 3DS.
  7. Oct 2, 2012
    80
    Pokémon Black 2 and White 2 feel like the "true" versions of Black and White, much as Crystal, Emerald, and Platinum felt like the real versions of their respective generations.
  8. Oct 1, 2012
    80
    Pokémon is as complex as it's ever been but still extremely accessible to those who want to play for the first time. With Black 2 & White 2, Game Freak has actually created an entirely new story to accompany its usual 3rd (and 4th) installment to generation 5. Unfortunately, the story feels like a less enthralling narrative than the original installments.
  9. Oct 1, 2012
    80
    While it's cool to see characters return and discover what's become of them since the last game, the plot feels like an unnecessary retread. The narrative takes a step back, especially when Black and White's story actually had me interested to see what would happen beyond the next gym badge.
  10. Oct 1, 2012
    80
    They still do too little to attract non-fans to the series, but for the vast crowd who have already been taken in by its charms, B&W2 will be yet another excuse to catch 'em all.
  11. Oct 15, 2012
    79
    Ultimately, it's hard to get into these games the way we did when its predecessors hit a year and a half ago, but that doesn't mean that we're not going to keep going until we've exhausted ourselves again.
  12. Mar 20, 2013
    78
    They're still good games, but there's nothing overtly special about them that makes them stand out from the rest of the series or, more importantly, Black and White 1.
  13. Oct 10, 2012
    76
    As for those who played Black and White, the question is: how much Pokémon can you take? If you're rearing to play another Pokémon game, this is a good one. If you're feeling apathetic about the series as it stands, Black and White 2 are not going to change your mind.
  14. Nov 7, 2012
    75
    Overall, I think creating an actual sequel to the existing dual releases seems to be a more interesting approach than simply crafting a third standalone game that offers up refinements but rehashes the general plot and setting, which is pretty much the way handheld Pokémon adventures have operated since the beginning.
  15. Oct 4, 2012
    75
    Normally, I could forgive Pokémon for so poorly handling a fairly legitimate moral issue, but the plot has been so deeply integrated, and spans such a large portion of the game that I really can't let it go.
  16. Oct 1, 2012
    71
    It manages to deliver everything you'd expect out of a Pokémon game, and it's still a decent RPG, but it fails to take any chances or offer real innovation.
  17. Oct 30, 2012
    70
    Actually a good game with a lot of content and many Pokémons to catch. But at the same time it feels as this has been done before, as the layout and many Pokémons are reused from earlier games.
  18. Oct 16, 2012
    70
    It's fun, but grounded in the fond repetition of nostalgia.
  19. Oct 8, 2012
    70
    You have been here before, and you'll be back again. [Nov 2012, p.74]
  20. Oct 4, 2012
    70
    Ultimately, what I took away from Pokemon White Version 2 was this: that the series, much like the monsters that call it home, desperately needs to evolve.
  21. Oct 2, 2012
    70
    There are times when Pokemon Black and White Version 2 feel a little too familiar, especially when you're exploring the same towns, roads, and caves from the previous game.
  22. 70
    If you've never played a Pokémon game this is an excellent place to jump aboard, and you can add at least one extra point to the score as a result. But for anyone else this is an easy to ignore stopgap.
  23. Oct 1, 2012
    70
    In fact, Black and White 2 takes a major step back from the bravest thing about its predecessor: Its story.
  24. Oct 8, 2012
    65
    For the Poke-Maniacs out there, these two games are easily the definitive versions of this generation, but only because they offer a few added side missions and graphical enhancements. For anyone that played and enjoyed the two games before, Black 2 and White 2 can be skipped without question.
  25. Oct 3, 2012
    65
    The story takes a step backward, and the new game modes aren't that impressive. Mostly, it's just the same ol' Jigglypuff song and dance from Pokemon Black/White 2.
  26. Sep 30, 2012
    65
    Despite being plenty of fun and sporting a few new tweaks, Pokemon White 2 fails to outshine its predecessors.
  27. Oct 19, 2012
    60
    If you are an avid Pokémon fan, what you get with Black & White Version 2 is a true Pokémon experience.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    I am shocked. The series has really gone downhill since the 3rd generation, and I expected this to be as bad as black and white. I took theI am shocked. The series has really gone downhill since the 3rd generation, and I expected this to be as bad as black and white. I took the risk anyway and got this game and after beating it I have realized that this may very well be the best Pokemon game of the entire series. It had so many improvements and key features removed from previous games. The story was far better than expected, the Elite Four was a huge improvement from the last game, the gyms were far more interesting to go through, the rival is far more likable, and most of all the regions are all mixed together in this game. From the very beginning generation 1 Pokemon are able to be caught as well as 2-5. I have to say, I've played since Blue version and I never expected something this good. Full Review »
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Was not happy with the original Pokemon Black/ White, but with Version 2, Nintendo can be proud that they finally made one of the best PokemonWas not happy with the original Pokemon Black/ White, but with Version 2, Nintendo can be proud that they finally made one of the best Pokemon versions on the NDS. It will never beat the originals, but this is possibly the closest they can get. Cannot wait for the 3DS versions hopefully! Full Review »
  3. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    Pokemon White 2

    Yes, yes. We get it. Read any review of any Pokemon game ever and you will hear much of the same thing. It's just the same
    Pokemon White 2

    Yes, yes. We get it. Read any review of any Pokemon game ever and you will hear much of the same thing. It's just the same game. The same old formula, re-skinned and re-released to try and make more money. They're not just milking the cow dry but beating it with a stick. And to that I have to agree. In the newest installment, you won't find anything that re-invents the series. This game feels and plays just like all of the other Pokemon games. that being said it should be easy to decide if this game is something worth your time or money on. if you've liked Pokemon in the past, chances are you will like this game. If you've never enjoyed them, this isn't going to change your mind. What it does have, is enough new content and challenges for someone who has never missed an installment to enjoy, as well as give newcomers a fresh perspective of the series.

    Right off the bat this game feels a little different. It's not the exact cut and paste adventure that most of the games have become. You start off in a larger city. A professor doesn't give you a Pokemon, her assistant does. I realize that these are minor differences that wouldn't even be worth mentioning as a change in most game series, but it does make the game feel fresh. The first big change comes fast, however. The Pokemon you will find inhabiting the first few areas are not what you would expect. Instead of a bird and some other rat or beaver from the current generation, you are confronted by all sorts of Pokemon spanning multiple generations. I found myself feeling anxious every time I entered a battle, wondering what the next monster will be. This is a feeling that, in my opinion, has not been felt by gamers since the first installment of the series. Whenever you can capture a feeling like that for the first time in years, you have to give the developer props. After that the game continues on like you would expect it to. Catching new companions, fighting gym leaders, being the good guy. You've done this all before and the game does feel a little easy at times. The story isn't going to grab you're interest either. A new feature that seems to really make the game more enjoyable is the medal system. Aka- achievements. There are around 200 in game medals that as a player, gave me a reason to want to get to the end game faster. As in most Pokemon games, a good deal of the game occurs after you become champion and defeat the elite four. The battle subway makes a return, as does the Black City/White Forest from the last game. These give players who want a challenge just that. Only the most carefully bred and raised Pokemon will be able to beat the later levels of the subway. Mix that with the ability to change the difficulty, a first ever for the series, and you won't be cruising through these parts.
    Now I've saved the best for last, in my opinion. The Pokemon World Tournament, or PWT, is a new feature of the game and one of the best ever introduced into the series. You are able to enter a single elimination tournament with virtually every gym leader, elite four, and champion spanning all five generations. Remember how great it felt to beat Giovanni back in the day? Want a chance to go up against Brock or Misty again? Their all here and man are they ready for a fight. If you thought the battle subway was hard, you haven't seen anything. The amount of strategies and thought required here trumps even the most in depth and complicated RPGs to date. If you want a challenge, they given it to you. Wrapping it up now, this is a good game. It's slow at times and is, for the most part, the same game that you have played ten times before. But if you're a fan of the series and want a challenge, there may not be a better Pokemon game for you. 9 out of 10
    Full Review »