Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Oct 9, 2012
    90
    A game filled with wonderful new ideas in the margins, but dependable, predictable gameplay in the middle. A game that honours the past but never seeks to stray too far from it. A game that elicits absolute unguarded delight and devotion from its young fans, even as they dream of what might be possible in the future.
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    90
    If you already own the originals and were left wanting more then you'll be well-served with Pokémon Black and White Version 2. If you're new to the series, or you've just missed a couple of entries, you can't afford to miss this terrific RPG-lite adventure.
  3. Oct 17, 2012
    88
    Sticks to what works while adding enough new features to keep it fresh. [Dec 2012, p.72]
  4. Oct 17, 2012
    92
    Loads of new content, with minor additions and huge ones, sticking to the core of the series and totally recommended for anyone interested in them.
  5. Oct 28, 2012
    90
    Training Pokémon and battling trainers (earning badges) and Pokémon alike is still bulletproof and as addicting as ever. The ever-increasing challenge over the course of so many hours, broken up by a bit of exploring and insipid story beats, is great.
  6. Oct 11, 2012
    95
    A second visit to the Unova region doesn't quite hit 100 percent perfection with this series veteran.
  7. Oct 15, 2012
    90
    Newcomers and hardcore fans who played the original titles will be served with the best Poké-game ever made and one of the best and deepest action-adventure-RPG titles on Nintendo DS.
  8. Oct 5, 2012
    90
    Pokémon Black and White 2 are easily the best in the series to date and an absolute must-buy for fans. Even if it's been ages since you've picked up a Poké Ball, there's no better time to jump back in and start catching them all.
  9. Better than Black and White, but lacking their freshness. A cracking swansong.
  10. Aug 26, 2012
    89
    This is a hearty meal of a game, one we're gleefully wolfing down, savouring every mouthful as it dribbles down our chins. [Sept 2012, p.97]
  11. Oct 25, 2012
    91
    These Pokémon adventures will likely be the swan song of the ageing Nintendo DS system, so I'm glad to see it go out on such a high note. Whether you're a Pokémaniac, a rookie trainer, or a nostalgic Red & Blue fanboy, Black & White 2 are must-play games.
  12. Oct 12, 2012
    90
    Pokémon Black Version 2 and Pokémon White Version 2 are technically fantastic, taking the core of a remarkable series and building in all manner of new and intriguing features to keep fans enamoured with what is basically a simple formula rinsed and constantly repeated over the years. The only aspect holding back these first ever direct sequels is the standard of presentation, with only minor upgrades since originally gracing the world over 15 years ago, no matter how much the point is argued. That being said, for the gameplay and story elements alone, this is undoubtedly an essential purchase.
  13. 94
    The title definitely packs a heck of a lot of bang for your buck and wins the top spot out of all Pokémon titles in my books. At the end of the day, if you are a fan of the series or not, this latest Pokemon title is a must have game for the DS, plain and simple.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    I am shocked. The series has really gone downhill since the 3rd generation, and I expected this to be as bad as black and white. I took theI am shocked. The series has really gone downhill since the 3rd generation, and I expected this to be as bad as black and white. I took the risk anyway and got this game and after beating it I have realized that this may very well be the best Pokemon game of the entire series. It had so many improvements and key features removed from previous games. The story was far better than expected, the Elite Four was a huge improvement from the last game, the gyms were far more interesting to go through, the rival is far more likable, and most of all the regions are all mixed together in this game. From the very beginning generation 1 Pokemon are able to be caught as well as 2-5. I have to say, I've played since Blue version and I never expected something this good. Full Review »
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Was not happy with the original Pokemon Black/ White, but with Version 2, Nintendo can be proud that they finally made one of the best PokemonWas not happy with the original Pokemon Black/ White, but with Version 2, Nintendo can be proud that they finally made one of the best Pokemon versions on the NDS. It will never beat the originals, but this is possibly the closest they can get. Cannot wait for the 3DS versions hopefully! Full Review »
  3. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    Pokemon White 2

    Yes, yes. We get it. Read any review of any Pokemon game ever and you will hear much of the same thing. It's just the same
    Pokemon White 2

    Yes, yes. We get it. Read any review of any Pokemon game ever and you will hear much of the same thing. It's just the same game. The same old formula, re-skinned and re-released to try and make more money. They're not just milking the cow dry but beating it with a stick. And to that I have to agree. In the newest installment, you won't find anything that re-invents the series. This game feels and plays just like all of the other Pokemon games. that being said it should be easy to decide if this game is something worth your time or money on. if you've liked Pokemon in the past, chances are you will like this game. If you've never enjoyed them, this isn't going to change your mind. What it does have, is enough new content and challenges for someone who has never missed an installment to enjoy, as well as give newcomers a fresh perspective of the series.

    Right off the bat this game feels a little different. It's not the exact cut and paste adventure that most of the games have become. You start off in a larger city. A professor doesn't give you a Pokemon, her assistant does. I realize that these are minor differences that wouldn't even be worth mentioning as a change in most game series, but it does make the game feel fresh. The first big change comes fast, however. The Pokemon you will find inhabiting the first few areas are not what you would expect. Instead of a bird and some other rat or beaver from the current generation, you are confronted by all sorts of Pokemon spanning multiple generations. I found myself feeling anxious every time I entered a battle, wondering what the next monster will be. This is a feeling that, in my opinion, has not been felt by gamers since the first installment of the series. Whenever you can capture a feeling like that for the first time in years, you have to give the developer props. After that the game continues on like you would expect it to. Catching new companions, fighting gym leaders, being the good guy. You've done this all before and the game does feel a little easy at times. The story isn't going to grab you're interest either. A new feature that seems to really make the game more enjoyable is the medal system. Aka- achievements. There are around 200 in game medals that as a player, gave me a reason to want to get to the end game faster. As in most Pokemon games, a good deal of the game occurs after you become champion and defeat the elite four. The battle subway makes a return, as does the Black City/White Forest from the last game. These give players who want a challenge just that. Only the most carefully bred and raised Pokemon will be able to beat the later levels of the subway. Mix that with the ability to change the difficulty, a first ever for the series, and you won't be cruising through these parts.
    Now I've saved the best for last, in my opinion. The Pokemon World Tournament, or PWT, is a new feature of the game and one of the best ever introduced into the series. You are able to enter a single elimination tournament with virtually every gym leader, elite four, and champion spanning all five generations. Remember how great it felt to beat Giovanni back in the day? Want a chance to go up against Brock or Misty again? Their all here and man are they ready for a fight. If you thought the battle subway was hard, you haven't seen anything. The amount of strategies and thought required here trumps even the most in depth and complicated RPGs to date. If you want a challenge, they given it to you. Wrapping it up now, this is a good game. It's slow at times and is, for the most part, the same game that you have played ten times before. But if you're a fan of the series and want a challenge, there may not be a better Pokemon game for you. 9 out of 10
    Full Review »