Pokemon White Version 2 DS


Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
Buy On
  1. Mar 20, 2013
    They're still good games, but there's nothing overtly special about them that makes them stand out from the rest of the series or, more importantly, Black and White 1.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Nov 15, 2012
    Pokémon Black and White 2 are the best Pokémon games thus far. The amount of activities you can participate in is delightful, the storyline surprisingly engaging, and the new gym design fun. The biggest complaint stems from the horrible implementation of new difficulty levels. I loved the idea of having a harder difficulty for my quest, but implementing it only in one game of the pair, and even then unlocking it after I've actually played through the game, is simply old fashioned and bad game design. [Nov 2012]
  3. Nov 14, 2012
    Fans of Pokémon already knows what to expect from this game, and it has as usual the same high quality standard we are spoiled with. The lack of new regions or a lot more Pokémon's makes the game feel a little bit too familiar with the previous one, so much that I would call this an extremely well done expansion rather than a new game.
  4. Nov 13, 2012
    The best thing about a new Pokemon game is that it's more Pokemon. The core of the series continues to be sound, but in the end the series needs to get better at following up on the story that it teases us with. After such a strong departure for the series the original Black and White, it's a shame to see Version 2 take a step back and offer such inferior characters and story beats. Despite being the follow up to the best Pokemon games in years, though, Black and White Version 2 have to settle for being "pretty good," leaving us waiting for the next real evolution in the series.
  5. Nov 10, 2012
    Another solid addition to the Pokemon franchise that will definitely please the fans of the series.
  6. Nov 7, 2012
    Overall, I think creating an actual sequel to the existing dual releases seems to be a more interesting approach than simply crafting a third standalone game that offers up refinements but rehashes the general plot and setting, which is pretty much the way handheld Pokémon adventures have operated since the beginning.
  7. Nov 6, 2012
    Unova may not feel as fresh as it did before, but still has plenty of charm.
  8. Nov 6, 2012
    What 3DS features are present in Black and White Version 2 are negligible and feel tacked on. It's instead best to consider Version 2 as the Fire Red and Leaf Green of the original Black and White pair. In the end, it's possible to skip these two, but the hardcore won't let it go. After all, you can't be the very best if you're not also exacting your commanding power over the latest installment in the series. Still, lapsed trainers would do well with Version 2, despite feeling like a stepping stone to the next generation of Pokemon games on the 3DS.
  9. 80
    Despite the paper thin story and the fact that the basic gameplay is still pretty much a carbon copy of the very first Pokémon game, Pokémon Black/White 2 is a feast of delicious new content for all fans of the series.
  10. Oct 28, 2012
    Training Pokémon and battling trainers (earning badges) and Pokémon alike is still bulletproof and as addicting as ever. The ever-increasing challenge over the course of so many hours, broken up by a bit of exploring and insipid story beats, is great.
  11. Oct 28, 2012
    Pokémon Black Version 2 & White Version 2 don't just make giant progressive steps, but also refine the original duo that were released one and a half years ago. There's still a sense of déjà vu, which every new entry in the Pokémon-franchise has. Despite that, Black & White 2 are loads of fun to play.
  12. Oct 27, 2012
    Pokemon White and Black 2 is not as brilliant as HeartGold and SoulSilver but is one of the best in the series and, undoubtedly, one of the best rpg's on portable consoles.
  13. Oct 25, 2012
    These Pokémon adventures will likely be the swan song of the ageing Nintendo DS system, so I'm glad to see it go out on such a high note. Whether you're a Pokémaniac, a rookie trainer, or a nostalgic Red & Blue fanboy, Black & White 2 are must-play games.
  14. Oct 25, 2012
    Pokemon White Version 2 is an enigma. It's simultaneously a solid Pokemon game, with loads of content and value out the wazoo, but also deeply disappointing thanks to the developers continued refusal to revamp the core of the age-old experience.
  15. Oct 25, 2012
    Are Pokémon Black and White 2 just as impressive as other Pokémon games? No. Can you enjoy the games just as much as any other Pokémon game? Yes! Pokémon Black and White 2 are refined versions of the first Pokémon Black and White games that offers enough new content to keep you entertained for forty, sixty or even a hundred hours of Pokéfun. Just don't expect any revolutionary changes.
  16. Oct 21, 2012
    Pokémon Black & White 2 is more of an expansion than a true sequel, therefore whoever has played the previous edition might find it less interesting than it really is. Newcomers instead should not be afraid of taking this new, excellent adventure on: not the best Pokémon to date, but damn close.
  17. Oct 19, 2012
    More of a 1.5 episode than a true sequel duo, White 2 and Black 2 still are very satisfying for the fans or those who haven't played a Pokméon for some time, thanks to nice additions and a successful blend of gameplay elements.
  18. Oct 18, 2012
    Game Freak keeps the original Pokémon gameplay in a game that isn't revolutionary, but it's still a great title in the series. Maybe, the videogame with more content in the Pokémon history.
  19. Oct 17, 2012
    Loads of new content, with minor additions and huge ones, sticking to the core of the series and totally recommended for anyone interested in them.
  20. Games Master UK
    Oct 17, 2012
    Sticks to what works while adding enough new features to keep it fresh. [Dec 2012, p.72]
  21. Oct 15, 2012
    Ultimately, it's hard to get into these games the way we did when its predecessors hit a year and a half ago, but that doesn't mean that we're not going to keep going until we've exhausted ourselves again.
  22. Oct 15, 2012
    Refining most of the series' hallmarks make Black and White 2 top of their class, but they highlight as many ageing qualities as they do endearing ones.
  23. Oct 15, 2012
    If Pokemon Black & White 2 are only sequels, it would be a shame not to play two of the most complete titles of the IP. With a good production, yet recycled, and gameplay mechanics that remain addictive, Pokemon Black & White 2 will held players spellbound for hours, offering an exotic adventure thanks to a well-balanced progression. But maybe it's time for Game Freak to move on and to develop the next episode on 3DS.
  24. Oct 15, 2012
    Newcomers and hardcore fans who played the original titles will be served with the best Poké-game ever made and one of the best and deepest action-adventure-RPG titles on Nintendo DS.
  25. Oct 15, 2012
    Pokemon White Version 2 is unlikely to convert anyone who was previously unconvinced by the installments of old, or ensnare many newcomers from the older demographic, but the series has always had a Marmite quality to it.
  26. Oct 12, 2012
    Pokémon Black Version 2 and Pokémon White Version 2 are technically fantastic, taking the core of a remarkable series and building in all manner of new and intriguing features to keep fans enamoured with what is basically a simple formula rinsed and constantly repeated over the years. The only aspect holding back these first ever direct sequels is the standard of presentation, with only minor upgrades since originally gracing the world over 15 years ago, no matter how much the point is argued. That being said, for the gameplay and story elements alone, this is undoubtedly an essential purchase.
  27. Oct 12, 2012
    Simply put, White and Black 2 are the best Pokémon experience available on Nintendo DS, and a must have for every RPG enthusiast.
  28. Oct 11, 2012
    A second visit to the Unova region doesn't quite hit 100 percent perfection with this series veteran.
  29. Oct 10, 2012
    As for those who played Black and White, the question is: how much Pokémon can you take? If you're rearing to play another Pokémon game, this is a good one. If you're feeling apathetic about the series as it stands, Black and White 2 are not going to change your mind.
  30. Oct 10, 2012
    Pokémon strikes back with the first numbered sequel of the franchise so far. Black & White 2's stunning new features will make both fans and RPG lovers have tons of fun with deeper gameplay and a few nice additions. It's very much more of the same, but nonetheless it takes all the necessary steps to become a must-have on the NDS game library.
  31. Oct 9, 2012
    A game filled with wonderful new ideas in the margins, but dependable, predictable gameplay in the middle. A game that honours the past but never seeks to stray too far from it. A game that elicits absolute unguarded delight and devotion from its young fans, even as they dream of what might be possible in the future.
  32. Oct 6, 2012
    The title definitely packs a heck of a lot of bang for your buck and wins the top spot out of all Pokémon titles in my books. At the end of the day, if you are a fan of the series or not, this latest Pokemon title is a must have game for the DS, plain and simple.
  33. Oct 5, 2012
    Pokémon Black and White 2 are easily the best in the series to date and an absolute must-buy for fans. Even if it's been ages since you've picked up a Poké Ball, there's no better time to jump back in and start catching them all.
  34. Oct 4, 2012
    Normally, I could forgive Pokémon for so poorly handling a fairly legitimate moral issue, but the plot has been so deeply integrated, and spans such a large portion of the game that I really can't let it go.
  35. Nintendo Power
    Oct 3, 2012
    These are superior versions of already great games, but they don't offer a different enough experience to justify the "2" in their titles. [Oct 2012, p.80]
  36. Oct 2, 2012
    Pokémon White Version 2 is a perfectly fine expansion for people who want more of the original.
  37. Oct 2, 2012
    It's a good-looking DS game as well, slick new presentation and more emphasis on cut-scenes and 3D visuals making this an obvious transitional title on the series' inevitable march towards the 3DS.
  38. Oct 2, 2012
    Pokémon Black 2 and White 2 feel like the "true" versions of Black and White, much as Crystal, Emerald, and Platinum felt like the real versions of their respective generations.
  39. 85
    Yes, it's as excellent as ever, but it doesn't strive to eclipse its predecessor. The poorly paced plot and lack of freshness leads me to believe the original may be better. Black 2 is fully worth a purchase, but beating the game only left me wanting more, and not in a good way.
  40. Oct 1, 2012
    Pokémon is as complex as it's ever been but still extremely accessible to those who want to play for the first time. With Black 2 & White 2, Game Freak has actually created an entirely new story to accompany its usual 3rd (and 4th) installment to generation 5. Unfortunately, the story feels like a less enthralling narrative than the original installments.
  41. Oct 1, 2012
    If you already own the originals and were left wanting more then you'll be well-served with Pokémon Black and White Version 2. If you're new to the series, or you've just missed a couple of entries, you can't afford to miss this terrific RPG-lite adventure.
  42. Oct 1, 2012
    While it's cool to see characters return and discover what's become of them since the last game, the plot feels like an unnecessary retread. The narrative takes a step back, especially when Black and White's story actually had me interested to see what would happen beyond the next gym badge.
  43. Oct 1, 2012
    They still do too little to attract non-fans to the series, but for the vast crowd who have already been taken in by its charms, B&W2 will be yet another excuse to catch 'em all.
  44. Better than Black and White, but lacking their freshness. A cracking swansong.
  45. Nintendo Gamer
    Aug 26, 2012
    This is a hearty meal of a game, one we're gleefully wolfing down, savouring every mouthful as it dribbles down our chins. [Sept 2012, p.97]

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed DS Game of 2012
#2 Most Shared DS Game of 2012
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 133 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30
  1. Oct 25, 2012
    I am shocked. The series has really gone downhill since the 3rd generation, and I expected this to be as bad as black and white. I took theI am shocked. The series has really gone downhill since the 3rd generation, and I expected this to be as bad as black and white. I took the risk anyway and got this game and after beating it I have realized that this may very well be the best Pokemon game of the entire series. It had so many improvements and key features removed from previous games. The story was far better than expected, the Elite Four was a huge improvement from the last game, the gyms were far more interesting to go through, the rival is far more likable, and most of all the regions are all mixed together in this game. From the very beginning generation 1 Pokemon are able to be caught as well as 2-5. I have to say, I've played since Blue version and I never expected something this good. Full Review »
  2. Nov 4, 2012
    Pokemon White 2

    Yes, yes. We get it. Read any review of any Pokemon game ever and you will hear much of the same thing. It's just the same
    Pokemon White 2

    Yes, yes. We get it. Read any review of any Pokemon game ever and you will hear much of the same thing. It's just the same game. The same old formula, re-skinned and re-released to try and make more money. They're not just milking the cow dry but beating it with a stick. And to that I have to agree. In the newest installment, you won't find anything that re-invents the series. This game feels and plays just like all of the other Pokemon games. that being said it should be easy to decide if this game is something worth your time or money on. if you've liked Pokemon in the past, chances are you will like this game. If you've never enjoyed them, this isn't going to change your mind. What it does have, is enough new content and challenges for someone who has never missed an installment to enjoy, as well as give newcomers a fresh perspective of the series.

    Right off the bat this game feels a little different. It's not the exact cut and paste adventure that most of the games have become. You start off in a larger city. A professor doesn't give you a Pokemon, her assistant does. I realize that these are minor differences that wouldn't even be worth mentioning as a change in most game series, but it does make the game feel fresh. The first big change comes fast, however. The Pokemon you will find inhabiting the first few areas are not what you would expect. Instead of a bird and some other rat or beaver from the current generation, you are confronted by all sorts of Pokemon spanning multiple generations. I found myself feeling anxious every time I entered a battle, wondering what the next monster will be. This is a feeling that, in my opinion, has not been felt by gamers since the first installment of the series. Whenever you can capture a feeling like that for the first time in years, you have to give the developer props. After that the game continues on like you would expect it to. Catching new companions, fighting gym leaders, being the good guy. You've done this all before and the game does feel a little easy at times. The story isn't going to grab you're interest either. A new feature that seems to really make the game more enjoyable is the medal system. Aka- achievements. There are around 200 in game medals that as a player, gave me a reason to want to get to the end game faster. As in most Pokemon games, a good deal of the game occurs after you become champion and defeat the elite four. The battle subway makes a return, as does the Black City/White Forest from the last game. These give players who want a challenge just that. Only the most carefully bred and raised Pokemon will be able to beat the later levels of the subway. Mix that with the ability to change the difficulty, a first ever for the series, and you won't be cruising through these parts.
    Now I've saved the best for last, in my opinion. The Pokemon World Tournament, or PWT, is a new feature of the game and one of the best ever introduced into the series. You are able to enter a single elimination tournament with virtually every gym leader, elite four, and champion spanning all five generations. Remember how great it felt to beat Giovanni back in the day? Want a chance to go up against Brock or Misty again? Their all here and man are they ready for a fight. If you thought the battle subway was hard, you haven't seen anything. The amount of strategies and thought required here trumps even the most in depth and complicated RPGs to date. If you want a challenge, they given it to you. Wrapping it up now, this is a good game. It's slow at times and is, for the most part, the same game that you have played ten times before. But if you're a fan of the series and want a challenge, there may not be a better Pokemon game for you. 9 out of 10
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 26, 2012
    I'll admit that I dislike most pokemon that appeared after Silver and Gold but I still bought all of the games and I did enjoy playing them,I'll admit that I dislike most pokemon that appeared after Silver and Gold but I still bought all of the games and I did enjoy playing them, even if my pokemon looked like a lab experiment gone wrong! I managed to get through White but couldn't bring myself to go another lap around the Pokemon White track. Now I've faced my biggest challenge of all, Pokemon White Version 2... I had my doubts when I bought the game and to be honest I shouldn't have tried it but I made that mistake and I can honestly say that this was Terrible. Pokemon is about being able to like your pokemon and be happy and a little proud at how well you're little guys are doing, this game made me want to drown each and every one of the ugly critters. What happened to pokemon that looked cool or cute? Now we have pokemon that are just blobs stuck together and make pained gargling sounds.
    The new Rival system that seems to have come about is tedious as I don't feel the need to beat them like I once did, Oaks grandson thought he was the sun and we all revolved around him, I played that game not to be the best trainer but to knock him from his high horse. When I played Silver my rival was a crook who I was determined to show the error of his ways, even Ruby, which had your rival as a friend was great as it felt fresh and like a new direction. Now we receive the same back story almost like the developers are scared of inter human violence! The game is about animal beating the stuffing out of each other for crying out loud! There are many issues that I have with this game but the bottom line is that I find it unplayable. I am not interested in the pokemon or the characters and I couldn't care less if the Unova region sank into the sea. The thing I realised from this game is that 'Just because you have millions of ideas, doesn't mean you need to show them all off as sometime it destroys what you already had'
    Of course this is just my view on the game. I will always think that the Kento and Johto pokemon are the best.
    Full Review »