Pokemon White Version 2 Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 183 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the Pokemon White Version 2 game, players can explore new areas, discover gyms with new leaders and see how everything has changed in the last two years.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Pokemon Black Version 2/White Version 2 Official Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    95
    A second visit to the Unova region doesn't quite hit 100 percent perfection with this series veteran.
  2. Oct 12, 2012
    90
    Pokémon Black Version 2 and Pokémon White Version 2 are technically fantastic, taking the core of a remarkable series and building in all manner of new and intriguing features to keep fans enamoured with what is basically a simple formula rinsed and constantly repeated over the years. The only aspect holding back these first ever direct sequels is the standard of presentation, with only minor upgrades since originally gracing the world over 15 years ago, no matter how much the point is argued. That being said, for the gameplay and story elements alone, this is undoubtedly an essential purchase.
  3. Oct 25, 2012
    85
    Are Pokémon Black and White 2 just as impressive as other Pokémon games? No. Can you enjoy the games just as much as any other Pokémon game? Yes! Pokémon Black and White 2 are refined versions of the first Pokémon Black and White games that offers enough new content to keep you entertained for forty, sixty or even a hundred hours of Pokéfun. Just don't expect any revolutionary changes.
  4. Oct 2, 2012
    80
    It's a good-looking DS game as well, slick new presentation and more emphasis on cut-scenes and 3D visuals making this an obvious transitional title on the series' inevitable march towards the 3DS.
  5. Oct 21, 2012
    80
    Pokémon Black & White 2 is more of an expansion than a true sequel, therefore whoever has played the previous edition might find it less interesting than it really is. Newcomers instead should not be afraid of taking this new, excellent adventure on: not the best Pokémon to date, but damn close.
  6. Oct 10, 2012
    76
    As for those who played Black and White, the question is: how much Pokémon can you take? If you're rearing to play another Pokémon game, this is a good one. If you're feeling apathetic about the series as it stands, Black and White 2 are not going to change your mind.
  7. Oct 19, 2012
    60
    If you are an avid Pokémon fan, what you get with Black & White Version 2 is a true Pokémon experience.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    I am shocked. The series has really gone downhill since the 3rd generation, and I expected this to be as bad as black and white. I took theI am shocked. The series has really gone downhill since the 3rd generation, and I expected this to be as bad as black and white. I took the risk anyway and got this game and after beating it I have realized that this may very well be the best Pokemon game of the entire series. It had so many improvements and key features removed from previous games. The story was far better than expected, the Elite Four was a huge improvement from the last game, the gyms were far more interesting to go through, the rival is far more likable, and most of all the regions are all mixed together in this game. From the very beginning generation 1 Pokemon are able to be caught as well as 2-5. I have to say, I've played since Blue version and I never expected something this good. Expand
  2. Oct 28, 2017
    10
    EL mejor juego de la saga, con mejores diseños de pokemon, mejor historia de lejos, mejores personajes, mejor dificultad, secuelaEL mejor juego de la saga, con mejores diseños de pokemon, mejor historia de lejos, mejores personajes, mejor dificultad, secuela espectacular... en fin 13/10 Expand
  3. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    Amazing game. Franchise veterans will love the extremely polished mechanics like the simplification of nature breeding, better pacing, andAmazing game. Franchise veterans will love the extremely polished mechanics like the simplification of nature breeding, better pacing, and achievement system (Medals). Younger gamers and newcomers will find the presentation quite astonishing, especially for a DS title. The 3D cut scenes are really cool and will blow you away. Lots of replay value, beautiful in-game sprites, the World Tournament, the new Move Tutors, hidden burrows, incredible music, gym layouts, and many other simple tweaks like the sunlight blinding you when you come out of a building or cave make this game a perfect one in my eyes. It is the ultimate realization of the Pokémon formula. Expand
  4. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    When a new Pokemon game comes out I'm always worried about the "futuristic" news in it, this game is not an exception: technology, big cities,When a new Pokemon game comes out I'm always worried about the "futuristic" news in it, this game is not an exception: technology, big cities, Yes, I'm a fan of good old Pokemon days.
    By the way this White Two seems quite good, enjoyable to play, nice story behind it.

    9/10
    Expand
  5. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    I've always been a massive fan of the Pokemon series, so I guess it might be a little biased. But I absolutely love this game. New featuresI've always been a massive fan of the Pokemon series, so I guess it might be a little biased. But I absolutely love this game. New features like Pokestar Studios might be a little unnecessary, but the game itself is a triumph. I'm still addicted after months of getting it. Expand
  6. Jan 1, 2018
    8
    Black and White 2 was an overall improvement on its predecessor, balancing it out while providing another strong story. In addition, it gaveBlack and White 2 was an overall improvement on its predecessor, balancing it out while providing another strong story. In addition, it gave you access to Pokemon from other games pre elite four. Expand
  7. Dec 26, 2012
    1
    I'll admit that I dislike most pokemon that appeared after Silver and Gold but I still bought all of the games and I did enjoy playing them,I'll admit that I dislike most pokemon that appeared after Silver and Gold but I still bought all of the games and I did enjoy playing them, even if my pokemon looked like a lab experiment gone wrong! I managed to get through White but couldn't bring myself to go another lap around the Pokemon White track. Now I've faced my biggest challenge of all, Pokemon White Version 2... I had my doubts when I bought the game and to be honest I shouldn't have tried it but I made that mistake and I can honestly say that this was Terrible. Pokemon is about being able to like your pokemon and be happy and a little proud at how well you're little guys are doing, this game made me want to drown each and every one of the ugly critters. What happened to pokemon that looked cool or cute? Now we have pokemon that are just blobs stuck together and make pained gargling sounds.
    The new Rival system that seems to have come about is tedious as I don't feel the need to beat them like I once did, Oaks grandson thought he was the sun and we all revolved around him, I played that game not to be the best trainer but to knock him from his high horse. When I played Silver my rival was a crook who I was determined to show the error of his ways, even Ruby, which had your rival as a friend was great as it felt fresh and like a new direction. Now we receive the same back story almost like the developers are scared of inter human violence! The game is about animal beating the stuffing out of each other for crying out loud! There are many issues that I have with this game but the bottom line is that I find it unplayable. I am not interested in the pokemon or the characters and I couldn't care less if the Unova region sank into the sea. The thing I realised from this game is that 'Just because you have millions of ideas, doesn't mean you need to show them all off as sometime it destroys what you already had'
    Of course this is just my view on the game. I will always think that the Kento and Johto pokemon are the best.
    Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

2
2
#2 Most Discussed DS Game of 2012
3
#3 Most Shared DS Game of 2012