Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 108 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the Pokemon White Version 2 game, players can explore new areas, discover gyms with new leaders and see how everything has changed in the last two years.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    95
    A second visit to the Unova region doesn't quite hit 100 percent perfection with this series veteran.
  2. Oct 12, 2012
    90
    Pokémon Black Version 2 and Pokémon White Version 2 are technically fantastic, taking the core of a remarkable series and building in all manner of new and intriguing features to keep fans enamoured with what is basically a simple formula rinsed and constantly repeated over the years. The only aspect holding back these first ever direct sequels is the standard of presentation, with only minor upgrades since originally gracing the world over 15 years ago, no matter how much the point is argued. That being said, for the gameplay and story elements alone, this is undoubtedly an essential purchase.
  3. Oct 25, 2012
    85
    Are Pokémon Black and White 2 just as impressive as other Pokémon games? No. Can you enjoy the games just as much as any other Pokémon game? Yes! Pokémon Black and White 2 are refined versions of the first Pokémon Black and White games that offers enough new content to keep you entertained for forty, sixty or even a hundred hours of Pokéfun. Just don't expect any revolutionary changes.
  4. Oct 2, 2012
    80
    It's a good-looking DS game as well, slick new presentation and more emphasis on cut-scenes and 3D visuals making this an obvious transitional title on the series' inevitable march towards the 3DS.
  5. Oct 21, 2012
    80
    Pokémon Black & White 2 is more of an expansion than a true sequel, therefore whoever has played the previous edition might find it less interesting than it really is. Newcomers instead should not be afraid of taking this new, excellent adventure on: not the best Pokémon to date, but damn close.
  6. Oct 10, 2012
    76
    As for those who played Black and White, the question is: how much Pokémon can you take? If you're rearing to play another Pokémon game, this is a good one. If you're feeling apathetic about the series as it stands, Black and White 2 are not going to change your mind.
  7. Oct 19, 2012
    60
    If you are an avid Pokémon fan, what you get with Black & White Version 2 is a true Pokémon experience.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    I am shocked. The series has really gone downhill since the 3rd generation, and I expected this to be as bad as black and white. I took the risk anyway and got this game and after beating it I have realized that this may very well be the best Pokemon game of the entire series. It had so many improvements and key features removed from previous games. The story was far better than expected, the Elite Four was a huge improvement from the last game, the gyms were far more interesting to go through, the rival is far more likable, and most of all the regions are all mixed together in this game. From the very beginning generation 1 Pokemon are able to be caught as well as 2-5. I have to say, I've played since Blue version and I never expected something this good. Collapse
  2. Oct 23, 2012
    10
    I don't have to much to say about this game, except for the fact that I think it is pretty damn good, and that any Pokemon fan would be a fool not to get it. Expand
  3. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    It's got the really good enviroment of Black/White.With the really okayish pokemon of Black/White and the really good ones from all the other generations.One of the better of Pokemon DS games. Expand
  4. Jan 25, 2013
    9
    Advancing on the already set up story in White & Black, Pokemon B/W2 steps more int he right direction for the series. With harder challenges, and interesting tournament mode, and mix of Pokemon from all regions, going back to Unova already isn't as bad as it seems. Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    When a new Pokemon game comes out I'm always worried about the "futuristic" news in it, this game is not an exception: technology, big cities, Yes, I'm a fan of good old Pokemon days.
    By the way this White Two seems quite good, enjoyable to play, nice story behind it.

    9/10
    Expand
  6. Mar 14, 2013
    8
    They would have to try really hard to make a bad game in the Pokemon main series. I have played every single iteration of the game, and it never gets old. Which is surprising, given that the storyline is pretty much always the same (small town kid becomes Pokemon champion while thwarting the plans of a criminal organization). It would be cool to get some insane twist on this formula, but alas, we'll have to wait at least until the next generation for that.

    What pushes Pokemon White Version 2 ahead is that it is, arguably, the best sequel to an original Pokemon game released thus far. That's because, for the first time, it actually succeeds in feeling like a sequel. You can synchronize it with your White or Black Version 1 games so that the events in your previous adventure are actually remembered by the people here, and that's very cool.

    Other than that, it's the same Pokemon action we all know and love, and that means hours and hours of light-hearted fun.
    Expand
  7. Dec 26, 2012
    1
    I'll admit that I dislike most pokemon that appeared after Silver and Gold but I still bought all of the games and I did enjoy playing them, even if my pokemon looked like a lab experiment gone wrong! I managed to get through White but couldn't bring myself to go another lap around the Pokemon White track. Now I've faced my biggest challenge of all, Pokemon White Version 2... I had my doubts when I bought the game and to be honest I shouldn't have tried it but I made that mistake and I can honestly say that this was Terrible. Pokemon is about being able to like your pokemon and be happy and a little proud at how well you're little guys are doing, this game made me want to drown each and every one of the ugly critters. What happened to pokemon that looked cool or cute? Now we have pokemon that are just blobs stuck together and make pained gargling sounds.
    The new Rival system that seems to have come about is tedious as I don't feel the need to beat them like I once did, Oaks grandson thought he was the sun and we all revolved around him, I played that game not to be the best trainer but to knock him from his high horse. When I played Silver my rival was a crook who I was determined to show the error of his ways, even Ruby, which had your rival as a friend was great as it felt fresh and like a new direction. Now we receive the same back story almost like the developers are scared of inter human violence! The game is about animal beating the stuffing out of each other for crying out loud! There are many issues that I have with this game but the bottom line is that I find it unplayable. I am not interested in the pokemon or the characters and I couldn't care less if the Unova region sank into the sea. The thing I realised from this game is that 'Just because you have millions of ideas, doesn't mean you need to show them all off as sometime it destroys what you already had'
    Of course this is just my view on the game. I will always think that the Kento and Johto pokemon are the best.
    Expand

See all 27 User Reviews