User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 220 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 220

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 14, 2011
    9
    I have played Pokemon for a very long time. I told myself that this game would be no different to the ones that came before it. I can't believe I ever thought that. This game is new and fun and full of surprises! I can't wait to get my 3DS in the mail and pop this into it, that will be the first thing I do. This game has replay value out the back and I can't wait to buy my second copy.I have played Pokemon for a very long time. I told myself that this game would be no different to the ones that came before it. I can't believe I ever thought that. This game is new and fun and full of surprises! I can't wait to get my 3DS in the mail and pop this into it, that will be the first thing I do. This game has replay value out the back and I can't wait to buy my second copy. Well done Nintendo. Expand
  2. Apr 3, 2012
    2
    Bah. I hated this game. I have hated Pokemon since they made crappy remakes of Gold and Silver. If you asked me I would put Pokemon Blue and Pokemon Silver somewhere on my top 10 list of favourite games ever. This would barely make my 1000th.
    First, they made the controls even harder by adding even MORE touchscreen stuff.
    Second, it is EXACTLY THE SAME AS SOULSILVER WAS!!!!!!!!!!!! Pokemon
    Bah. I hated this game. I have hated Pokemon since they made crappy remakes of Gold and Silver. If you asked me I would put Pokemon Blue and Pokemon Silver somewhere on my top 10 list of favourite games ever. This would barely make my 1000th.
    First, they made the controls even harder by adding even MORE touchscreen stuff.
    Second, it is EXACTLY THE SAME AS SOULSILVER WAS!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Pokemon was better when it was NOT THE SAME GAME EVERY TIME!!!!!!!!!!
    Yes, Red and Blue are practically the same as Crystal, but they were actually original.

    The END!!!!
    Expand
  3. Mar 10, 2012
    6
    Get this one instead of Black version. The bonus feature is a forest that works seasonally, while the bonus feature in Black is a city tht works depending on how fast you beat the game. If you're ike me, you spend a lot of time really building a team and beat Pokemon games pretty slowly, and Black loses the bonus feature almost entirely if you're like that. Still can only give it a 6. ReadGet this one instead of Black version. The bonus feature is a forest that works seasonally, while the bonus feature in Black is a city tht works depending on how fast you beat the game. If you're ike me, you spend a lot of time really building a team and beat Pokemon games pretty slowly, and Black loses the bonus feature almost entirely if you're like that. Still can only give it a 6. Read my review for Black version for all of the details on that. Expand
  4. Jan 20, 2012
    0
    Creatures Inc. and Pokemon Corp. should think of a newer spin off than the serie with the same plot. I am disgusted by the black and white pokemons they were ridiculously not memorable. They are like trashes that came along to the series.
  5. Apr 28, 2012
    6
    Why GameFreak, why? Why, after the excellent HG/SS versions, you had to come out with this... thing? The best bet I have is that the team that worked on this abomination is NOT the same that worked on HG and SS. But anyway. The entire franchise got so dumbed down with Black and White it's not even funny. Poison not working outside of battle? Region being linear as crap? Gym leaders onlyWhy GameFreak, why? Why, after the excellent HG/SS versions, you had to come out with this... thing? The best bet I have is that the team that worked on this abomination is NOT the same that worked on HG and SS. But anyway. The entire franchise got so dumbed down with Black and White it's not even funny. Poison not working outside of battle? Region being linear as crap? Gym leaders only ever having 3 Pokemon max? Audinos and Lucky Egg making the game lose ANY traces of challenge it ever had? And that's only scratching the top of a mountain of problems this game has. Truth to be told, the game has some improvements. Mostly minor, and/or completely irrelevant to the franchise as a whole (like a plot) but there are still there. Still, the game left me with a really bad aftertaste (esp. with what they did to the multiplayer...) and that pushed me, a lifelong fan of the franchise, to rate this game with such an average score. Expand
  6. May 7, 2012
    0
    If you've played the previous Pokemon games in the GBA or GBC, then you'd know that this game is not the best in the series. The Pokemon series is going downhill because of the lack of creativity. My all time favorite will be Emerald Version. The Pokemon series is going downhill and now the games are starting too. I'd say, Gamefreak should just create a Pokemon game where you can travel inIf you've played the previous Pokemon games in the GBA or GBC, then you'd know that this game is not the best in the series. The Pokemon series is going downhill because of the lack of creativity. My all time favorite will be Emerald Version. The Pokemon series is going downhill and now the games are starting too. I'd say, Gamefreak should just create a Pokemon game where you can travel in Kanto, Johto and Hoenn in a new story. Maybe Sinnoh. Since its got a lot of cool Pokemon and is the LAST best. Expand
  7. Apr 6, 2011
    9
    Pokemon Black and White is the most original and refreshing entry in the series since Pokemon's first inception. Over ten years have passed since I was first exposed to my Blue version, and the series is still going strong. Game Freak is a truly amazing developer, with their uncanny ability to rejuvenate what is essentially a bunch of rock-paper-scissors battle. Pokemon is still one of thePokemon Black and White is the most original and refreshing entry in the series since Pokemon's first inception. Over ten years have passed since I was first exposed to my Blue version, and the series is still going strong. Game Freak is a truly amazing developer, with their uncanny ability to rejuvenate what is essentially a bunch of rock-paper-scissors battle. Pokemon is still one of the most enriching and addicting RPGs out there. Expand
  8. Mar 7, 2011
    9
    I posted a review of Black and so I thought I would post a similar one for White since I have both but instead of copying my other one I am going to cover some of the features on this one I did not on my review of Black.. I really liked how they added triple battles and rotation battles but tri type pokemon would have been nice. Another thing that would have been nice is a dragonI posted a review of Black and so I thought I would post a similar one for White since I have both but instead of copying my other one I am going to cover some of the features on this one I did not on my review of Black.. I really liked how they added triple battles and rotation battles but tri type pokemon would have been nice. Another thing that would have been nice is a dragon Evveeloution but it is forgivable. The camera has some cool angles but it is a little overhyped. Zekrom and Reshiram are cool but the elemental legendaries which have those weird names one is which is a fire tpye is pretty weird. As for graphics they were improved but not earth shattering. Full 3d like in Battle Revolution would be nice. As well as Pokemon appearing in the over world with no need to walk through grass but you cannot have it all. The sound is good but not as classic or as awesome as HG/SS but it is still a worthy effort and a great rethinking of the series that comes a little short of perfection. I give both versions a 9/10 Expand
  9. Mar 9, 2011
    9
    So close to perfect. The gameplay mechanics have been tweaked beautifully and the world to explore is vast and fresh, triple battles add a whole lot more strategy to the game and the graphics are gorgeously simplistic (nice to see the return of pixelated close-up sprites, blast from the past from Pokemon Yellow right there). It's just a shame that a few of the new pokemon feel rushed and weak.
  10. Mar 31, 2012
    8
    Pokemon White manages to bring some much needed freshness into the series, although not enough to fully satisfy. The usual journey of catching/training pokemon and battling other trainers is still fun and a world populated solely with new monsters is a nice change. What is disappointing is the reluctance of this series to stray too far from its comfort zone. Also, the region exclusive toPokemon White manages to bring some much needed freshness into the series, although not enough to fully satisfy. The usual journey of catching/training pokemon and battling other trainers is still fun and a world populated solely with new monsters is a nice change. What is disappointing is the reluctance of this series to stray too far from its comfort zone. Also, the region exclusive to White version is a big letdown. Even so, both newcomers and veterans will lap this up as it manages to recapture part of what made millions fall in love with Pokemon. Expand
  11. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    Looking back on the Pokemon series, its easy to claim that Gamefreak hasn't made very many changes. That was never more apparent than in Pokemon Diamond/Pearl. It was disappointing and over all, the game felt stale, with hardly any new pokemon worth caring about. Thankfully, Black and White have solved all of these problems. The game is longer, the pokemon are better, and everythingLooking back on the Pokemon series, its easy to claim that Gamefreak hasn't made very many changes. That was never more apparent than in Pokemon Diamond/Pearl. It was disappointing and over all, the game felt stale, with hardly any new pokemon worth caring about. Thankfully, Black and White have solved all of these problems. The game is longer, the pokemon are better, and everything looks and feels new and exciting. It seems like its been years since I've cared about pokemon and this game has pulled me right back in. Of course, its a very similar game as you still move from town to town, defeating trainer after trainer and gym after gym. However, now with new pokemon and a bigger emphasis on exploration rather than HM moves, it all feels much better. Even if you're a jaded game, Pokemon Black/White does a lot to pull you back in. Expand
  12. May 8, 2011
    6
    OK game, not much has changed, better graphics, cool new pokemon. Great game, although once you complete the game and start over, it's quite boring. It's not a game you can play over and over and over. I would like to see something different in the pokemon games, such as "customizing your character", "choosing your own path" instead of following the same routine like in all the otherOK game, not much has changed, better graphics, cool new pokemon. Great game, although once you complete the game and start over, it's quite boring. It's not a game you can play over and over and over. I would like to see something different in the pokemon games, such as "customizing your character", "choosing your own path" instead of following the same routine like in all the other games.
    I would recommend this game to someone.

    Overall great game. I'd just like to see something different.
    Expand
  13. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    Not only are black and white the best of the series, but they are some of the greatest games ever created for the Nintendo DS. They are true masterpieces because of improved graphics, area, battle system, amount of creatures, and even small editions such as triple battles and c-gear.
  14. Jul 18, 2012
    5
    Dear pokemon creaters if I could speak to one. Take pokemon and make it a LEGIT RPG! Its that easy and kids will even love it. Make a more unique leveling up system, make each pokemon capable of being unique. People who play pokemon like there pokemon and want them to be around for a long time instead of starting all over each time we turn a new game on. Go to console, create a newDear pokemon creaters if I could speak to one. Take pokemon and make it a LEGIT RPG! Its that easy and kids will even love it. Make a more unique leveling up system, make each pokemon capable of being unique. People who play pokemon like there pokemon and want them to be around for a long time instead of starting all over each time we turn a new game on. Go to console, create a new universe, and become pairable with the haindheld scene. It would blow up and that's what y'all want right, to make money? Expand
  15. Apr 13, 2011
    10
    I love this game, Pokemon has always been my favorite video game franchise, and White was the first game I ever preordered and rushed to the store on launch day for, and I am not at all disapointed with the final product. The graphics are similar to previous DS installments, but are given new life with cool camera angles and full animations for every single Pokemon, whitch made all 156 newI love this game, Pokemon has always been my favorite video game franchise, and White was the first game I ever preordered and rushed to the store on launch day for, and I am not at all disapointed with the final product. The graphics are similar to previous DS installments, but are given new life with cool camera angles and full animations for every single Pokemon, whitch made all 156 new ones look great and gives the previous 493 a new life. Gameplay is the same, but there was never anything wrong with it in the first place. To sum it up, if you own a DS, or even just bought a new 3DS, this is the game to get. Expand
  16. Mar 16, 2011
    9
    I've had more fun and enjoyment with this game than Dragon Age II for the PC. My introductory to Pokemon was Blue for the Game Boy when I was a kid. As an adult now, I tried White and it made me reminiscent the fond memories and good times of Blue. As one reviewer has truthfully stated, this game does have the reply value and you'd instantaneously be addicted easily. Nothing reallyI've had more fun and enjoyment with this game than Dragon Age II for the PC. My introductory to Pokemon was Blue for the Game Boy when I was a kid. As an adult now, I tried White and it made me reminiscent the fond memories and good times of Blue. As one reviewer has truthfully stated, this game does have the reply value and you'd instantaneously be addicted easily. Nothing really more needs to be said as the three reviewers below my review have said it nicely and an accurate spot on. I'm a gamer who feels Pokemon exceeds to all ages and not kids, This is a solid rpg with strategy elements on the handheld. White and Black are definitely a DS title to pick up and you'd get your money's worth. Recommended to everyone. Expand
  17. Feb 11, 2012
    9
    This is the first REAL Pokemon game I have played and I knew it wasn't going to disappoint and it didn't.. But there really is nothing else to do after beating the Elite Four and it is very easy, and it's only the first time of played. Still very good though.
  18. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    Easily the best pokemon games to date. The pokemon are the most original pokemon we've seen since generation 2. I would also say these are the most difficult pokemon games, although they're still easy. I didn't like the attempt to incorporate a story more so than the other pokemon games did, but that's not why I play these games. Also the new graphics are nice but again, nobody playsEasily the best pokemon games to date. The pokemon are the most original pokemon we've seen since generation 2. I would also say these are the most difficult pokemon games, although they're still easy. I didn't like the attempt to incorporate a story more so than the other pokemon games did, but that's not why I play these games. Also the new graphics are nice but again, nobody plays pokemon for the graphics. The core reasons to play a pokemon game are all there, such as new pokemon, new world to explore, new secret areas / secrets to find, new legendary pokemon to seek out in interesting ways, new gym leaders and battles, etc. Expand
  19. Mar 25, 2011
    9
    This game is the bomb. all 556 pokemon In the game the new poke transfer is awsome its almost as good as heartgold and soulsilver but ive been playing pokemon since fire red and this is the third best. First soulsilve secend ruby third black and white
  20. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    Pokemon White is a great game. The story is actually a story, and the best of the series so far. The villains, Team Plasma, actually have some character, in that they are fighting FOR pokemon, to free them from captivity. The graphics are great for the DS, and good for any platform, even though many of us resent that Oshawott shows up so clearly. The new pokemon for the most part arePokemon White is a great game. The story is actually a story, and the best of the series so far. The villains, Team Plasma, actually have some character, in that they are fighting FOR pokemon, to free them from captivity. The graphics are great for the DS, and good for any platform, even though many of us resent that Oshawott shows up so clearly. The new pokemon for the most part are great, though many are awkward in shape, appearance, or both. (Trubbish) However, after you spend some time with these aforementioned "ugly" pokemon, you get used to them, and they aren't really that ugly anymore. (Except for Trubbish, there's no saving him) the gameplay is Pokemon, that hasn't changed. There are now two rivals, so one you will have an advantage over, while the other still has the advantage over you. It is a nice touch to have the rivals as the characters friends, building upon that found in Ruby/Saphire/Emerald. there are a few new moves that you'll have to familiarize yourself with, as well as some new type combinations. The new pokemon are cool, and even the hideous ones are okay after a while. The new region is fun to explore, and the story is the best of the series. (Except Coliseum, but that's a console) And the new pokemon are great. Basically, pokemon lovers and children up to the age of 14, get this game! Expand
  21. Apr 13, 2011
    10
    Pokemon is the best rpg type games of all time.Pokemon White really is a improvement from all the other Pokemon games.With new never before seen Pokemon just makes the game better.There is a few Pokemon that are more like animals than real Pokemon but the rest are normal Pokemon.
  22. Apr 17, 2011
    9
    For someone who's played every generation since Red and Blue, I was certainly someone who was looking forward to a bit of change to the old formula after so many years, which to honest Black and White don't really give. What they do give is a great continuation of the series, and surprised so many including myself that the game's formula still has a lot of aces up its sleeve that were toFor someone who's played every generation since Red and Blue, I was certainly someone who was looking forward to a bit of change to the old formula after so many years, which to honest Black and White don't really give. What they do give is a great continuation of the series, and surprised so many including myself that the game's formula still has a lot of aces up its sleeve that were to be added! To be fair some of the new Pokemon designs were a bit... meh but the gameplay was as solid as ever - polished and tweaked to make it what it is. It's not going to turn the Poke-hater into the Poke-lover but it's without a doubt the best Pokemon around. Only question is where do Nintendo go from here? Expand
  23. May 23, 2011
    8
    Pokemon Black and White aren't the best in the series. However, they still retain the same addictive gameplay from their predecessors, yet build onto the overall "look" and "feel" of the game, resulting in another Poke-adventure worth taking! Pros: The use of 2-D sprites in a 3-D overworld is stunning, but the depth in level design is just mind-blowing; variety of Pokemon to catch, itemsPokemon Black and White aren't the best in the series. However, they still retain the same addictive gameplay from their predecessors, yet build onto the overall "look" and "feel" of the game, resulting in another Poke-adventure worth taking! Pros: The use of 2-D sprites in a 3-D overworld is stunning, but the depth in level design is just mind-blowing; variety of Pokemon to catch, items to find, and moves to learn; lots of extras/secrets; fantastic multiplayer value. Cons: Formulaic gameplay; some ridiculous dialogue; some of the Pokemon designs are uglier than ever. Expand
  24. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    This is by far the greatest Pokemon game yet. Nintendo has improved absolutely everything. From story to Wi-Fi to the amount of Pokemon storage. Other then a couple new Pokemon that seem a little stupid this game is great. Go buy it now.
  25. Jul 10, 2011
    8
    Very good pokemon game, with probably the deepest storyline to date. The playthrough take s a while to get used to, since some core aspects of the game have been changed. For instance, the pokemon you get to face in the beginning are all exclusive to this generation. The dual rival system is also a bit weird. Its most noteworthy addition, however, is very shallow and wears out very fast.Very good pokemon game, with probably the deepest storyline to date. The playthrough take s a while to get used to, since some core aspects of the game have been changed. For instance, the pokemon you get to face in the beginning are all exclusive to this generation. The dual rival system is also a bit weird. Its most noteworthy addition, however, is very shallow and wears out very fast. The Dream World is simply boring, feeling almost like a chore. I say that, because to enjoy the game fully, you need to capture some Dream World exclusives. Expand
  26. Aug 7, 2011
    7
    This is actually my first experience with Pokemon after my nephew coerced me in to the purchase to play with him. It's an interesting RPG with a depth I didn't expect from the long-running Pokemon series. It often draws me back in to finding pokemon that I haven't captured yet, and the story is interesting enough to where I've wanted to complete it to see how things come together. TheThis is actually my first experience with Pokemon after my nephew coerced me in to the purchase to play with him. It's an interesting RPG with a depth I didn't expect from the long-running Pokemon series. It often draws me back in to finding pokemon that I haven't captured yet, and the story is interesting enough to where I've wanted to complete it to see how things come together. The problem is I've reached an area about halfway through after obtaining 4 badges and dozens of pokemon where the general combat and exploration is getting pretty monotonous. This might just be a game I never completely finish, but even only playing it halfway through, it was worth the purchase for me to enjoy trading with the nephew and finally seeing what the games are like for myself. Expand
  27. May 26, 2011
    8
    I love this game and all, but what exactly do you do after you catch all the new Pokemon? The same formula in the Pokemon franchise gets awfully repetitive.
  28. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    Normally, I'm not a huge Pokemon fan, and this is the first game I've played since Red Version and I'm pleased to say that I'm very impressed. In a way this is an entirely new introduction to Pokemon because of the lack of previously known/used Pokemon, and therefore it feels newer and more original instead of the supposed same old battle and level up crap. This has a story that makes moreNormally, I'm not a huge Pokemon fan, and this is the first game I've played since Red Version and I'm pleased to say that I'm very impressed. In a way this is an entirely new introduction to Pokemon because of the lack of previously known/used Pokemon, and therefore it feels newer and more original instead of the supposed same old battle and level up crap. This has a story that makes more sense to me than the show ever did, and now I'm more interested in the games and will hunt down previous versions just to see if they live up to this surprise from a game that sparked a cartoon series and trading card game that I despised. This really is a good game and the mixture of 2D characters and 3D environments works extremely well visually and the pacing is quick enough to keep my interest with little to no irksome breaks in action. If you have a DS, this is certainly worth getting. Expand
  29. Jun 18, 2011
    10
    One of the best pokemon games i have played in a long time. This game has a lot of new features and new pokemon. Plus all the pokemon there are new pokemon which give a new sense of adventure.
  30. Aug 13, 2011
    9
    An excellent game like its many predecessors and it brings some interesting new concepts to the series. However, the exclusive area, "White Forest" and in this game's counterpart, "Black City" were big disappointments. But I still enjoyed this game immensely.
  31. Jul 11, 2011
    8
    Black/White are so much better than Diamond/Pearl/Platinum that its painful to play Sinnoh based games ever again. The gameplay and soundtrack is a large cut above from its predecessor, both being fast-paced, catchy, and generally enjoyable. The gameplay is a fresh take on the same kind from all the previous generations, except for the fact that the battling is actually somewhat of aBlack/White are so much better than Diamond/Pearl/Platinum that its painful to play Sinnoh based games ever again. The gameplay and soundtrack is a large cut above from its predecessor, both being fast-paced, catchy, and generally enjoyable. The gameplay is a fresh take on the same kind from all the previous generations, except for the fact that the battling is actually somewhat of a challenge. There is just so much to do, for the most part. The artwork and pokemon designs are a slight improvement, except for a few REALLY bad ones. The names given to the 5th gen pokemon are among the worst ever for the franchise, and the post-game is very lacking. However, setting aside those minor issues,this generation is definitely one of the best in gameplay since 1st and 2nd gen. This game is well worth the $35 I paid and this is a must-buy for any pokemon fan out there. Expand
  32. Aug 29, 2011
    9
    Going into Pokemon White after not having played a Pokemon game since Ruby, part of me felt skeptical that this was going to be a complete copy and paste of Diamond/Pearl, with better graphics and new Pokemon. However, it is much more than that.
    First of all, the story has been given A LOT of care this time round, and it shows. This time, it's Team Plasma that you have to stop, this time
    Going into Pokemon White after not having played a Pokemon game since Ruby, part of me felt skeptical that this was going to be a complete copy and paste of Diamond/Pearl, with better graphics and new Pokemon. However, it is much more than that.
    First of all, the story has been given A LOT of care this time round, and it shows. This time, it's Team Plasma that you have to stop, this time being a Pokemon version of PETA, wanting to let all Pokemon be free and away from humans. The story isn't what you'd call 'award-winning', but it did keep me going all the way to the end.
    They did also improve the graphics and add new Pokemon, as well. The graphics don't look that much different to the fourth generation, but have been made more 3D with different camera angles and makes the Unova region feel more alive than any other region in the series. The new Pokemon, however, are kind of a mixed bag. There are certainly good ones, such as the three starters and their evolutions, Zekrom and Reshiram shown on the front covers as well as Zoura and Zoroark. However, ones such as Klink and Vanillish seem like Game Freak are reaching the end of the barrel. The gameplay has been slightly changed too. The combat feels a bit faster and the animations look pretty great, even if the Pokemon graphics look a bit pixelated. There are even small details, such as a shiny Pokemon glistening and a sleeping Pokemon closing their eyes. There has also been some music changes, such as a small remix of the original beeping sound whenever your current Pokemon's health gets into the red. But the satisfying crunch of a super effective hit and the disappointing bump of a non-effective hit are still there. Oh, and Team Plasma's theme? Awesome. That's all I can say.

    Overall, if you're a fan of Pokemon, you probably have this game by now, and if you don't, you really should.
    If you're someone that complains about Pokemon 'not being the same' or 'having too many Pokemon', then try it out. From start to end of the story, it's JUST the new Pokemon. Some may not like that at first, but you'll probably get used to it at the end.
    I wouldn't recommend this to critics of Pokemon in terms of the gameplay, because it's only a slight change since Diamond/Pearl. In my opinion, though, this is the best Pokemon game since the first generation. And that should mean a lot.
    Expand
  33. Jun 25, 2013
    5
    I'm going to come off as a "Gen-Oner" because what I'm going to say is going to sound like me just hating on the new and appreciating the old. that said, Generation 5 Pokemon, to me, lost a lot of small things that made the series great and left me with a less than fun experience. Pokemon White is the first Pokemon game where I stopped playing partway through and haven't picked it up sinceI'm going to come off as a "Gen-Oner" because what I'm going to say is going to sound like me just hating on the new and appreciating the old. that said, Generation 5 Pokemon, to me, lost a lot of small things that made the series great and left me with a less than fun experience. Pokemon White is the first Pokemon game where I stopped playing partway through and haven't picked it up since then. There are plenty of reasons why and because this is a review, I guess I'll just lay them out here.
    First, the franchise no longer has any teeth to it. The once terrifying moment of having a poisoned Pokemon and nothing to heal them with has lost all tension because poison status no longer hurts outside of battle. And even if it did, it feels like there is a healer on every route. There's no threat or challenge to exploring the world, which is the main reason I want to explore. To find dangerous situations and create tension by getting lost or cornered. And Pokemon has been a game franchise that, in my opinion, was all about exploration of big worlds. Generation IV (Diamond and Pearl) was perfect because the environments were bigger, had more variety, and were things you actually could get kind of lost in. Here, I never really felt like there was much variety and that I had my hand held the entire time I was going through it.
    The story is also a load of piss on my bread. The idea that the bad guys are like Pokemon PETA is a fun concept that I wish had played out better (read spoilers to see how things actually turn out... and it is kind of dumb). PETA is a terrible organization and it would have been cool to see that shown here to some degree, but it was sort of a referential nod towards those maniacs and not really more than that. So, much like Magma, Aqua, Galactic, and the rest, Team Plasma fails to live up the reputation of Team Rocket which actually killed a Pokemon, cloned a legendary Pokemon that nearly killed everyone, and forcibly evolved a Magikarp into a more enraged Gyarados. It's like you aren't even trying with this GameFreak. Next thing you'll do is make a referential character to Michael Vick who isn't really anything like Michael Vick at all beyond a mere reference when you could do so much more with that too.
    Gameplay wise, it's really more of the same. While that's normally not bad, here it seems old hat. It's a copy-paste of generation IV with a few new moves and triple battles (which I feel don't add to this game as much as I wish they did). I'm not asking for a major change in how things work, but more than a few tweaks should be done to justify the makings of a new generation. Because I hardly see any real changes here from the last one.
    On top of that, the one thing I used to go to Pokemon for (exploration) was further knee-capped by the game constantly wanting to shove a big-ol story down my throat. I get that you guys want to give us more narrative and story to these games as a flimsy justification for their existence. But I always found it more fun when the story was minimalisitic and you just learned about the world through exploration (the Lab on Cinnabar Island being the BEST example of this). But when I enter a town, the last thing I want is to not play for ten minutes while characters I don't care about spend forever explaining the game's tediously pointless plot to me. I just want to hunt animals and fight them to be the best trainer in the world. I don't have time to fight some green-haired and his stupid friends.
    To me, Generation V is a huge let down. I see lots of good ideas, especially with the Pokemon Dream World online situation they have going on. But the core game itself doesn't feel like the Pokemon I've loved for the past four generations. It has bits and pieces that seem familiar, but it has so much extra fluff and flab that the game I love is only a small fraction of what remains. So unless Generation VI can somehow reinvigorate the same level of excitement Generation IV did, then I'll just say this is where my Pokemon following ends... until Nintendo grows the balls to finally make a Pokemon MMO that we all want.
    Expand
  34. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Pokemon White is one of Nintendo's 5th generation Pokemon games, released on the NDS early 2011. The game has come a long way, featuring many elements from the previous generation, and along with that features a new graphic scheme, new features never before seen in the pokemon series and includes a whole new set of Pokemon to collect. Fans will surely love this game as it reboots thePokemon White is one of Nintendo's 5th generation Pokemon games, released on the NDS early 2011. The game has come a long way, featuring many elements from the previous generation, and along with that features a new graphic scheme, new features never before seen in the pokemon series and includes a whole new set of Pokemon to collect. Fans will surely love this game as it reboots the series pretty much with all new pokemon, a new region and a complete make over storyline that will be remembered for years. Fans who were disappointed with the 4th generation will surely love this game as it fixes many of the problems that the 4th generation had and strays away from the generic storyline that was used in previous installments. Expand
  35. Nov 28, 2011
    8
    Although it does not mean that the magic is gone, the new Pokemon enters undoubtedly represents a step in the saga, saga which already symptoms of fatigue but with slight improvements can become what it was two generations ago. Nintendo and Gamefreaks have created the game that made â
  36. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    My absolute favorite Pokemon game! So many new features, awesome Pokemon, and awesome music too! Just an amazing must have game for any DS owner or Pokemon fan! In my top 5 fav games ever! The Unova region is awesome, but I liked Sinnoh more. The gym leaders are cool and the elite 4 are awesome, as is their music! What r u waiting for? Buy this game now!
  37. Jan 10, 2012
    8
    Some features from HS/SS (like the button to hold run on the touch screen) have been removed, but still a great game nonetheless. Fresh, and has a great story.
  38. May 1, 2012
    10
    Pokemon white version is an awesome RPG, its different (that isn't a bad thing), they've changed it a lot! Its better than the Pokemon games in the past, I can't believe how good it is, its got triple battles, double battles in the grass, much bigger places, a big map, very cool new Pokemon, much better graphics and much more great new things!
  39. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    I have played Pokemon for a long time. It has new Pokemon, moves, items and even more.This is the sixth generation of Pokemon. That's a pretty long evolution of the game.
  40. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    The best Pokémon game yet. Gameplay is central to any videogame, and that aspect is so polished in this game that battling your way through it is a blast. Graphics have never been Game Freak's focus, but they get the job done. Here's hoping that when they make the transition to 3DS, they make good use of the hardware. You did it again, Game Freak!
  41. Apr 14, 2012
    9
    This game is Pokemon, plain and simple. If that is not your style, turn away now. If you only like the first few generations, turn away now. This game is for those who are young, young at heart, or simply like a fun and rewarding RPG.
  42. Nov 25, 2012
    6
    I tried my hardest to not be a purist and yes, I enjoyed the game and developed affection for six pixellated representations of data like the loser I am. But I really, really can't help but hear the screams of "INNOVATION" that come from the business meetings of whoever's in charge of making these games. It's not a problem becuase "changes suck", and not even "THESE changes suck". It'sI tried my hardest to not be a purist and yes, I enjoyed the game and developed affection for six pixellated representations of data like the loser I am. But I really, really can't help but hear the screams of "INNOVATION" that come from the business meetings of whoever's in charge of making these games. It's not a problem becuase "changes suck", and not even "THESE changes suck". It's just that they are all so unnecessary. Pokémon is already very, very commercial, and already has this terrible tendency to make a very good feature and then remove it in the next installment (which I guess is a good excuse to go and replay the older titles), and along with that with each generation the Pokémon designs get worse and worse to the point that the fan-made ones are starting to look like popsicles in a desert to me, while the official one start to look... like popsicles. Literally. Before you rant about this last complaint, let me get this straight: Pokémon has always had at least some bad designs, since Generation I, all I mean is that the percentage of badly thought Pokémon in each new generation is CONSTANTLY INCREASING. So with all these "periodic flaws", I feel like this title is not only natural culmination of those, but deals the final blow with unimpressive changes. The graphics are better and without having switched to some 3D gimmick, however, and I'd also like to stress that with this new wave of Pokémon the metagame is refreshed, and that's never a bad thing. Changing the mechanics of sleep was an interesting choice, for instance. Expand
  43. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    This is easily the best Pokemon game out there. With online features that finally allow you to battle random people online. There is also a good 649 to catch, train, and trade. The Pokemon designs this time around are also really good. With so many new features that just improve the Pokemon series it is hard not to like it.
  44. Jan 31, 2014
    9
    Story & Characters: 8/10
    With the improved 3D effect Game Freak is able portray a much more cinematic story than was possible in past games. Unlike past games the villainous gang have an interesting goal other than to simply steal Pokémon out of greed. Team Plasma believes they are good guys trying to protect Pokémon from the cruelty of human ownership. However it doesn’t make much sense
    Story & Characters: 8/10
    With the improved 3D effect Game Freak is able portray a much more cinematic story than was possible in past games. Unlike past games the villainous gang have an interesting goal other than to simply steal Pokémon out of greed. Team Plasma believes they are good guys trying to protect Pokémon from the cruelty of human ownership. However it doesn’t make much sense why they themselves use Pokémon to accomplish this goal. Although this is an interesting twist on the signature Pokémon storyline it is never really developed into a meaningful conclusion.

    Like the past few titles the player has more than one rival, a friend from your home town and an evil rival. Black and White takes this further, the player now has two friends who battle and assist the player throughout the game. These characters however are very dull when compared to Wally or Blue. The main villain and rival “N” however is a breath of air with a great back story and interesting dialogue.

    Visuals & Sound: 10/10
    Black and White looks radically different to past games in the series introducing 3D like effect perhaps leading up to a 3DS version. This graphical update is the biggest leap in the series since the move from GBC to GBA. These 3D effects push the DS hardware to its limits but makes environments look stunning. However due to the limitations of the DS Pokémon in battles look pixelated and sometimes ugly in battles. The game includes pre-rendered cut scenes at some points in the game which look great but they are rarely shown.

    Like every new generation Black and White introduces over 100 new species of Pokémon. However very few of these Pokémon look very impresssive compared to older generations. Although they do not look very appealing it seems to be the most varied generation to date and is not plagued with a particular type such as normal in Red and Blue or water in Ruby and Sapphire.

    Throughout the series they have introduced intro animations were Pokémon move briefly when the battle begins only for it to be removed in the next game in the series but brought back later on. These animations return in Black & White and although they slow down battles considerably they are appreciated. Due to the longer animations during battles, random encounters are much more frustrating taking several seconds before you can flee.

    Gameplay: 10/10
    Black & White keeps to the signature Pokémon formula. Although it doesn’t bring anything revolutionary to the series it is the most refined and structured Pokémon game yet. These refinements include Pokémon Centres and Poke Marts being combined into a single building and unlimited TM uses. Other than these refinements Black & White adds some slight adjustments to keep the gameplay fresh, it introduces both triple battles and rotating battles. Rotating battles contain 3 Pokémon per side which are switch into a one v one battle each getting a single move before switching, meaning players have to anticipate future switches.

    Unfortunately takes you by the hand throughout the campaign introducing you to locations even after you have your first badge. I understand they have this in the game but this shouldn’t go one beyond the first 30 minutes or should at least have some way to skip it. Black & White seems to be the easiest game yet in the series due to less emphasis on team type balancing and a lack of enemy powerhouses (Milktank in Gold and Silver). Continuing with the day and night feature introduced in Generation 2 Black & White introduces seasons alter both the appearance of the environment and the types of Pokémon you can catch.

    Multiplayer & Extras: 9/10
    Like the past few entries Black & White have a huge emphasis on player interaction. Early on in the game you are given a C-Gear which allows them to trade and battle with other players. Using friend codes you are able to interact with friends either wirelessly or online. However you are able to trade and battle with random players around the world online making it much more convenient to catch em all. The C-Gear also includes a past by feature which allows the player to exchange information with other players when in range.

    Enjoyment: 9/10
    Although Black & White is nothing game changing it an excellent entry into the series continuing to capture the magic that was introduced in Red & Blue. Besides being Pokémon games, Black & White are excellent turn based RPGs with a huge amount of content making them an excellent purchase for any RPG fan.
    Expand
  45. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    There is so many new things introduced in this version of Pokemon. It's VERY nice that there is a fresh start and that all the pokemon are new and not cluttered with like 500 other pokemon from other versions, as seen in the previous generation. The DS graphics are better refined and less glitchy than Diamond/Pearl/Platinum. I enjoyed it a lot! Recommended!
  46. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    In the generations of Pokémon, one color is representative of a version, be it Red and Blue or Gold and Silver. Never before were direct opposing colors used
  47. Oct 6, 2012
    9
    I like this game a lot. I loved it like Red and Blue, which I played before I could read. Which to say was 3. I played all of them, These peopel giving it bad ratings because of not liking a few pokemon then ragi about horrible it is. If there isn't new pokemon, they'll complain about having new ones. Do people like constant remakes, year after year, instead of something new andI like this game a lot. I loved it like Red and Blue, which I played before I could read. Which to say was 3. I played all of them, These peopel giving it bad ratings because of not liking a few pokemon then ragi about horrible it is. If there isn't new pokemon, they'll complain about having new ones. Do people like constant remakes, year after year, instead of something new and innovative? Sure the team tried to take away all pokemon. But they explained why, because the person was misguided . (N) "Don't like this game if you liked the old one!!!" That's all these reviews. Smething new and innovative, and they thought it wasn't. I loved this game and have played all of them. I felt like I lost a friend when my old catridges didn't work any more. Expand
  48. Sep 20, 2013
    0
    What a waste of a game. First off, you cannot get older pokemon only all of the newer and dumber ones. Secondly, if you pick black you get the white legendary and if you pick white you get the black legendary because that makes perfect sense. As for everything else, have you played any other pokemon game? Yes, then you have absolutely no reason to play this one because it's just the sameWhat a waste of a game. First off, you cannot get older pokemon only all of the newer and dumber ones. Secondly, if you pick black you get the white legendary and if you pick white you get the black legendary because that makes perfect sense. As for everything else, have you played any other pokemon game? Yes, then you have absolutely no reason to play this one because it's just the same only Nintendo must've put their retard hats on when making it. Expand
  49. Dec 21, 2012
    9
    Pokemon's fifth generation raises the bar again. Pokemon White is another great title in the Pokemon series that has you dreaming of becoming the Pokemon Champion once more. Some great new Pokemon have been added, and usual Pokemon White has a great plot. Cities have been designed well with brand new camera angles and there is plenty to keep you going after you beat the Pokemon League. ItPokemon's fifth generation raises the bar again. Pokemon White is another great title in the Pokemon series that has you dreaming of becoming the Pokemon Champion once more. Some great new Pokemon have been added, and usual Pokemon White has a great plot. Cities have been designed well with brand new camera angles and there is plenty to keep you going after you beat the Pokemon League. It would be great if the plot could be varied, instead of collecting Gym Badges, beating the baddies and becoming the Pokemon Champion. But apart from this, Pokemon White is a must-have for any Pokemon lover. Expand
  50. Feb 1, 2014
    2
    Pokemon reached its peak early on with Gen 2 (Gold/Silver), still considered the best generation of Pokemon. Gen 3 (Ruby/Sapphire/Emerald) and Gen 4 (Diamond/Pearl/Platinum) simply couldn't live up to the legacy of Gen 2. But, at least with those games, you could tell that Game Freak tried, and they cared about the Pokemon franchise back then. Cue Gen 5, and you'd have a hard timePokemon reached its peak early on with Gen 2 (Gold/Silver), still considered the best generation of Pokemon. Gen 3 (Ruby/Sapphire/Emerald) and Gen 4 (Diamond/Pearl/Platinum) simply couldn't live up to the legacy of Gen 2. But, at least with those games, you could tell that Game Freak tried, and they cared about the Pokemon franchise back then. Cue Gen 5, and you'd have a hard time believing they ever cared at all. First off, imagine everything you've come to know and love about Pokemon, gone flying out the window. The game does not have any of the older Pokemon at all until you beat the story, instead you have to put up with the lame new Pokemon for 90% of the game. This really ruins the experience because nobody wants to be stuck with a team consisting of all crappy useless Pokemon, save for maybe your Starter, who will be the only one who can do jack crap. This is also the most gimmicky generation yet, featuring hordes of new crap that I can't be pissed to remember what it was all called, and ends up forgetting to tend to the core gameplay itself, and speaking of which... the battle system is the least polished in the series yet. It's actually a step backwards from the previous generations. All these flaws, and more, make for what was the worst Pokemon game at is time. But if you thought this was bad, you'll **** yourself when you see Black 2/White 2, which manages to be even WORSE, and ultimately drove the Pokemon series into the ground, maybe for good. and as for X/Y, that one was average. The last good Pokemon game they made was HeartGold/SoulSilver, and even then it was probably because that one was a remake of Gold/Silver. Expand
  51. May 28, 2013
    6
    I Based this score on the fact that this game was nowhere near as good as the other Pokemon Games. The same goes for Black & White 2. I've played every other main Pokemon game, and this comes nowhere near. This does not mean to say I didn't enjoy the game, but it was just a little disappointing.
  52. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    6 words.......Pokemon has come a long way. The graphics, the new creatures, the replayability, the online play, AH!!!!! IT'S GREAT!!!! IT'S EXHILARATING!!!! IT'S POKEMON FOR PETE'S SAKE!!!!
  53. Aug 4, 2013
    9
    Pokemon White, along with black adds a lot of awesome features to the Pokemon franchise, along with even more new pokemon.

    I find this game amazing as every other Pokemon game. But even though it is a must buy, it somehow removes a lot of simple commands with the menus from HeartGold, along with the way you can interact with the touch screen to manage items and menus quicker. It
    Pokemon White, along with black adds a lot of awesome features to the Pokemon franchise, along with even more new pokemon.

    I find this game amazing as every other Pokemon game.
    But even though it is a must buy, it somehow removes a lot of simple commands with the menus from HeartGold, along with the way you can interact with the touch screen to manage items and menus quicker.

    It might sound like a minor thing, but along with the fights having a kind of slow startup, the game many times feels like it lacks the pace HeartGold seemed to have. Because Pokemon is after all an RPG with fun grinding, exploring, item collecting etc. and when you are doing a quest, errand or one of many day-time events, scrolling between menus, choosing "fly" back and forth changing the menu back to the bike, etc. becomes way more tedious than it should be.

    Its still an amazing game with all its new features, but it feels like it lack a little bit of magic from previous entries.

    9 out of 10, and that comes from someone whos a HUGE fan of the franchise.
    Expand
  54. Aug 26, 2013
    10
    With Pokémon being one of my favorite franchises of all times, I was a bit worried with the 3rd and 4th generation not quite living up to my expectation. Generation IV disappointed me greatly with an absurd over-the-top mess of a story and I was afraid the games were heading in the wrong direction.

    However, generation V changed all of this, instantly becoming my favorite. The story was
    With Pokémon being one of my favorite franchises of all times, I was a bit worried with the 3rd and 4th generation not quite living up to my expectation. Generation IV disappointed me greatly with an absurd over-the-top mess of a story and I was afraid the games were heading in the wrong direction.

    However, generation V changed all of this, instantly becoming my favorite. The story was simpler but also more mature, the new Pokémon, while criticized, I think are fantastic and creative, the characters incredibly likable and more complex than ever before, the graphics very good and new game mechanics, moves, items, online functionalities are all improvements.

    I can't quite put into words how much I enjoy Pokémon Black&White, so I'll just say this: I've played Pokémon ever since generation I, being a kid back then. And yet despite the huge nostalgia boost the first generation has, gen V easily wins in my ranking.

    Personally I recommend White version, as it has, in my opinion, more interesting version-exclusive Pokémon and locations.
    Expand
  55. Aug 30, 2013
    7
    An essential reboot of the Pokémon handheld titles, Pokémon Black and Pokémon White are not so innovative as they might aspire to be. The same mechanics are utilized, and little to nothing new is brought to the table. Attempting to attract attention of leading the edge in modernization, by adding over a 150 new species to the Pokémon roster, it fails by doing little more than this. TripleAn essential reboot of the Pokémon handheld titles, Pokémon Black and Pokémon White are not so innovative as they might aspire to be. The same mechanics are utilized, and little to nothing new is brought to the table. Attempting to attract attention of leading the edge in modernization, by adding over a 150 new species to the Pokémon roster, it fails by doing little more than this. Triple battles and rotation battles, while a nice addition, are barely featured and almost a backdoor surprise feature that you don't unearth unless you go looking for them. The Unova region is heavily grotesque in that it fails in its forced marriage of nature and urbanization. Within 30 seconds you are able to travel from a forest, to a bridge, to a metropolis, to a desert. The inspiration of New York City bares little resemblance outside of the trivial skyscrapers and harbors in Castelia City. Perhaps the only redeeming and general progression in the Pokémon series is the beautifully crafted soundtrack. However, outside of this there is little if anything new to the series. Expand
  56. Sep 25, 2013
    3
    Sorry for such a harsh rating for such a popular title, but this game just did not impress me. Being the long term pokemon fan I am (since pokemon originated), i just found this one lacking and being aggravating in so many ways. Not to mention some of the new pokemon just seem pathetic and look like something the makers just whipped up because they were running out of ideas. I mean, an iceSorry for such a harsh rating for such a popular title, but this game just did not impress me. Being the long term pokemon fan I am (since pokemon originated), i just found this one lacking and being aggravating in so many ways. Not to mention some of the new pokemon just seem pathetic and look like something the makers just whipped up because they were running out of ideas. I mean, an ice cream cone pokemon? Really? I sold this game before even reaching the ending to it. Yes, the main pokemon (on the cover) is cool and all but that's about it, Expand
  57. Dec 28, 2013
    9
    Although the designs to many of the new Pokemon aren't that great, this is my favorite entry in the series. This game is parallel to Gen 1 in many several ways. It's separated from the other games by forcing you to play with only the newest Pokemon. That and the quicker pacing and smart structure, especially with how experience points work prevents you from being too strong and tooAlthough the designs to many of the new Pokemon aren't that great, this is my favorite entry in the series. This game is parallel to Gen 1 in many several ways. It's separated from the other games by forcing you to play with only the newest Pokemon. That and the quicker pacing and smart structure, especially with how experience points work prevents you from being too strong and too weak. It's probably also one of the more challenging experiences that I've had with Pokemon in awhile.

    I also appreciate how the gym leaders appear outside the gym, really giving them personality and influence behind their title.

    The post game content is great, and there's a lot to do and see. I had been growing weary of Pokemon, and this game revived my interest.
    Expand
  58. Feb 28, 2014
    3
    Things I liked:
    + Its still the same Pokémon combat.
    + Bulbapedia documented this game this game better than all other games until X and Y came out. + The dual-screen cutscene was cool. Things I didn't like: - Pokémon games kept getting more complex while not making gameplay more fun than Gen 2 in my opinion. - There was way more of this beauty contest, grooming, etc **** in your
    Things I liked:
    + Its still the same Pokémon combat.
    + Bulbapedia documented this game this game better than all other games until X and Y came out.
    + The dual-screen cutscene was cool.

    Things I didn't like:
    - Pokémon games kept getting more complex while not making gameplay more fun than Gen 2 in my opinion.
    - There was way more of this beauty contest, grooming, etc **** in your face.
    - ENCOUNTERS EVERY 2 GOD DAMN STEPS.
    - The story was ridiculous.
    - The game felt slow. I play Crystal on emulator with speedup, so it might be me, but progress just doesn't feel fast. So even if I emulated it, it wouldn't be my choice based on progression.
    - The dual-screen Cutscene. :P It slowed the game down so it can be a plus and a neg.
    - Double Battles. Now they're not just with trainers, they're in the wild.
    - No clear instructions post beating elite four for first time.
    - One ROM still only gets you 1 save slot. C'mon Nintendo. Just c'mon.

    Overall, I don't want to go back to the game. I know the majority of people love what's been changing in Pokémon, but I think the game designers went wrong a few ways. They tried to fix things that didn't need fixing. And all the things they actually improved on were the things I didn't care about or didn't like. The ROM I played it on doesn't need to burn or anything. But the game shall go ignored by me if its lucky. =P Score: 3/10

    PS. You know what would be cool? A drive-thru combination PokéCenter and -Mart. It would just take 1 pump of a defibrillator and you're back on your journey. Might not make actual health sense, but it is an idea that I have for making healing less time consuming and the game more fun.
    Expand
  59. Jun 4, 2014
    6
    Pokemon White is a big disappointment in comparison to the other Pokemon games in the series. The graphics look messy and are unfriendly. The Pokemon look fake and basically almost every aspect of the game looks rushed. The good thing about this game is the storyline which is very deep and the reason I enjoyed playing this. If you're a hardcore Pokemon fan you cannot skip this game,Pokemon White is a big disappointment in comparison to the other Pokemon games in the series. The graphics look messy and are unfriendly. The Pokemon look fake and basically almost every aspect of the game looks rushed. The good thing about this game is the storyline which is very deep and the reason I enjoyed playing this. If you're a hardcore Pokemon fan you cannot skip this game, especially if you want to transfer you old Pokemon from previous generations to the much better X & Y versions. Expand
  60. Aug 31, 2014
    9
    Best Pokémon game ever made so far, hands down. This coming from a person who has been playing Pokémon since the very beginning. I used to be really skeptical about this game when it first came out, but re-playing it a few days ago was enough to make me realise how great it is. The new characters and the plot are perfect, not much more to say about it. Not giving it a perfect vote,Best Pokémon game ever made so far, hands down. This coming from a person who has been playing Pokémon since the very beginning. I used to be really skeptical about this game when it first came out, but re-playing it a few days ago was enough to make me realise how great it is. The new characters and the plot are perfect, not much more to say about it. Not giving it a perfect vote, though, because it's still got that childish style that I wish Game Freak would focus less into. Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 56
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 56
  3. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Jun 5, 2011
    92
    Learning from the past without ever taking his eyes off the present, this is the pinnacle of the series to date and proof that sometimes you don't need a revolution to give new life to a franchise.
  2. Apr 7, 2011
    90
    One of the best generations of Pokemon titles to date, Black & White take almost all of the best elements from the series and then carefully craft it into something truly wonderful; recreating that same sense of adventure from the very first titles.
  3. Mar 31, 2011
    90
    Almost a franchise reboot, Pokémon Black & White is your ultimate Pokémon experience. Overall better than previous generations by any means, this new installment manages to inspire on veteran players a sense of wonder and awe gone missing years ago. The new adventure flows better and is much more intriguing and challenging but of course you are not going to change your mind if you hate Pikachu and friends.